Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Settle > Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Little Stainforth
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0DP
Tel: 01729 822200
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 237 Reviews
                9/10 from 237 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  237 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Caster 7 reviews from this member

Just had a great extended weekend here, we were camped in the top field which has a bit of a slope but not unmanageable, the staff were easy to get on with and very helpful, there is a 10 returnable deposit for a key for the shower block and automatic gate entry which is great as it gives a feeling of security

The shower blocks consists of male/female toilets with sinks and private curtained wash cubicles, ( in the male toilets at least lol) a pot washing room, laundry and good hot showers

There is a childs play area for under 12's which is in good condition with a soft ground area, it was well used while we were there

The views over the settle valley are beautiful and if your lucky, as were we, you may witness the steam trains making their way along the Settle to Carlisle line

There is a small shop, reasonably priced with all the basics in it, plus you may order your morning papers

We will most certainly be returning to this site, four days wasn't enough so we plan a ten day stay next time

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Issym 30 reviews from this member

Excellent site, kept forgetting the key to the toilet block but saw the necessity of it as the Ribbleway Footpath goes right past the site. The key kept people not paying for the facilities out of the block. There was always instant hot water both in the showers and washing up area.

We didn't need to use the shop as Booth's supermarket is in Settle and was a lovely place to shop with a good range of local produce. We also loved the local butcher Macefield.

Be careful if you use Tomtom to get you there, it takes you to the wrong side of the river and although there is a 'Not suitable for caravans' sign at the top of the road you don't see it until you turn in, and then either have to cross a 6 foot wide bridge or reverse out onto a very busy main road. This isn't the site's problem, they give you the correct details but we put the postcode into Tomtom so didn't read the instructions!

We stayed for a week but would be quite happy to spend the whole summer there, it was so peaceful to just sit and watch the world!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Aria30 14 reviews from this member

Used this site as a base for our Yorkshire 3 peaks challenge. Had a nice welcome from the man in reception, which looked like a well stocked shop too. Entrance and exit is by barrier, which needs a fob to raise the barrier either way.

We were pitched on the 1st field, which had ehu around the outside perimeter. We managed to pitch in the middle, where it was quite flat. This field contained the children's playground, where they looked as though they were all having fun.

The toilet block contained toilets, showers, launderette and pot washing, all of which was clean. The site had lovely views of the surrounding hills. We didn't get to see anymore of the site, as we'd been walking for over 12 hours, we just needed to sleep, but its a site that I would like to visit again and see more of the area.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chippynco 3 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a week could have stayed for a fortnight. Camped with friends who have stayed here before. Great site, good facilities no complaints at all apart from the guy in the next tent who was snoring all night, but in the day smashing fella and he knew a great Indian restaurant in Settle! It was called the royal spice and the food was great

Anyway I recommend this site and will deffo be coming again

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jann251 3 reviews from this member

Visited this site for the bonfire party October 2008 but we have been to this site twice before. The shower and toilet block is always clean and you never have to wait to use them. The children's play area is great and they have had loads of fun on there.
We especially like going down to the river where on this occasion we got to see the salmon jumping up the waterfall to get up stream, what a site it was too. The previous year was in the summer and the kids swam in the river all day. Ingletons waterfalls are close by and also the caves, both are a must to do and we as a family thoroughly enjoyed them.
The local town Settle is lovely with plenty of shops for the ladies to go and browes around.

I can't really give any negative points as there aren't any and I am sure we will be back again soon.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Revup000 3 reviews from this member

The campsite is in a fabulous location, it is central to so many possibilities for days out from Ingleton falls, a trip up the railway to carlisle from settle and the lakes if you so wish, not to mention lots and lots of nearby attractions.
There is a small room next to the camp shop which is jam packed full of leaflets for days out and things to do all over Yorkshire come rain or shine! The camp shop is small but useful, you can get tent pegs, bread, washing powder, sausages and burgers etc.
The site is well laid out and the toilets and showers are of an excellent standard and were kept extremely clean, even over the very busy and somewhat wet Easter bank holiday weekend!
There is a laundry room with 2 washers, 2 dryers and an iron. There is a children's play area with swings, slide, seesaw, and mini assault course, which we couldn't get the kids off!
Just through the style there is a lovely field for dog walking down by the river.

All in all we had no complaints about this site and loved it so much we have booked to go again for 10 days in August. Highly recommended.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Ralph twiss 1 review from this member

Good clean facilities, the toilets & showers are all in one block and are kept clean (pan washing set up is really good) .

There is a quite well stocked shop on site for all the basics. Games room for children if its raining and decent playground when its not.

Plenty of water , bin , and chemical loo disposal points. The pitches are quite spacious and well laid out. There is a good range in the pitches, shaded, sunny, larger tents can be mixed in with touring vans or on the main tent field. Tents have a good selection of EHU's if required.

Ten mins stroll to the nearest pub and two mile walk to the nearest towns Settle & Giggleswick. Where you will find a wide range of pubs , shops, supermarkets and leisure facilities.

The nearest supermarket is 'Booths' and if you have never tried this supermarket then you are in for a treat ! the range of food and beer& wine that they stock is second to none!

The rear of the site leads down to the river (two mins walk)which has footpaths along side and is very picturesque. You can walk into Settle along these paths

Turn right out of the site and you are straight in to the 'Dales' proper. Walks and rides are a must if you can prise yourselves away from the site.

We where there towards the end of April (Thur - Mon) It was busy but not full over the weekend, and this did mean that the toilet / showers where busy. This would not put us off but should be noted ( and it should not put you off either).

There was also no noise problem for us. The site staff are nice and very helpful. On big bonus is the site has WiFi.

WE have already recommended this site to friends and recommend it to you to. Finally book in April and ask for the main field so the wife& children can watch the lambs. It will keep them amused for hours ;-)

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: The Morans 9 reviews from this member

Very friendly welcome. Beautiful location. Barrier entry so need 10 deposit for fob and a key to the loos. Site busy but quiet with mixed groups from weekender's to small groups of school children camping.

Shop seemed adequately stocked. Toilets very clean and spacious - only issue that toilet roll very difficult to unroll from the holder!

A short 10 min walk from the site in the village of Stainforth was a fab local pub - the Craven Heiffer. Great welcome, very friendly. The food was very reasonable, home cooked and great quality. Will be back.

Recommend site to anyone.

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Dawnlw 6 reviews from this member

Lovely site with a stream running through, a couple of minuites walk takes you to river ribble with lovely waterfalls where our kids loved to paddle.
Facilities are very good kids loved the play park. Campsite shop is handy selling essentials. Great location for days out in the dales.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helen95 3 reviews from this member

What a fantastic site. Excellent value for money. Stayed here for 3 nights, myself, my husband and 2 children, along with my sister and her family
Toilets and showers were spotless, pot washing facility was brill. Staff were so friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble.
Kids loved the park, the river and the views were spectacular. We will definitely be back

Previous     237 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2969 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019