Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Staffin Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Staffin > Staffin Campsite > Reviews

Staffin Campsite
Staffin
Staffin
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV51 9JX
Tel: 01470 562213
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 15/04/2022 to 10/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 128 Reviews
                9/10 from 128 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  128 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: H 55 6 reviews from this member

 Great site, friendly wardens couldn't have been more helpful.

We used the site as a base to explore the whole island. Pitches mostly level, electric hook up easily used, good views from the pitch. Beautiful beach is walking distance but we didn't do it as we had toddlers with us but can see that it would be a stunning short walk. Had fun searching for the dinosaur footprint in the rocks at the beach - am pretty sure we found it! As this site is at the top end of the island & approx an hours drive from the bridge I am sure it is quieter than most which was a big bonus for us. It was one of the few sites on Skye that had electric hook up for tents & the only one that would book in advance - which was essential for us as after having travelled for 2 days with toddlers would be pretty upset to find no pitches available!

Small-ish site meant short walk to facilities. 2 showers in ladies & same in mens. Never had to wait & site was reasonably full as it was the jubilee weekend. Good sized cubicles meant also showering a 2 yr old was no problem. Plenty of hot water. Facilities kept spotless. (Traditional mop & bucket left - having visited France camping for the first time am going to suggest all sites try to buy a window wiper style mop instead! Hadn't seen them before but its great & actually removes any grass or hair in the shower rather than just moving it around as traditional mops do!)

No playground but the 2 boys with us were fully entertained 'digging up the road' ie the circular path round the site! Bob & Janet even lent us a trike they had for the boys for the week!

They had put out a picnic table/benches for our use for the week which was great.

Shop just a minute drive down the road is comprehensively stocked and has a great speedy industrial washer/drier which was great following a toddler accident!

Would definitely recommend & hope to revisit. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rojo 1 review from this member

 Well it's about time we voiced our opinions. Let us start off by mentioning that this is our third year and sixth visit here.

I have been here, alone and with family and friends.

Where to start!

The journey across Skye to Staffin is just the beginning of the adventure, ! with dramatic landscapes and picturesque views all around.

As for the site itself, (following the rd from Portree with no deviation for 16miles is delightful either to drive or cycle. The Quiraing range suddenly appears into view as you crest the final hill. ) The camp Basques under the splendour of the Quiraing from the left, which slowly slips down into the sea.

The camp is well maintained with plenty of hard and soft standings, also plenty of electric hook ups. The shower and WC facilities are more than adequate and are kept impeccably clean. There is also a small bothy and kitchen area, with pot washing facilities and a microwave oven.

The site is managed by a wonderful couple named Bob and Janet(Jan).

On my first solo adventure to Skye, as I was still a little wet behind the ears, I asked Bob for some advice on pleasant walking routes. Not only did he offer me some great advice, in fact the very next morning he actually took me on a 'guided' hike over the Quiraing.

My experience was so enjoyable that soon after I returned with family and friends.

Janet and Bob welcomed us with smiles and chatter on our arrival.

Via Bob we hired out kayaks and fishing gear and set our sights on Flodigarry island, where as mentioned by Bob we found a group of seals. The fishing was great with pollok and mackerel a plenty.

I have nothing but thanks and praise to offer up to Jan and Bob. Thanks to them my family, friends and myself have had (and plan more) some wonderful back to roots fun filled adventure holidays. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: RoyVaux 45 reviews from this member

 This well maintained site is in a very pleasant and quiet location, providing some glimpses of the adjoining coast and an excellent dog walk over moorland to the bay and small jetty.

The welcome from the owners was warm, welcoming and helpful. We found that the facilities were adequate and clean. There were only 2 male showers which could be difficult when the site is busier.

Our motorhome hardstanding with EHU was fine and nearly level. We recommend the site despite the atrocious weather during our one night visit. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Happycampermiln 1 review from this member

 The owners were very accommodating in regards to ensuring that we had an appropriate pitch that was reasonably flat and close to the shower block, as my wife's mobility was limited. Pitch turned out to be just as promised and as illustrated in an accompanying photograph.

Facilities were just as advertised, not too busy, but only had to wait 5 - 10 mins at the busiest times. Bob and Janet fixed any problems promptly if they were actually pointed out to them, they responded very quickly to issues with showers and hot water etc.

Bob very helpful in every regard, local walks and activities, took me out in the local bay in my kayak and by the end of the holiday he let me use one of his kayaks to go further out to the outlaying islands; I don't eat fish, but my family, as well as other campers enjoyed the fruits of Bob's many successful fishing trips.

Great location, with amazing views of the bay, as well as the mountains. Local shops had all essentials, but co-op was only 30 mins away in portree by care.

Highly recommended site, will definitely visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kendan 1 review from this member

 This campsite is small, well maintained and organized. It's a cozy place where you will feel at home and it even facilitates renting of bikes and sea kayaks.

From the campsite you can take a hike to the beach.

It's run by Bob and Janet. Two wonderful persons, who will pamper and take care of you during your stay there.

Don't be surprised if you will be offered a freshly caught mackerel or be giving a cup of tea

Bob and Janet were very helpful to us and they just made our last days on Skye to be enjoyed fully. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Phil_Ange 1 review from this member

 Thanks Bob and Janet for a lovely welcome to Staffin. This is a lovely, well cared-for site. Fantastic welcome. All amenities for motorhomes, caravans and tents are there.

Shop close by. Good TV and radio reception. Bob and Janet were very helpful and thoughtful and gave us lots of advice on where to walk and where the local facilities are.

You can walk from the site to beach. Further afield is an interesting rocky walk on the Quirang with fabulous views over the sea and to the mainland.

Looking forward to going back! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Arkwright01 16 reviews from this member

 Nice site in a first class location, lots of nice views within easy reach.

Facilities are basic but are clean. The site was quiet when we visited so I'm not sure how they'd cope when the site is full as there are only 2 showers in the Gents.

There's a good well stocked shop and a laundry within a 15 minute walk but I didn't notice any pub or food outlet, there are a number of restaurants/cafes however.

There's a campers bothy complete with microwave which is handy in poor weather however it was fine when we visited so didn't have to use it! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stogursey 3 reviews from this member

 Great site - superb location for visiting the northern parts of the island - the Old Man of Storr, the Quirang (in direct view from the site) and Kilt Rock are all within an easy drive, as is the town of Portree. The village of Staffin has a couple of local shops (we only used the nearer of the two, which was perfectly adequate) for bread and milk, whilst Portree has a (or rather the only) large supermarket.

The staff were friendly and the facilities were very clean and presentable with an adequate amount for the size of the site - there was never any problem waiting for showers or toilets, although there is only one washing up sink. The site was moderately busy but not packed out so this might change during really busy periods but we were there over the Easter long break so it wasn't exactly empty.

There is also a wet weather shelter, with a table and four chairs - the weather was fine but I could imaging this could be a bit cramped if several campers wanted to use it at the same time! There are also mountain bikes available to hire from the site.

There is also a footpath down to the beach from the site but be warned - it's a little further than it sounds!

All in all, when we return to Skye next time, this is the site we will head to first, which probably sums it up. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Worldoftofuness 15 reviews from this member

 A basic site, but good for those of us who prefer it that way. As for many places in Scotland, one for those who don't need much 'entertainment' on-site (there were some interesting-looking walks from the site, but having cycled from Broadford via a walk round Portree I'd already done my being active for the day!). Could imagine it feeling a bit exposed in harsh weather.

The best thing was the 'bothy kitchen', a space to escape from the rain/midges, with a handy plug socket and local info. The only slight downsides here were that there was only 1 sink--so a bit of a queue to wash up--and it closes at 10pm, leaving those of us retiring later at a bit of a loose end; however, I can totally understand the owners not wanting people chatting too late.

As others have pointed out, there isn't a pub in the village (despite it looking like a reasonable-sized settlement), and I think the nearest may be in Uig/Portree. Bring your own booze if you like a drink and are going to arrive in the evening! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RJ5847 1 review from this member

 To anybody reading this, your trip to isle of Skye wouldn't be complete without knowing the hidden jewel of the place.

Our trip there was made complete after knowing Bob and Janet who manage Staffin campsite. The location is strategically located up north of portree where attraction are just close by and accessible by bicycles.

The facilities needed both of campers or with motorhome is complete. Toilets are clean with hot water 24/7 and the kitchen comes with microwave oven which is convenient for campers. There is a near by groceries within '15 mins' walk where you can get most of your canned food.

However, if you fancy more adventurous activity and know how to cook your own dinner, walk up to Bob, which very approachable nice guy, and he might bring you out for a boat trip and fishing. That where I get to fish and cook my own fish for dinner. Such a pleasant experience. On top of that, Bob knows the place quite well, and if you need some pointers on best location of looking for sunset, Bob is the man.

I heard him saying something about sea-kayaking in future and I will be well up for it. 


Previous     128 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Staffin Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Staffin Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Staffin Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Staffin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Skye

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3973 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement