Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Settle > Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Little Stainforth
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0DP
Tel: 01729 822200
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 237 Reviews
                9/10 from 237 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  237 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Watto68 3 reviews from this member

Stayed for 5 nights (Mon-Fri)2 Adults, 2 Teenagers, 1 Child and had a great time. Booking in was very easy and the staff were helpful showing us to our large pitch by giving us a map of the site with pitches and all amenities on it. Toilet and shower facilities were cleaned to a high standard. A good number of toilets and showers, so we did not have to queue although the site was not full due to it been midweek. The site itself was lovely, we had fantastic weather which meant we could go down and swim in the river. TV room with games for the kids+playground for 12s and under. Settle is a 5 minute car ride away, with a supermarket and all the shops you will need but you can walk over the bridge and a 10 minute walk will bring you into the village of Stainsforth which has a nice little pub and beer garden. Everyone on the site was polite and helpful and we had no problems with noise at night. A really nice site that we will visit again. Would recommend to anyone.

Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Krazykamper 37 reviews from this member

As mentioned in many previous reviews and by the campsite, the access to this site is via narrow roads with some passing places. The bridge should be avoided by cars. Once you see it you will know why! When you do arrive on site though you will not be disappointed. We stayed here for five nights.

We were on pitch number 72 which is next to the play park which we requested and has EHU. The pitch was relatively level. The views were stunning from our pitch but were much better from the other EHU field further down or in the non hook up area at the top of the field we were in. When we first arrived on the Monday, the site was quite quiet but had become fairly busy when we left on the Saturday.

The reception area had a small shop selling all the basic. We ordered a newspaper each morning which was handy. The staff in reception were always friendly and helpful. They were very accommodating when we asked to stay on for an extra night as we had originally only booked for four nights.

The play area was situated next to a beautiful stone building which housed the toilet block and pot wash area. The toilets and showers were separate. There are four female showers but I never had to queue. In the toilet were also four hand wash basins with curtains if you just fancied a freshen up. The pot wash area has four sinks which did get busy at times. There is also a disabled/baby change room with a shower, sink, toilet and baby change unit.

Our sons loved having the use of the games room. As the Olympics was on during our stay they were able to keep up to date on team GB's success! As well as a large TV, there is also a pool table and some arcade games. Wi-Fi is available on site priced at £2 for 24 hours.

The river is at the bottom of the field. On our first day it was very fast flowing and deep due to recent heavy rainfall but after a few hot and sunny days the level dropped allowing kids to paddle safely. The waterfalls were stunning. We took a walk into the village of Stainforth and had a lovely meal at the Craven Hiefer Pub. They also had a great selection of Thwaites Ales. We managed a trip to Settle market which is on a Tuesday where we picked up some lovely cheese, fruit and veg for tea. Settle has two co-ops which were more than adequate for stocking up.

During our stay, we also had a trip to the White Scar Caves which were stunning. We also spent a full day at Bolton Abbey which was worth while.

I will definitely return to this well managed and maintained site. It had a lovely mix of both tents and caravans. There are also static caravans if that's your thing.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: WRX PPP 3 reviews from this member

The site is located in a great position, just far enough out of Settle to be quiet of an evening and not too far out that going to the shops is a chore. ( the shops are in a walkable distance if you're not getting heavy things)

The site itself is larger than average and has enough capacity that it's never cramped, during the hot summer days the site owners open up a lower field directly next to the river & waterfall to the public and it can get very busy & noisy during the days if you've got a spot near that field, other than that I've never had an issues with noisy campers.

The facilities are perfect, enough toilets, wash basins & showers & the dish washing area is a good size.

The site has its own small shop, games room and TV, which are very popular with some of the older kids, slightly incontinently located out of sight of most of the campsite, however there is a children's play area which is great for the smaller kids.

If you've got a large or particularly low car I'd advise caution when driving to and from the site, the locals do tend to drive at some speed around the bends.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Cate19 7 reviews from this member

Recently spent 3 nights here with our teenage daughter & her friend. Decided to stay here after reading reviews etc. Lovely location in N Yorkshire with the market town of Settle close by. We pitched in the large field which gently slopes but managed to find a fairly level pitch at the top of the field. Plenty of space between tents so it felt fairly private & you can park your car alongside. There is a good play area for children & a games room near reception which houses a comfy leather sofa, TV, pool table. Our daughter made good use of this! Facilities were fairly good with the showers separate from the toilets however there was always an unpleasant smell in the ladies even though they appeared clean. Staff very friendly & helpful. Reasonable price too - £80 for 3 nights for 2 tents & 4 adults.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lesley J Y 3 reviews from this member

Had a three night stay here Thursday to Sunday, as mentioned in previous reviews you definitely need to turn sat navs off as the one entrance road is not suitable for caravans and you definitely would not want to meet something coming the other way even if you are in a small car.

This is a large site, and not all of the land is on the level but if the site is not to full this should not be a problem. We liked the key fob to the barrier and key to the toilet block as they gave a feeling of added security.

Felt that maybe a couple of more showers would be good as there is only four in the ladies. We were a little concerned on the last night of our stay as the site filled up rapidly for the weekend and there seemed to be a lot of groups however come 11 o'clock in the evening all was quiet.

The site owners are friendly and helpful and the site has a small shop, you can also get wi-fi access, but it was not to successful in our case however we did see other people using laptops etc.

The scenery in and around Settle is breathtaking and you can go for some lovely walks from the site.

We visited the railway station in Settle and had the pleasure of seeing a steam train thundering through the station which I have to say made the hairs on my arms stand up.

All in all we had a lovely break and would not hesitate to make a return visit

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Eyes 4 reviews from this member

Had a great time at Knights Stainforth, the staff was very nice, the pitch size was amazing we have a massive tent which easily fitted on.

The site is in a valley with stunning views we had a lot of rain but site drains really well.

A very good location for walks and sight seeing would go back again one of the best camp sites around that area. The River Ribble runs through the bottom of the valley about 200mts from the site very spectacular falls.

Just a quick tip when using the showers keep pressing the button for hot water or it turns off!

There was a mixture of tents and caravans the site lay out was perfect.

Cant wait to go back.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Terrierist 1 review from this member

This was our first camping trip together, I have camped before, but mainly on race tracks and fishing! Wendy was a complete newbie to it, so we took advice from this forum, and after reading their website.

The camp site is immaculately maintained, and the shower blocks/toilet areas are superb, this is one of the major reasons we decided to stay at Knight Stainforth.

On arrival to the site, we were greeted in a very friendly manner, a thorough description was given to us, on paper and verbally, of the sites amenities. We drove to our spot and pitched, it was pretty quiet considering it was the first day of the school holidays. The site did fill up a little later on in the day, but was far from overcrowded or noisy. The site has a games room, small shop with basics and the afore said excellent toilet/shower block.

Having no children, I don't feel adequately qualified to appraise the playground, but it did seem very clean, well looked after and had a soft fall surface, it was well used by kids staying over.

I was very interested in the fishing, and for £5, the day ticket value is superb, catching three small brown trout. If you do wish to fish here, tickets can be purchased from the site office, be warned though, the sides of the Ribble are steep, no maggot allowed, worm/meat/spinners fly only as it is a game stretch at this point.

There is a local pub, The Craven Heifer in Stainforth which is just how a rural English pub should be, dog friendly, food was ok, beer was excellent and the staff more than helpful. Stay away from the Heifer Burgers, they were very greasy, but other items of food were good.

We would visit the site again, probably out of peak season and explore the area further. Knight Staintforth is very easy to find, however the lanes leading to the site are VERY narrow with a lot of blind crests and corners. As stated on the sites web site, DO NOT try and drive to it via the Horton in Ribblesdale road, enter via Giggleswick.

Fantastic site, and thanks to this websites super users for the recommend to visit it.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pyper 6 reviews from this member

Not really a lover off big sites, went with our daughter her hubby and two children, but I really enjoyed it. The wife and I went early Friday afternoon and erected the two tents. When we booked we asked for an electric pitch and non electric pitch next to one another and we got them right at the end of one of the electric sections.

There was ample space for the children to run about and play ball without getting in other campers way.

Booking in was straightforward and quick, given a map and directions.

Good views from the tent and plenty of walks from the site.

Showers were clean and hot but could do with hooks or benches to put clothes on.

Settle is worth the drive nice little town with loads of shops, pubs, cafes etc.

As mentioned in other reviews don't follow the sat nav. Go north of the river.

Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Laddie47 7 reviews from this member

Booked this site as the wife was walking the 3 peaks, based the decision entirely on the reviews on here and am I glad I did!

The website does not do the site justice, but I don't think they struggle for business!

Had to book via e-mail but it was February when I contacted them and the site was closed.

You get warned not to use you sat Nav and this is good advice. Even following the recommended route it is a narrow, 2 mile road and the caravan crew will have some fun!

However, when you get there it is a real wow factor!

Check in is quick and simple, you get a barrier fob and amenities block key for a refundable £10 deposit.

The site is set with beautiful views of the surrounding hills. It is well set out with an area for the statics, a field for the tents and a combined 'serviced pitch' field for the tourers and EHU tents (us).

These pitches are very generous and they have hook up and drinking water points. They are well marked out, grass for the tents and hard standing for tourers. What I like is the fact they are mixed which, in my opinion, always makes for a better atmosphere.

There is a waste disposal point nearby, and bins (including re-cycling) that are emptied daily.

A short walk takes you to the amenities block that is entered by key.

Facilities are good and free. Note the showers are separate from the toilets and there are 4 for men and 4 for women.

There is a good playground next to the block and this is great for the kids, of which there were a surprising amount. My 7 year old had a great time.

At the bottom of the site is the waterfall which is a fantastic bonus.

The town of Settle is a 2 mile walk away and other towns are easily accessible by car ( 15 mins to Horton for the walkers).

There's is a small shop and games room with wi-fi for those who cannot live without it.

Of course there is always a negative. The grass was quite long but with the recent weather, that can be excused. The wife complained that the vanity mirrors in the ladies had shaver points instead of plug points for hair dryers, straighteners etc. Also you have to give the shower chance to warm up. It does take a few minutes.

However, these points are made in the interests of balance. This site is absolutely fantastic. It retains its family run feel but it is well thought out, well maintained and has a spectacular setting.

You really can't fault it and I will definitely return. Happy days!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Northernpie 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from 2 days at Knights Stainforth Hal, booked last minute, wow, friendly staff and an amazing pitch huge. A lot of the pitches were fenced on three sides, its a great location two minutes from the river 50 min walk into Settle, 15 walk to Stainforth, only 20 min drive from Malham. Despite the heavy rain over recent weeks the site drains well. The toilet block was clean although I'm not sure 4 showers will cope on bank hols etc. Although to be fair I didn't see more than the odd persons waiting. The big question would we go back? With bells on, we have already changed our summer planned to spend time there.

Previous     237 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Love Touring Expo, Scotland 25/10 to 27/10, Aberdeen
Scotlandís newest caravan and motorhome show! The very latest caravans, motorhomes and campervans from all major brands, including the new models for 2020 ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3211 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019