Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > North Yorkshire > Settle > Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park Reviews

Knight Stainforth Hall Caravan And Camping Park
Little Stainforth
Settle
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
BD24 0DP
Tel: 01729 822200
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches: 100
Open: March To October

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 237 Reviews
                9/10 from 237 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   Seasonal Pitches  Caravan Storage Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop On Site   Bar On Site   Restaurant On Site   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing On Site   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool 5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   Cycle Hire 5 miles   Golf 5 miles   Tennis 5 miles 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport 1 mile  Offroad Dog Walk On Site or Direct Access 

Reviews:  237 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Readalot 2 reviews from this member

Just got back from knight stainforth and missing it already! The facilities are fantastic, hot running water 24/7 in the heated shower / toilet / potwashing block. There are even separate cubicles in the ladies if you prefer to wash in private!
A well maintained playground with safety flooring. A well stocked shop and games room. The owners are never at rest, permanently cleaning and maintaining the site. For non-electric, you just pitch anywhere and you have a wonderful view no matter what. There's a river where kids spent a lot of time but it can be fierce after heavy rainfall.
A walk up hill will bring you to the Craven Heifer which has food to die for. The dales are meant for walking and there are no end of walks available. Lots of other things to do and you will need a car to access them, but everything seemed a short drive away cos the scenery is magical.
Nothing bad to say about the site, just a bit miffed with dog owners taking their dogs (namely you with the dalmatian) onto the play area and trying to send it down the slide. Otherwise everyone else was very considerate and no late night noise and none before 8am. Memories are made of this!

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jp+dan 1 review from this member

This site is fantastically situated with beautiful views. The on site facilities are first class and can't think of any negatives with them! The river is beautiful and offers good fishing for trout. I must add they taste great freshly caught and cooked. There is a play park which our 6yr old loved.

We don't drive and found it a pleasant easy walk along the river into nearby Settle which has a great variety of shops and places to eat, also only a 15min walk was the Craven Heifer pub in Little Stainforth, very friendly relaxed atmosphere with delicious food at reasonable prices.

This was our first visit to this park and we will definitely be going back soon, there is something for all ages.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bazneen 2 reviews from this member

We have visited this site a few times and can whole-heartedly recommend it.

The surrounding views are absolutely stunning and the river running through the lower end of the site is a perfect place to paddle and explore.

Generous pitches although some are rather slopey on the main camping field. Fabulous toilet block that also incorporates the showers, washing up room and laundry room.

The children's play area is small but great fun for little ones.

The shop on site provided all the basic supplies we needed and there is a supermarket a short drive away in Settle.

All in all a gem of a site, run by a lovely, friendly family. We will be returning year after year.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Helenandjared 2 reviews from this member

This is a lovely sight with lovely surroundings and walks. We found it by chance and needed somewhere to pitch up for the night last minute. The staff were very friendly and helpful.

The toilets were very clean, as were the showers. The best i've seen on a campsite! Dish wash area was fab too.

The field we was in for tents was on a slight graduation but that is all that was left as we were late arrivals, however there was flatter parts. The staff said that they like to have the noise quiet after 10pm which was fine by us but there was a large party on site with children and because we were near the childrens play area there was noise till gone 11pm from kids. But it didnt last ALL night.

All in all I would definitely visit this sight again.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Billy42 14 reviews from this member

We stayed here on the weekend of 12th July. The weather wasnt the best when we arrived but we're pretty used to that these days!

The site is extremely clean as previous reviews had said. Showers etc. Are spotless.

There is a nice kids play area on one of the fields and we pitched on this field and were able to keep an eye on the 2 girls (both aged 5).

The field we pitched on does have a large area on a slope but we managed a fairly flat pitch which was fine.

There was plenty of room for games - cricket etc. There is a games room on site but we didnt visit it.

The site has a 10pm curfew but this isnt strictly enforced but the site was not too noisy at all and by 12.30 everyone seemed to have settled down for a good nights sleep.

The river is a 5 minute walk away and has some levely scenery.

The local pub- The craven heiffer certainly lived up to its reviews. The food was the best we had eaten in a long time - all home made cooking - my wife is a chef and she thought the food was excellent so its well worth the walk (15 mins).

As other reviews mention - beware the thin bridge - I struggled to get my car over it so caravans would have no chance (in fact we saw one caravan stuck on it and had to help him go back to find an alternative route to the site.

The village of settle is quite nice.

All in all would I return again ? Yes I would.

Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Croft131 2 reviews from this member

This is the best site I have ever stayed on. The toilets are spotless no matter what time of day or night you go. The views are fantastic and there are some great walks. Our kids love to play in the river. Small shop on site selling the basics. There's also a TV and games room but no bar. I've stayed here a couple of times now and will be back for more in the future.

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Barlicker 1 review from this member

This is a fantastic site tucked away in the Dales, peaceful and quiet. The toilet facilities are well maintained and the showers are among the best we have experienced on camp sites, plenty of hot water and no need to worry about your 20p's running out in the middle of a wash as they are free. Plenty of indoor pot washing sinks with ample hot water. There is also a Baby change/disabled room.

We have 2 kids 10 and 7 and they loved the outdoor playground as did our friends children who are 7, 5 and 4. This together with the large grassy field for ball games kept them entertained for hours.

The river and foss are a couple of minutes walk away and makes a great spot for a picnic and a paddle, be warned though its cold cold water ! lol

The shop on site is small but sells all the basics and at a very reasonable price too, and if they have not got it in for you they will do their best to get it the following day.

Very friendly owners, nothing seemed too much trouble for them. We even asked to have a small campfire one night which was allowed in our firebowl. Not many sites allow this these days !

The only down side is that the main non electric camping area is a little hilly in places and the flat pitches go quick, so get there early !

It really is a fab site in a beautiful location and we will definitely be back !

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Al+cath 3 reviews from this member

This was our third visit to this cracking site and yet again had a great weekend.

As ever, the staff were very friendly and helpful and the facilities up to their usual high standard.

Would also recommend the local pub as mentioned in other reviews - very nice location, friendly and good food & beer!

Now for the downside: The site appears to be catering more for hook-ups than previously which left us struggling to find a level pitch. So try to get there early if you want a good spot with no hook-up.

Will still be going back again.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Creders 9 reviews from this member

This is a gem of a site tucked away in the Dales. The toilet facilities are well maintained and the showers are among the best I have experienced on camp sites. Plenty of indoor pot washing sinks with ample hot water. Baby change/disabled room too.

My 7yr old thought the playground was fantastic, coupled with large grassy areas for ball games this makes a fab place for kids.

The river and foss are a 3 minute walk away and makes a great spot for a picnic and a paddle.

The shop on site is small but sells all the basics and at a very reasonable price too.

Very friendly owners,nothing seemed too much trouble for them.

Hope to visit again soon.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: El@ineButler 2 reviews from this member

Stayed here the first bank holiday weekend in May. Excellent site can't wait to go back. The facilities are top class, plenty of toilets, showers and pot washing sinks all kept clean and well stocked. Site itself is a little hilly in places but such a beautiful location. Children are well catered for with an excellent play ground on the site. The site shop is well stocked and the staff are all friendly and helpful. Settle is a lovely little town with plenty to do and see. There are also some fantastic walks in the area. We are hoping to go back here in June/July for another long weekend.

Previous     237 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Settle      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Motorhome and Caravan Show 15/10 to 20/10, NEC Birmingham
All the new 2020 products, including caravans, motorhomes, trailer tents and folding caravans plus 1000s of accessories ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2731 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019