Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Settle > Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Little Stainforth
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0DP
Tel: 01729 822200
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 237 Reviews
                9/10 from 237 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  237 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Neilap 4 reviews from this member

Just back from a three night stay on this excellent site, where we enjoyed (sic) some of the wettest weather ever seen by humans. Overnight the River alongside the site rose by several feet and locals said they hadn't seen the river so high in years.

We were on a EHU pich in the main field, and on one side of us was a friendly young family, who went home early due to the rain, the other side remained empty so we had loads of space.

The site is well drained, the EHU pitches in the main field were only slightly sloped although some of the non-EHU tents looked like they were about to slide away, particularly a terrific looking tepee where I'm sure the occupants must have kept slipping off their beds.

Some of the pitches are huge, really huge with so much space for the largest tents/awnings and gazebos etc, and there were lots of great tents to look at with envy. Away from the main field it's pretty much flat and some of the pitches are individually fenced.

The all-important toilets were spotlessly clean, and given the weather I have no idea how they managed to keep the floors so clean. I didn't see anyone cleaning, but I didn't once see any mud/grass on the floor. The showers were absolutely fine, and although there is a push button for the water, you can keep the water flowing hot by pressing the button every 10 seconds or so. Washing up facilities are very good, as are the clothes dryers.

The games room has a pool table and table football, plus 6 or 7 slightly aging video game machines. There is also sky tv and a snack machine in the games room. My son and I enjoyed a couple of hours respite from the drumroll of rain on the tent playing pool. The shop below the games room had the basics and you didn't feel ripped off when you bought something.

Walks off the site are terrific, where you can walk alongside the River Ribble to Settle, the views of the river are wonderful. Alternatively a short walk to Stainforth and you'll find a pub, we didn't go in because we were soaking but it looks nice enough.

Despite the weather we had a lovely 3 night stay, and we will without doubt return. I would recommend this site to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: DumnoniiNomad 6 reviews from this member

What a great site! Perhaps I shouldn't share this gem with everyone as I may not be able to get in on my next visit! We rang to book in a day early and after leaving a message, Chris returned the call quickly and was both friendly and very helpful.

The site is very clean and well maintained, with big pitches allowing for a spacious feel. The views of the hills to the east of Settle are fantastic and there's a lovely riverside walk into town. In fact there's a good number of walks from site which suited us well.

We arrived just before the schools broke up and on the Friday evening the site filled up. Whilst there aren't masses of showers and toilets, we didn't experience a significant problem.

We'll definitely be back. If there's the space!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mkns 1 review from this member

Had a good visit to the campsite at the start of the month. I do agree with many of the comments left by others, for example the toilets are always clean as is the scullery, and there's plenty of room around the site.

The playground area was excellent, the kids wanted to spend loads of time there, and the location is also great, being a short walk down to the river that the kids again could potter in quite safely. There's even a pool for the more adventurous kids/adults to jump in to; it's quite a big jump!

Areas which I don't feel get enough attention from other reviews:

The field at the top, which is where many of the smaller tents without EHU go, is _really_ steep. I'm amazed people are able to sleep on it, they must slide to the bottom of their tent in the night.

The 10pm quite rule is generally ignored. We have three kids, youngest 4, and the noise going on from the tents all around us well past 10pm was surprising, considering the comments left by previous reviewers. It wasn't as if anyone was coming round to ensure that it was quiet. That said, by 11pm, it had quietened down, but I think it's worth pointing out that there is not strict adherence to the 10pm rule that some others claim.

The games room looked like something out of the early 1980s. Also, the sky tv is effectively freeview, so don't go expecting the full suite of kids channels on sky. Thankfully, we didn't go to watch tv!

Those points aside, it is definitely a camp site that I recommend. I've not been camping that often, so maybe the steepness of the hill doesn't bother some people, and there were plenty of tents on it, so clearly it's manageable by some. It's in a really nice quiet location, but not too far from places if you need or want to go out for a meal.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anne 1 8 reviews from this member

We have recently enjoyed a 3 night stay at this lovely campsite. We booked a pitch with EHU and was pleased to see how large the pitches were and well laid out.

The areas for both EHU and non EHU are well maintained and spacious. There is a good size children's play area and also a games room which is situated near the shop however we didn't go in.

The shop itself has a good stock of the usual essential items, food, newspapers, gas etc and the staff are lovely.

Plenty of information regarding walks/days out in the surrounding area. The town of Settle is very close by and it's very close to the Three Peaks.

The toilet/ shower block were some of the cleanest I have ever been in which just goes to show that it can be done. Not a cobweb to be seen!

I would return to this site again and would recommend it to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Benobeno 2 reviews from this member

We have just had 4 nights here and have had a great time. The site is very clean, well looked after and the staff very helpful. The electric hook up points with lights on are a wonderful idea, making that midnight dash to the warm clean loo a delight.

The pitches are well spaced with drinking water and rubbish sites available everywhere.

There are plenty of walks in the area with the waterfall at the bottom end of the site.

The site has a small shop selling the basics, bread, milk etc, with a games and TV room attached.

Not having children with us, we can't comment on the playground etc, but it did look safe and well maintained, as is everything on site.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Burger 3 reviews from this member

Went there the first week of the English School holidays. One word sums up our holiday experience there - Brilliant.

They don't let you on site until early afternoon but they don't expect you to leave 'til midday. Lights off at 10pm so may not appeal to the hardened partygoers.

The site is very clean but the only drawback is a lack of showers. The site could do with an extra shower block. The way around this problem is showering at off-peak times.

There is a river 20 metres from the site in which you can fish, dingy, canoe and tombstone. Settle is a two mile walk along the river to or you can bike on the narrow country road (3 miles).

What more can I say - pack your insect repellent (Avon skin so soft); kids; dogs; raised bbqs and use this site to explore god's own county - you will not be disappointed.

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Blake_family_65 4 reviews from this member

Great campsite with great views. Stopped for 2 nights.

Our second visit to Knight Stainforth. The campsite is clean with a great little shower block which is spotlessly clean. My 10 year old daughter spent 99% of her time in the playground and made some new friends, whilst we relaxed in the top field next to our tents.

Slightly noisy the second night - someone's TV on a bit too loud and then in the morning woken by a lady complaining about last night's TV at 6. 30am!

Owners are friendly and helpful.

Short walk to Stainforth to the Craven Heifer which serve food and real ale.

Will return again.

Warning: Not sure if this is just a one off, but. We pitched in the top field near the tall trees and opposite this pitch on the field and we were plagued by midges, my daughter and friend were bitten very badly. This was despite having skin so soft and 3 citronella candles burning. Midges were there early morning and evening. Not the owners fault - it's nature, forewarned is forearmed!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Outdoor 2 reviews from this member

Don't use directions from sat nav as previously mentioned this will take you over a very narrow bridge, use directions given on website. We stayed over the weekend and there was good spacing between tents and campers were respecting quiet after 10pm rule. The site itself is very well kept and is in a picturesque setting with the river close by. We stayed here 2 adults and 4 children (13-16) and we all thought the facilities were good. The river was great for gorge jumping. There is a separate dog exercise area which was clean. Toilet facilities were clean and showers were hot. There is a good washing up area with several sinks. There was also a laundry room. There are designated pitches for EHU but for non-EHU you can pitch either near the play area which is good for children or at the bottom of the site near the river. We found this agreeable although a bit sloping. The play area was good if you have young children. We were happy with our stay and thought it was good value at £35 a night for 2 tents and a car. There is also a shop selling the usual and a TV room.

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: CappyHampers 1 review from this member

Just returned from our first visit to Knight Stainforth camp site and we can not praise this site enough - spotlessly clean toilet/shower facilities and the security is good. The staff are amicable and very helpful.

There is a pleasant stroll alongside the riverside into the town of Settle and it is only a matter of yards at the bottom of the site to visit Stainforth Force waterfall (although do not let the kids visit this by themselves as it is quite fast-flowing and therefore dangerous).

Although there are numerous children and dogs on the site, they are all kept under control and the site is very quiet and generally adheres to the sites' rule of 'no noise after 10pm' - which is great. The local (half a mile away) pub - The Craven Heifer - is friendly and overlooks Stainforth Beck. Definitely a bonus if you like a decent drink in a picturesque setting.

This place is clean, cheerful and has all the facilities you could need and we would recommend this site for people of all ages: throw in the great views and this is definitely a place you should stay!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy85 1 review from this member

As our forth camping trip, we were finally beginning to discover what makes for a good campsite. Knight Stainforth Hall ticked all of the boxes.

On arriving to the site for a three night stay,we were impressed by the key fob entry, which gives the site a secure feeling, and the slightly sloping field tested our pitching skills.

I personally thought the shower block was the best we'd visited, but my boyfriend complained that he never had a warm shower, but he did tend to visit during 'peak' shower and pot washing times.

Camping with a one year old can be tricky, especially at bed times. At other sites we have had trouble settling her due to noise etc, however this was not the case here. Even though the site was quite busy, the noise level was low, and by 10pm the site was lovely and peaceful.

The site benefits from a well built and secure children's play area, which our little girl loved to visit. There seemed to be enough there to keep all age groups entertained (1-12years.)

The shop is a small shop, where you will be able to find most essentials (bread, milk, eggs, cold beer and CALPOL!) However if you larger shop, there is a co-op and spar in Settle, which is easy to find.

Previous     237 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Love Touring Expo, Scotland 25/10 to 27/10, Aberdeen
Scotlandís newest caravan and motorhome show! The very latest caravans, motorhomes and campervans from all major brands, including the new models for 2020 ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1264 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019