Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Staffin Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Staffin > Staffin Campsite Reviews

Staffin Campsite
Staffin
Staffin
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV51 9JX
Tel: 01470 562213
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 15/04/2022 to 10/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 82 Reviews
                9/10 from 82 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  82 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nomadengland 13 reviews from this member

 Nice site, well kept with friendly owner. Some pitches individually dug out of hill, but other hardstandings not marked out and became quite closely pitched together by end of evening.

Nice walk from back of site across hill to beach. 


Date of Visit: June 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Walters-world 13 reviews from this member

 The drive from Portree to Staffin is one of my favourites on Skye.

A neat and tidy campsite ideally suited for visiting the Trotternish Peninsula. It is in a sheltered spot with lots of trees surrounding the site, but unfortunately that means there are no views from the site.

The road into the campsite from the main road is littered with large potholes so a slow speed is essential, but once on the campsite it is OK.

Facilities were clean and tidy.

We were only there one night but needed to do some washing. There is one washing machine and one tumble dryer and there is a system for writing down on a wipe board who is next to use the machines. The machines are basic domestic machines and the washing machine only has a 1000rpm spin capacity which means the clothes are still very wet when they come out, so you end up spending a lot to dry your clothes in the dryer! 
Management response: Thank you for visiting us and taking the time to review our site.

Regarding the trees - there is a perimeter fence that holds a tree line. I would never remove these as they provide main shelter to the campsite. To say that there are no views from the campsite is wrong, we have some of the most beautiful views in North Skye and often receive photographic groups who will use the site as a base. Look at other pics on other websites. The trees are very handy when the Skye weather turns and we deliberately place motor homes or tents against the trees to provide cover. The far end and opposite end of the site holds views across the nearby mountain range.

I also refer to a pot hole on the access road,this road is owned by the local council and time and time again we ask for repairs to be made, however we are at their mercy when it comes to repairs and cannot do more than ask. Local budgets, resources etc all add to the complexity of road repairs in the area. We recently spent over £2000 with a local contractor ensuring that the roads that are onsite were treated after a harsh winter.


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: PilgrimPhil 85 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for 3 nights in September 2014.

The site is easy to find and we were allocated a hardstanding pitch at the top end of the site. There seemed to be specific areas for tents, campervans/caravans & motorhomes, which was fine. There is also a specific area for motorhome servicing with a fresh water supply and a road gully for waste water disposal.

The toilet block, whilst a bit dated, was always clean & tidy with plenty of hot water. There is also a washing up area which has an information room attached to it. Laundry facilities were within the toilet block.

We walked up to The Quiraing but would probably have been better to have taken the van there! We thought that the parking was by the side of the road but there were actually a good number of off road parking – even a huge car park by the cemetery that would have taken 50 motorhomes! What could have been a 4+ mile walk ended up as 11. 5 – the difference being the road section to the start of the Quiraing walk!

There was also a dog walk directly from the site, over a hill and then downhill to access the beach at the Staffin slipway.

If there was a pub in Staffin we didn’t find it but there are two local stores as well as an internet café type facility nearby. The site does have a Wi-Fi system [not free] but we didn’t try it out.

We are not huge fans of commercial sites, but this was fine and ideally located at the north-east side of Skye. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hamelnrat 2 reviews from this member

 It was definitely the best campsite we visited on Skye and great hosts and informative of local attractions and walks. Very clean and organised and only 20mins. From Portree for evening entertainment by car. Ideal for dinosaur museum, Columba café/ restaurant and a walk or drive to the coast, 10mins by car or 20mins on foot. Ideal access to Uig via the Quirang.  


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Freerk 6 reviews from this member

 Arriving early afternoon on Staffin Campsite I was nicely met by the wardens. They were very helpful and showed me around the site and facilities. Also there is a wide range of information available.

The site has a few level pitching spaces but mostly they are a bit sloping. I found a nice spot and stayed there 3 nights.

The toilet block is a bit dated but its kept very clean! Also there is a indoor kitchen for bad weather cooking.

Hot water for showers and washing up is free.

I had to recharge some batteries which was done which was done free! Great!

There are a lot of interesting things to do and see around Staffin.

Shops are near by as are pubs.

With a price of £ 7. 00 per night it is not expensive. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LesD 19 reviews from this member

 We stayed a week at the Staffin Campsite and had a very nice time.

The wardens were very helpful and friendly creating a good atmosphere on the site. They have a good range of leaflets and information in the reception on places to visit and where to go.

The site has WiFi through Highland net. You can purchase cards from reception to log on. The connection speed was good.

The Facilities block has two of everything. Gents 2 free showers with plenty of hot water, 2 WCs, 2 sinks, 2 urinals. A nice touch was the provision of hand wash gel and hot air drier. The Ladies 2 showers, 3 sinks, 3 WCs, hair drier. They were always kept clean and well stocked with toilet paper. There is a washing machine and tumble drier in another room. A separate washing up sink and small sitting area called the campers bothy, more leaflets, chairs & table.

The site is gently sloping and there are several picnic tables that you can move to your pitch and use. The grass is kept mown short.

We didn't need EHU but there are several outlets. Hard standings for Caravans/ motorhomes.

Chemical disposal point in a small outbuilding, in which Swallows were nesting.

Food is available in the village which is walking distance of about 15 minutes. 2 cafes. The Staffin community centre and Columbus 1400. Both are open all day and early evening. We had a meal in each. Colunbus 1400 was our favourite. 2 small village shops & petrol station in the village.

Lovely walks next to the site with a waymarked route to the beach and slipway.

A beautiful location and a very nice site. We would definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: TTagogo 6 reviews from this member

 This is a basic campsite but ideal to sample the delights of the Isle of Skye.

We were due to arrive the day before but owing to the distance made an overnight stopover in the Highlands (the time to travel to Staffin in the north of the island is worth considering as it took another hour and a half from the bridge crossing).

The wardens were very friendly and had a quiet and very relaxed attitude to the campsite.

We were the only trailer tent (often the case) with most units being motor homes and the odd caravan and small tent. We had very good weather - which made the holiday - but heard a tale the day before we arrived of a tent being blown away(there is a camper's bothy for such occasions and for bad weather with very basic amenities).

In addition to the bothy there is a loo block (basic but clean)with hot water and showers, a separate washing up building (which houses the bothy) and a small reception area (we didn't use except to pay).

There is no play equipment for children - this is not the point of the campsite, nor of Staffin! The children went to Staffin on their bikes and played in and out of the tent - the older one's also had Wifi!There were no other children on the campsite which wasn't a problem as ours play together.

We took the path from the campsite to the beach once which was fun - but all uphill on the way back! This was the only time we had a few midges follow us back into the tent!

As a base to explore the north of the Isle this campsite is very well situated. The Trotternish Ridge is constantly in view and there is a fantastic drive over to Uig. We did a walk (3 hours long which included paddling in one of the lochs you meet as you ascend)on to the lower reaches of the Trotternish which was nonetheless spectacular. It is also a great place to observe birds - we saw a sea eagle and heard cuckoo's just about everywhere.

Three things the campsite needs:

1. A drying room

2. More than one washing up sink

3. More EHU's on the left hand side field 


Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tobi As 1 review from this member

 I camped in Staffin on my own in my small tent during my hiking trip. The owners were very friendly and helped me a lot. First I could borrow tent pegs because I lost some. Then they made some Tea and Coffee and in the morning I got bread for the trip. Their campsite was very tidy and clean and their facilities were clean as well. Furthermore it was quite cheap.

The landscape around the campsite is very beautiful. It´s not far to Kilt Rock, to the Old Man of Storr and to the Quiraing. If the weather is fine, you can have a beautiful view to the cliffs at the coast and to the mountains of Trotternish.

I enjoyed the time there very much. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Tally walker 2 reviews from this member

 We really loved our stay at staffin campsite, we were there a week and got a good mixture of the weather.

The camp wardens Bob and Janet are really friendly and helpful and go out of their way to make sure that your stay is as pleasurable as they can.

If you like fishing walking or cycling bob will point you in the right direction if he doesn't end up going with you.

Don't go near the office in the mornings if your feeling hungry as bob has probably got fresh home baked bread in the oven and it smells lovely (we were lucky enough to get a small loaf and it was as good as it smelt).

If you go fishing down on staffin slip way and need any advice keep your eye out for taff he was great and helped us with the fishing and taught the kids to cast and was really good with them plenty of patience.

There is a nice walk from the camp to the beach marked out with white poles so you don't go in the wrong direction.

Toilets and showers were very clean.

If your driving down to the slip in the evening just keep an eye out for the sheep on the road on your way back up.

Will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fad64 7 reviews from this member

 Nice, well kept, and easy going little campsite just off the main road between Portree and the north, with lovely views over Staffin.

A laid back attitude and an informative office window display for when there's no one to take your money made it a stress free pleasure to check in. Prices very reasonable.

Toilets and showers minimal, but clean and charge free. Picnic tables near to hand and well mown grass largely level.

Easy access to The old man of Stor and a variety of coastal walks. A great place to explore the north of Skye from. Would definitely recommend if visiting the north of the island. 


Previous     82 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Staffin Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Staffin Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Staffin Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Staffin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Skye

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Elvaston Steam Rally 02/07 to 03/07
An amazing fun weekend for all the family, with camping and caravanning on site from Friday to Monday - Save £15 on tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3985 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement