Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Kloofs Caravan Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > South East > East Sussex > Bexhill On Sea > Kloofs Caravan Park Reviews

Kloofs Caravan Park
Sandhurst Lane
Whydown
Bexhill On Sea
East Sussex   (Browse area)
TN39 4RG
Tel: 01424 842839
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 50
Open: 01/01/2021 to 31/12/2021
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 124 Reviews
                9/10 from 124 Reviews

Photos (17)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 No Toilets   No Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge    Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 No Shop   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <5 miles 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <5 miles   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 Beach <5 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <5 miles  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  124 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rona Atkinson 4 reviews from this member

 We stayed for 3 nights in a tent on a lovely large pitch which had a bbq stand, picnic bench, water tap and electric hook up (on every pitch). We were near the playground - small but adequate - and the lower toilet block. The newer upper block was only a couple of minutes extra walk. Upper block is lovely - hot showers (although annoying that you have to hold in the shower button all the time), plenty of toilets and sinks, one hairdryer and a separate large family shower room. Also plenty of washing up facilities. The lower block (toilets, 2 showers, sinks, washing up, dog shower and drying room) is explained as an overflow block so not as new but still clean and adequate for daily use, we just went to the upper block at night (when the lower block has no lights) and for showers.

Reception are very helpful and friendly with a small shop stocking essentials.

We took our dogs and the dog field is adequate although a fair walk from the touring field. Also the walk suggested through the woods takes you in front of houses and a road so I would not necessarily recommend this. Hastings country park was an amazing walk and there are plenty of smaller parks around.

Local village of Little Common has all you need - a small tesco, takeaways (pizza-in-a-box highly recommended!), cafe, pub chemist etc.

Finally the satnav takes you down a very narrow winding lane - quite hairy!. We would recommend you follow the sites instructions to go through the village - much better and literally an extra minute.

To conclude, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay here and would return again. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sdwnewcamper 6 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a last minute break at this site with my two children 9 and 6.

The site is on a hill but is well organised, clean and all the pitches are spacious and flat being divided with little hedges which was a nice touch. There is a small children's play area near to the lower field which my boys loved and made lots of friends.

The lower field toilet block is clean with two showers, two dual parent and child toilets (effectively just two toilets in one cubicle which is a godsend for parents with small children) there are washing up points and sinks in this area and it is unisex and meant as a convenient point for people on the lower field. My one criticism of the lower block is the electric showers here don't have much pressure. Then upper toilets are the main block and only a minute or so walk from the lower block and divided into male and female sides, there are a number and of showers and toilets here and the pressure is good and again facilities clean.

The actual site feels incredibly safe and as a paranoid parent I was quite happy to let my children roam around it, which is unusual for me but meant I was able to actually relax.

The staff here are awesome and incredibly helpful. Thanks to Jo and Tony the wardens here who sorted me out a wine glass from their own home so that I didn't have to drink wine out of a mug. The fact Jo is an ex midwife and Tony an ex paramedic you couldn't be in safer hands should something dramatic occur. The site is well organised, clean and quiet from 2200hrs as all seemed to obey the rules.

The site encourages recycling and is conveniently placed for trips to Bexhill, Hastings and Camber sands. If towing or in a large camper be aware some of the approaches are going to be snug down the sat nav approach so it may be worth checking your maps for a wider route. Having said that there were some very large caravans and a large Winnebago on the site so it is accessible.

On site shop has basics and an ice block freezing ability.

In short if pondering whether to go. Just do it and you won't be disappointed. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: MandySS 2 reviews from this member

 Just spent a lovely peaceful weekend here. Very friendly staff, excellent pitches with shrubs around, a BBQ stand and picnic bench provided + own tap and waste water outlet if you have the pipes to use it. Field available to exercise the dog, woods nearby for a longer walk and ample dog waste bins provided on site.

The main shower block had the most spacious showers we have used, plenty of space to get dressed. Hair dryer available if req. The lower block had drying rooms available for wet coats, bedding etc ( an excellent idea ), a dog shower and unisex toilets with basin etc.

The reception / shop had a good selection of the basics and on arrival we were asked if we wanted a paper ordered ( no extra charge as some sites make either ). Outside reception is an under cover area with benches to sit at if its wet or you just want to do a jigsaw, play a game etc which are available to borrow ~ another excellent idea.

Despite the awful British Summer Weather we had a very nice stay here and will certainly return. Thank you. 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Famof4 9 reviews from this member

 Excellent we love it here! this was our 3rd visit already this season so glad its back open. Pitches are large and have shrubs etc around to give privacy, each pitch has a bbq stand, picnic bench and water tap. Lovely little play area and lots of space for the kids to play and ride their bikes safely. Staff all very friendly, and the toilet shower facilities the best I have ever seen! also has a 2nd block with unisex toilets, showers, clothes drying area and even a dog shower. The site has a small shop at reception area which is starting to get more stock in for the season. Has an undercover area that you can sit in and you can also burrow books or puzzles which I think is a great idea. There is an adjacent field which is home to 2 very friendly horses which come over and say hello a real treat for the kiddies. Stop thinking about it and book I promise you wont regret it! 


Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Hammers1 4 reviews from this member

 Have just returned from Kloofs where we spent the bank holiday weekend and felt I had to write a review, which I don't often do! We booked last minute as we had purchased a new van which we were keen to try out. Couldn't get in at any of our usual haunts so booked Kloofs as they had available service pitches. We weren't expecting much, as the reviews were mixed and also quite old - I believe the site has been closed for a while for a makeover. Well, what a treat! The pitches were a good size and well spaced out in amongst hedgerows and trees - ours was quite private and felt like we had our own little garden. Every pitch has its own picnic table and a stand for a bbq. The staff were very friendly on arrival. The top shower block was toasty warm, with underfloor heating, a dry area to pop your clothes and towel and huge showers. The lower block, which people on here had regularly slated was actually ok, warm, serviceable and it clearly points out via signs on the wall that they are for daytime use as a 'secondary block'. Little Common village is about half a mile down the road, with every sort of takeaway you need plus a café which serves a good breakfast and a Tesco Express open 7am-11pm. The site is handy for Bexhill, Eastbourne, Hastings. Give it a try and don't be put off by previous reports. We're fussy but we will definitely return. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Monty the bongo 49 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this site a fair few times because it's close to home and ideal for a weekend away. Good site, good facilities and friendly staff. Main shower block is clean and warm all year round, the lower block is for a 'quick stop off'. The site has some nice extras such as a drying room (why don't all sites have these?)' and a doggy shower cubicle. Recommended site. 


Date of Visit: March 2014 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Babytanner 8 reviews from this member

 We visited Kloofs to do a dummy run in our new folding camper.

I did write a long winded review giving an almost step by step version of our weekend but I've decided to be straight to the points.

This site is not all year round for tents of any kind in the section we stayed in near the lower toilet service block. It is like a muddy bog we got stuck badly my jocky wheel sank quite deep. We needed assistance from a fellow campers 4x4 to get out. We could not raise any staff to help.

Our pitch was meant to be hard standing one section of the area had sunk in and all around the hard secrion was like marsh all churned up. We spent more time arguing about cleaning up the mud than enjoying our break. We really could of done with pitching on one of the caravan pitches on the top section.

The main toilet block near the entrance was nice, hot showers and warm. Plenty of room in the cubicles. Its a nice site but we have stayed in better for the rating it has I feel it was over priced at 26 per night out of season. On our second night somewhere on the site near the reception there was a dog barking non stop for hours.

When we left the staff confirmed that the camping area does hold the water for a long time and he would not of placed us there with our unit. So he discounted our stay he said its not really idea out of season for camping its mainly for touring vans. I think we will continue to search for another out of season site. Which can only be good as I means more camping for the kids. 


Date of Visit: January 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Nuevoboy 93 reviews from this member

 Just spent the first 4 days of 2014 there.

Given the atrocious weather, the site was a real haven for us. Our hardstanding pitch was adequate and close to the top toilet block, which was wonderfully warm, especially the shower room.

The reception area had suffered in the storms and was damp and windblown and we couldn't get hold of the warden for 3 days to pay. Thankfully we found an assistant who took the money off us.

Our only real problem was the giant RV parked next to us, who kept his generator running all night on our last night there.

I'm sure this is a great site in the summer as it's in a lovely location and in mid-winter when all other sites around are closed, it's great too! 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lohr500 8 reviews from this member

 Just spent a week at Kloofs and we loved it.

The site is set on a hill side with the reception/shop at the top and pitches further down the hill.

Their fully serviced touring caravan pitches were very spacious and we ended up at the bottom of the hill close to the lower facilities block.

Our pitch backed onto a country lane so there was some traffic noise but this was minimal and not a problem. The pitch was billiard table flat and all hard standing with ample space for the caravan, car and awning. Each pitch had it's own picnic bench and raised stone flag barbeque stand. We had neighbours on either side at one point but didn't feel boxed in.

There is a small kids playground although I would say the kit is aimed at the up to 7s, rather than older children. Our two (10 & 12) soon made friends and spent time cycling and scooting around. All the children on site were well behaved and the evenings were peaceful with no rowdy music or late night revelry.

The site was reasonably full but both toilet blocks were kept very clean. I would go so far as to say the upper block was one of the cleanest I have seen and the first I have come across where disposable paper foot mats are provided for the shower cubicles. A nice touch.

The lower block is more basic and 'eco friendly', with unisex facilities. There are no lights at night. Whilst adequate, I do wonder about the wisdom of a basic 2nd block on a site of this size as capacity in the upper block is limited and quite a trek for those at the very bottom end of the site. This being said none of us had to wait to get a shower at the top block.

The site was beautifully kept and well looked after. All the staff we spoke to were helpful and very friendly.

The site is secluded but around a 10 minute car drive to the sea. We cycled down to Cooden beach one day and then pedalled along the Bexhill promenade to Hastings and back which was an easy ride. Little Common is close and has both a Tesco Express & Co-Op for stocking up on provisions. The site shop also looked to carry most basics although aside from ice creams we didn't really use it.

Eastbourne is around 15 mins away with Brighton a further 30 mins on top. We planned our visit to coincide with the free Eastbourne Airbourne flying display which runs for 4 days and we weren't disappointed. We spent a very relaxing afternoon sat on the beach close to the pier watching the displays, followed by an evening meal in the Sovereign Harbour complex.

The old village of Battle is close by and worthy of a few hours wandering up and down the high street.

With a minor reservation over the bottom facilities block in peak season ( the only reason I didn't rate all scores as 10/10), I would recommend this site to anyone wanting a peaceful base from which to explore the Hastings/Bexhill/Eastbourne coast.

It's also worth mentioning that if you are approaching the site from Battle, I would follow the site's directions for the longer route and avoid the upper stretch of Pear Tree Lane.

Pear Tree Lane is quite narrow, twisty with overhanging hedgerows and little room for vehicles to pass. We only have a single axle caravan and VW Tiguan and thankfully we didn't meet anything other than cars coming the other way. Best avoided! 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Famof4 9 reviews from this member

 Wow! have just returned from a lovely weekend break at Kloofs. What a fantastic, peaceful site.

We decided very last minute 5. 30pm on fri to make the most of the nice weather and go camping. Being a late decision we didn't want to venture to far so after a quick search on here we decided to give this one a try. On telephoning we were told our pitch number and given directions and told to pitch straight up and settle in the morning as the reception was closed when we arrived.

All pitches have ehu and is included in the price although we didn't use ours. Each pitch also had its own picnic bench which came in very handy and a brick built bbq stand for disposable bbqs and a water tap. Bins where also not to far away and were emptied every morning. Our pitch was average size and been as we didn't have anyone on one side of us we had plenty of room.

The kids play area is well looked after and my two boys age 2 and 7 enjoyed playing in it. The reception shop was manned by a lovely friendly lady who was very chatty and friendly and made us feel most welcome. The shop is well stocked with everything you might need and reasonably priced too, a good range of camping equipment, bbq meats, juice, coffee etc as well as kids pocket money toys and sweets, ice creams etc. There is a tesco express, co-op, fish and chip shop (which was nice)etc 5 mins drive away in the village of little common. There is also a little indoor seating area at reception, and a selection of books, puzzles, games and a few kids bits to borrow. We borrowed a couple of the children's books to read together in the evening.

Both toilet blocks were exceptionally clean at all times. The top being the best I have ever seen. I used the family shower room for myself and 2 boys and found there to be plenty of free hot water and lots of space to get myself and them ready without getting in each others way. They also have a laundry room with all you need and ironing board however I did not need to use any of these. The washing up facilities are also very good and both undercover. Never had to wait for sinks, toilets or showers throughout our stay.

To conclude I can not recommend kloofs high enough the site is so well cared for in every way and we certainly will be returning again for many more weekends away. Well done to all 


Previous     124 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Kloofs Caravan Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Is Kloofs Caravan Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Bexhill On Sea      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in East Sussex

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Caravan and Motorhome Show Stratford 23/07 to 25/07
New and used motorhomes & campervans with camping on site ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


4492 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2021


Advertisement


Advertisement