Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highburn House Country Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Wooler > Highburn House Country Holiday Park Reviews

Highburn House Country Holiday Park
Highburn House
Burnhouse Road
Wooler
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE71 6EE
Tel: 01668 281344
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: March -end November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 133 Reviews
                8/10 from 133 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dave71 6 reviews from this member

 Just had 5 days here with my wife and 2 kids. £13 per night. Fantastic site based in the stunning countryside of Northumberland.
The site is spacious with some good level pitches for all and hard standing for motor homes and caravans.
The toilet / showers are very smart though need a decent clean. Showers are free and hot but no thermostat for the kids.
Owners very friendly and quite laid back (no daft rules and charges)
Bit noisy due to no 'quiet time' rule.
Alnwick Berwick and Seahouses all within a 30 minute drive. Excellent amenities in Wooler with decent pub grub.
We will be going back and would recommend this site to anyone 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grace D 3 reviews from this member

 Good site if you want a quiet holiday. Owners very friendly. Prices extremely reasonable at £15 per night for four family of 2 adults and 2 children plus hook-up. We experienced no noise problems, but having said that, the weather was not that good, in fact mainly cold and windy with plenty of rain!
Toilets and showers were o.k, could have done with more than four toilets in the Ladies. They were clean but not spotless and would have benefited from a really good scrub to get rid of cobwebs and dead insects.
Would visit again for a quiet, away from it all holiday. 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LisaBob999 1 review from this member

 Just returned from a fantastic week at Highburn House. The site is beautiful with fantastic scenery and very well kept. Toilet block is very clean and showers are lovely. Our two girls aged 8 and 11 had a great time and enjoyed the freedom of Highburn, meeting new friends and feeding the ducks - who joined us for meals throughout the day! 
The site was lovely and quiet - no noisy nights (except for the wind). It was a lovely relaxing time. The facilities are great and the area outstanding! I would thoroughly recommend this site to all especially families looking for a nice, quiet, chilled out time at a safe for children, great for adults place. Thanks to Jill and Robert (the owners).
  


Date of Visit: May 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Geordie247 1 review from this member

 This is my fifth visit to Highburn but the first this year. No worries on arrival, owner very helpful and the price is right at £11 per night for a pitch. Some new recycling facilities have been added, a few more greedy Ducks but otherwise the site is the same. Even on a grey and blustery day the views of the Northumbrian countryside are spectacular from here. Great location 10 mins from Wooler High Street and the Black Bull Pub. 

I will only make one complaint and that is about the toilet/shower facilities. The shower units were dirty and did not look as if they had been cleaned in a while. Also the sinks were also in need of a good clean before you could use them. Unfortunately I had not packed any Mr Muscle or I would have given them a clean myself. The smell of the toilets are a little overpowering in the Mens & the Ladies, so my Mrs reported. There are PHS nice smelly units on the wall but you have to fill them up to work. So hold your nose while you clean your sink and you'll be fine, that's what I plan on doing when I go back weather permitting. 


Date of Visit: October 2005 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kerryt1977 3 reviews from this member

 This site is great, this has been our third trip here and its class. We go with another family and its lovely and quite, the kids love the freedom and openness of the fields.

The only downside of the park is that the playground could do with some updating but other than that you can not fault it. The site is well equiped for laundry/showers and toilets. The owners are lovely and friendly.

Wooler town centre is a 5 or 10 minute walk and once there the pubs are lovely. A Sunday lunch is less than £8 for a 3 course meal and its gorgeous - highly recommended. This is definitely somewhere you can stay and chill. 

Advertisement

Reviewer: Jules78 2 reviews from this member

 August 2005
Just returned from this site with husband and 3 kids, Everyone fully enjoyed the experience, a nice friendly site with beautiful scenery, we stayed in the overflow field and had no complaints at all, kids enjoyed running round watching the ducks and playing on the swings. The owners are very friendly, helpful and acomodating and are very good at making sure the facilities such as showers and toilets are clean and well stocked, very important if you forget your toilet roll!
Wooler was a pleasant little village with friendly, helpful locals with a range of shops that should satisfy most needs, I found the Co-Op particularly useful for nice cold Beer!
In short, a good site to visit! Would recommend to anyone. 


Reviewer: Tedd 2 reviews from this member

 August 2005
Phoned day before to check availability and book. On arrival told that they did not take bookings and told me they said 'see you when you get here'. Not reassuring if you have travelled a long way to find it full. On arrival we were also told 'I am not doing one nights', which people did show up for Saturday night and leave next day !!??.
That aside the positive were - you were only a few minutes walk from Wooler. Where local shops, pubs etc are good. You cannot beat the panoramic view of the most fantastic country side. Good basic roughing it campsite which kids loved.
Downside if your in the overflow field take a potty as its a bit of a hike to the loos. When you do go to the loos take your own paper and hand soap! Careful in shower area as floor very slippy!!! It was very windy when we were there so choose your pitch carefully and use plenty of pegs. Would go back but not as a first choice. 


Reviewer: Susie3 3 reviews from this member

 August 2005
Just came back from 2 nights at this site with my husband and 3 kids.
We opted for a tent pitch with electric hook-up.We booked the site with only 24 hours notice and the owner was still more than happy to take our booking which was fantastic.
The site itself, for us was just the right size with fairly spacious pitches, although i will say the ground is a little difficult in places due to rocks under the soil and we bent quite a few pegs!!..which is really no great hardship.
The toilets were some of the best we have seen,very modern and clean and the showers are wonderful. There is also a laundrette and food preperation area,as well as dishwashing facilities.
The swings and slide kept the kids occupied for short periods while we cooked etc,which was good.
The town centre is a 5 minute walk away and has most other things you are likely to need.
Berwick and Alnwick are nice and close for a trip out during the day.
The scenery around the site is fantastic,with the cheviot hills surrounding it.
One thing that did slightly annoy was a tent full of late night campers and their children,who only seemed to come out of there tent at 11.00 p.m and then continued to shout at their friends across the other side of the site for an hour every night!
I will say though,this does not at all reflect on the site.We have all agreed that this site is one of the very best we have visited and we look forward to another visit very soon. 


Reviewer: Campingcaz 28 reviews from this member

 July 2005
This is camping at its best. Spacious fields and fantastic views, (especially from furthest tent field). Owners are friendly and leave you to it - no being shown which blade of grass you can pitch on.
Facilities are fine and local town has some great food shops; the town pubs were a bit difficult for family meals, though.
It's in a great location for Cheviots and coast and you'd be mad to miss it!
 


Reviewer: Janet37 1 review from this member

 July 2005
Stayed here for second time site was really busy - vintage motor car rally on nearby, so we were put in the overflow field. The field was nice and flat with plenty of space only downside was further to walk to the toilets which are very clean and showers are hot and free and even though it was busy didn,t have to wait. Childrens play area on main camp field is 3 swings although there is a slide and swings as you enter campsite could do with a bit more on main site , lots of ducks wandering around for kids to feed. the owners are very friendly and helpful. It is only a 10 minute walk into town where there are numerous shops ,pubs,and cafe,s all in all a lovely campsite where you don't feel crowded would definitly return. 


Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highburn House Country Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wooler      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1345 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement