Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highburn House Country Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Wooler > Highburn House Country Holiday Park Reviews

Highburn House Country Holiday Park
Highburn House
Burnhouse Road
Wooler
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE71 6EE
Tel: 01668 281344
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: March -end November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 133 Reviews
                8/10 from 133 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Eeyore73 4 reviews from this member

 Went to this campsite after reading previous reviews. However, we were slightly disappointed.

Positives first though:

Beautiful setting
Friendly atmosphere
Showers warm, free and long lasting
Good for children (to play near stream if old enough!)

Negatives;

Toilets were reviewed as being immaculate. Definitely not the best I've been to. At times the floor looked like coffee was on it. No soap to wash your hands. One night we had no toilet paper at all in the ladies.
Only 4 toilets and 3 showers for a very busy campsite with a large tent field. Definitely not equipped for the amount of people. Had to queue for toilet and shower.
Dishwashing facilities were clean but only 3 meant that had to queue for them too.
Only 1 water tap (that I found) for the whole tent field.

After all that we did have a lovely weekend basically because the weather and the area were so beautiful. I would perhaps go back but not on a bank holiday. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nev Hedley 3 reviews from this member

 We stayed otogether with other family members. This is a nice friendly site, pitched where we wanted. Running water very close by as was the toilet and shower facilities.

No noise at night, everyone friendly and sociable. Good, local shops just minutes away, plenty to explore nearby in rural Northumberland

A nice inexpensive site, looking forward to returning with the kids! 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Saffire0903 1 review from this member

 We came to this place with a strong recommendation from a work colleague who's just been two weeks before. We were not disappointed! The site is beautiful! It is surrounded with a very scenic view of the cheviots. The facilities were immaculate with very nice strong hot showers.

It is literally 5mins walk from wooler high street that offers convenient shops for all your needs and few pubs to quench your thirst and serves nice meals.It is also few miles drive from all the beautiful scenic countryside of Northumberland.

Because of its location (hills) it can be a bit windy, but a good breeze blocker had sorted it all for us.

Overall, it is a lovely place and we are definitely coming back next month. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 4REVEREDDIE 1 review from this member

 This was a short stay only, mainly to test new tents and as a last gasp trip away before the dreaded return to work. I'm a very recent new member and had checked out a few site reviews in the Northumberland area,and opted for Highburn House campsite in Wooler. I was slightly concerned after reading a couple of reviews but was more than pleasantly surprised with the outcome. The campsite was easy to find, just outside the village and on arrival ,I found the manager to be very friendly. He only directed me to our designated pitch but it wasn't difficult to find (anywhere past the swings). We found a good level area enclosed on two sides by hedges and pitched there. On inspection of the site we found it to be very picturesque, clean and tidy. Very well kept. Some signs put up to indicate dog-walking areas would be helpful. There were plenty of water taps around the site. Toilets, Laundry, Showerblocks, all to a good standard.

There were ducks to be found touring the site greeting people and being fed with bread, and then wandering off down to the stream for a drink. Kids played out but it wasn't noisy and the site was quiet after dark, and this was at weekend.

All in all, we found this to be a very nice friendly site, close to a very nice village with all the amenities you might need (pubs, cashpoint, fish&chips, takeaway, bakers, butchers, gift shops) and an ideal spot from which to tour historic Northumberland and the Scottish Borders. Recommended. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Donjim 1 review from this member

 We have just come back from our stay at Highburn house and this was our first attempt at camping. We decided on hook up and we had made a good choice. The position of our pitch (although not great for some) was perfect for us, situated just up from the facilities. We had our 8 month old baby, as well as our older son so a bit nervous regarding noise with people going back and forth to the toilets but everyone seemed to respect everyone else and noise was kept to a minimum.

The first 2 nights were horrendously windy, but the weather was great after that. We enjoyed it so much we asked if we could stay another night and we found them very accommodating, and helpful.

The toilet blocks were kept clean, the showers were lovely and hot, and kept running long enough for a decent shower. The site has many recycling bins which unfortunately people did not use as well as they should and bags were piled in front of bins until they were emptied. The site was busy but the owner emptied them regularly.

It has beautiful scenery around the site and you could take some lovely walks. The site is very close to the main street and can be easily walked to and from.

The local fish and chip shop and the chinese takeaway were great. We went to the honey farm on the way to Berwick, which was free to enter and interesting. The laundry room, baby care room and information room were all a big help to make our stay enjoyable. I would recommend this site if you want a nice peaceful rest.

The only area of improvement should be the play areas for children. It just needs a little more to keep all the children occupied. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Vbennett214 18 reviews from this member

 Wooler is a nice village with shops,pubs (some dog friendly!),tea shops and banks to satisfy everyones needs for a nice relaxing break.

The walks in the area are great,especially the circular walk from the site to Wooler Common and back to the village.

The site was a disappointment. Firstly on arrival the owner said 'Follow my husband to your pitch' and then closed the door in my face! We waited until he eventually came and followed him as he drove off very quickly with us in pursuit trying to keep up!

Our hardstanding was not really suitable for our Motorhome. It was a smallish rectangle just big enough for us to get all four wheels on and we had to drive over grass to get to it so if you are a largish Motorhome take heed the hardstandings on this site are not really designed for you!

The owner then just pointed at the tap and said 'The water is there' and with that he vanished and we never saw the owners again during our stay!

No information was offered about the facilities on site or about the local area.

People with dogs were all wondering where the best place was to exercise your dog and where were the local walks to be found.

A very nice elderly chap with a seasonal pitch informed us of the best walks in the area and gave us all the information we were looking for.

The toilet/shower block was quite dirty and campers were using it to wash their boots in the showers as it was quite muddy!

As someone else has commented people were driving to the shower block and churning up the site even more,it would have made more sense to request that people walked the 5 minute journey to the showers to try and preserve the grass rather than turn it into a bog. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cyrus1975 1 review from this member

 An excellent site.

We visited twice this month and found the showers, washing up block and toilets excellent. It was a nice change to have free showers.

The first time we were on the touring caravan site because of flooding, there was some noise until about eleven then nothing.

The second time we were in the main camping field, there was no noise at all despite lots of family groups. I have read other reviews about noise from the site and have come to the conclusion that it seems to come from the touring section of the site. Perhaps because caravan owners dont realise that sound still travels out of their vans. The owner of the site gave the impression that any poor behaviour would not be stood for. The site seems to be attracting the right type of people. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adrianw 3 reviews from this member

 Site on a gentle slope. Main fields seems to be aimed at caravans and has the toilet/shower block at the bottom. Tents in the far field.

No need to book, indeed unable to book. There are no numbered pitches, but the owner was quite strict about where we could pitch. The threat of being forced to move was daunting.

Tent field filled up quickly, us early arrivals got the edge of the field, sheltered in a shallow dip near the hedge (and water), latecomers were given the top of the ridge - good views but potentially windy (and at times it was very windy even in the dip).

Rained a fair bit but the field drained well, just some surface mud.

Toilets/showers were fine, but you could see them getting crowded in peak season. No hairdryers was a bit of a pain.

Only real problem was the loud group singing Proclaimers songs until 4am the first night and another group of drunks the next night complaining loudly about how anti-social the Scots were. 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Klick 2 reviews from this member

 Our initial impression was of a lovely site, with great views and lovely surrounding area.

The ground is quite stoney and we would recommend campers use pegs suitable for hardstanding.

We were very disappointed by the standard of cleanliness in the toilet block and the lack of facilities for the number of campers on site. There was no soap and often no toilet roll, and we ended up buying toilet roll, handwash and antiseptic wipes which we had to take with us for every trip to the loo.

We were pitched fairly close to the toilet block and found we were regularly disturbed by people driving down from the far tent field with a car load of kids to use the toilets/showers.

This site has so much potential, it just needs an extra toilet block in or near the far tent field and regular cleaning. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grahamy 1 review from this member

 Just returned after l lovely wet weekend at Wooler. We were pitched in the caravan area as the tent field was closed due to being water logged. The caravan field was a nightmare to pitch a tent in due to the rock hard ground but once up it had its advantages such as being close to the shower block, which was clean enough, a path to it from the road would keep it cleaner as you wont have to walk over the grass in wet weather. The kids loved the ducks who seemed to visit our tent every morning and also the small play area. All in all a nice site with no noise at all after 11-11.30 pm 


Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highburn House Country Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wooler      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1458 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement