Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Freshwater Beach Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > South West England > Dorset > Bridport > Freshwater Beach Holiday Park > Reviews

Freshwater Beach Holiday Park
Burton Bradstock
Bridport
Dorset   (Browse area)
DT6 4PT
Tel: 01308 897317
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 500
Open: 01/03/2022 to 30/11/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 176 Reviews
                8/10 from 176 Reviews

Photos (15)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway On Site 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing On Site   Wild Swimming On Site   Indoor Pool On Site   Outdoor Pool On Site 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   Golf <1 mile   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 Coastside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thelittlepeople 5 reviews from this member

 Nice site with it's own beach. Good facilities, shower blocks and toilets very clean. Food of a good standard you do not have to cook at all if need be, Breakfast, lunch, dinner and supper all available on site. Horses and donkeys were an added bonus. Excellent pool. Would like to see more speed ramps on site, and the area by the shops, pool, reception etc to be pedestrianised. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Sueandadie 14 reviews from this member

 Just come home from a bank holiday weekend at this site. A lovely clean site with good sized pitches, most with electric, unfortunately not with water and drainage. Toilet and shower blocks immaculate and cleaned throughout the day. Plenty to do for the children with donkey and pony rides, a mini train also goes around the site. Plenty of dog walking areas and abundance of poo bins! Large shop available with good opening hours. All in all a very good site and centrally situated to visit Dorset. Would recommend this site, a shame I can't recommend the weather! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Keep 5 reviews from this member

 We went as a family of 3 adults and 2 children aged 9-10 followed by one small dog who stayed for just over a week

First impression when we arrived was that we were squashed together like sardines. However as the time went on, this seemed less important. Toilet and shower facilities were excellent (cubicles - with toilet, basin and shower) plus normal loo's - all very clean.

Playground - good for small kids and the site felt safe to let the kids go to shop and toilets on their own.

Swimming pool - Great fun for kids who could swim all weathers as it was heated - cover for adults supervising kids would have been a bonus.

Beach - Attractive, clean but too rough to swim in sea (also jelly fish). But great walks and kids loved running aroung in the small stones/shingles. Also great for kite flying so take one. Dog also loved it as it was dog friendly.

Entertainment - Didnt go to evening entertainment so cant comment. Kids club ok but staff could have been more motivated and inclusive also teenagers seem to dominate team games so younger kids felt left out. Staff could have got kids mixing more.

TV and Phone signal very poor except vodaphone.

We appreciate staff have a job to do but some of them seemed unfriendly/not warm, i.E we had just spent ages cooking and security came round demanding we sort out our extra car (which we had told them about when we booked) so we had to leave our food to sort it out. Also a cleaner was rushing one of our party to get out of the shower so they could clean it.

Although the last part is a little negative overall it was a great holiday for the kids and the site was clean with lot of friendly people. Would go again if I ever visited a site twice. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leaky airbed 3 reviews from this member

 We booked this site last minute before Aug bank holiday and to be honest not my usual type of site really but was impressed.

There are two fields one for tents and caravans and one tents only which is on three levels, I recommend to book the tents only they still have electric more space and not hemmed in feeling(the kids had loads of room to play and private).

The showers were hot and powerful and spotless in fact everywhere was spotless toilets,dish washing area,pool and pitches and all modern(I can moan like Victor Meldrew)but credit due.

The Chippy and shop are excellent but overpriced sorry never went to club but I believe also good, play area decent size.

The pool is outdoor good size and hard to believe but the water is really warm(I do not do cold). There is horse riding on site £12 for 45 mins really good.

Surrounding area is superb very impressed with Weymouth lots to do but not tacky and beach beautiful and safe.

Well worth a visit everybody in our group of 9 would revisit the camping facilities were 10 out of 10. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Enigmastaff 2 reviews from this member

 We went here due to the reviews on here and the fact that a lovely lady I work with goes here every August bank holiday and couldn't recommend it highly enough!

The pitches,although you have to pitch precisely, are plenty big enough. The site itself is one of the cleanest I have ever been to. The showers are brilliant. The horse riding for £12 delighted both my daughters. The beach,although shingle is brilliant! and throughout our week we spent many a happy hour sunbathing, the girls slashing about and just listening to the amazing sounds of the sea. It can be windy on the beach but it didn't spoil our time there.

The shop is fantastic and very reasonable. The only complaint I would have is the prices of drinks in the club(just short of £10 for a pint, a bud and 2 soft drinks!) and the prices in the chip shop - also very very high.

So,as long as you don't eat from the chippy or go to the club you will have a brilliant very good value for money holiday. The fact that my 13 year old daughter loved it (when ordinarily everything is boring!) is the best testimony you could get ! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Linnet8 3 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from a 2 week holiday here in our tent, what a fantastic time! The staff are very helpful and super efficient, we have a large tent and they were very accommodating. Nice flat pitch on a terraced area, ground a bit stony when pegging. Great views, we could see the sea. The showers and toilets are fantastic, always spotless with plenty of room. There were dishwashing and launderette facilities. Plugs were available for hairdryers, chargers etc in the dishwashing room but there were only two so I had to queue a couple of times, more plugs please! There are stables on site which the kids loved. The club is a bit old fashioned, but the entertainment was great, good harmless fun for the kids, bingo, cabaret and a disco to finish. John was great. Didn't use the amusement arcade but the shop was great, reasonable prices. The pool is a nice size with lifeguards on duty and there is a grassed area around it if you want to sunbathe. The on site chippy was tasty but a bit pricey. Security guards patrol the site in the evening which we liked as they kept an eye on things.

A mile down the road is West Bay with a lovely little harbour for crabbing and fishing, and a shingle beach with a lifeguard on duty. There are little shops, amusements, cafe's and pubs. I think we spent most days here.

Bridport is a mile further on and is a lovely town with a street market and a morrisons for your shopping.

Overall we had a fantastic holiday and will definitely return, possibly August bank holiday week! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: David + Barbara 6 reviews from this member

 We stayed here the 2nd week in August after spending our first week in Cornwall.

Nice sized pitch ( B13) with our own 'terrace' at the back,and very efficient check in via a dirt path but this avoided the site centre and is a good idea at busy times.

Toilet blocks are excellent, always being cleaned! Some shower cubicles have sinks and toilets too. Only thing that needs improving is more sinks as others have mentioned, there really aren't enough.

Pool, busy but it was peak season and my kids prefered the beach/river anyway. Shingle and painfull but we knew that before we went. Down by the river is great(esp at high tide), kids on dinghys and body boards a plenty.

Club we only went in once but kids enjoyed the acts while we sat outside (no room inside as we only got there at 9)

Shop, stocked with all you need, but a Morrisons not far away if you require more variety.

Stables, my daughter went on a donkey ride (quite short but only £1) but there's pony trekking too.

The walk into WestBay is either via the beach or over the coastal path ( very hilly) but worth a visit to this lovely harbour (location for harbourlights with nick berry) we used to walk there most evenings and have a hot chocolate at Mungos mmmmm Lots of other places to visit, Charmouth & Lyme Regis for fossils is a must (don't forget your hammer) everyman and his dog is down there hammering rocks!

No complaints except that the dirt track wasn't open when we left so had to pull the caravan up a V steep hill.

Would we return? Most definitely! 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alfrescobubbles 2 reviews from this member

 We were not sure of the size of our tent when we booked but staff were helpful letting us know why there were rules about the size / parking so safe distance was left between tents.

Staff were helpful and friendly.

Toilets and showers were clean (even after loads of rain!). The shower cubicles had loads of hot water and space for me and at least 1 child to get showered at the same time.

The launderette is not badly priced (£2.50 wash, £1.20 dry).

The shop is well stocked. Food, wine and emergency supplies!

The pitches were well drained and terraced. The kids spent hours scooting down the hills!

The pebble beach is at the edge of the site. The riding stables are on site (book an hour ride as soon as you arrive!)

There is entertainment but quite low key. It was not noisy at night from party animals (other than the donkeys !) 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Duffs 9 reviews from this member

 We went to this site as it allowed dogs onto its beach (the stones are a pain but the kids and dogs didn't mind and the beach was always empty).

Everytime I visited the toilets they were being cleaned - even at 6.15am! However the small toilet block has great showers/ hair dryers but only 2 adult and one childs sink. This was a pain as they were always busy.

The pool was a big hit and the life guards were great, rotating their positions constantly. The donkey and pony rides are a bit short for the money but the horse rides were worth it (40 minutes). These need to be booked a few days in advance.

The walks are great, locals friendly (as we met a few on our walks and in the local pub The Three Horseshoes at Burton Bradstock) and the bins are constantly being emptied on site. The takeaway was a bit expensive. Overall a great stay. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chipz 1 review from this member

 First time at this campsite and what a breath of fresh air it was!

Firstly it was full to the brim of happy campers and everyone was so friendly and pleasant. Yes it is slightly expensive but you certainly get what you pay for.

The facilities are absolutely awesome and as for the camp shop, the prices are as good as it gets.

I would recommend a visit to West Bay, itís about 5 miles by car or half hour walk west along the beach.

Iím no distant stranger to the local area, but you can spend a whole afternoon just soaking up the beautiful views down the Jurassic coastline for miles on end.

We booked this long weekend on impulse a week before departure and I would say to anyone go and have fun and forget the real world that we live in!

If you have a dog they would love you forever to take them. 


Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Freshwater Beach Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Does Freshwater Beach Holiday Park have a swimming pool?  YES, there is a pool on site  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Freshwater Beach Holiday Park?  There is a shop on site  View all facilities

Is Freshwater Beach Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bridport      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Dorset

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3862 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement