Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - York Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > York Caravan Park Reviews

York Caravan Park
Stockton Lane
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO32 9UB
Tel: 01904 424222
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 16 March - 6 January 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 176 Reviews
                9/10 from 176 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Weddyboy 3 reviews from this member

This is without a doubt one of the best sites we have ever been on. The facilities are first class as are the staff. Easy to get to, bus stop outside entrance to York. Large shopping complex and carvery within easy reach. Adults only site so apart from the odd barking dog lovely and quiet.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Kompany 2 reviews from this member

My wife and I have just got back from a 2night stay at York caravan park. I would just like to say what a lovely site. Well laid out. Spotlessly clean. The shower rooms are very spacious with everything you need. The pond in the middle is a nice feature with plenty of ducks walking round. The site is ideally located with a bus stop outside so getting to York is very easy. Me and my wife arrived late, site office was closed but checking in was very easy, we rang the site and followed the instructions told to us. We would recommend this site to anybody. Can't wait to visit the site again.

Date of Visit: April 2017 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Montesa 34 reviews from this member

Great site - just forget about fishing!

Little to add to previous reviews of the site itself, very smart, very convenient, very busy so it's a bit pricey but great for York visits.

The Duck pond.

The site's own website has a section, seemingly typical rules and some old cheerful catch pictures, all about the great fishing and the well stocked on site pond - do not be deceived. To be clear as at our visit April 2017 the pond & overgrown islands is now free fishing, not the stated 5, because its now basically fishless ! Watched about eight other various clearly experienced anglers, with plenty of expensive gear, over five pleasant weather days giving it a very good effort to all prove the point - a couple of sticklebacks was the star catch. Regulars (who visit site but fish elsewhere) said that this has been the case for about 2 years plus.

Somehow seemed very very wrong that the owners were clearly mis-leading visitors on this point making out that there was a thriving fishing pond.

Hopefully the owners will finally now take some notice and just delete the fishing aspect of the duck pond. We raised this point on departure but owner just laughed and answered the phone for another booking.

We felt very mis-led by this aspect and hence our low review score.

If on site fishing is an important feature for you, like us, then at present suggest you look elsewhere.

Date of Visit: October 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lady margaret 3 reviews from this member

Just had a lovely weekend site is spotless and would recommend to anyone. Bus stops outside every half hour. It's a very friendly site the shower rooms are very spacious, you can get a Chinese delivered menu in information room hope to go back soon, keep up the good work Andrew

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Pintacider 28 reviews from this member

I wont bore you with all the details. I can only echo and ditto all the fantastic comments so far. It's one of those sites that makes you go. Oh wow.

The gent that greeted us and checked us in was really extra friendly too. Always helps.

Large spaces with a little privacy and with electric, water and TV all easily accessible. And the toilet, shower and cleaning block were all very clean well thought out.

It's just a fraction over 2 miles in to York centre. We cycled the first day. Its flat and has a cycle last for a least half of the journey. The second day we caught the bus (it was raining. Honest). The bus stop is outside of the side and it was 3 return for an adult. Which is pretty good. I don't give many '10s' - but this is getting one.

Date of Visit: June 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: ClaireWillby 6 reviews from this member

We were meeting friends on this site as they have stayed here before. We were hooked up and parked up in about 20 mins just opposite the duck pond which is a very calming view. Within half an hour of getting settled the heavens opened with an absolute deluge of rain but the site drained well.

The pitches are a good size and with the hedging between pitches gives good privacy.

The shower blocks are outstanding warm and very clean and the toilet block is well maintained.

A very well maintained and clean site set in tranquil surroundings but close enough to get to where you want to go, we called in to the The Fox Inn just up the road at Stockton-On-The-Forest on the Sunday and I must admit it was the best Sunday lunch we have had for a long time - good portions and nice hot veg and scrummy crunchy crackling!

All in all thoroughly enjoyed and will certainly be back.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Davie T-boy 17 reviews from this member

Yet another visit to this fantastic site - flat, clean, wonderful facilities, now even improved by upgrading wet room showers to standard controls and wander hose - much better. Bus outside site to York, Leeds, Whitby or Scarborough.

Date of Visit: March 2016 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Lynm 83 reviews from this member

Just arrived home from 6 nights away here. What an absolutely fantastic site. We had a horrendous journey of 5 hours which should have been 2 1/2 due to road issues but on arrival was greeted so well and the staff were all so friendly. The pitch was a lovely size and we set up really quickly and the fact that it was full service pitch certainly helped. The weather for the first couple of days was awful with wind and rain but the pitch drained really well so no problems at all. The facilities were spotless and the showers very spacious. I am a larger lady & I fitted through the corner doors just fine. Every shower room has a hairdryer as does the ladies toilets with 2 other showers. The site was full but I had no problem immediately accessing everything. All the showers and hairdryers are free. There is Monks Cross retail & shopping park very close with several large supermarkets including a 24 hours one. The petrol was very cheap too. Also there is a Debenhams and John Lewis on the same site as well as various eateries and other shops. We also visited the Design Outlet retail Park just down the A64 which was really good also. Just up the A64 towards Scarborough, about 6 miles is Eibor Caravan shop which had a huge selection of useful accessories. We visited York and particularly liked the Railway Museum which is free to visit though we gave a donation. It is really a fantastic day out with the added benefit of seeing The Flying Scotsman. York is full of great things to see but just be aware the Jorvik centre is shut at present due to the floods. Opening soon. The bus outside the campsite is really good service to get in & out of York save trying to park in a city that doesn't encourage parking. We also had a Chinese delivered from the take away in Hemsden. Very nice. We also took a trip up to Pickering and went on the steam railway to Whitby. A lovely day out. If you go have your Fish & Chips at the Quayside shop superb!This park is all that we had hoped for and more and has been added to our must visit again & again list. We loved it. There is road noise but faint & I soon stopped noticing it.

Date of Visit: September 2015 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: LesleyandPeter 35 reviews from this member

Just had a weekend at York caravan park.

Cannot fault this site. Well maintained large pitches.

Huge individual shower cubicles, which would make superb wetrooms.

Separate toilet blocks, all immaculately clean.

Excellent bus service into York centre. Stopping directly outside the campsite.

I must add, don't miss going inside York Minster its Amazing, we even stayed for evensong, listening to the choir made the visit even more memorable.

If your planning on eating out and like an Indian meal, try the MUMBAI Lounge. The food, the service and menu are the best I've ever experienced in an Indian restaurant, no surprise it's award winning, I shall endeavour to find an Indian restaurant as good near home.

Being caravan club members, and, camping and caravan club members we originally tried to get a booking at one of their sites close to York, we won't hesitate to book this site in the future.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Feisty Freddie 9 reviews from this member

Our first visit to this site and we were not disappointed. Situated on a fully serviced pitch we had plenty of room and were screened from near neighbours by shrubbery. The pond made the site appear very rural although it is actually very, very close to York which is an easy bus ride away (preferable to expensive car parking). The facilities could not be faulted - loads of shower /toilet/ washrooms bigger than our caravan, in addition to separate toilets. All very well maintained. Wifi is free and sometimes is 'iffey' but if you wandered over towards the main block it quickly kicked in. The staff in the office were always polite and helpful. It's a fair way to the coast from here but worth it especially if you go via the moors.

The only downside we could find was that if the wind is in the wrong direction, you can hear the drone from the nearby road but then that's a price you pay to be near to York.

Would we go again? Definitely if we needed to be in that area.

Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth 100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4655 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019