Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - York Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > York Caravan Park Reviews

York Caravan Park
Stockton Lane
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO32 9UB
Tel: 01904 424222
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 16 March - 6 January 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 176 Reviews
                9/10 from 176 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Woolliness 9 reviews from this member

What a great site. Toilet facilities first class free hot showers and a hairdryer in every shower cubicle is a nice touch. Bus stop right outside campsite which runs every half hour into York only 15 min ride and 3 return which is great.

Lovely Chinese take away about 10mins away. Also an asda for shopping.

Caravan around the fishing lake which was lovely and hubby went fishing a couple of time didn't catch much.

Only down side is the small dog walk and no bins, the owner did say he had one on order.

Beringborough Hall and Gardens well worth a visit which is a national trust site and only 20 mins away.

Will be returning in the near future.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Frederico 47 reviews from this member

Easy to get to, all main roads. Nice welcome. Good information given re buses and places to visit. Good size pitches with water, drainage and TV connection. Choice of hard standing or grass. Toilet facilities very good with 8 large shower rooms with toilet and sink. Plenty room to get dressed after showering. Kept very clean. Separate toilets also. Fishing available at the lake. No shop on site so take everything you need with you. Monks Cross shopping area with Asda and Sainsbury etc a short drive away. No pub or club on site so we went to a Toby Carvery a short drive away. Bus stop to York at the site entrance very handy as parking in York is not good. Recommend York river trip. We visited Eden Camp near Malton which was good. Site facilities, 10 for toilets and showers. 7 overall as no shop or pub/club.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aust.tourists 69 reviews from this member

This is our second visit to this site. It is an adults only site. The pitches are large and level and fully serviced with power and electricity.

There is a small lake and it is possible to fish for a small fee.

It is quite close to York and has a regular bus service into town. The bus stop is just across the road and they run until midnight if you want to go into York at night.

The reception is very friendly and always willing to give advice about the surrounding area.

The toilets block is excellent with individual rooms containing toilet, shower, sink and hairdryer. It is close to a Toby Carvery.

They also offer secure indoor caravan storage.

We will definitely be back again.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Horsesitch 13 reviews from this member

The site is well-located for public transport and facilities are indeed very good in comparison to many other sites. But I would argue that it isn't the 'luxury' site it wants to be. To my mind, '5-star' and 'luxury' should be supported by a bit more than private washrooms and a level site. There were few finishing touches when I compare this site to something like Trethem Mill in Cornwall - a true luxury site. For instance, no mats to stand on in the washrooms, a mirror yes, but 2 metres from the sink, water which was less than hot. I think you also need someone on duty who knows bus times, location of grey water disposal points and so on - when I was there the young lady in charge didn't have a clue. Some of the pitches are a long way from the hook-up posts so you do need amazing long connections! One thing I'd love to know is why the washrooms are so large - you could fit a bed and a small table in them and offer them as bedsits - why would you spend all that cash on building facilities that are so huge? Anyway I suppose that's great if you enjoy huge. Don't get me wrong, I'd go there again, but really do dispute the luxury tag

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Croudyl 3 reviews from this member

This site is very well located for visiting York. Being motorhomers we value good public transport and there is an excellent service from outside the site making York totally accessible by day and night without the hassle of parking, traffic etc.

The site is extremely well cared for and maintained with excellent shower/toilet facilities (the best we've experienced)and a rural feel despite its closeness to York (approx 2 miles). We'll definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Brenphil 1 review from this member

This is our favourite site, we've been 9 times in 4 years. Firstly, it is easy to get to. The pitches are large and have all services to them.

Although we use our own facilities, the on site facilities are excellent, the best we've seen.

We find it very peaceful and quiet, especially since it became adult only.

The convenience of the bus stop right outside is brilliant. You can get into York or go to Leeds, Whitby, Scarborough or Bridlington.

We will continue to visit regularly.

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Peterpam 9 reviews from this member

We are fairly new to touring but this is definitely the smartest site we have seen so far. Everything is spotless and tidy and the shower rooms so large you could hold a dance in one! You did have to try each door as they had self closing hinges so it wasn't possible to tell if they were occupied. There were extra showers in the loos too, which were just as nice.

We had a grass pitch which was slightly soft after all the rain but not a problem, it was easy to park and hook up as the pitch was very spacious. The electricity, waste and water were on each stand so no wandering halfway across the site to fill up the aqua roll and empty the waste. We were on the edge of the site and it was very quiet - it was possible to hear the main road but it wasn't in any way distracting.

The lake is very pretty and there were a number of chaps fishing while their ladies read with their feet up! The bus for York stops right outside the gate every 30 mins and takes you straight into the middle of the city - brilliant.

We had a fabulous 4 days visiting York, Castle Howard and one evening in Scarborough for fish and chips! We were VERY sad to leave and will certainly return. Can't recommend it highly enough for a wonderfully quiet break.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hoolahoop 2 reviews from this member

This is a beautiful site, pitches are well laid out around the park and a really good size. The toilets are better than any we've ever seen anywhere. They have toilers with showers and individual shower rooms which are really big. Good as any 5 star Hotel I'm sure. The staff are really pleasant and helpful and will consider requests for a particular pitch if you ask. We were to arrive late as I was working and they were excellent and helpful with this, nothing is too much trouble. Great location with a bus stops just outside for a trip to York. Will definitely visit here again and have recommended this site to friends who went in October 2012 and also think it is a great site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sifacat 1 review from this member

We thoroughly enjoyed our stay at YCP and would highly recommend it to anyone. It is situated within York's ring road, which can be heard at night if the wind is in the right direction, and being opposite a bus stop means that you can park your car and not need it for your whole stay but still explore a wide area.

The facilities are fantastic and kept clean and in good order. The only negative is the lack of shop - just for basics like milk and bread - but Asda and Sainsburys are only a 5 minute drive away although a farm shop would enhance the site.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: The Gamblers 14 reviews from this member

My wife and I are huge fans of the Tranquil Group having stayed at many of the adults only sites in the group. York is possibly one of the best we have stayed at, certainly the shower block is the best I have ever experienced with your own huge area combining toilet, sink, mirror and lovely shower with hangers and a huge area to dry. There were eight of these shower areas available for men and women and two more showers actual within each of the ladies and gents toilet block. This was not commonly known and on two occasions I walked past men waiting for a shower cubicle, into the gents and into a free shower!

Andrew is a lovely host and very knowledgeably of the area and happy to pass on any helpful tips. York is accessible by walking (30mins), cycle (15mins) or bus (12mins). A bus stops right outside the site, small, well behaved dogs are allowed on the bus.

A small pond and well maintained grounds make for a pleasant evening stroll if you don't want to venture of site.

If I had to have one moan, it would be the condition of the access roads and the hard standings. These are black gravel of various size resulting in a slightly unattractive appearance and difficult walking conditions when wearing flip flops.

Whilst it would represent a huge investment, the site would benefit from tarmac access roads and better hardstanding.

I will end by stating York Caravan Park is an excellent site and a credit to Andrew Wilson and all who run the site.

We will be returning very soon.

Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


7500 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019