Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - York Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > York Caravan Park Reviews

York Caravan Park
Stockton Lane
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO32 9UB
Tel: 01904 424222
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 16 March - 6 January 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 176 Reviews
                9/10 from 176 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: MGW1 1 review from this member

Just returned on Saturday evening and would go back in a flash. The site was clean and tidy. The pitch was big and took the 6 man tent with porch easily. It was a bit uneven, but considering the amount of rain we've had recently, this was to be expected. All of the pitches were within easy reach of the shower blocks, which were the best we've experienced. We never had a problem getting a shower, even with the site being completely full.

The bus to York was spot on. At 3. 20 return, it was a bargain. York is expensive for drinks if you want the river view. 4. 40 a pint is a bit excessive. Yates' is better value for food and drink, but without the view.

We tried the Toby Carvery which was standard fayre. Ok for the money.

If you fancy fish and chips, turn right out of the site, down to the roundabout and turn left, up to the lights and turn left again. Nice chippy with freshly cooked fish. Great for when you get sick of BBQ food.

Because the site does not have a shop, you need to make sure you have a good supply of the basics, but all of the major supermarkets are within 5-10 minutes drive and the Monks Cross shopping centre is only a 10 minute drive away with all of the major shops.

So all together a great site, with great facilities in a great location. Well worth a visit but book early as this is a very popular site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pitch 5 reviews from this member

As we don't drive our friend brought us down from North Wales. This is the best campsite we have been to and we have been to many. The shower facilities are fantastic, campsite quiet, lovely ducks and with the bus service right outside the campsite you couldn't go wrong. I really wish we lived just a bit nearer then we would come regulary. I class this campsite at 9. 5 out of 10 superb, well doneE. There is a toby cavery in walking distance which we found great. The campsite is kept well but the bushes that go to the toilets etc do need cutting back.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peajam 16 reviews from this member

This is a very very well thought out little site. It has very easy access from the roads. It has a nice lake in the centre of the site and a spacious shower set up with the toilet block. The showers are set up as separate rooms all having pvc outdoor style doors leading into a large undercover courtyard. Inside each of these rooms is a sink loo and shower. They are massive inside. Bigger than most family style bathrooms you get on other sites.

The pitches are various sizes. We opted for a hard-standing pitch as we were unsure about the British weather. The pitch had a hedge round it and a large compacted hardcore base big enough for any caravan with an awning. The pitch we had also had its own electric and water point. There was the other side of the site which had grass pitches on it. However I didn't go and look to see what the set up was with water and electric etc.

All in all a very nice site and adults only so no shouting kids early in morning. Would go back if in area.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aust.tourists 69 reviews from this member

We have just spent 8 nights at this site and have really enjoyed it. The pitches are large and level with a mix of hard standing and grass. All the pitches are fully serviced pitches.

There is a large indoor shed that is available for caravan storage. We will be using it for both our car and caravan.

Andrew is very pleasant and helpful.

There is a small lake on the site with ducks and I also saw someone fishing there as well so there must be fish in it.

The shower and toilet facilities are the best we have come across so far. Each shower room is individual with a shower, toilet, sink and hairdryer. The lock is a bit tricky though and the first time I used it I thought it was locked but someone walked in. I learnt pretty quickly after that how to lock it properly!

There is a regular bus service into York which leaves from right outside the site. However, we walked into York which is about a 45 minute level walk via the road.

The Toby carvery is around a 25 minute walk along the road and is very busy. You can cut across the fields on a footpath which is quicker but it had just been raining and Andrew said it would be muddy so we walked along the road. The first part of the walk there is no footpath so need to be a bit careful.

We had good satellite TV reception but mobile phone and internet only had limited coverage. We are with 3 mobile.

It is an adults only park with a mix of caravans and tents.

I would recommend this park to anyone and we will be back here again.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mr Tent 2 reviews from this member

This is a difficult review as it isn't a negative one its an honest opinion on certain items.

Positives:

Location is good, park and ride close by and bus stop for normal bus outside the campsite. Best to take the bus as York isn't car friendly and car parks a bit expensive.

Toilet blocks are big own toilet sink and shower to yourself also kept clean at all times.

There is a lake for fishing, extra charge, and not being a fisherman, you must have the proper equipment, etc, etc.

There were people fishing there but never saw anything being caught.

WI-FI can only be used outside the reception area as signal isn't strong enough for any great distance. But then again your on holiday is the Internet that important?

Negatives:

Yes, there is the above that makes it all nice, however, our pitch was not all that even and when we packed away the tent the smell from the ground, was to say the least, pretty vile.

There was no atmosphere at the site it was a case of get on your pitch and that's it.

Grass and bushes needed a trim, yes the rain was there but not all the time so there was a window to get this done.

Being woken up fairly early by I think cows mooing their heads off and the birds. I know this is camping but was a little noisy. There was some noise from campers late at night but was bearable, just unfortunate that owners are not on site 24/7.

Overall we did enjoy our stay, hence my initial beginning of this review. Would we go back though, not too sure as apart from the big shower cubicles it is like most clean sites.

Would I say it was 5 star, no, 4 star for certain.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mckendrys 4 reviews from this member

Just returned from a 10 night stay. Very very wet during our stay but we thoroughly enjoyed ourselves. The facilities are the best we have seen the shower rooms are brilliant, the pitches are huge with electric, tv point, water and drainage.

The bus in to York was great meant we could both have a drink with out the who's turn is it to drive!

Monks cross retail park has an Asda and a Sainsburys which was really handy.

The owner was really helpful and such a gentleman.

Would recommend this site and will be returning!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Eclectus 31 reviews from this member

Just had a great week at York caravan park. Lovely site situated on Stockton lane not far from monks cross shopping centre and York city centre. Ideal location.

Arrived Saturday and was greeted by a young lady who was site sitting. Wasn't really sure about pitches and pitch numbers. Said there had been some confusion over pitch numbers earlier in the week and the plot we were allocated was not available(at least the key fob had gone missing). Nonetheless we found a lovely pitch.

I must warn at this point to other potential customers to be aware of the very silly placement of the mains water and electricity bollards. You may well have to turn your unit around to face the seemingly wrong way to be able to access the utilities.

The hard standing we had was large enough for the caravan but not large enough for awning as well and subsequently had half hard standing and half grass(very muddy soggy grass) for the other half. The weather was not brilliant but that can't be helped. Tv hookup available also which we found was essential.

The site was very nicely laid out. The website gallery photos did not do the site the justice it deserved and certainly did not promote the fantastic new facilities.

Very clean and tidy, a bit of a trek to the bins but could be accessed if on the way out. We had lots of rain this week and it would have been nice for the bins to have been a little closure to the park centre

The site boasts five stars and indeed it is clear why they achieved this award. However a few niggles

1 No dog walk. Despite the website claiming that there was one. We were expected to walk down the road to an almost disused bridle way. The road was a bus route very very very busy. I set off to try it out but with no pavement rapidly turned around In fear of my own and the dogs safety. (Andrew please do something about this). Do not walk to this footpath it is dangerous. We found a public park area further into the city where locals were walking the dogs.

2. The palace of private washrooms and toilet facilities was next to none. I must point out though that there was no means of identifying which bathroom was occupied and which not without constantly trying each door handle. And when in there trying to do what you need to do and being disturbed by someone trying the door handle is not good. Saying that though the standard of toilet and showers was excellent and you should be commended for this.

3. Tourist information point was in main reception which wasn't frequented as much as the toilet block and would suggest that moving at least some of the tourist facilities to the vast space available in the toilet block may prove beneficial as this certainly would be a focal point for the site.

Overall. The site was very quiet and tranquil despite being just off a main road. Local Toby carvers nearby and local massive asda within 5 minutes drive at monks cross.

Lots to do in York as you would expect but very pricey. Catching the bus into York was the best idea. Parking in the city was expensive and 3. 20 adult return was good value I thought. (free if you qualified for a bus pass). Drops you off right in the city centre. I must add at this point that the bus drivers were the friendliest most cooperative people I had ever met.

Overall a really nice week and would love to go back to this site on a frequent basis but really needs to address the dog walk issue

Overall fantastic

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Brisha 7 reviews from this member

We have just arrived back after a 5 night stay at this site and as previous reviewers have said the site is lovely, although in my opinion a little too expensive at 23. 00 per night in comparison to other sites in the area.

Being an adult only site we would have expected nothing less than peace and quiet and this site was exactly that, lovely and peaceful, however some people have mentioned the road noise and that it didn't disturb them, for us not living close to road noise we did find the motor bikes speeding along the A64 from roundabout to roundabout very irritating and the constant hum of traffic noise from very early until late was noticeable. Maybe it wouldn't bother everyone but it did us.

The facilities in terms of the shower and toilet amenities were beautifully kept and very spacious, one comment I would like to point out in case anyone reading this has any mobility difficulties the step down from the shower cubicle to the floor was a good 8-9' and could be difficult if you are unsteady on your feet or have a hip problem but there is a disabled unit (I don't know if this is any different).

Overall a nice site, good for transport links into York but a little limited in terms of local amenities (local shop, newspapers, calor gas etc)

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Codwales 22 reviews from this member

As we arrived at the site we were met by the owner who was very helpful and showed us to our pitch.

Our pitch was fully serviced, plenty of room with a border of young trees and wild flowers.

There are 8 shower rooms on site each having a shower, toilet, handbasin, hand drier and hair dryer. There is also a men's room with 2 urinals, 2 showers and 2 toilets. The women's room had showers and toilets (not sure how many)

There is a dish washing/laundry room and at the back of the block is the chemical waste disposal room.

The site is close to the A64 but we did not seem to notice the road noise.

The bus to York stops outside the site.

The closest pub is a toby inn and serves a brilliant carvery but nothing else unless you are vegetarian.

There is Monk's Cross retail park approx. A mile away with an Asda's and Sainsbury's.

We will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aileen28 1 review from this member

Just back from a 2 week stay, our first visit and will certainly be back, what a find. The toilet and shower facilities are fabulous, well thought out and spotless.

The pitches are generous with plenty room for awning, car and sitting out. The site is well thought out and it being an adult only is great. The fishing pond was good, very naturally constructed, could do with area's with places to sit without disturbing the vegetation.

Very easy access to York, bus stops outside site. We however took the car straight into York and parked in Foss Park car park for only 90p per hour.

It is unfortunate that there is no dog exercise area as the road that gain access to walk the dog is very busy to walk along with the dog. Out of town shopping centres very close by with a Toby Carvery a nice walk through a field (well maybe not on a wet day).

What a great site to the credit of the owners.

Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5139 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019