Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highburn House Country Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Wooler > Highburn House Country Holiday Park Reviews

Highburn House Country Holiday Park
Highburn House
Burnhouse Road
Wooler
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE71 6EE
Tel: 01668 281344
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: March -end November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 133 Reviews
                8/10 from 133 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MickP1 2 reviews from this member

 Very picturesque site above the town of Wooler with nice views of the area. Onsite facilities are good, clean hot showers and plenty of toilets and sinks etc.

The town of Wooler is a good place with good butchers', small supermarkets, pubs, cafes and takeaways and is a great base for visiting all the attractions of north Northumberland.

The site has it's own little population of ducks and geese which are quite friendly and cute, great attraction if you have kids along.

The only downside to our visit here was that the outer of the two camping areas is a bit exposed if the weather turns, which it did and we had two tents actually blow down in a gale! The proprietors refunded our remaining nights' fees without a problem though. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Koro 2 reviews from this member

 We were shown to a choice of pitches for our tent to be close to where my brother would have his caravan.We found a pitch which suited us, as it could face the west for the evening sunshine - yes sunshine !We had ample space.

There are two main parts to the campsite, the main part which is a mixture of tents, caravans and camper vans, which is close to the main toilet block. The backfield is for tents only, with loads of space and secluded areas if that's what you prefer, also lovely views to the hills.

Grass cut regularly and all kept tidy.Pitches are generally generous and well spaced and we were pleased that we were not hemmed in by regimented rows.

The toilet block is good, modern and clean, with free showers and ample hot water. Dishwashing area got a bit busy at times and sometimes the toilet paper would run out at peak times.

Site is well positioned to be a few minutes walk to the town centre which is great for provisions, a very good co-op stays open till 10.00 and try Johnsons the butcher for excellent quality meat.

In all, our first visit to Northumberland was enhanced by a very enjoyable stay at this site 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Red head 83 1 review from this member

 All the caravans and tents seemed to be crammed in- there was no rules on any distance to keep from the tent or caravan next to your pitch.

There were many caravans and tents yet only 4 toilets and 3 showers ( in the females) which made it very difficult in the mornings. Toilets often had no toilet paper so make sure you take your own!

The mascovie ducks were gorgeous as were the chicks!

Playpark was ok- 2 sets of swings and a slide.

Surrounding area is lovely- plenty to see and do and Wooler is a lovely little town and a great base to see the rest of Northumberland 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Darrylwebb 40 reviews from this member

 We were welcomed by a very pleasant, down to earth bloke, and the site was good value.

We found there was plenty of space, and the pitches are well spaced out. The touring part of the site is elevated, so there's a nice view down the hill, but the pitches are mostly on grass, so could be tricky reaching in the wet.

Good spacious toilet block, which I found clean and tidy. The same building houses an excellent laundry, with a HUGE tumble-dryer. Plus there's a little office with leaflets for all the local tourist attractions, including the tide timetable for Holy Island, which is a good idea.

The site is about 10 miles from Holy Island, so it's a good base for exploring there, or the other picturesque villages and beaches of the Northumberland Coast.

The geese were also very entertaining. They're not afraid to come looking for food. One of them even woke us up in the morning tapping his beak on our step, demanding bread. :-) 


Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Zackyboy 16 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to this camp-site and it met all our expectations, the site was clean and tidy and well laid out.It was within easy walking distance to the town centre which has a number of small shops, a Co-op, a couple of hotels/pubs and also a number of nice coffee shops.

The owner of the site was very affable on booking and then on arrival at the site - no complaints there.

Although the site was on a hill it was laid out in such a manner that all pitches were easily accessible and reasonably level, some with good open views, there were hard-standings and grass pitches. Water and electricity all easily available.

The toilet block was adequate with good showers and always clean and tidy, there was also a launderette, information room and telephone.

I would recommend this site and will be going back in the future. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: June 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Wiggletastic 8 reviews from this member

 We visited this site with friends last week and had a really enjoyable trip. The site is in a great location and close to a very nice small town with good facilities ie. Shops / pubs / takeaways.

The site is quite hilly but I think we probably got one of the best pitches, it had EHU, hedges all round so quite private and mostly quite flat.

The facilities on site were quite basic and the toilets / showers not as clean (or warm!) as I would like. The children's play area was minimal and very old-fashioned and could do with an upgrade.

We visited a lot of local attractions, all within about half an hours drive - Alnwick Castle and Gardens, Cragside House (NT) and Bamburgh beach. There is certainly lots to see/do in the local area to keep the whole family entertained. 


Date of Visit: May 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Neilfuller 2 reviews from this member

 Visiting this site was our first time out camping with a 3 year old and 1 year old. We were told in advance there would be plenty of room and I knew the area was beautiful so this seemed like a perfect first outing.

Sadly on arrival we were told the main camp was full and the sheep had just been moved out of the overflow, we were warned about sheep droppings but these sheep must have been eating a lot of bran since last season as the droppings were wall to wall!

Not a lot for 2 kids as young as ours to do so we made our own fun playing sheep poo football.

The facilities were fine but a shop would have been nice. An ice cream van came round early evening and that was a bonus.

We refrained from using sheep poo to power the barbecue and opted for a more traditional type of charcoal. I would have scored this site a lot higher if it hadn't been for all that poo because it is sat in an area of natural beauty and the sunsets were to die for. Take a torch cos if you are in the overflow there is no lighting 


Date of Visit: April 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Caravancaz 4 reviews from this member

 If you approach through the main street of Wooler with a large van or motorhome go slow it can be busy, sat nav may take you right before the high street to avoid this.

There is no pull in area once you enter the site, stop through the entrance and go to the adjacent house door, tiny sign to tell you.

You have to follow the site owner to your choice of pitch, take a wide berth to go over the wooden bridge (larger units)

Beware of the site in wet conditions as its all grassy other than the road in and the hard standing which is covered by your caravan! Making it difficult for 2WD cars and a muddy mess for in and out of the van.

Play areas for kids very basic and the better of the two is out of sight from the touring area.

Toilet block basic but clean.

Wooler very nice market town, all you could need with short walk from site.

Biggest down side was EHU. Ended up running the van mainly on gas due to the lack of power, everyone else complaining - only to be told that it was Easter and everyone's using their heaters! Very poor really.

Nice location, needs a lot of work and wont go back for a few years. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: 2+2kids 8 reviews from this member

 With cleaner, better equipped (i.E. Soap) facilities and a warmer welcome from the owners this would be my favourite site!

There's loads of geese wandering around and can entertain your kids for hours with just the cost of a cheap loaf of bread! But beware, they will try to climb into your van if they think there's more food! Very charming though.

There is a small swing set in the touring area and a swing/slide near the entrance for the kids.

Watch for bats in the evenings, flitting about your head once it gets dark.

Very short walk into Wooler. Lovely village and you MUST see the old fashioned sweety shop! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Colin_froggatt 1 review from this member

 A very nice camp site. Had a great week. Would definitely recommend and will probably return. Lovely site, lots of space for tents and kids with a stream to play in. Helpful if you like ducks as there are some very friendly ones around the site. Some parts of the site can be a bit exposed if its windy.

The toilets were fine, even on the August BH weekend. Not needing to book was a bit weird but it worked out OK and the owners were very helpful.

Good location to explore coast and local attractions. Wooler is a short cycle ride or 10 mins walk with good local facilities.

We would recommend Cragside (NT) for a day out and also the Percy Arms Hotel in Chatton for a great meal (though a bit pricy).

Overall, very enjoyable stay - even the midges weren't that bad! 


Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highburn House Country Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wooler      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3599 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement