Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - York Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > York > York Caravan Park Reviews

York Caravan Park
Stockton Lane
York
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO32 9UB
Tel: 01904 424222
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 55
Open: 16 March - 6 January 2019

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 176 Reviews
                9/10 from 176 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (24)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Adults Only   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing 5 miles   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   Outdoor Pool 5 miles 
 Horse Riding 5 miles   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 1 mile   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   Watersports 5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring 5 miles 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  176 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Munchkin24 2 reviews from this member

Just returned from a lovely long weekend at this campsite and can happily say that we will be returning in the future.

This is the first adult only campsite we've ever stayed on, with it being close to the kids holidays and there being a teachers strike we decided to avoid the family sites. What a difference. The atmosphere is much more relaxed, and I don't mean to offend families, just personally I always feel on edge because of things going on around me, usually kids crying/fighting/shouting - just doing what kids do really but when you don't have kids it's nice to be able to go somewhere that reflects your situation.

The toilets were always spotless and I loved the private bathrooms with toilet and shower, great idea.

Location was perfect for us, we went into York - we drove but there's a bus stand just outside with regular buses into the city. We also went to Harewood House which was only about 40 mins away.

Unfortunately we had to leave a night early because of weather warnings - joys of having a tent!

I'd recommend this site to anyone, it was lovely and peaceful, well maintained and very secure.

With regards to the road noise on a night, personally I never heard anything, it never woke me up. You can hear it in the distance if you listen out for it but it never once bothered us.

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Pickupsticks 28 reviews from this member

This is a great touring park! It is so close to York city centre with a bus stop right outside the gates so no need to drive in looking for a parking space. You could also go to Whitby, Scarborough or Bridlington. The site is very peaceful with large fully serviced pitches. We reversed the caravan in so the seating area was overlooking the duck pond. The toilet block is unique with large separate shower rooms incorporating a loo, sink and a set of hooks - the latter is often lacking! Reception has tourist information and the one person we saw was friendly and helpful. Wifi was free of charge and satellite reception was great. We know York quite well so did not go to the usual attractions. As National Trust members we opted for Goddards, the former home of NoŽl Terry of chocolate fame. An Arts and Crafts style house with a stunning garden had the real feel of a lived in home. We had coffee and home made scones on the terrace overlooking the main lawn. The garden had lots of separate areas - we could imagine the Terry children having many adventures in there in the 1930s. We also went to Nunnington Hall which is well worth a visit. The villages and market towns in North Yorkshire are a real delight with individual shops and charming tea rooms serving home made fayre. It's a great site in a beautiful area. We will be back!

Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Den1345 2 reviews from this member

Stayed at this site for a long weekend and I can only agree with the other great reviews this site has. The warden and owner are really kind and helpful. The whole site is maintained to a very high standard indeed. The toilets are second to none and should win awards for cleanliness. This site is a great base to explore charming York and the beautiful area surrounding it. This site is really good value for money. Would highly recommend a visit to this site you won't be disappointed.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Angencraig 8 reviews from this member

Excellent site, shower blocks cannot fault them your own room shower, loo, hairdryer what more could you ask for, site lovely and clean and peaceful, bus stop right outside £3 return to york brilliant, owners very pleasant very helpful this site is just great to be at and a bonus it is all adults fantastic if you have no kids

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Susan G 8 reviews from this member

Our first trip out towing a van, was easy to tow into.

Pitches nice and level with plenty of hook ups. What can I say about the facilities apart from they are the best ever. Over 10 showers available, The individual shower rooms warm and spasious there's even a washing machine, iron etc also libary of magazines all kept spotlessly clean.

The bus goes from outside site entrance to York £3. 00 each return every 20-30 min mon-sat and hourly on a sunday.

We got our supplies from Asda at Monks Cross 5min drive away then car was parked up for weekend.

Was our first adults only site and was really a nice quiet relaxing site. Despite being just 10min from York. Expensive but worth it We will return soon I hope.

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Captgeoff 22 reviews from this member

2nd visit to this site and it wont be the last. Andrew is so helpful and caring about the site. The facilities are second to none. The pitches are generous and well laid out. Pond with fishing on site. A bus stop at the gate takes you into York in about 15 minutes. No negatives at all. Be aware it is adults only.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Trev.c 7 reviews from this member

Visited this site at Easter and I must say is an excellent base for the city of York. Roughly about 3 miles out but easily accessable either by bus or Park and Ride which we chose at Monks Cross. Adult fare 2. 70 and child I think upto 16 years free return, last bus 8 pm.

Up the road is aToby Carvery which was very good for one of our evening meals, a big Asda on Monks Cross, also I noticed a Aldi so very good for groceries.

Back to the site. Excellent facilities, very clean, massive shower rooms with wc, sink, hairdryer's, shaver points.

Level pitches, tv aerial points which is a good idea, key fob for barrier, 10 pounds refundable at end of holiday on return. You can hear road noise from the main road but you do get used to this and I would not let this put you off at all.

Again, a excellent well run site and would recommend it to anyone.

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Doesmeedin 2 reviews from this member

Warm and friendly welcome, pitches were very large with electric hook up and water tap. Shower block excellent and very clean, very much liked the independent shower rooms with toilet and sink and lots of room within.

Bus stop immediately outside which is very convenient for getting to and from York, or a taxi was only £9.

There is a Toby Carvery within walking distance, but if walking at night there is a long stretch where there is no footpath and no street lighting.

There was a lot of occupancy whilst we were there but the only noise was from cars on the A64 in the distance which was not excessive.

We didn't use the pond, but there were plenty of people who were and seemed to be getting much relaxation and enjoyment from it.

The site deserves it 5 star rating from EnjoyEngland. Com and we would definitely use this site again

Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Paul n linda 11 reviews from this member

We stayed at this site for the first time in march, and to be honest we really enjoyed it. The owner is really polite and helpful from our arrival onwards. Its an extremely quiet, peaceful and well presented site and the pitches are huge and not crammed together like most sites. The weather was nice which helped and you are spoilt for choice if you want or need to go shopping with a large retail park around the corner. The site is very well kept with I nice little lake to do a spot of fishing if required. The showers/toilets are fantastically clean, warm and huge. The best by far we have ever come across to be honest. The dog walk is a little on the small side, but there are a couple country walks very close to the site as a very good alternative if required. All in all a really nice stay to start the holiday season off and will definitely be staying there again next march.

many thanks from paul, linda and frank the dog.

P. S. Sorry for the late review as I forgot all about it.

Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: OldTuggo 4 reviews from this member

Excellent facilities. The shower rooms are large, well appointed and heated! We had to use a grass pitch but, despite the wet weather, it was not at all soft. The site is very spacious with lots of room between pitches.

Only two negatives, not the fault of the site owners but still need a mention. As others have said, the bus service is good but only during the day. In the evening it is less frequent and the last bus leaves York just after 9pm. There is also no footpath on the road, so, after dark, walking along it would be distinctly dangerous. Also, finding the site entrance after dark is not easy.

Previous     176 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near York      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win Kids Camping Essentials worth £100! Win a BUZZ RACK Buzzpro Towball Platform

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Shackerstone Family Festival 31/08 to 01/09, Leicestershire
Includes arena entertainment, vintage cars, canal boats, planes, railways and much more! EXCLUSIVE Discounted weekend camping tickets ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


5393 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019