Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of York Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > York Caravan Park Reviews

York Caravan Park
Stockton Lane
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO32 9UB
Tel: 01904 424222
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here

Pitches: 55
Open: 16 March - 6 January 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 177 Reviews
                9/10 from 177 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  177 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Ldricks 17 reviews from this member

Nice quite site about three miles from the centre of York. Large pitches that were in need of some TLC as a bit overgrown. On big gripe, there was some dogs mess on our friend pitch, whcih the owner quickly cleared up.

The shower cubicles were very small, in fact our friend had to get dressed outside the cubicle, which could have been problematic as the only washing up facilities are located in the ladies block. Not very satisfactory. The shower curtains could have done with a wash. The nearest decent shop is over a mile away. The city of York is lovely and well worth a visit!

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Penguin73 11 reviews from this member

We have just spent the last weekend here.What a lovely campsite, big pitches. Very quiet apart from the cows!

The only downside was that the washing up room was in the ladies toilet and shower room, which didn't bother my husband as he got out of doing the pots!

We parked at Monks Cross shopping centre and used the park and ride into York which only cost £4.60 return for 2 adults and 2 children.

Will be going back as we really enjoyed it.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Oweneta 7 reviews from this member

Went to this site 9th /10th July, Very easy to find, Nice big pitches, neatly laid out,shower and toilet facilities were first class, lovely picnic area and fishing lake.

It's only a couple of miles from York city centre

A great bus service picks you up at the bus stop

Outside the camp gates, £3.00 return was great value for money, the buses ran until past midnight which was great for us.

We went to the races and had a great day only £5 to get on the course and the kids went free, bit of a walk into York after as the buses were jam packed but you expect that.

Only downside for me was that I had one miserable couple next to us who moaned about everything we did, but that's not the site's fault.

Will be going here again without a doubt.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Cosmickimbo 5 reviews from this member

Lovely big pitches with a hedge round. Although near the road, it was very quiet.

The bus stop to York was just outside the site which meant we could leave the car at the site. Monks Cross Park and ride just a short drive away with supermarkets etc.

Ring road easily accessible for trips to the sea side. Nearest pub was quite a distance - the world cup was on and it was hard finding a pub showing the games! Decent tv reception.

Although there isn't a specific dog walk, there is a field which we could walk her on with no problems.

Would definitely go back again.

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Orchideya0 5 reviews from this member

We stayed here Wednesday to Saturday in June.

Loved the hedge segregated pitches which were really big. We had our trailer tent and a 'larger' small tent (if that makes sense) on the pitch and there was still plenty of room.

The site was lovely with lots of trees and the lake, and the reception area had lots of information. The bus into york went from right outside the site, and was a brilliant service.

We did have two issues with the site, nothing that would stop us going back, but worth noting.

The ground was really stoney, even though we were on a grass pitch. We bent a lot of our pegs,we did have some rock pegs thankfully which helped, but we would recommend that if staying here - go armed with rock pegs!

Also I would say that the toilets weren't really clean enough, they were adequate but with a little work could have been so so much better. It obvious each day which areas had been cleaned and which hadn't. By Saturday when the site was filling up for the weekend, the toilets were really quite grotty. A fellow camper commented that she couldn't believe had much the shower block had deteriorated in a year. Considering it was 5 stars we were a little disappointed.

The fact that the washing up facilities were in the ladies toilet was slightly annoying - but it did give the excuse to get the teenage girls washing up - so not all bad!

Would go back - but probably mid week again, lovely site just could be slightly cleaner. Maybe we have just been spoilt by the Conkers Campsite.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jimsmisses 15 reviews from this member

Had a stay here for six nights while visiting lots of friends in the area.

Pitches are certainly large but ours was very uneven and almost 'untidy' with quite a lot of stones within the grass. Made levelling the awning quite a nightmare.

Also, we felt that the toilet block didn't live up to the 5 star rating. It wasn't exactly unclean but it didn't appear 'clean enough'. There weren't many people on the site at the time of our visit so maybe the owners thought it wasn't absolutely necessary to do a full cleaning job every day but surely that's what customers are paying for. And it wasn't exactly inexpensive !

On the positive side, the site itself is very peaceful considering the location between two very heavily used main roads and the fact that the bus stops directly outside the site entrance for trips into York was a real bonus.

We would stay here again but hope maybe that the sanitary facilities might have improved by then.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Stecky 8 reviews from this member

We had a fantastic time me and the wife. The pitches were massive, our tent is 24ft x 12ft and you could have got 3 of them on the pitch.

It was clean, quiet and the showers were superb. We walked to York, 2 miles there and back. A great shopping outlet called monks cross is only a 10 min drive away

We cant fault this site and will be returning without a doubt. Keep up the good work site staff.

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: DaveWr 1 review from this member

Just returned from a weekend trip. Very spacious secure site. Massive pitches, some grass, some with hard-standing. Very clean shower block.

Slight road noise on the site, but no problem sleeping. Ideal for York (2 miles from the centre). Bus directly outside site, or park and ride from Monks Cross (about 2 miles away).

My OH complained washing up facilities are only in the womens shower block.

Would recommend to everybody, will use site again.

Also has a large indoor secure on site caravan storage facility, if anybody is in need.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fabrichouseowner 3 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night, what a lovely quiet site it is. The pitch we had for our tent was massive. The toilet / shower block was very clean.

You had to leave a £10 refundable deposit so you could get in and out of the park with your car. Which wasn't a problem.

We took the bus into York which is right across the road. It cost £2.00 to get into York. Not too far away was a big shopping centre (Monks Cross) which was easy to find and had plenty of shops there including Asda.

If we were returning to York. We would camp here again.

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pally 3 reviews from this member

A nice spacious site, the facilities were ample and very clean. The pitches are large and separated by little hedges. It will be better when these have grown more for privacy, but its not really a problem.

The staff are very friendly, and the site is barrier controlled for security. There was a lot of road noise, both from the road outside and the nearby A64, and also quite a number of planes right overhead, but it wouldn't put me off another visit.

Previous     177 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Love Touring Expo, Scotland 25/10 to 27/10, Aberdeen
Scotlandís newest caravan and motorhome show! The very latest caravans, motorhomes and campervans from all major brands, including the new models for 2020 ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2059 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019