Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Settle > Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Little Stainforth
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0DP
Tel: 01729 822200
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 237 Reviews
                9/10 from 237 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  237 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chris tomes 8 reviews from this member

Stayed for one night at the end of an extremely wet couple of weeks. We found the owner most helpful without being intrusive, and he was genuinely interested in ensuring we got the most out of the site and the area.

Despite the rain, the site was well-drained and we made a note to return here on bicycles as it seemed popular with cycle tourists.

Other guests on site were also friendly, and it's a 10-15 min walk into Stainforth via the Pennine Bridleway (so traffic free) where there's a pub.

Shower block and toilets were clean and the only improvement would be to have benches for clothes etc in the showers.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mollymoo2 4 reviews from this member

We stayed here for one night whilst our friends were doing the coast-to-coast cycle ride. Very friendly and accommodating staff.

Great location, near to Ingleton and Malham for walks. Super local pub the Craven Heifer within 15 minutes walk.

The facilities on site were clean and well cared for, nice hot showers. The grounds are maintained to a high standard, and whilst the area we pitched the tents was a little uneven the hard standing pitches with EHU were fine.

Don't rely on Sat Nav to guide you to the site. It is only accessible from one side, as the other approach road, Dog Hill Brow from Stainforth is not suitable for caravans or larger Motorhomes!

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Kazza226 2 reviews from this member

Overall this is a lovely little site, we were pitched close to the toilet block and the playground which our kids would have loved had it not rained for almost the whole weekend! on the odd occasion when it stopped they had a great time and made some friends.

The approach to the site is a 2 mile country lane which can be a little hair raising at times!

The staff on site are helpful and the facilities are clean.

There is a lovely walk down to the river with a nice waterfall and we drove to the craven heifer pub just up the road, nice pub with good food.

Had a day out to ingleborough caves which the kids enjoyed but was a bit of a trek with a 2yr old if you follow the trail.

On the whole we enjoyed the site but we were limited with places to go and things to do with the children in the wet weather.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sazza42 17 reviews from this member

We only stayed at this site for a couple of nights over the Jubilee Bank Holiday, but we will definitely back as it is a lovely place. As we were approaching the site we weren't too sure about it as coming along the road from Settle, all you can see is a mass of static caravans.

Once we were on-site though it looked much better. We could choose where to pitch as we didn't need EHU. The main camping field is a decent size and on a bit of a slope. However, even on a busy bank holiday there was plenty of space to choose just the right spot for 2 medium sized tents.

The EHU area looked more cramped in comparison, but still seemed to have fairly decent sized pitches.

Even on a busy bank holiday, the site was pretty peaceful. It had a quiet after 10pm rule. There were still noisy kids in the playground after this time, but the site was quiet by 10:30pm.

The toilet block seemed to be cleaned more than once a day & considering the weather and the amount of people on-site, appeared to cope well. I never had to queue for anything. I liked the private wash basins.

The reception area has a well stocked little shop and helpful staff.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Other Rating:
Reviewer: Michelle + Kev 33 reviews from this member

We have just arrived back from 4 nights at this site.

The approach road is quite narrow and care is needed, we had a bit of a near miss with a speeding tractor.

On arrival the welcome was warm and friendly and although we didn't have the best pitch on the site, number 6, we felt the site was clean and well kept, with lovely views.

There are only 4 showers each (men / women) and we queued most mornings. There is a small play area on site, which we didn't need, but the kids seemed to really enjoy it. You have access down to the river, which our Westie loved.

The mobile phone signal on site was a bit hit and miss and the position we were at on the site was not able to receive a TV Signal.

There is a games room up next to reception with SKY TV and a pool table, sofa and other games.

We walked the 1. 5 miles to the Craven Heifer Pub in Stainforth, nice ale, good food.

Settle itself is a nice little town for a walk round for a couple of hours, it has a Booths Supermarket.

The weather was good until the second to last day, when it rained and rained and rained!

All in all a nice site and we would return some time in the future.

Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Helen R 4 reviews from this member

Stayed over half term week. In spite of the mixed weather, we had a fantastic week. We had a huge pitch; no elec hook up so we could choose our own spot. Despite being Jubilee bank holiday weekend it was relatively quiet. Good to see the owners don't attempt to cram people in to make more money. It was nice to be able to park next to the tent and also to be able to have the gazebo etc which many campsites charge extra for or say no to.

The toilet/shower/washing up block was excellent. Really clean. Plenty of hot water. Would have been nice to have had a couple of sockets to plug hairdryers etc in but that's just a minor point and there was a hairdryer that cost 20p a go in the toilet block.

The shop and info centre was good. They also refroze freeze blocks for cool boxes (10p per block).

The games room was handy - especially on the last day as we were packing up in the rain - kept the kids entertained!

Beautiful scenery. Lovely walk to the village pub. Excellent fish and chips in Settle. Couple of small supermarkets there too.

Great to have the river so close to the tents - fab for the kids to paddle etc

Close to Ingleton and malham. Would also recommend the local falcon place.

Would definitely go again. Probably the best site we have been to. Really helpful and friendly staff too.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Hpcampers 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here for the first bank holiday in May and it was freezing, so glad we had an EHU for the electric heater!

The pitches were clearly marked and neatly maintained with small wooden fences, and the EHU had it's own water tap which was good.

10 refundable deposit for key FOB to allow entrance to the site, very secure.

The shower/toilet block was spotless as was the indoor pot washing sinks.

No noise policy after 10pm is good for families. Children's play area good, site was in great location would go again!

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: 1sttimecamper 1 review from this member

Just back from my first camping trip, we stayed at Knight Stainforth for 2 nights,

My biggest fear of camping was the showers but no need to worry here perfectly clean and hot, also have sinks with a curtain round, toilets are very clean, clean pot washing section also Laundry room.

The grounds are well cared for. Check in was fast and friendly. Will certainly go back here

Again. Great walks along the river to Watershed Mill then into Settle. The Naked Man cafe in Settle is a great place for lunch, we had sandwiches which are excellent value for money and filling a great cup of Tea and coffee.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Quirky68 2 reviews from this member

Fantastic site, the toilet block is very clean, free hot water and excellent laundry facilities.

It has a well stocked shop which sells basics and much more. The children's play area is excellent.

The grass is kept low which to me is a must when camping. The owners are lovely and are very helpful.

There are some lovely walks from this campsite. A ten minute walk will bring you to a pub in Stainforth Village which serves really nice home cooked food.

The village of Settle is only two miles away but you can walk to the village along the river which takes in some beautiful scenery.

You will come out by Langcliffe caravan park and then it is only a short walk along the road to the village.

The Settle down Cafe in Settle allows dogs and muddy boots which is great after a nice walk to tuck into a hearty three peaks breakfast.

Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Beetlebum 7 reviews from this member

Really liked this site, it's in a lovely location next to the river ribble.

Well marked out level pitches with your own water supply. Toilet and shower block excellent, modern and very clean, plenty of toilets, would benefit from a couple more showers for a site this big I felt.

Well stocked shop for the basics, although not far from settle for the supermarket. Nice little play area for the kids.

Will return to this site again.

Previous     237 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3135 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019