Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - York Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > York Caravan Park Reviews

York Caravan Park
Stockton Lane
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO32 9UB
Tel: 01904 424222
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 16 March - 6 January 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 175 Reviews
                9/10 from 175 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  175 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2019 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Nights stayed: 6 Travelling as:  Young couple
Reviewer: Swift Celeb 3 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for six nights, quiet but ideal location to visit York and a number of seaside resorts

The site itself was well kept, clean and the staff were very friendly. The shower block was unbelievable, the room inside the shower cubicle was bigger than some people kitchens, seriously and spotless as well. There was a dog walk a bit on the small side, could do with it being made a little bigger.

This was a adults only site, never stayed on one before, would definitely return to this site if ever visiting this area of the country. Unfortunately there was no on site shop which would have been nice, for things like bread, milk and beans but the was a Asda about a 10 minute drive away.

Date of Visit: November 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Joolb 33 reviews from this member

2 adults, Sterling elite caravan on fully serviced pitch

Arrived in the dark after 5 hour journey from Liverpool-chaos on the m62! Had phoned ahead so instructions for entry were emailed to us. Security barrier fob exactly where we told and easy to find. Lighting on the park not really adequate to see to pitch so abandoned our efforts and used the motor mover sooner than usual. Pitches lovely and level, lots of green space and careful planting. Shower block very very clean despite the wet and gloomy weather. Buses from outside the site as said before kept perfectly to time, even late at night. York packed as usual for this time of year but still managed to shop at Betty's. Lots of cafes / restaurants / pubs to suit every taste. We had meal at the ivy which was expensive but well presented and delicious. Didn't try the local Toby carvery but car park full so obviously very popular.

Site very quiet -never heard a peep after about 9. 30. Would gladly stay here again if in the area

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Gone on holiday 25 reviews from this member

First time at this site. Quickly checked in, £10 deposit for barrier key which you get back on leaving the site. Very large pitches with grass surrounds, & own water supply & waste water drain, so take long tubing from van to drain. There is a dog walk but we don't have a dog.

Very large individual toilet/shower rooms + additional toilets & showers, very clean, hubby went to toilet at 7:30am one morning & guy was in there cleaning them already. This is a very popular site, think most weekends are fully booked so if you are wanting to go for a weekend book early, we went Sunday to Friday but by Thursday the site was getting full again as they have storage facilities & was bringing vans out onto available pitches.

Adults only so very quiet site. Bus stop outside site which is the coast liner bus, goes to York/Leeds one way, or Malton, Pickering/Scarborough & Whitby the other, and if like us you have a concession ticket free to all these places. We walked to the Toby Carvery pub from the site, about half a mile there just a few hundred yards from the gate to the sign post across the field, so take care as no path, just a grass verge to the signpost. The Hopgrove pub is getting a refit but still serving meals which was good. One day we walked the Solar System (planets walk) from York Askham Bar Park & Ride to Ricall 6. 4 miles, then caught the bus from Ricall every 15 minutes back into York, then caught the Park & Ride Bus (no 3) over road to the Tower back to Askham Bar where our car was parked. We just showed our passes & it didn't cost us any money which we were expecting to have to pay, so parked up all day for free. There is a big Tesco next to the Park & Ride so we stocked up on a few things. There is The National Trusts - Treasurer's House in York nr the Minster. In the summer months it would be nice to catch the bus & go to say Whitby for the day, not having to drive just sit back & relax, then the bus drops you back outside the caravan park. We enjoyed our stay, going to Pocklington another day in the car (free car parking there) then lunch in The Feathers pub with a warm fire to greet us. The coast liner bus runs hourly on a Sunday, every 30 mins through the week.

Date of Visit: October 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: DottieClare 4 reviews from this member

Brilliant site. Friendly welcome on arrival. Fully serviced pitches, some over looking the small fishing lake. Excellent shower block Bus stop right outside. First bus towards York is at 05. 25 £3. 70 return. We will be back.

Date of Visit: August 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Briancaravan40 2 reviews from this member

What a great site! The facilities are clean, modern and well-maintained. Its in a great location to visit York and perfect for adults. We would recommend this site to anyone looking for a peaceful weekend and we are looking forward to visiting again

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Dottydart 16 reviews from this member

This is a lovely site and I fully endorse all the previous good reviews.

There are only a couple of things I would suggest they could improve on:

- tarmac the paths to the facilities block as they are very uneven. Those using wheelchairs/motorised scooters or people with limited mobility (like myself) would find them a little difficult to negotiate (I twisted my ankle more than once, despite carefully trying to pick my way along the path). Also there are big holes in part of the path which, if it rained I'm sure would become very muddy.

- although the individual shower rooms are enormous, I feel they haven't been very well thought out. The toilet is unnecessarily tight up against the end of the huge shower cubicle making it a little difficult (for me) to get in and out safely. There is a handrail but because of the positioning of the toilet it's not easily accessible. (I'm not disabled just got joint issues, so wouldn't dream of using the disabled room in case someone more in need than I needed the room, but a little touch like a functional handrail is most useful in non-disabled rooms). Another slight issue is hooks for hanging clothes etc. Which are at the opposite side of the room, with nothing but the toilet to put your towel and sponge bag on near the shower cubicle - not something I personally like doing. I don't expect they will be in a position to do much about this, but I thought it worth a mention.

We really loved this site (although the thunder beetles were extremely annoying, but not the site's fault!). We would not hesitate to stay here in the future and fully recommend it.

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Janpeyton 13 reviews from this member

Our second time at this marvellous campsite. Our check in was quick and the warden helpful, bus timetables are situated around the site. We stayed a long weekend that included a trip to York Races, which was a brilliant day out. The facilities at the campsite are spotlessly clean, the showers are enormous and there are plenty of them. Despite being quite a large site it still feels quiet and private. The pitches are huge and we were lucky enough to have one right at the back of the site next to the stream. The bus is half hourly (hourly on Sunday) and is about 20 minutes into town. I would definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Photolady 7 reviews from this member

An excellent base for exploring York with a regular bus service right outside the park. The facilities are very good and always spotless. I did not try the showers myself, but they are individual rooms which are very large and equipped with a shower, sink and toilet. There is a laundry with two washing machines and one tumble dryer. This is an adults only site. The pitches are all fully serviced, though you might need a longish water hose depending on which pitch you are on. The pitches are very spacious with hardstanding and grass and there are privacy hedges between them. We found the site generally quiet. There is obviously some road noise as the site is quite near to York, but it didn't disturb us and I am quite noise sensitive. The site is well managed. I would not hesitate to recommend it.

Date of Visit: May 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: GMC1958 39 reviews from this member

OMG, what a wonderful site. Immaculately clean quiet, what more could you wish for?? Then you visit the shower rooms, WOW, what space and luxury. The Dog exercise area was well maintained. The access to local bus services was a plus for us. This was our first visit but have made enquiries for 2019. This site should be a site for all others aspire to. Well done to all the staff.

Date of Visit: April 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Vanmadman 1 review from this member

Loved it. Peaceful, clean and really friendly. Not far for a few beers in York. Great pubs too and a short trip back on the bus from York. Second visit and will definitely come back. It's got a lovely feel to it. I wasn't there for the wifi connection, bit of an oldie and a technophobe so my grandson says, but it's good for getting the odd email and that's all you need, on holidays after all!

Fabulous really, you won't be disappointed.

Previous     175 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Buzz Quattro Tilting 4 Bike Carrier Win a Best of British Holiday worth up to £175!

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Tribfest Festival 15th to 18th August, E Yorks
The biggest tribute band music festival in the world! Use promo code “tribukcampsite” to save 10% on Weekend Camping Tickets! ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3020 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019