Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Settle > Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Little Stainforth
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0DP
Tel: 01729 822200
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 237 Reviews
                9/10 from 237 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  237 in total, now showing 131 to 140                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Andy2210 1 review from this member

Just got back from 3 days here, staff were friendly and helpful. Toilets spotlessly clean, the kids loved the park and we loved the site.
Site shop sold nearly everything and at supermarket prices so used that most of the time! Can't really say anything bad about the site. I know I can't wait to go back there

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Kbheal 19 reviews from this member

Stayed here for 2 nights and wished we coud have stayed more.

Kids loved the play area and the games room was a hit also.

The pub in near buy Stainforth was very popular, good food and good choice, highly recommended. It was very busy but then it was a Saturday night just before the bank holiday.

Hard standing pitches in amongst grass ones, even though we had not booked one they had reserved one for us, just as well because the ground wet abd I'm sure we would have churned up the grass.

Toilet block had a key (deposit required)it was however open some of the time which was very useful when I forgot the key.

Small shop on site, stocked the essentials and ice cream ( very essential)

Good walking from the site and beautiful scenery.

All in all a great site and we will be returning

Date of Visit: October 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Basket to Base 1 review from this member

Just got back from an excellent weekend. Entrance automated barrier very useful ,Toilet block clean & well set out. No mobile signal but telephone box at reception. Hardstanding at this time of year ideal.Roads a bit narrow for reversing into pitches in the dark.Views from van,the best so far.
On reading other reviews before we went I agree satnavs a waste of time for this one. The narrow bridge now has a sign for 'unsuitable for caravans 6ft wide ' be careful, passable with Jeep Cherokee with care. Quite steep as well with loads of leaves on road.
One negative is that when you get to the quarry crossroads you turn left up an 'except for access' would be handy to have a site sign here. With all the rain over the last month the flow in the river next to the site was very fast & noisy. Keep you eye on young kids & pets,not fenced off ! All in all well worth a visit, good fishing as well.

Date of Visit: September 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phoennixxs11 2 reviews from this member

Just arrived back from this site and cannot praise it enough. What a lovely, well groomed campsite this is. The toilets/showers were outstandingly clean, tidy and well equipped. The individual pitches were very spacious so you weren't too close to your neighbours but close enough to have a nice atmosphere. Also with permission campfires were allowed but only in fire pits I believe.

The site was very close to Settle and surrounded by lovely quaint country pubs serving delicious food. I can highly recommend The Harts Head the food is superb.

My only moan really which isn't a major, is the toilets (as nice as they were) were quite a walk from where we were pitched.

I would definitely be returning to Knights Stainforth Hall in the near future.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chappers24 2 reviews from this member

What a fabulous site this was! Stunning views, lovely river and riverside walks, great area for exploring. We thoroughly enjoyed our 2 night stay.

Plenty of space although some pitches have got a gentle slope.

Toilet block/showers were clean and best of all lots of 'em! Although they were a busy site we never had to wait.

We don't have children so we pitched in the field away from the play area and it was very peaceful.

We will definitely be back!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dizzzy 2 reviews from this member

Have just spent 5 nights at this campsite and thoroughly enjoyed it. We had an ehu pitch and the pitch size was great.

The toilet / shower block was nice and clean. I never had to wait to use any facilities. I did notice however that every morning there was a queue for the mens showers but not the ladies. This wasn't a problem for us though we just had a shower in the evening.

Campsite had a small shop which sold the essentials. The first night on site when going to wash our pots we realised that we had forgotten a dishcloth. We popped to the site shop but it was closed. A member of staff near the shop noticed us and asked if we wanted something from the shop, we explained what we wanted and he opened it for us. I thought this was excellent customer service.

The area is lovely with plenty walks to do. We went to white scar caves which the kids loved.

As already mentioned the bridge next to the site is very small. We did manage to get over it in our ford c-max but it was tight. I did notice while we were that they were putting up signs at the start of the road to say that it is not suitable for caravans.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Milesfamily 2 reviews from this member

Yet another great stay. This was our 3rd stay and it never fails to live up to the previous visit (shame we can't say the same for the weather!) Always lovely and clean Paul and Chris do a wonderful job keeping everything spotless. The kids love it here and are already asking when we are going back ( could have something to do with being allowed to get covered in mud :-)

Please if you are reading this review and are thinking of booking for 2009 Don't. Well not until we have booked our pitches please.

Cant Wait to go Back

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Theengineer 3 reviews from this member

Wonderful site which is well worth a visit. The site is on a slight incline on the banks of the River Ribble.

As the previous weeks have been wet (typical 2008 summer) the ground was soft but the owner who was great advised us where to pitch.

The toilets and cleaning facilities were excellent, better than anywhere we have stayed before although we never saw a cleaner. Either they clean them overnight or people are respecting them as they are so nice.

No charge for hot showers or sinks for washing, pot washing or clothes washing. £2 washing machine, 50p tumble drier or 20p hair drier.

£15 per tent x 2 people + £2 per over 16 yrs or £1.50 per additional child over 5 yrs. (under 5's free) Dogs on leads free

The site is 2 miles out of settle, either a walk down the river bank or country lane. As mentioned before, don't follow the signs for stainforth! Make your way through Settle to Giggleswick and follow the camp site signs as the bridge crossing is very very narrow.

All in all, we will definitely be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Santamed 8 reviews from this member

We were in the Yorkshire area on Aug Bank Holiday and decided to have a look at this site for possible future visit.

MOST IMPORTANT

Do not use your sat nav to find Stainforth. If your car is any bigger than a mini you will have problems negotiating a very narrow hump back bridge. A sign at the top of the lane does say that it is unsuitable for caravans. Include anything bigger than a small car.

Approaching from the South (Skipton side) go through Settle and when you get to the bridge over the Ribble you will see a sign to the right for Stainforth. IGNORE THIS TURN OFF. Go over the bridge and take the next turn right (thru Giggleswick) just over the bridge. Coming from the North as you come into Settle take the turn off just before the bridge (Giggleswick).

Looks a first class site and the toilets and showers were very clean and very modern. As already stated some of the pitches were a bit hilly.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campkate 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic site. Went here on recommendation from this website and were not disappointed! Excellent toilet block (spotless) with great laundry, pot wash and free hot showers with good water pressure. Adventure play space for the kids great too - just outside the block which meant I could leave them to play while I washed up. Plenty of space for swingball/badminton next to the tent. Ball games could be played in the feild next door. A good location to explore the area including ingleton caves, ingleton falls, the Settle-Carlisle railway and walks a plenty to name but a few. Good pubs within walking distance too with real ale! The site is located next to a river with a lovely walk and fishing for trout and salmon. We didn't have time to fish but saw a few trout rising. Non serviced pitches on the upper field got a bit boggy after heavy rain (due to cars moving) so get there early for a good choice of pitch. We will be back to this site.

Previous     237 Reviews in total, now showing 131 to 140      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Love Touring Expo, Scotland 25/10 to 27/10, Aberdeen
Scotlandís newest caravan and motorhome show! The very latest caravans, motorhomes and campervans from all major brands, including the new models for 2020 ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3410 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019