Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highburn House Country Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Wooler > Highburn House Country Holiday Park Reviews

Highburn House Country Holiday Park
Highburn House
Burnhouse Road
Wooler
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE71 6EE
Tel: 01668 281344
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: March -end November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 135 Reviews
                8/10 from 135 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 91 to 100                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Klick 2 reviews from this member

 Our initial impression was of a lovely site, with great views and lovely surrounding area.

The ground is quite stoney and we would recommend campers use pegs suitable for hardstanding.

We were very disappointed by the standard of cleanliness in the toilet block and the lack of facilities for the number of campers on site. There was no soap and often no toilet roll, and we ended up buying toilet roll, handwash and antiseptic wipes which we had to take with us for every trip to the loo.

We were pitched fairly close to the toilet block and found we were regularly disturbed by people driving down from the far tent field with a car load of kids to use the toilets/showers.

This site has so much potential, it just needs an extra toilet block in or near the far tent field and regular cleaning. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grahamy 1 review from this member

 Just returned after l lovely wet weekend at Wooler. We were pitched in the caravan area as the tent field was closed due to being water logged. The caravan field was a nightmare to pitch a tent in due to the rock hard ground but once up it had its advantages such as being close to the shower block, which was clean enough, a path to it from the road would keep it cleaner as you wont have to walk over the grass in wet weather. The kids loved the ducks who seemed to visit our tent every morning and also the small play area. All in all a nice site with no noise at all after 11-11.30 pm 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mark rutherford 3 reviews from this member

 Great site, slightly strict rules on no more than 3 tents together. Could do with another toilet and shower block, as when we visited was very busy and we had to queue for the lav and the showers. Other than that would defo go again. Ground slightly stony for tent pegs so bring spares as they bend real easy.

Wooler great, used to have a caravan 20 years ago at Bridge-end and it brought back all the child-hood memories of the town and the local area. Local pubs great and decent pub food. Cheap beer. Would love to own the Co-Op in the summers as the queue of campers buying stuff was massive, but did have nearly everything you want. Go try the place out, but beware of the rain! 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rickshaw14 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed here with friends and 3 tents. Owner mentioned she did not normally allow groups together, but fortunately gave us a bye as long as we behaved. Our first camping adventure with the kids. Site was very pleasent, lovely views. Showers and dish cleaning very good. We visited the coast, but missed Holy Island because of tides. Travelled a couple of mile north and found a fab beach. 6 Kids all under 8 played for hours on the sand and dunes!

Nice site and would visit again. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: DAVID71 1 review from this member

 A great campsite with fantastic views of cheviot hills. Geese around campsite nice touch with the kids. Toilets and showers are fine. The kids liked the slide and swings and a nice little river and very reasonably priced.
Wooler is only five minutes walk a lovely village with plenty of shops and cafes good pubs and a fantastic italian restaurant. Go over the bridge and down the hill on the other side of the village and there is a great little famliy pub on the corner there was a disco on and later on a singer pool table and kids games.
Bamburgh is only half an hour away with its great beach and sand dunes. All in all a top site and cant wait to go back. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chuck40 2 reviews from this member

 Stayed in the tent only field, which is triangular, with trees along the top and down one side, the other side having FANTASTIC views over the the Northumberland hills towards the Cheviots with loads of space in the the middle for kids to run around playing frisbee and just having general fun.

No numbered pitches, you can just pitch where you want, so if you've got a big tent it's not a problem.

The hot, clean, free showers / toilet block is in the hardstanding caravan / tent, electric-hookup area closer to the entrance - you have to give it a couple of minutes if you need to nip to the loo from the top end of the tent area, but it's not really an issue.

Just a few minutes walk from the site is Wooler itself, with a handful of pubs and a Co-op for bits and pieces.

Great campsite, location, scenery and views, within easy driving distance of Bamburgh and Holy Island.

Would recommend it highly. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mick360 1 review from this member

 Excellent camp site and reasonably priced, Excellent facilities, toilets, showers, very clean.

Lovely views, town of Wooler very nice, word of warning don't have the chilli sauce in the local fish shop unless you like it very, very, very hot!

Lot's of places to eat.

Plenty of shops.

Other campers were friendly as well.

Would definitely go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Marilyn51 4 reviews from this member

 Quite a nice, basic, but VERY STONEY site that bent all of our pegs and gave us very sore hands trying to find regular ground (didn't find any) to hammer the pegs into.
Adequate facilities that could have been serviced more often but in all weren't too bad. A little noisy with no one around to monitor but at least it is very sheltered with small secluded bays for privacy.
Get rid of the stones and we will certainly be back. A small shop on site for milk, newspapers etc would be nice, but Wooler is very close so wasn't too much of a problem. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The wain travellers 3 reviews from this member

 We've just come back from Highburn after been blown off Goswick Sands and found it a lovely campsite, we will definitely be back. Inland and sheltered, 5-10 mins walk from Wooler - local shops, pubs, cafe and chip shop - fantastic local butcher! When we stayed there were other families with children and as we have a 5 year old to entertain, this was a bonus to us. The people are very friendly and the pitch is reasonably priced (unlike some 'greedier' campsites I have come across in recent years!) My only gripe would be that the toilets/showers, although reasonable, were not the cleanest I have seen and loo roll kept running out (it was busy, though!).

The area is brilliant for walking, visiting the coast (sea houses a bit commercial, but the beach at Bamburgh tremendous!); Alnwick Gardens a must if you have children; Chillingham Castle with it's dungeons - reputedly, the most haunted castle in Britain! All in all a lovely, relaxed, campsite in a brilliant area! xx 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: NECamper 2 reviews from this member

 I only wish I had listened to friends who had been to this site.

We were 'greeted' at the gate by a woman who jumped out of her car to say 'How many nights?'

'2'

'That'll be 26. I'll take the car registration'. Not the best of welcomes!

We pitched the tent and had lunch to Radio 1 coming from the other side of the field.

Later my brother and his family with 3 and 1 year olds came to visit. They were told to leave their car and walk to us, in the far field. When they pointed out they had a lot to carry, with two small children, they were eventually given permission to drive over but to bring the car straight back.

We got to bed about 11.00 pm to the sound of Rod Stewart, again from the other side of the field.

Guess what? We won't be going back! 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 91 to 100      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highburn House Country Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wooler      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2177 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement