Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Settle > Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Little Stainforth
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0DP
Tel: 01729 822200
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 237 Reviews
                9/10 from 237 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  237 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulc5545 2 reviews from this member

Wanted a reasonably central location to the Three Peaks and Malham to supervise a group doing their D of Edinburgh's Award in the area, and this fitted the bill very well. As previously mentioned, if you try to drive over the bridge you are likely to lose your wing mirrors, but otherwise finding the site is very easy. Facilities good, clean and plentiful although one of the water taps in our field wasn't working meaning we had to go all the way to the shower block to fill up, but that was not a problem.

I would (and probably will) use this site again. The only problem was the rather unthoughtful group of adults that decided to camp very close to us. They were noisier than the large bunch of teenagers on the other side of the field - until I 'asked' them to be quiet at 11:45pm!

Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yte8 5 reviews from this member

Great campsite, clean high quality facilities. Staff really friendly and efficient. Chose it for it's location for walking etc and not disappointed. Settle a short drive has everything you need. The Craven Heifer pub is a short walk away from the site. They serve good honest food and looked after our large party of adults and children really well. We camped on the bottom field near the river which was flat and very peaceful. Would definitely go again. One of the group did use the 'sat nav' route which is very narrow (they nearly lost their wing mirrors!) into the campsite, rather than the one recommended on the campsite's website which is fine.

Date of Visit: October 2009 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Fairways18 14 reviews from this member

A great site in a fantastic location 21/2 miles from Settle and 31/2 miles from Horton in ribblesdale, an ideal base for walking.

There's a pub in the main stainforth village which is a 10 min stroll away, although we didn't eat there, it does serve food, and what we saw looked very good, and if you like big portions then you're in the right place, they were massive.

The site is of good size and the facilities block is superb,very clean and lots of hot water.

The shop in the reception serves your basic requirements should you need any, and the staff were pleasant and helpful.

I recommend this site and would use again

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Chris dine 12 reviews from this member

Just returned from a weekend away after reading many positive reviews and not hard to see why it is so popular great scenery clean and tidy site and very friendly staff

Big pitches and noticed we were in a field where many vans stay all year round, which when you see the sites first thing on a morning there isn't many places you would rather wake up so is understandable, very laid back site and great for getting away from reality

Shower area very large and spacious and clean although toilets could have been cleaner and a bit more pleasing on the nose,

Will def return and if I had to give a criticism it would be the huge clumps of cut wet grass all around the site, with kids and a dog it walks in everywhere, with mowers with grass catchers modern sites shouldn't really suffer with this, but it's a minor fault and not one to put you off coming

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Jogie 2 reviews from this member

Have just returned home (2 days early) from Knight Stainforth. The weather has been shocking and I couldn't cope with the mud any longer!

There are some positives about this site, (although my judgement may be clouded by the poor weather).

Good points:

Hot showers with three hooks for clothes and a basket for toiletries

Good kids' play area with proper play surface

Friendly staff

Lovely views

Huge washing up sinks with lots of space

Food at the Craven Heifer

Location - excellent for exploring the Dales. We did the Malham Spectacular (4.5 miles - Malham Cove, Gordale Scar and Janet's Foss) - beautiful

Bad points:

The shop and games room are across a small road so I couldn't let my daughter go alone

The showers are in a separate part of the toilet block to the toilets and sinks so you have to have your shower then move your stuff over to the other room for hairdrying etc.

The chemical toilet disposal point is horrible - cobwebby and tatty

The sloping fields - my daughter kept rolling off the airbed!

There are hedges along the edges of the internal roads - the hedges have gaps in them and it's very difficult to see if a child is coming through the gap until they're on the road

When we were there the river was very noisy but it did mean that you couldn't hear your neighbours!

You need a key for the toilet block so my daughter had to come back to the tent every time she wanted to go!

The walk to the Craven Heifer is not one I would do with my daughter. The road is very narrow with lots of nettles at the sides. It is also not lit. We did enjoy driving along it though and particularly over the narrow bridge (but we have a Fiesta so we fitted through easily!)

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: LOLA09 7 reviews from this member

What a lovely camp site.

Lovely owners, warm welcome on arrival.

Excellent washing facilities all indoors which was fantastic when the weather turned.

Plenty of toilets, showers and vanity units all very warm.

Kept immaculately clean.

Lovely little shop, games room and playgrounds for the kids.

Will definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mum_of_4 1 review from this member

This was our second stay at this fantastic site. Showers/loos warm and very clean. Washing up facilities were indoor (always a bonus on a wet weekend!)and very clean. We pitched on the camping field (Pitch 70)and had a large, flat pitch. Wonderful children's playground and useful games room (during wet weather). Small shop selling reasonably priced goods. We visited Janet's Foss and Gordale Scar in nearby Malham - beautiful walk with stunning landscape. Well recommended.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mark5000 1 review from this member

All in all a lovely site, well maintained and the toilets were always clean, could have done with a couple of more showers as there was only four for each sex to service the full site. There are some lovely towns and villages around the area to visit and the site is well situated for easy access by car to these.

Ten minutes walk from the site their is the pub the craven heifer whos meals are nice and you get plenty for your money. My only complaint was that there didn't seem to be anyone enforcing rules, there was supposed to be no noise after ten but on a couple of nights noise went on until about eleven thirty and also there was supposed to be no ball games around the tents or caravans but after my car and tent had been hit with balls on numerous occasions each day this obviously wasn't true. Don't let this put you off using this site as I would use it again only I would pitch somewhere different than the main field.

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Marshalldd 20 reviews from this member

This was our first visit to this site having read the reviews we were really looking forward to our stay.

We arrived just after 2.Oo on Friday afternoon and we choose the top field to pitch on. All the site rules were explained to us and we we were told for fire safety to leave 6m between our two tents.

We don,t need EHU so we were told we could pitch anywhere on the field as long as we were not near the bottom edge as this was for EHU. The field was empty so we choose two pitches side by side at the top edge of the field facing the children's play area.

The facilities on site are good with great toilets and showeres although these were not kept as clean as some of the other sites we have been too.

The site shop is the best I have ever seen and the opening hours were great. The games room and the play area are great for the kids.

The site is busy and if you don,t need EHU up you are not given a pitch number. By late afternoon we were been surrounded by a party of 8 families who had no regard for the fire and safty rule. This was dispite there being adequate room elsewhere on the field. The last tent pitched was that close to ours that we had difficulty getting our car out.

Another site rule is minimal noise after 10 which has always been observed by campers and enforced by the camp site owners on others sites we have visited. I am not a prude and with six children between us we can certainly make our own amount of noise, however playing music and singing till 2.30 in the morning is not acceptable. We did complain on checking out and where told we should have knocked at the house. This would be difficult at 2.30 in the morning and we were not told that you could do this when we checked in if you had any problems.

The site facilities are excellent and the location is lovely. We did find the site noisy but if we went again I think we would not pitch on the top field. Pitch numbers would be good so you don't get hemmed in.

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Fleabitten 1 review from this member

We stayed here for 2 nights at the end of June. £15 per night without EHU.

Very welcoming reception and a lovely site for a family to stay. Great play area for the kids and within site of the main camping area. The shower and toilet block was exceptionally clean and tidy.Nice warm showers too!

20 minute walk to a local pub (go over the bridge over the river at the bottom of the site, up and over the railway line, turn right at the junction and follow the signs for the Craven Heifer Hotel.Can't miss it!)

We did the Ingleton Waterfalls walk and had a trip to Ingleborough Cave.So plenty to do to keep the kids entertained for a couple of days.

Will definitely go back in the near future, therefore highly recommended site.

Previous     237 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Love Touring Expo, Scotland 25/10 to 27/10, Aberdeen
Scotlandís newest caravan and motorhome show! The very latest caravans, motorhomes and campervans from all major brands, including the new models for 2020 ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3438 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019