Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Staffin Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > Scotland > Isle Of Skye > Staffin > Staffin Campsite > Reviews

Staffin Campsite
Staffin
Staffin
Isle Of Skye   (Browse area)
IV51 9JX
Tel: 01470 562213
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 15/04/2022 to 10/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 128 Reviews
                9/10 from 128 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (20)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   No Bar   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming <1 mile   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire <5 miles   Golf <5 miles   No Tennis 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <1 mile   Boat Launch / Mooring <1 mile 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  128 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jingze 1 review from this member

 Me and my mates arrived in another campsite on the first day and decided to change location the second day as there wasn't much to do. So that's why we ended up in Staffin campsite and we completely fell in love with this place.

The campsite is nicely located and the scenery is absolutely amazing. The facilities are very clean and tidy.

A short walk will take you to a higher ground where you can enjoy the spectacular sea view and lovely sunset. If you continue walking down the hill you will reach the sand beach. Try to look around for dinosaur footprint if you have time =)

The campsite managers are very friendly and playful. We won't be having so much fun without them. They make good jokes and absolutely enthusiastic of showing us around. We were so lucky that Bob was in a good mood to walk up the famous mountain called Old Man's Storr, so he gave us a lift and be our guide as well =) Talk to Bob and if you are lucky you might be on his wee boat an hour later fishing in the sea. =) 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Geoff broadley 1 review from this member

 It was raining when we pitched our tent the warden made us a cup of tea how friendly is that. The site was very quiet, a few touring Vans, and one or two other tents stayed for a night. Our tent pitch wasn't totally flat, although we were able to sleep well and did not spoil our 7nights stay.

We used a hook up and this limited our choice of pitches. The Facilities are good and cleaned regular. There is a campers bothy also on site which would have been a comfort if the weather was particularly bad,with a microwave which is useful.

The site is well placed for exploring this part of Skye, and for doing the Quirang. An amazing walk through some incredible rock formations.

There is a couple of eating places within walking distance, although the Columba 1400 Centre does do excellent grub, and is Licensed, so a bottle of wine with the meal was very welcome. A quiet basic site in a wonderful place.

We will be booking soon for another weeks holiday. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Mwills 2 reviews from this member

 We very much liked this site as it was located in a beautiful area of Skye. The facilities were very clean and the site was very tidy. We had a level pitch on hard standing, all pitches were level.

There was a tourist office room and a bothy for tent guests all very clean. We were able to choose our own pitch which was nice. The information said the site was opened nearly 40 years ago, we enjoyed our stay, it was peaceful and very relaxed yet well maintained. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Norrisg 31 reviews from this member

 This is a fairly basic little site, which is a nice walk away from the bay with great views. The warden Bob was very helpful and offered us the use of his internet not to mention a brew on arrival!

The site does slope although the hard standings are level - longer units may struggle to get on all of them.

Basic facilities but clean and tidy, not much in the area, shop 10-15 min walk, no pub or food outlet.

Its a good place to stay as a base but doesnt have much attraction in itself or the town.

If you have a camper and want to leave it parked its not for you (but we didn't see any on Skye that are)!

For campers there's a kitchen with microwave and table. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ruthette 1 review from this member

 Camped at Staffin to see the northern regions of Skye having stayed in the south of the island the previous nights. The area is beautiful and very different from the Cuillins so well worth the trip.

Staffin campsite is in a beautiful spot in Staffin town with a corner shop (and off license) and a couple of places to eat (though we didn't eat out). There is also a walk over looking the bay leading to the beach - a great way to get out to see the surroundings and have a quick stroll before dinner.

The campsite is a good size - lots of space to pitch up but not so busy as to feel like you have come to a holiday park. It is also very well presented - the grass is cut neatly and the wash facilities are very clean. The showers were hot and there is a campers bothy to do your washing up inside. Even a kettle (and if I've remembered correctly) a microwave!

Rather foolishly, we left out washing up in said bothy but after a quick phonecall the owner agreed to send it back, and it arrived a week later. Incredibly kind and accommodating, thanks!

Would recommend. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Suemmurray 4 reviews from this member

 Great site. Very welcoming, wardens work hard to keep site clean & tidy.

Darren took Ian on one of his walks, although it was raining & cloudy, very enjoyable.

Lovely sunsets and great views.

We will go back again if we go back to Skye. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bessami 1 review from this member

 I am completely new to this type of holiday! So travelled with my friend in her motorhome.

Visited many sites from Notts to Uist! This one was tops!

Yes it sloped a bit but apart from that and a bit of rain it was a great setting with walks for the dogs! All seven of them!

Staff were friendly and extremely helpful. Make sure you keep them!

Toilet block and facilities were spotless.

Unfortunately I only stayed one night so didn't see the area.

I will be back! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jenmmalc 2 reviews from this member

 We stayed here at the end of May 2009, chose the campsite because of the great reviews on here and the location.

When we arrived hubby was a bit 'it's all sloped!' but once we got the tent set up it was actually fine and we just made sure our bedrooms faced the right way.

There is a walk behind the campsite that takes you up on to the moor and then over to Staffin bay, its about a 15 min walk or so but def worth it, you can just feel the history!

The midges - hellish if there is no wind but we just resigned ourselves that between 7-10.30 was a stay inside time but there is usually a wee breeze which took care of them anyway.

Facilities - very clean, the wardens were always cleaning and cutting the grass so the campsite is very well kept. They are both knowledgable about the area and lovely people, very approachable.

Staffin - itself is a very small place but you can eat at the place next to the village hall, great home cooked food and people :) you get a discount if you mention the campsite! the columba 1400 was also nice, fresh scampi was fantastic!

All in all a lovely, welcoming site with lovely views of the Quaraing. Great location for exploring the Trotternish peninsula, good facilities (hot clean showers). We are hoping to go back again next year! Amazng part of the world.

Ps - if you can't find the bit to clean dishes, its in the campers bothy :) 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Diane Ainsworth 1 review from this member

 Staffin camp site is in a beautiful location, all facilities were very good toilets showers bothy etc. This is the best camp site I have stayed at in Scotland and Darren and Janine were very helpful.

The price too was very reasonable. Definitely stay there again if going to Skye. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Grand tourer 1 review from this member

 Visited several sites on the island and thought this was the best. All stances were level hard standing, recently upgraded which was good. The grounds were immaculate and the toilets and facility block were spotless clean.The warden let us choose a stance.

There is a bothy for tents with a kitchen for them to use, looked like it was popular with folk in tents. There was also a tourist information room. The area has spectacular scenery and the site gave views of brilliant sunsets. The warden also runs guided walks to some of the hill walks nearby.

On the whole a well kept site which we really found to be a really relaxing spot. Walks nearby just off site were also great with scenery in all directions, dogs allowed. A good spot, C&CC. 


Previous     128 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Staffin Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Staffin Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Staffin Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Staffin      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Isle Of Skye

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3794 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement