Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Kloofs Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Bexhill On Sea > Kloofs Caravan Park Reviews

Kloofs Caravan Park
Sandhurst Lane
Whydown
Bexhill On Sea
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN39 4RG
Tel: 01424 842839
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 124 Reviews
                9/10 from 124 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Debsmill 6 reviews from this member

 On arrival first impressions was this well kept and top quality looking site. On booking in we were shown to our pitches, we were 2 x families with 2 fairly large tents an Outwell vermont and a Montana 6.
We had provided the site with the sizes of our tents way in advance, so were surprised and a bit disappointed when shown to our pitches. They were close to the play park (which we had requested) but how they thought we'd have fitted them on the allocated pitches is beyond me! Our vermont alone would have had just enough room let alone our friends. After seeing the helpful staff they fortunately had 2 other pitches available at the bottom of the field which turned out to be huge and we had plenty of room.

The site was very adequate and the top toilets/showers were always spotless and very well appointed. They have built a second block which is still unfinished. Hot water taps missing in some sinks and the showers not working. This will be a great bonus when completed, however it seems from past reviews that this block has been 'nearly ready' for quite a while now. They seriously lack lighting at night time in this block and a torch is essential. One other small gripe, there are no general path lights around the site so walking around after dark is quite hazardous.

Playpark was adequate but not fantastic. They need to also amend the website. The child prices clearly state ages 0-4 FREE and ages 5-17 2.50 per night, however the lady in reception charging us for our 4 yr old stating that they mean that they pay once they are 4. This I didn't mind as we were only there for 3nts, but had we been on a longer holiday this would have been an unexpected expense.

However having said all of this, it was a nicely laid out well kept site - wouldn't rush back but we had a fab weekends weather and a great time.

Red Lion pub in Hooe had a nice garden and reasonable food, with very friendly staff - well worth a visit. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Leafletter 27 reviews from this member

 We arrived at this campsite on our bikes without a booking and fairly late, but were given top treatment by the friendly and helpful reception staff - 10/10 for first impressions.
This is like a model campsite: access is on smooth tarmac roads, with each pitch clearly marked and with the luxury of a picnic bench and barbecue / kitchen stand. Cars have hard standing and caravan pitches have different surfaces for awnings etc.
We were directed to use the top shower block and were delighted with the cleanliness and little touches like a vase of flowers by the handbasin, and the free showers and hairdryers. Someone really cares about this site and it shows.
There is a 'library' of books, videos, games and jigsaws next to the washing up area. The little shop at Reception seemed well-stocked with basics although we didn't need to buy anything. During the night there were gales and heavy downpours but the sheltering trees meant our tent hardly moved. On top of all this glowing praise, this site offers a substantial discount to backpackers and cycle tourers (anyone arriving without a car) and this wins them a giant gold star in our virtual brochure!

Bexhill, a few minutes away, is a genteel resort a long way from the jollity of nearby Hastings but full of charm (and a Tesco!) and the campsite is ideally located for accessing many of the resorts on that stretch of coast. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kpmkane 8 reviews from this member

 The staff couldn't be more helpful and friendly. The WC and shower facilities are clean and spacious. However, the lower toilets could do with some proper lighting as it was very off-putting using them after dark. The pitches are too close together, resulting in you hearing every noise and word spoken in your neighbour's tent. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MarcoC 3 reviews from this member

 We arrived late in the evening and there was nobody at reception so we just found a space & pitched out and sorted out payment in the morning.

The shower block was always clean and there were never any queues to use the facilities. The showers were very spacious and plenty of room to move around and put your stuff on a shelf / bench.

Each pitch had a picnic bench and brick bbq area which was a real bonus and we didn't have to walk far to a water tap because there were plenty dotted around.

There's a decent sized play area and good equipment for the children to play in.

The site isn't far from Bexhil seafront which has great beaches at low tide for children.

We'd definitely go back there again and we tried to return recently but they were booked up so we'll need to get in quicker next time! 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fee123 4 reviews from this member

 I visited this site with my 2 children aged 4 and 6 years. The day after I booked I had a phone call warning me that there was a Father and son Rugby weekend and did I still wish to go. The site is absolutely lovely. It is in a lovely location and the park is very well kept.

The shower block is very clean and warm as is the washing up room. They are currently building a second shower/washing up block on the lower field, this will save an uphill walk! The staff are very friendly and I felt happy in the knowledge that if I needed help it was there. The shop has the basics but was a little expensive.

There isn't really anything within walking distance of the site, shop or pub wise, there is a 10 minute drive to bexhill town centre. The men and boys on the Rugby weekend were clearly not regular campers and didn't know camping 'etiquette' and made noise until 0200 hrs and were walking all over pitches and shouting at the top of their voices most of the time. When I spoke to staff about this the staff 'had a word' which helped a little. This is a lovely little site as long as there are no large groups attending. I would definitely go again but not if there was a group there. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tiggybeans 1 review from this member

 We chose Kloofs for our first camping trip ever as it is only a 1.5 hour drive from home. We had no idea what to expect, but were really surprised at the standard of facilities. We arrived at lunchtime (1pm) and unfortunately there was no-one in the reception area, so we went off to find a farm shop and returned at 2pm.

We had a nice welcome and were told to pitch where we wanted in the bottom field. There was a water tap and hook up on each pitch as well as a picnic table and barbecue stand and a generous area to pitch the tent. We chose a site at the bottom of the field against a fence. Unfortunately we couldn't have had worse weather - gale force winds and driving rain! - but we enjoyed our weekend. Our two children - aged 3 and 4 - had good fun in the small playground, and there was a separate dog-walking field for the dog.

The coast is very close - Bexhill (rockpools), Pevensey (sandy) and Hastings (pebbly) - all very different beaches, but well worth a visit. Nearby historic Battle is also worth a visit.

The site facilities were spotless - lovely warm showers, very clean. A second shower block has yet to be finished but has usable loos (one with two loos, one smaller child's one, which is a thoughtful touch). Not much in the shop, but maybe we were a bit early in the season. A great and safe site for children with a lovely friendly atmosphere. It is mostly static caravans and touring caravans, with a few tent pitches.

Despite the dreadful weather and wind coming from the coast that meant we had no sleep for two nights, Kloofs has fuelled our enthusiasm for camping! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Dknellie 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site last May and found it to be a very nice site, the facilities are very clean and the pitches are very good with a picnic table on every pitch. We had a lovely weekend and decided we would return again in the future.

We returned this May and found the site to be the same as last year very clean and the staff were nice, the only thing that spoilt our stay was the amount of unruly children on the site, we have no objection to children playing but when it's from 7.30am until after dark, kids riding bikes and scooters round and round your pitch constantly and screaming, they were also running behind our caravan playing hide and seek, which we found very rude and very annoying, we couldn't sit outside our caravan because of the noise they made.

Needless to say we will not be re-visiting this site purely because of the children spoiling it by being unruly and noisy. It's a shame as we really liked this site but it has put us off ever going back again. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: GAVINANDELAINE 9 reviews from this member

 Stayed for one night so by brother and his family could try their new caravan. Although the site is only half an hour drive from home, we will be returning.

Each pitch has a little patio area with picnic bench, water, electric and brick built BBQ stand. The existing shower block / loos are heated and exceptionally clean and they have some of the best showers I have ever tried. The new toilet block was only partly finished but looked to be to a good standard. The shop / reception was being refurbished, so can't really comment.

My brother's kids enjoyed the freedom of playing safely around the site where all traffic is kept to a low speed.

The website states it is 5 miles to shops and pubs but there is a path opposite the site entrance which is a 1.5 mile walk to Little Common which has small a Co-op, fish and chips and pub, none of which we tried so can't comment.

Overall the site well set up and is a credit to the friendly owners. Will be returning! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Vicandadi 2 reviews from this member

 Went to Kloofs for 1 night to test our new caravan as it was only about 10 miles from home. We arrived at the site and found Bev to be very helpful. She showed us round the site on foot explaining were everything was and then took us to two pitches next door to each other (one for my brother and sister in law) who were turning up later in the day.

This site is spotless both in terms of pitches, facilities and presentation.

Toilets and showers are great, clean and spacious.

Pitches are generous with flower boarders and bushes to give you a feeling of privacy.

For kids there was a play area but our kids spent the two days from arrival to leaving playing on their scooters around the site.

This is a great site and despite being some 10 miles from home we are already planning to revisit as a weekend get away. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JonDoe 12 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site as quite a large group but the staff were very accommodating. We were sort of put out of the way a little bit but this was fine with us. The pitches were large and in good condition each has a little patio area with picnic bench etc.

The facilities had just been upgraded and were great. The play park was in need of some TLC as the equipment was showing its age but still fun for one adventure hungry 4yr old!

We didn't venture too much off site but in bexhill there a few shops to get what you need for the weekend.

We will return one day. 


Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Kloofs Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Kloofs Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bexhill On Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...






Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet UK Monster Truck Nationals 21/08 to 22/08
Camping available with Monster Truck rides, drag racing, wrestling, plus live music ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4874 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement