Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of York Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > York Caravan Park Reviews

York Caravan Park
Stockton Lane
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO32 9UB
Tel: 01904 424222
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 15 March - 2 January

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 180 Reviews
                9/10 from 180 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   Wild Swimming <5 miles   Indoor Pool <5 miles   Outdoor Pool <5 miles 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <1 mile   Tennis <5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  180 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: September 2020  Confirmed Booking Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 4 Travelling as:  Retired couple
Reviewer: Geofft76229xen 2 reviews from this member

 Great location and easy access.

Brilliant showers and toilet kept spotless. Bus stop just over the road.

Staff are great and friendly. Nice quite adult only site. 


Date of Visit: November 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: PB23 1 review from this member

 First time visiting this site, very easy to get to, very well laid out, the warden was very helpful with information and offered to loan us an extension for our aquaroll hook up.

The showers are rooms with toilet & wash basin very large and very clean, wifi is included in the price which is very reasonable for the close location to York.

The bus stop is outside the entrance, 1 way to York & Leeds the other to the coast, £3. 90 return to York.

Will be a regular site for us now. 


Date of Visit: August 2019 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Aniseedvan 1 review from this member

 This is a site more suited to caravans and motorhomes. The owners are very nice and we received a warm welcome. The pitches are generous in size and bounded by privacy hedges.

The bathrooms are a generous size, but for a 5* site I would have expected better hairdryers than the ones provided (those small always on tubes for want of a better description).

The pitch caused us to have problems, thereís an all weather mat running centrally down the pitch, and trying to pitch a 4 man tent around this was horrendous, for two seasoned campers using rock Pegs! Electricity and water points were easily accessible.

Having the bus stop right outside was great, the owners were very helpful with times and then the best taxi service when there was an accident and the buses were delayed! 20 min bus ride, every half an hour during except sundays (every hour).

Beautifully quiet at night, as youíd expect from an adults site. Some road noise from the main road further up, but nothing too onerous.

So, a nice site, but the lack of simple shop provisions (milk, bread) and some of the touches in the bathrooms, pitch makes it an OK site rather than a stellar one - for campers based on the price. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 7 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Dreamer36 10 reviews from this member

 A wonderful site, well situated to visit York, the North York Moors and even the coast. There was nowhere to walk from the site but the buses stopped directly outside.

Positives: Enormous pitches all separated by a variety of hedges. Helpful staff, lovely lake and mature trees. Immaculate grass, all hard standings, own water on pitch.

Could be improved: very small dog walk and it wasnít gated, but it was quite adequate if you donít want to let dogs run off the lead.

We were on pitch 2 and in the hot weather there was a definite pong from the septic tank just behind the hedge in hot weather. The shop didnít even sell basics, not even milk, though it was permanently staffed during the day. 


Date of Visit: July 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Lizzie120464 12 reviews from this member

 We found this site a bit too crammed in, we were on pitch 55 and just felt "surrounded" Low numbered pitches have much more space, and would have been much better.

Surrounding area was very busy, lots of nose to tail traffic.

Bus service into York City Centre very good. 
via mobile

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Swift Celeb 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site for six nights, quiet but ideal location to visit York and a number of seaside resorts

The site itself was well kept, clean and the staff were very friendly. The shower block was unbelievable, the room inside the shower cubicle was bigger than some people kitchens, seriously and spotless as well. There was a dog walk a bit on the small side, could do with it being made a little bigger.

This was a adults only site, never stayed on one before, would definitely return to this site if ever visiting this area of the country. Unfortunately there was no on site shop which would have been nice, for things like bread, milk and beans but the was a Asda about a 10 minute drive away. 


Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Nights stayed: 3 Travelling as:  Mature couple
Reviewer: Joolb 38 reviews from this member

 2 adults, Sterling elite caravan on fully serviced pitch

Arrived in the dark after 5 hour journey from Liverpool-chaos on the m62! Had phoned ahead so instructions for entry were emailed to us. Security barrier fob exactly where we told and easy to find. Lighting on the park not really adequate to see to pitch so abandoned our efforts and used the motor mover sooner than usual.

Pitches lovely and level, lots of green space and careful planting. Shower block very very clean despite the wet and gloomy weather. Buses from outside the site as said before kept perfectly to time, even late at night.

York packed as usual for this time of year but still managed to shop at Betty's. Lots of cafes / restaurants / pubs to suit every taste. We had meal at the ivy which was expensive but well presented and delicious. Didn't try the local Toby carvery but car park full so obviously very popular.

Site very quiet -never heard a peep after about 9. 30. Would gladly stay here again if in the area 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Gone on holiday 30 reviews from this member

 First time at this site. Quickly checked in, £10 deposit for barrier key which you get back on leaving the site. Very large pitches with grass surrounds, & own water supply & waste water drain, so take long tubing from van to drain. There is a dog walk but we don't have a dog.

Very large individual toilet/shower rooms + additional toilets & showers, very clean, hubby went to toilet at 7:30am one morning & guy was in there cleaning them already. This is a very popular site, think most weekends are fully booked so if you are wanting to go for a weekend book early, we went Sunday to Friday but by Thursday the site was getting full again as they have storage facilities & was bringing vans out onto available pitches.

Adults only so very quiet site. Bus stop outside site which is the coast liner bus, goes to York/Leeds one way, or Malton, Pickering/Scarborough & Whitby the other, and if like us you have a concession ticket free to all these places.

We walked to the Toby Carvery pub from the site, about half a mile there just a few hundred yards from the gate to the sign post across the field, so take care as no path, just a grass verge to the signpost.

The Hopgrove pub is getting a refit but still serving meals which was good. One day we walked the Solar System (planets walk) from York Askham Bar Park & Ride to Ricall 6. 4 miles, then caught the bus from Ricall every 15 minutes back into York, then caught the Park & Ride Bus (no 3) over road to the Tower back to Askham Bar where our car was parked.

We just showed our passes & it didn't cost us any money which we were expecting to have to pay, so parked up all day for free. There is a big Tesco next to the Park & Ride so we stocked up on a few things. There is The National Trusts - Treasurer's House in York nr the Minster.

In the summer months it would be nice to catch the bus & go to say Whitby for the day, not having to drive just sit back & relax, then the bus drops you back outside the caravan park. We enjoyed our stay, going to Pocklington another day in the car (free car parking there) then lunch in The Feathers pub with a warm fire to greet us.

The coast liner bus runs hourly on a Sunday, every 30 mins through the week. 


Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: DottieClare 4 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site. Friendly welcome on arrival. Fully serviced pitches, some over looking the small fishing lake. Excellent shower block Bus stop right outside. First bus towards York is at 05. 25 £3. 70 return. We will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Briancaravan40 2 reviews from this member

 What a great site! The facilities are clean, modern and well-maintained. Its in a great location to visit York and perfect for adults. We would recommend this site to anyone looking for a peaceful weekend and we are looking forward to visiting again 


Previous     180 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is York Caravan Park child friendly?  NO, this site is adult only  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to York Caravan Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is York Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


6088 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement