Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Settle > Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Little Stainforth
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0DP
Tel: 01729 822200
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 237 Reviews
                9/10 from 237 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  237 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Diwlsn 5 reviews from this member

Just back from this fab site, huge electric pitches, great toilet block which has toilets, wash cubicles, showers and a pot washing room. All clean and nice and warm. Great kids play area.

The site is right next to the river ribble where there's a 2. 5 mile riverside walk into Settle.

Theres a pub up a steep hill in Stainforth.

Great shop on site selling allsorts of food drinks and camping equipment. Also a games room with sofa's and a tv. Pool table and video games.

Beautiful setting for a great site!

10 out of 10 from me :-)

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nhol 3 reviews from this member

Good, large campsite with various sized pitches, some with limited privacy. We were there on a busy sunny weekend. We found it got quite noisy on an evening and into the night.

Also, a lot of people gathered at the river who weren't part of the campsite, and were making a lot of noise and left a lot of litter behind. Maybe this was a one off, as other reviews rate this site highly?

The site itself was tidy, the facilities were clean. We wouldn't return, only because we prefer quieter and smaller campsites. However, I know many people who love this campsite and recommend it highly.

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Debstu 3 reviews from this member

We have just returned following a 4 night stay at this park and would of happily stayed longer!

Booking in was quick and easy with helpful, friendly staff-a 10 returnable deposit is needed which gives you a key for toilets/showers and fob for electronic barrier

We booked on an EHU pitch which also had an individual water tap, we were very impressed with pitch size which was marked out using fencing. The views were beautiful!

The showers/toilets/pot wash/laundry area were kept clean

Other facilities include a small playground, games room with pool table, and shop selling the basics

We used the wifi with no problems and also purchased a fishing permit[the fish were not playing!]

We will be returning to this site in the near future-highly recommended

Date of Visit: April 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Happycamper2012 9 reviews from this member

This is not the first time my husband and I have visited this site and it certainly won't be the last!

There is so much to commend about it such as the nice hot showers and the separate toilets and wash basins.

We like to have hard standing and every time we go each pitch has the most amazing views. When you wake up in the morning and are sat eating breakfast and drinking a coffee, there really is no place you would rather be.

There is a small walk to a local pub called the Craven Heifer and it has good beer and food.

The location is great, not too far from Settle which has quite a few quirky shops and a few nice cafes. A special mention goes to the fish and chip shop opposite the co-operative (which is very handy for food etc. ), they are the best I've ever had and I used to think the Magpie cafe in Whitby was my favourite until I went there, less the expense of the Magpie.

All in all, I would definitely recommend I will be returning again hopefully soon!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Boston600 2 reviews from this member

Great site in a great place, couldn't really ask for a better location/view.

My only concerns are that although nice clean showers they ran a bit cold and some of the plots uneven and a bit worn out due to such heavy use as this is a popular site.

Great for walking and no noise rule after 10 is generally adhered to.

The river was a real hit with my 3yr old on hot days and the waterfall on wet days. Settle to Carlisle railway a good day out too, so is Malham Cove.

Owners nice, defo be going back!

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Noswods 1 review from this member

We are semi-seasoned campers and use ukcampsite as our bible, so given the reviews of this site we thought we would give it a go. Booked on the day for 3 nights with EHU, 2 adults, 3 kids (10, 12, 14) and a dog! Got lucky I think. The following week was fully booked.

Followed directions from web site and they were spot on, upon arrival met by a nice chap who gave us the choice of the two biggest pitches available given we had a big tent and family.

He was more than happy for us to settle up at the end of the stay, just needed 10 deposit for gate key. Not many site in this country with that kind of attitude, which was refreshing.

Ground was excellent for pitching tents and there was loads of space to spread out and park the car. I liked the clever little EHU point with a light and water tap next to each pitch.

45 mins later tent was up and the middle born was back, 'Dad this site is excellent' He'd found the river and water fall!

I have to say this is one off the best sites we have been to, the toilets/shower facilities were excellent and always very clean. Showers were not very hot unless you went at an usual hour. ( After 10pm or before 7:30am. )

I took advantage of the WiFi facility which had an issue initally but when I reported it, the lads in the office sorted it within the hour. We were at the bottom of the campsite but the signal strength was fine, costs a very reasonable 2 a day and streamed BBC IPlayer without any issues.

The shop is well stocked with local fresh bread and meats for the BBQ as well as the usual essentials. Didn't use the TV/Games room but there was a handy little room next to the reception which had loads of leaflets for things on and around the local area, which helped fill in the days.

There is a great walk into Settle along the river side, which takes about 45 minutes. We can recommed the Settle to Carlise railway journey, a great way to spend the day. Cost around 40 return trip for 5 of us and the dog. Takes around 2 hours each way and there, s a timetable in the little info room.

We also took a short walk over the bridge to the village. We decided to have a meal at the Craven Heifer pub. They serve a burger in there which is bigger than my daughters head! Good value too.

We had our bikes with us so went to explore the local area on the very quiet roads leading away from the site. We were told to have a ride to Feizor which has a cracking little Cafe that serve's all sorts of home baked cakes. I highly recommend a visit. There is also a walk over the hills which ends directly outside the front of the cafe, if you don't have bikes.

We enjoyed this site so much we stayed another night. It's great for the kids and like many reviews before this, we found the site went quiet well before 10pm.

Highly recommend you give it a go especially if you have kids or a dog, they will love it. The views are great. Will be back next year.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Rrme 1 review from this member

A good old fashioned pleasant clean campsite. We stayed for 5 nights, the children aged between 2-4 loved the playground which we could see from our ptich which was electric hook up.

A bit of noise on the 1st night but the party were asked by the owner to keep the noise down and it did the trick!

Showers clean and hot and never had to wait. The key system for the shower block is always a bit difficult particularly with the children.

The laundry facilities were good as was the warm and dry wash up area! Lovely surrounding area, a bit of a walk to a pub etc was certainly a car drive for us.

The river running through the campsite is wonderful, very picturesque. Some of the pitches are on a slight slope but generally good access and well kept.

The shop had the essentials and ice block hire. If you want a quiet traditional campsite - this is lovely.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Thecanaries1 2 reviews from this member

Visited this site for the first time and was not disappointed, clean & friendly site with superb views of the surrounding hills.

There is a small playground for small children and the shower/toilet block was always immaculate which was surprising considering it rained every day.

There is a river at the bottom of the site which we had intended to allow our 11 & 9 year old to swim/play in but due to all the rain the waterfall was like a raging torrent and was far to dangerous which was disappointing.

There is great walking in the area and we did Pot Holing through Yorkshire Dales Guides which was superb. Our family of four had a personal guide Dave, who made this experience fantastic for our 11 & 9 year old and we would highly recommend it.

The town of Settle is only 10 minutes drive away with ample pubs, cafes and shops as well as an indoor swimming pool which had inflatable fun sessions which the children enjoyed. The Wensleydale Cheese Museum, Hawes is worth a visit and there is also a lovely Fish & Chip shop at Hawes.

We enjoyed our stay but would advise not to have an electric pitch near the toilet block/play area as some people had no respect of others pitches and would take a short cut right through ours, very close to our windows which we did find annoying as there was no need for it.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Deb.twin 2 reviews from this member

Top campsite. Me and my children loved this site, nice safe secure. Lovely clean toilets, showers, washrooms and laundry.

My kids loved the games room and it was great that they had somewhere to go when it rained.

Reception handy with a nice selection camping essentials and all the basics like milk, matches, bread, eggs and to my boys delight sweets.

25 pounds a night for a trailer tent two adults and two kids with electric hook up was a fair price to spend time in such an idyllic location, near the river and only 2 miles away from the lovely town of settle.

Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Pilchards 6 reviews from this member

Great site - we were there at the beginning of August for some fine weather apart from it raining hard as we pitched and then again as we packed away! We had a hook up pitch which was more than big enough although the grass was a bit over-long.

The best asset of this site is the level of care the staff show - they genuinely want you to enjoy your stay and are very helpful.

As per other reviews, we found the toilet and shower block very clean. Have to say though the washing up sinks must be the lowest ever - the bottom of the sinks are nearly at knee height, especially to those of us over six feet tall!

Definitely one to recommend and return to.

Previous     237 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3345 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019