Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Freshwater Beach Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Freshwater Beach Holiday Park > Reviews

Freshwater Beach Holiday Park
Burton Bradstock
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 4PT
Tel: 01308 897317
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 500
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 176 Reviews
                8/10 from 176 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MKP1 1 review from this member

 What a FABULOUS site. This was our first trip out in our new to us caravan after Trailer Tenting for years. We were looking for a family friendly site not far from home to try out our van.

We chose a spot on the upper field which had electric. There was hardstanding and grass pitches on the lower field. 3 minutes closer walk to the facilities and much busier during our stay.

Water points, waste water, toilet disposal and rubbish facilities were all close to hand - not more than a 5 minute walk and well screened.

The bathroom facilities were heated and immaculately clean.

The Indoor pool was warm, clean and great fun with the children.

The outdoor pools looked like they would be great when the weather warms up!

They have two mid sized children's playgrounds. One for younger and one for older children.

There was an indoor bowling alley (payable extra, but they gave us a free voucher with our check in pack) was great fun with the weather being so wet!

It's located on a private beach.

Children's club was for an hour in the morning, you stay on hand as they do a fun activity.

Evening entertainment ran from 7. 30pm and was family friendly.

All members of staff that we interacted with were lovely and genuinely helpful.

The on site Spar shop was great value.

It's a really well positioned site - we chose to walk up and down hills for 20 minutes into West Bay. You could also walk over the fields into Burton Bradstock. (Like Cider? check out Bredy Farm)

Catch a bus outside of the site to West Bay or the market village of Bridport (a 10 min drive) where there is a Morrisons.

If you watched Broadchurch, they filmed two scenes on the campsite - it's where Pauline Quirke's character's caravan was situated. (A stage van, not one of their pristine statics!)

All in all a site I felt safe and comfortable letting our girls scoot around and enjoy, without us having to watch them every second. 


Date of Visit: July 2017 Unit:  Campervan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Minimadjonesy 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 6 nights here at the beginning of the school holidays and have to say the site was great. The facilities were well attended and always clean. Plenty of hot water and good sized pitches. The on site SPAR shop is well stocked and reasonably priced. My only criticism is that we were given a pitch on the far side of the touring field as far away from the main centre as you could get and with two young children (4 and 7yrs) it was a bit of a trek for them each time.

The weather was not great for most of our stay with only 2 glorious sunny days but the Swimming Pools and Kids entertainment were a god send on the wet and windy days. Only downside to the Kids entertainment was that you need to stay with the kids whilst they do it so we were unable to use that time to relax together. However, the site is enclosed and safe and we had no problem letting the kids use the perimeter road on their bike (our son even learnt to ride without stabilisers too!)

You're about a 5-min drive from West Bay and Bridport which has a big morrisons for larger shopping trips and a nice little town centre with a good array of shops. Weymouth is about 30 mins away on a beautiful coastal road with funfair and sealife centre, although make sure the weather is good when you visit or you'll end up soaked through like we were as it is not all inside!

Due to the weather we didn't go to the beach which we regret but will definitely revisit the site, hopefully with better weather, All in all a great break! 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dave-S 4 reviews from this member

 We've just returned from a great break at Freshwater, this is a large, very busy site which is good if you want to keep your kids busy-choice of three pools, arcade, private beach, play areas.

There is loads to do here, however with the amount of families and groups comes the inevitable noise, which can go on into the night not good if you have little ones!

It's in a great location just 30 minutes from Weymouth, With West Bay, Bridport, Abbotsbury even closer. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Rob Johns 13 reviews from this member

 On arrival, I was very surprised about the lack of check in parking for a caravan or trailer outfit, I had to try to position myself in the least inconvenient place outside reception. This is not the first time I have experienced this on a holiday campsite and considering the large number of touring units visiting, this really should be addressed. The receptionist was polite and informative and gave clear directions to our pitch.

Many reviewers have mentioned the excellent toilet and shower blocks and I would definitely concur. The pitches are of a standard small size for this kind of holiday campsite, although the roadways are rather narrow which was a real problem while reversing the caravan onto the pitch, especially as many campers choose to place windbreaks right up to the edge of the road. Motor movers would be a certain advantage here.

There is a good size dog walking field and also a large separate playing field which had an inflatable slide during the day. There is also great access to the beach with a freshwater lagoon formed by the outflow of the river Bride. We did go up to the entertainment complex only once in the evening and rather predictably found that it was packed and so we had a quick drink and headed back to the pitch. We did use the swimming pools a couple of times and they are well attended.

If you want to have a full on holiday with your kids, then this is a great choice. I like us you have grown weary of packed, holiday camps with smaller pitches, then more standard campsites and club sites would appeal more. 


Date of Visit: August 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Kevenim 1 review from this member

 We stayed here for two weeks. First impressions were favourable. The site was clean and staff friendly and helpful. The site is well laid out with decent sized pitches, although the layout of the site made it seem cramped.

The on site shop was reasonably stocked and priced. The shower and toilet blocks were spotless, it seemed every time you went someone was cleaning them.

The two swimming pools were great for the kids, with the outside pool heated, and a large inflatable obstacle course on Fridays for a couple of hours, when even non swimmers were able to use it with individual lifeguards to help them.

The main waste bins were emptied daily by the sites own dustcart. Unfortunately recycling on site is limited to glass only, which requires a walk over to the reception area, (can't see the people on the furthest pitches doing that), and all other recycling requires a trip to the local tip.

Pitches need to be cleared by 10 am and it did feel as if they couldn't wait for you to leave as the groundsman was hovering around from 9 am to cut the grass on the pitch. For this reason I've only given an 8 for customer service. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Doverover 33 reviews from this member

 This is without doubt the biggest site we have ever been on.

First visit to this site, easy to find and drive to with a touring caravan. Booking was easy over the phone and we asked for a quiet plot. We certainly got one. Having not been there before we were allocated a plot at the far end of the 'upper' field as they call it. Fortunately when I last renewed my annual subscription to the National Trust they sent me a pair of complimentary binoculars as I needed these to see the other end of our road, not to mention the toilet block.

However a quick visit to the reception and we moved to a middle plot which was still a hike to the facilities but this only proved a small inconvenience (sorry).

Talking of toilets/showers etc. Never seen such spotless facilities and, at any time of day. Showers had a 'normal' tap, none of this timed rubbish and hot water was plentiful.

We will definitely be using this site again.

It is a 30 minute walk into West Bay and the choice of food is extraordinary - as long as you want fish.

The site has a small bowling alley which we never got to use however we did try the on site food once which was adequate.

I cannot say what it would be like to stay there during the summer holiday period but there appeared to be enough facilities to cope, I guess.

Overall very pleased indeed. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ghart386 32 reviews from this member

 Another really good week at Freshwater Beach.

Excellent location on the Jurassic Coast, good facilities, friendly staff, excellent toilet and shower blocks. Proper showers with no push button dribbles and controllable temperature! Spotlessly clean as well.

We really love to visit when the site is not so busy, should imagine that at the height of the season would be a different story though.

If full, access to your pitch would be extremely difficult without a mover as very tightly packed in. If you visit at the right times though, it is an excellent base.

Brilliant dog walking country, and, if you don't want to use your car it is not a problem. Two good pubs in Burton Bradstock within easy walking distance, both with very good food. Both pubs different in character though both good in their own ways. Food on site reasonable and well priced and bar prices acceptable. We didn't sample any of the entertainment so cannot comment on that.

On site shop has all that you need but Morrisons in Bridport a five minute drive, as is West Bay with some excellent fish and chip stalls!

Good beach fishing from their own beach, dog fish every cast.

In summing up, we really enjoy it here and will definitely return though will avoid busy times.

Only downside, in my opinion, is the lack of chemical waste points. 


Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Leeturner4666 11 reviews from this member

 We stayed at Freshwater Beach in our touring caravan during the Whit half term which meant we travelled down on 28th May 2016, having set off very early we arrived at the site at 11. 30 hours and were immediately allowed onto our pitch with clear instructions of how to locate the caravan and awning, reception was friendly and informative and we had just started setting up when we were greeted by a member of the team checking who we were and we knew where to pitch.

Pitches are very roomy, plenty of space for caravan, full awning and car with room to spare, water points are very handy and this was the first time in a long time that the electricity did not trip out.

The site was extremely busy over the bank holiday weekend with a variety of tents, touring caravans and motorhomes, although that thinned out as the week went by. The location is beautiful with clear views across the nearby sports fields out to sea. Freshwater is nestled between two hills that were born out of the Jurassic era and offer exceptional walks which although a little strenuous are well worth the effort.

The site is well set out with two outdoor pools, three indoor pools with sauna, steam room and Jacuzzi for over 16�s. The roof top terrace again is well located and offers drinks and food although we stuck to the drink option. Prices are a little inflated as you would expect but nothing astronomical, �3-50 for lager, �1. 80 for a small slush was a little exuberant.

There is nightly entertainment and the entertainment team work very hard to ensure that everyone is enjoying ourselves, we saw Jimmy Talmley, a ventriloquist who was hilarious, there is always something going on.

I am a little fastidious when it comes to toilets and showers and I have to say without doubt that this is one of the cleanest facilities I have ever used, on every visit there were staff cleaning and ensuring everything was in tip top condition, the toilets, showers and dish washing facilities were second to none and the staff looking after them should be applauded. We waited briefly for a shower at the peak time over the bank holiday weekend but as the site quietened down there was no problem, water was really hot, no time limit and the cubicle has a toilet, shower and sink which is another first for me.

The beach is right on the doorstep that my two boys, 10 and 7, adored, the river running into the sea is another form of entertainment, the area is beautiful, picturesque and quiet, a 5 minute walk across the hills to West Bay (Broachchurch) is a must or the opposite direction to Burton Beach and the Hive Caf� another worthy adventure.

We loved our week at Freshwater, I cannot recommend it highly enough, it caters for all ages but would suit families more, in my opinion, the on-site shop is well stocked and again affordable, a fantastic time was had by all, thank you Freshwater! 


Date of Visit: October 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ghart386 32 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a really relaxing break at Freshwater Beach. We had a great time there.

Very large site, but, at this time of year virtually empty! This led to us having a stunning view from the front window of our caravan. I should imagine this wouldn't be the case in high season.

Shop on site very good but stocks running down due to the time of year.

Very poor mobile reception and TV. Satellite dish a must.

Excellent dog walks, which our Jack Russell took full advantage of.

Shower blocks spotlessly clean and warm, good run times on showers as well.

We only ate on site once at the rolling stone bar, food was very good and good value for money, bar not over priced too.

Pubs in Burton Bradstock also welcoming and very good value for money.

I fished off the beach a couple of times and caught plenty each time.

Morrisons in Bridport 5 mins drive as is West Bay. Excellently located for Abbotsbury, Weymouth and Lyme Regis.

Our first visit but will definitely return but not in height of season. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Barnabys 30 reviews from this member

 Nice site a couple of miles from Bridport and easy access for towing.

Friendly staff on reception and was shown on a map where to pitch, would have been better if we were taken to the pitch as the site is massive.

Found the pitch which is flat and large and set up, water/waste and elsan all close by. TV signal good, mobile poor and 3g non existent, you can get 4G if you want to walk up onto the cliffs everytime you want to use the Internet.

We were pitched around the outer edge which is better as the rest of the site was crammed in like sardines, far too claustrophobic for my liking.

Large toilet / shower block kept immaculate, no recycling was asked to take it to the local supermarket where they have it.

Great pea gravel beach and coastal walks, good swimming pool, bowling alley with balcony bar, and good spar shop on site.

Didn't use the entertainment as not enough tables, the kids hogged them for their parents who would arrive later.

Good playpark and inflatable noah's arc 3 for 15 mins which the kids loved and the site is a very safe environment for the kids.

Site was very peaceful considering how busy it was but as we were right next to the dog walking field we were woken early each morning by barking dogs and the gate banging.

Not too keen on the 10 am departure time and you were handed a letter the day before you leave reminding you of the strict depart time.

Not a cheap site but worth it for it's location and it's priced per pitch for 6 people which is good value if camping with 6. 


Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Freshwater Beach Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Freshwater Beach Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Freshwater Beach Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Freshwater Beach Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3988 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement