Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Settle > Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Little Stainforth
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0DP
Tel: 01729 822200
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 237 Reviews
                9/10 from 237 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  237 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Aldod 3 reviews from this member

This site is located in absolutely outstanding countryside. You can embark on short, long, easy or arduous walks straight from the site or just relax outside your van, or down by the river. The facilities are comprehensive and well kept, we were there over a very busy bank holiday period and the showers and toilets were very heavily used; on occasions they were a little in need of a tidy up but overall standards were satisfactory. The owners were helpful and friendly and the little on site shop has a limited but interesting stock of good local produce. Access to the site is two miles along a country lane which is a little narrow at times so care is needed. There is limited TV and mobile phone coverage, however the site offers a competitively priced Wi Fi facility. Although we were just two adults there were a number of children on site and they seemed to enjoy the facilities available. For us this site, although not the most easily accessible, is the most picturesque with stunning scenery.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: AmyKenyon 2 reviews from this member

We stayed here last night and absolutely loved it, we will definitely be coming again!

It's very easy to find once you're through the village of Settle-which is a perfectly quaint little place. We ate at the Lion on the Main Street and the food was spot on. Lots of quirky little shops and back streets to wander through. The lane on the way to the site can be a bit tricky-especially if there's a caravan coming the other way so drive carefully.

The staff on reception are very friendly and full of information about the site and surrounding areas. Lovely little shop for essentials too. There are 3 fields to chose from for a pitching a tent and all within easy reach of the shower/toilet block.

We pitched on the area between the static caravans and electric hook ups. Lovely little spot about 30 seconds from the facilities. The toilets are very clean with 4 cubicles with sinks for getting washed in. There are 4 separate private shower cubicles, a spacious washing up area and launderette. All are accessed with a key you obtain from reception on arrival (10 refundable deposit) so very safe. We were very impressed. Nice play area outside if you have kids.

Once the rain had stopped, we walked down to the River which was very picturesque with plenty of wildlife and wandering sheep.

The camp has a 'no noise' policy after 10pm however, a local pub or hotel (we're not quite sure but it seemed to be across the river and behind the woods) was blasting music out until 1am. Ok if you're in a caravan or a group of friends, not so good if you have a young family with you. I would suggest staying in the large field by the play area if you're camping with children.

Overall though, a brilliant campsite that we will definitely recommend and return to.

Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: YorkshireBlue 8 reviews from this member

I booked this site for three nights based on the reviews on this site, but I have to say having stayed I feel a little underwhelmed - and dare I say it - disappointed. So much so I am wondering if I stayed at a different place.

Don't get me wrong, it is a nice site. But nothing more than that. The biggest concern for me is value for money. This site is more expensive than most, and I just don't think it lived up to it. For example, two of the four men's toilets didn't flush the entire time we stayed there. There were regular long queues for the showers, wash basins and the washing up facilities. Also, there was a massive slope on the main field. We got a good position, but people who arrived later were not so lucky.

However, it is not all bad. The biggest selling point is the location. Stainforth Force as at the bottom of the campsite, literally a few minutes walk. Settle is a lovely town that has all that you would want. And of course the whole place is a paradise for walkers like myself.

Would I stay here again? Probably, but it wouldn't be my first choice in the area.

Date of Visit: June 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: John+Kazza 6 reviews from this member

2nd visit and still as peaceful and tranquil as our last (4 years ago). Booking was simple, booking in straightforward and informative and given choice of pitches on arrival. Set up and went to explore the banks of the river and waterfall. Site well set out and the pitches for ehu have almost doubled in size. Playground seemed very new and had plenty to keep the youngsters amused. Toilet and shower facilities very clean. Shop is more than adequate. Well set back from the nearest main road so no noise from any passing traffic (though the cows, sheep and occasional trains provide the soundtrack). Nearest supermarket 2 miles away in settle. Will be back again a lot sooner than last time.

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kelly and Broydon 23 reviews from this member

We visited the site for a long weekend which must have been one of the hottest all year.

The site is a great site with friendly staff and good sized pitches which are relatively flat.

The kids park is modern and safe and there was plenty of room for the kids to play. Nearby is a shallow river/ stream which is full of giggling children enjoying the cool water in the hot sun. Further down stream is a small area deep enough to swim in.

The showers and toilets were modern, clean and importantly hot with a large pot washing area too.

The site is situated in lovely countryside offering great views and brilliant sunsets and rises.

We felt this site offered value for money and would certainly return.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Udodog 2 reviews from this member

Have visited this site on numerous occasions and love coming here.

The facilities are keep clean and tidy and the owners are really friendly and helpful.

There is a well stocked shop on site, which also sells alcohol which is a bonus if you run out!

Love having the river for the dogs to play in.

There is a great walk on the river into Settle which we do all the time.

Will not stop coming here.

Date of Visit: April 2013 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Redsuzy 1 review from this member

Just visited this site yesterday. It is a clean and lovely site set in a really nice valley. Will definitely return soon, hopefully the weather will be nicer.

The toilets, showers, etc. were spotless. The area is excellent for walkers. The staff were very helpful as were the campers. There was some schoolchildren camping in tents and they were a credit to their teachers, as they didn't make a sound when packing up. Can't wait to go back

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Sally and steve 1 review from this member

Just got home after a very nice 5 night stay.

Great site clean tidy with good size pitches Every thing you need including scenery.

Very clean showers and toilet blocks also washing machines tumble dryers ect, if you need them.

Seemed to be childfriendly ( did not have children )but would take my grandaughter very nice play area

The owner where friendly and helpful

Would use again and recommend greatly

Date of Visit: September 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Elliot94 3 reviews from this member

Very nice Campsite, very clean toilets and showers (which were also hot) however there were only 4 showers for males and itis a large site (i have no idea about the ladys) Main problem with the toilets and showers is that you only get 1 key per tent to enter the building.

Campsite does not have enforced quiet times but all campers seem to obey to the rule. There is WiFi near reception however this was stupidly slow.

Only other comment is that while the pub is reasonably close you do have to go down and back up a very steep hill

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lancashirelass2 5 reviews from this member

First visit - lone adult with 4 kids, and we all had a lovely time. Will definitely use this campsite again.

Pitched up close to the children's play area - sensible given my companions as I could watch them from the tent, or sit on the thoughtfully placed picnic benches in the play area without feeling like I had to shut up the tent.

Facilities block is smashing - plenty of room for everyone, plenty of loo roll, everywhere clean and bright. Despite heavy rain overnight and into the morning on our second day, we were fine.

Someone came to put a raft walkway down between the bottom road on the camping field and the play area, which was great, and probably helped their ground management too, which seemed rightly important to them.

It's hard to fault the site - well laid out, well managed, friendly, proper family site, decent shop, something for the kids to do, and reasonably priced to boot.

Another great thing was the wifi - 2 for 24 hours and it worked great, no trouble when the littlest one wanted to watch BBC iplayer, and I could check the weather forecast.

Previous     237 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1771 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019