Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Freshwater Beach Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Freshwater Beach Holiday Park > Reviews

Freshwater Beach Holiday Park
Burton Bradstock
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 4PT
Tel: 01308 897317
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 500
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 176 Reviews
                8/10 from 176 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: ColonelConkers 4 reviews from this member

 A brilliant family friendly campsite. As previously stated, the toilet blocks are the cleanest we have ever been to. The pitches are a good size with plenty of room.

We had a fully serviced hard standing pitch. We noticed a lot of the pitches were slightly sloping or uneven. There are a couple of parks and two playing fields for the children.

The kids loved the indoor and outdoor pools which they used every day. We enjoyed the cliff top walk to West Bay, but this is not for the faint hearted as it is very steep in places.

There is a bus stop outside the campsite, the Reception has a bus timetable available. A family explorer ticket cost 16.

The camp shop is well stocked and not too badly priced.

The club prices are what you would expect. You need to get there early 6. 00 ish if you want a seat.

Bridport is only a short drive/bus journey away and has a large Morrisons with petrol station. There are plenty of shops at Bridport too.

There is also a Spar shop at Burton Bradstock again, if you go across the field at the bottom of the touring field, it takes about 5 mins to walk there.

The beach at Freshwater is shingle, but as there are no lifeguards we didn't let the children go in the sea there. We took note of a previous review that warned about the rip tides. We just walked along the beach to West Bay where there are lifeguards keeping a lookout.

Overall, we had a fantastic two weeks. We were fortunate to get good weather for the whole fortnight. We would definitely return to this campsite. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shell G 11 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our annual England tent holiday from this campsite and was very impressed. The tent pitches are a nice size, the toilets/showers are exceptionally clean, we went for a week and never went in them when a cleaner was not present.

The new indoor swimming pool is lovely and the outdoor older pool is very nice with life guards on duty all the time and one afternoon they put up a big inflatable for all the kids/adults to play on.

The site has its own beach which is shingle but we spent a day on and went body boarding and had a blast. The only disappointment we thought on this site was the entertainment hall on the night.

It was just too small and to be honest a bit tatty, the entertainment was good and was what you usually expect at the English campsites. The shop is OK but just 2 miles down the road is a Morrisons.

The area is the best we have been to so far with loads of places to visit and lots of things to keep 5 kids (from 5 to 17) happy. I know it helps when the weather is good and we got a good week but Dorset gets 10 out of 10 from us. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ambops 3 reviews from this member

 Just had two weeks here, the site is very tidy and clean, toilets are kept clean no matter what time you go there is a cleaner in them. On saying that there is not enough toilets or showers for the amount of people on the site, at least 2 more blocks are needed. Pitches are not worked out fairly at all we could only fit on our tent car could not go to the side but the pitch at the side of us had caravan awning wind breaks blocking off a large space then room for a car!not very fair when everyone is charged the same. They are round on there buggy within minutes to make sure everything is pitched in order when we left the site looked more like a refugee camp than a holiday site!think freshwater would be better off using wrist bands then the cards for pool and club also a 1 for the coloured band for pool is silly especially when they wont return it when it lost at the bottom of there pool. Club very expensive and not very inviting, take away quite expensive. Beach is killer on the feet as it is all pebbles. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thefulchers 5 reviews from this member

 This was going to be our first camping experience as a family. We bought all the kit just needed somewhere to go, we checked various places and the weather forecast for the week ahead, I rang up on a Thursday and managed to get a pitch with elec for that coming Sunday (4 nights). Booking in was simple; staff were very helpful. We managed to get our pitch on the camping field (tents only), which consists of 3 tiers, all level. The main field for both camping and touring looked quite cosy. Pitch size was ok (V8 next to water, useful).

The shower/toilet facilities were fantastic, cleaned throughout the day and plenty of space. Dishwashing facilities were again fantastic and cleaned, I suppose like any site going at peak times will be busy, however we never had to queue.

The new Jurassic leisure complex is first class. The indoor pool area is well organised and the kids had great fun on the waterzone. For the indoor pool they do run sessions per hour so if you get there with 20 mins left on that session you may get asked to wait until the next one starts. Upstairs there is a large restaurant and outside roof terrace, along with the brilliant 6 lane ten pin bowling - for 3 adults and 3 kids was 24.

Make sure you always keep your passes on you and don't loose them, it will result in 5 per pass per week to replace.

The only downside to having a brand new complex like this is it lets other areas of the site down like the main club room, which looks tired. They definitely need more space, we got there on a couple of evening around 7ish and all the tables were gone, bar prices are like normal pub prices.

The games room for the kids is a little old and could do with updating, it doesn't cost much to even buy tips for the pool cues.

On an evening security do walk the site and noise is kept to a minimum.

The pebbly beach is a very short walk (2 min) but we would suggest driving to lyme regis and parking on the cobb or on the top by monmouth street (1. 70 all day). There is a sandy section here with shops and cafes close to hand, plus crabbing areas for the kids and dad.

I would avoid weymouth beach (parking 6. 80 8 hours, plus 2. 60 for bag of chips, say no more!)

We thoroughly enjoyed our break, well not the wet tent packing would we go back to this site? yes most likely. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Thehoogs 7 reviews from this member

 This could have been a really fantastic site-

Plus points

The new pool complex is really fantastic (if a little cool on some days) the changing area nice with decently sized lockers. The bar and bowling at the roof of the complex opens onto a beautiful roof terrace which overlooks the whole camp site and gives you a tiny view of the unfortunately stony beach.

The shower and toilet blocks are dotted around the site and are constantly being cleaned.

Bridport itself is a 10 min drive and is really convenient for Morrison and the most brilliant brewery( buy a plastic keg and get it filled up every few days!)

Minus points

The pitches are quite snug- a bit of a squeeze out onto the very tight access roads

The donkeys on the field behind are extremely noisy at about 5. 30 each morning (in training as cockerels?)

Very stony beach.

Stones used around the children's play equipment-horrible to walk on, even worse to fall on!

The site staff did nothing about noise enforcement and unfortunately for us, we had a large group behind who had a very noisy party every night, we made several complaints as we have very young children but as long as it was lowered at 11 the site were happy. We found this ridiculous especially when we had the party makers vomiting over the fence into our pitch. This spoiled our holiday as our kids were not going to sleep until midnight and were then cranky the next day. We are not a family of party poopers and enjoy a drink as much as everyone else, but feel this problem could have been managed better. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Misabelly 2 reviews from this member

 what a nice site, very clean shower and toilet blocks, pitches are tight at times but adequate. New indoor complex was fantastic, and food there excellent.

Simple walk on to the beach and ideal for a bit of fishing. Kids club activities were average but the kids enjoyed and the evening shows were ok. We had an excellent time right up until.

Someone stole our fishing rods from under the van on our last night. There were a lot of kids running round late at night, so I did question where their security was. Also very little concern or help from reception.

Was a disappointing end to what was a really great stay with the family. Would recommend this site provided you can lock up all your things. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Under Canvas Again 4 reviews from this member

 Though the site has won awards and is eco friendly. Most of this also goes hand in hand with penny pinching!.

On arrival yes they were friendly and one of the staff cycled to the pitch and told us where and how we were to pitch. We had booked two pitches (supposed to be next to each other albeit an over site that they were separated by a walkway and weren't together at all.

Although our friend tagged onto the end of our pitch and when they went to quiz the fact they were now on a smaller pitch and not on a super pitch as they had paid for they were blagged and sent on their way.

Summary if you like being held under a curfew, limited to 6amps and love the sound of the A35 this site is for you! 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bullrog 3 reviews from this member

 1st visit to freshwater this bank holiday weekend and was very impressed. As has been said the showers/toilet facilities are excellent showers very clean and never had to wait although some of the ladies in our group did have a short wait at peak times, but this is to be expected at a very busy time.

The strictness of the pitching could be relaxed as having been told at reception how to pitch less than 5 mins later someone came racing along on a golf buggy well in excess of the site speed limit to state the same thing.

Also as a group of 4 large family tents we prefer to pitch in a you shape but due to fire regs apparently this isnt allowed. We played rounders as a group of 25 on the play field and was plenty of room for others to play football and another game of rounders, the beach is nice to walk along and throw stones in with the children but the sea was very rough and had impressive waves so not one for bathing in, this might be different at different times of year.

We ate at the takeaway and the fryed items were a little soggy and the pizzas could do with half the amount of tomato puree on but when you are camping you'll eat anything!

Bottom line is would we go again answer = yes would we recommend answer = yes. Our group consisted of 12 adults and 13 children ranging from 13 months to 12 years old and there was something for everyone. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: HowCrag 10 reviews from this member

 A big family site this, some statics but far enough away so as not to spoil the touring part.

Checked in by young staff who were spot on.

Lovely hardstanding pitch with good views, water & drain to each pitch. A bit of juggling about to get satellite reception.

Showers are one of best I've been in & told the women cleaner so, well done! Camp shop on site but would rather use the Spa shop in the village.

Plenty of things for the kidi-winks to on this site & the space to do it in, good play area & beach ten minutes flat walk away.

Grown ups have two pubs in the village & club on site, you takes your choice. A great walk can be had to West Bay on the coastal path or what we did on the beach, fun for everybody at West Bay.

One minus point was everybody was hemmed in one corner of the site, automatic computer selection I was told, technology eh, not for I thinks! 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Burnards 11 reviews from this member

 Yet another summer yet another trip to Freshwater and we will be back - that says it all. In response to a couple of other reviewers there are pubs within a shortish walk - just follow the footpaths either up through the top field where the horses graze and turn right or through the lower donkey field, over the river and through the fields to Burton Bradstock and turn left and you should be necking a pint in a few minutes.

Freshwater's not cheap and they do pack you in a bit but the toilets and showers are unbelievably clean considering the hammering they must get and the staff helpful and friendly. 14 compares well with the cost of riding in most places and you get around 40-45 minutes although more experienced riders who can canter will get better value.

Good old fashioned family entertainment - weekly talent competition, bingo, ship ahoy, the usual summer show acts and a weekly donkey derby. We are looking forward to the leisure suite. Like many others no doubt we feel we have done a fair bit to pay for it. 


Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Freshwater Beach Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Freshwater Beach Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Freshwater Beach Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Freshwater Beach Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3821 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement