Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Staffin Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Staffin > Staffin Campsite Reviews

Staffin Campsite
Staffin
Staffin
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV51 9JX
Tel: 01470 562213
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 15/04/2022 to 10/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 82 Reviews
                9/10 from 82 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Arkwright01 16 reviews from this member

 Nice site in a first class location, lots of nice views within easy reach.

Facilities are basic but are clean. The site was quiet when we visited so I'm not sure how they'd cope when the site is full as there are only 2 showers in the Gents.

There's a good well stocked shop and a laundry within a 15 minute walk but I didn't notice any pub or food outlet, there are a number of restaurants/cafes however.

There's a campers bothy complete with microwave which is handy in poor weather however it was fine when we visited so didn't have to use it! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stogursey 3 reviews from this member

 Great site - superb location for visiting the northern parts of the island - the Old Man of Storr, the Quirang (in direct view from the site) and Kilt Rock are all within an easy drive, as is the town of Portree. The village of Staffin has a couple of local shops (we only used the nearer of the two, which was perfectly adequate) for bread and milk, whilst Portree has a (or rather the only) large supermarket.

The staff were friendly and the facilities were very clean and presentable with an adequate amount for the size of the site - there was never any problem waiting for showers or toilets, although there is only one washing up sink. The site was moderately busy but not packed out so this might change during really busy periods but we were there over the Easter long break so it wasn't exactly empty.

There is also a wet weather shelter, with a table and four chairs - the weather was fine but I could imaging this could be a bit cramped if several campers wanted to use it at the same time! There are also mountain bikes available to hire from the site.

There is also a footpath down to the beach from the site but be warned - it's a little further than it sounds!

All in all, when we return to Skye next time, this is the site we will head to first, which probably sums it up. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Worldoftofuness 15 reviews from this member

 A basic site, but good for those of us who prefer it that way. As for many places in Scotland, one for those who don't need much 'entertainment' on-site (there were some interesting-looking walks from the site, but having cycled from Broadford via a walk round Portree I'd already done my being active for the day!). Could imagine it feeling a bit exposed in harsh weather.

The best thing was the 'bothy kitchen', a space to escape from the rain/midges, with a handy plug socket and local info. The only slight downsides here were that there was only 1 sink--so a bit of a queue to wash up--and it closes at 10pm, leaving those of us retiring later at a bit of a loose end; however, I can totally understand the owners not wanting people chatting too late.

As others have pointed out, there isn't a pub in the village (despite it looking like a reasonable-sized settlement), and I think the nearest may be in Uig/Portree. Bring your own booze if you like a drink and are going to arrive in the evening! 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: RJ5847 1 review from this member

 To anybody reading this, your trip to isle of Skye wouldn't be complete without knowing the hidden jewel of the place.

Our trip there was made complete after knowing Bob and Janet who manage Staffin campsite. The location is strategically located up north of portree where attraction are just close by and accessible by bicycles.

The facilities needed both of campers or with motorhome is complete. Toilets are clean with hot water 24/7 and the kitchen comes with microwave oven which is convenient for campers. There is a near by groceries within '15 mins' walk where you can get most of your canned food.

However, if you fancy more adventurous activity and know how to cook your own dinner, walk up to Bob, which very approachable nice guy, and he might bring you out for a boat trip and fishing. That where I get to fish and cook my own fish for dinner. Such a pleasant experience. On top of that, Bob knows the place quite well, and if you need some pointers on best location of looking for sunset, Bob is the man.

I heard him saying something about sea-kayaking in future and I will be well up for it. 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jingze 1 review from this member

 Me and my mates arrived in another campsite on the first day and decided to change location the second day as there wasn't much to do. So that's why we ended up in Staffin campsite and we completely fell in love with this place.

The campsite is nicely located and the scenery is absolutely amazing. The facilities are very clean and tidy.

A short walk will take you to a higher ground where you can enjoy the spectacular sea view and lovely sunset. If you continue walking down the hill you will reach the sand beach. Try to look around for dinosaur footprint if you have time =)

The campsite managers are very friendly and playful. We won't be having so much fun without them. They make good jokes and absolutely enthusiastic of showing us around. We were so lucky that Bob was in a good mood to walk up the famous mountain called Old Man's Storr, so he gave us a lift and be our guide as well =) Talk to Bob and if you are lucky you might be on his wee boat an hour later fishing in the sea. =) 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Geoff broadley 1 review from this member

 It was raining when we pitched our tent the warden made us a cup of tea how friendly is that. The site was very quiet, a few touring Vans, and one or two other tents stayed for a night. Our tent pitch wasn't totally flat, although we were able to sleep well and did not spoil our 7nights stay.

We used a hook up and this limited our choice of pitches. The Facilities are good and cleaned regular. There is a campers bothy also on site which would have been a comfort if the weather was particularly bad,with a microwave which is useful.

The site is well placed for exploring this part of Skye, and for doing the Quirang. An amazing walk through some incredible rock formations.

There is a couple of eating places within walking distance, although the Columba 1400 Centre does do excellent grub, and is Licensed, so a bottle of wine with the meal was very welcome. A quiet basic site in a wonderful place.

We will be booking soon for another weeks holiday. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mwills 2 reviews from this member

 We very much liked this site as it was located in a beautiful area of Skye. The facilities were very clean and the site was very tidy. We had a level pitch on hard standing, all pitches were level.

There was a tourist office room and a bothy for tent guests all very clean. We were able to choose our own pitch which was nice. The information said the site was opened nearly 40 years ago, we enjoyed our stay, it was peaceful and very relaxed yet well maintained. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Norrisg 31 reviews from this member

 This is a fairly basic little site, which is a nice walk away from the bay with great views. The warden Bob was very helpful and offered us the use of his internet not to mention a brew on arrival!

The site does slope although the hard standings are level - longer units may struggle to get on all of them.

Basic facilities but clean and tidy, not much in the area, shop 10-15 min walk, no pub or food outlet.

Its a good place to stay as a base but doesnt have much attraction in itself or the town.

If you have a camper and want to leave it parked its not for you (but we didn't see any on Skye that are)!

For campers there's a kitchen with microwave and table. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ruthette 1 review from this member

 Camped at Staffin to see the northern regions of Skye having stayed in the south of the island the previous nights. The area is beautiful and very different from the Cuillins so well worth the trip.

Staffin campsite is in a beautiful spot in Staffin town with a corner shop (and off license) and a couple of places to eat (though we didn't eat out). There is also a walk over looking the bay leading to the beach - a great way to get out to see the surroundings and have a quick stroll before dinner.

The campsite is a good size - lots of space to pitch up but not so busy as to feel like you have come to a holiday park. It is also very well presented - the grass is cut neatly and the wash facilities are very clean. The showers were hot and there is a campers bothy to do your washing up inside. Even a kettle (and if I've remembered correctly) a microwave!

Rather foolishly, we left out washing up in said bothy but after a quick phonecall the owner agreed to send it back, and it arrived a week later. Incredibly kind and accommodating, thanks!

Would recommend. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suemmurray 4 reviews from this member

 Great site. Very welcoming, wardens work hard to keep site clean & tidy.

Darren took Ian on one of his walks, although it was raining & cloudy, very enjoyable.

Lovely sunsets and great views.

We will go back again if we go back to Skye. 


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Staffin Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Staffin Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Staffin Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Staffin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Skye

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save 15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3276 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement