Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - York Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > York Caravan Park Reviews

York Caravan Park
Stockton Lane
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO32 9UB
Tel: 01904 424222
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 16 March - 6 January 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 176 Reviews
                9/10 from 176 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Marshgreen 12 reviews from this member

Chose this Site as it's Adult Only. Fully Serviced, spacious Pitches, with hedging to 3 sides, which gives a little privacy and adds to the green feel to the Site.

Friendly owner pointed out the facilities and directed us to our Pitch. Plenty of tourist leaflets available. WiFi is available, and free but only close to reception, though we did get a weak signal on our Pitch, good enough for email and web browsing.

The Site is great for visiting York, been less than 3 miles away. We used the Bus from outside the Site on one occasion for just £3. 00 Return and on another drove to the Monks Cross Park and Ride, which costs £2. 60 Return. The Buses are much more frequent than the Public buses.

The private 'Bathrooms' are very large, with Toilet, Sink and Shower. The temperature is fixed, and too warm for me. It's a shame these are not Wet Rooms rather than having a cubicle in the corner.

The Site is very well laid out, and has a very informal, but well kept look to it.

York is a great City, and the Railway Museum is well worth a visit.

As mentioned by others there is some traffic noise, but we didn't find this a problem.

A very nice site for visiting York and surrounding area.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: 533rockape 7 reviews from this member

Our third trip here and enjoyed it just as much as the other times, the facilities are first class and the whole site clean and tidy. Peace and tranquillity are the things you get here. The noisiest thing is the ducks letting you know they want some scraps as they visit each van every morning. As already stated by others itís perfect for visiting the city with a bus stop outside the camp, or the park and ride situated around the corner.

Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WENDY09 18 reviews from this member

We have just returned from a 5 night stay at this caravan park.

We were greeted by the friendly owner and given all the details we needed, we had a nice size pitch and as previous stated great showers.

We decided to visit York by car big mistake £11.50 for a all day ticket, we think this is outrageous!

Go to the National Railway Museum (don't go on the Mallard simulator ride £8.00 wasted) its free to get in and cheaper to park £9. Oo all day and then you can walk (10 mins) into York.

The York Wheel is great and so is the Minster, lovely shops to stroll around.

We went to Bridlington, a nice little town we had a walk along the front, Filey is more picturesque and Scarborough bigger and busier, the day we went it was foggy and the sea was still as a pond I never seen that before, the fog horn kept going and made seem really eerie.

We also went to Eden Camp again a great day out, its takes you through the Second World War and lots of other stuff well worth a visit.

Anyway back to the camp site, I have one niggle and its the road noise, I had asked to be as far away from the road as possible as a previous review mentioned the road noise and yes, we were put as far away from the camp site road as possible but this road is not the problem.

I understand that we are only 3 miles from York and on the ring road but the road noise for me was too much even with ear plugs.

It did not quieten down until around 2am and was noisy again at 5am, if we had stayed in the summer time it would have been horrible to sit outside and hear this. Perhaps its ok in a caravan but campers be warned.

It really is a shame and its a price you have to pay for the close proximity to York but its a price I wouldn't pay again.

Can't fault the site just the location.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: P7hut 22 reviews from this member

Arrived Friday August 23rd for 8 nights in our tent.

Greeted at reception, given all the info we needed and directed to our pitch.

Our pitch (20) was huge, facing the lake and within thirty yards of the toilet block. There is electric, water and digital TV available to most pitches via a shared box in the middle of four pitches. Our pitch was surrounded by a small hedge on three sides to provide a little privacy. Did I mention the pitch was huge!

The toilet block is different to anything I've seen. There are male and female toilets, each with toilets, sinks and a couple of showers, as you'd find at most sites. But there are also eight large private rooms that contain a shower, toilet and sink with a hairdryer and underfloor heating. There is also a disabled access shower room, as well as a laundry room containing two sinks and a washer/dryer.

The bus stops right outside and runs around every thirty minutes, and at £3 return into York it's great value.

There's a Toby Carvery not far, well worth a visit, decent quality food at very decent prices. Monks Cross retail park isn't far either and will fill in a couple of hours while you wander around the shops. It's a cracking base to explore York and beyond.

The niggles:

Fishing - very very poor. I fished four days and caught nothing worth talking about for the first three. On day four I had two decent Roach and a very decent Rudd, with a nice size Tench being the highlight. Not a sniff of a Carp all week. If I hadn't seen two come out earlier in the week I wouldn't have believed there were any in there. Everyone struggled, as mentioned there were only two Carp taken out in the eight days we stayed. I know it's called Fishing, not Catching, but it was really frustrating, we've visited sites with lakes that don't charge to fish. And they've fished much much better.

The showers - How hot? I know most people like a hot shower but it was far far too hot for me and with no way of changing the temp I struggled all week.

The price - I thought £26 for bank holiday (all 4 days) and £24 for high season was a little on the pricey side. We visit a large site every year in Lincolnshire. The toilet block may not have individual rooms but is very modern and clean, the pitches may not all be fully serviced but with four large well stocked fishing lakes plus a brand new restaurant/bar with lake views, it balances out and it's only £16 per night.

All in all, we thought the site was great, we had a great week and met some great people, but I'm just not sure if the niggles would/wouldn't tip the scales and put us off returning.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Rich + Eil 7 reviews from this member

We Spent 5 nights here and found the campsite ideal for exploring York as it was only a couple of miles away from the Monks Cross park and ride. The site has excellent shower rooms that are extraordinarily large. The pitches are flat and well marked out with small hedgerows on three sides. I couldn't really find a downside to the site, television reception was very good and was it me or has their water got some magical quality that produces a remarkable cup of tea everytime?

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Icyfi 2 reviews from this member

Lovely site and very well run. Excellent pitch sizes which provided plenty of privacy even for a large tent. The pitch was well serviced with electric hookup.

The shower rooms were very well sized, plenty of room to change in after your shower. There were plenty of them and a few extra in both the male and female toilet blocks. I never queued for a shower and they were spotlessly clean. I would highly recommend this site. It was an adult only site. Very friendly ducks on the site with a nice little lake.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sos2301 20 reviews from this member

We stayed here for our main holiday, and what a site!

We arrived a little early, but was greeted and told if the pitch was still occupied we could pull up and wait.

The pitch was perfect, this was the first time we had used fully serviced and it was great, we made sure we turned the caravan round for the view across the lake from our seating area.

We were very impressed with the shower ROOMS! they were larger than our own bathroom at home!

The bus stop is just outside the entrance, and we used this for at least 3 days of our stay to get into York. We purchased a York pass, which gave us entitlement to go into ALL the main attractions for 3 days at a reduced rate! Would recommend, purchase on line from tourist information or in York! Well worth it, we saved over £50 Each.

We would love to go back to this site, but have an extensive list of other areas we want to stay, but we would highly recommend this site to anyone.

There was only 1 slight issue, mop buckets for the shower rooms were supplied but the water seemed to be dirty all the time, I did mention this and hope that the water in these are checked and changed more often.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Loughran 10 reviews from this member

A delightful weekend at this site. A lovely quiet site with very large hedged pitches with water and hook ups very close. Toilet/shower facilities are first class. There is a dog exercise area and long walks nearby. I particularly like the flowers and lavender plants which give a lovely feel. You are not on top of others which adds to the rural feel. Buses run every 30 mins from entrance into York centre. Staff are very helpful. This is my favourite York site and we will definitely come back.

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Nev75 15 reviews from this member

There are no bad points to this site

Wonderful shower rooms. Eight of them. They are 5x3m with shower, WC and basin. There are also separate toilets for men and women with two showers in each and all immaculate.

The bus to York stops outside every 30 mins (15 mins to York).

All pitches are large, some grass and some hardstanding plus grass. There is a motorhome water and waste disposal point. All the staff are very friendly and you can use their WiFi free though you do have to be close to the office.

There is a Toby carvery a short distance away which we didn't use but we heard that it was up to their usual standards.

There is a small pond which I fished with mixed results but the weather was very hot.

I will certainly use this site again when next we go to York

Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Peter1963 1 review from this member

My Wife and I stayed here for 3 nights it was our first visit, and so far this is by far the best campsite we have stayed just wish we could have stayed all week. All The facilities are first class, fishing is great, the owners and staff are very helpful, the site is very clean and tidy, loads of shops at Monks Cross, including a Big Sainsbury's and Asda.

Roll on summer 2014 cos we will definitely be booking for a week.

Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4506 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019