Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highburn House Country Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Wooler > Highburn House Country Holiday Park Reviews

Highburn House Country Holiday Park
Highburn House
Burnhouse Road
Wooler
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE71 6EE
Tel: 01668 281344
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: March -end November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 133 Reviews
                8/10 from 133 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 11 to 20                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Traveluvva 3 reviews from this member

 Just come back from a week at this site and found the location was one of the best we've ever stayed at. As others have mentioned shops, pubs, cafes etc all within 10 minute walk. Also, next to the site is a walk up the hill to the remains of a stone-age fort for those fit enough! Within easy driving distance are a lot of Northumberland's attractions like Lindisfarne, Alwick etc. Although a bigger site than we normally go to it doesn't feel too big. Could do with a couple more showers/toilets but would definitely recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bstokegirl 7 reviews from this member

 This was our second trip to this site, and I wasn't disappointed. It has stunning views - especially from the tent field. The toilets and showers do the job and were clean. There is a great new play area and a stream on site and loads of space on the field to run about in. Wooler is pretty and well supplied with food shops and places to eat. We had some fab fish and chips and tried the tapas too. The owners were helpful and pleasant. 


Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Amanda.ferrol 2 reviews from this member

 Very good site. Lovely location not far from village. Facilities good and clean. Busy site but noise was minimum. We enjoyed the walk up humbleton fell. People very friendly and helpful when we asked for any help. Pub food good and atmosphere was good. Shops were okay for short weekend visit but not far from alnwick if you needed. Would definitely use this site again 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claireiom 11 reviews from this member

 Just back from a two night stay here, was meant to be three but the weather forecast was awful for the Monday and the owner was great about us cutting it short a night.

Lovely little campsite with a great price, we had EHU and were on a nice flat pitch with plenty of room between tents. The ducks and geese made a regular walk around and our dog loved watching them. Everyone on site was lovely and good sticking to no noise after 10pm rule.

Toilet block was fine, basic with three showers in the ladies so you could have a bit of a wait. They did get quite messy with grass from the site but that would be difficult to keep on top off. My only complaint was that they seemed to be checked early on Saturday morning but hadn't appeared to be checked again before we left at 12pm on the Sunday and the ladies had all ran out of toilet roll on Saturday evening.

Wooler is about a 10minute walk away, lovely little town with a few cafes and pubs. We went to The Anchor pub which is dog friendly and they were very accommodating with our dog, making sure he had water and even giving him some treats on the Saturday night. We had a lovely breakfast in the Terrace Cafe on Sunday morning after packing up. There is a co op that has a good range and is open to 11pm every day.

Great location for a bit of coastal touring, we visited Bamburgh and Seahouses and would recommend. 


Date of Visit: July 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Kimmoore 1 review from this member

 Just came back from a 3 night break at Highburn House campsite and am missing it already. What a fantastic location, its a brilliant site for exploring all that Northumberland has to offer. Firstly must say that this site offers brilliant value for money, the amenities are good had no trouble at all with electric hook up, was brilliant, toilets are adequate maybe an extra hand dryer would help but I think it offers excellent value for money, was very quiet after 10oclock, no problems at all.

Only a 5 to 10 minute walk into Wooler, found the locals extremely friendly, must recommend the terrace café for breakfast (fab you lus)!. Booked a boat trip to the Farne islands from seahouses with serenity cruises, was expensive but you get what you pay for, the guys on the boat were wonderful, would certainly love to do this again. When leaving the weather was awful, tent was soaking but the owner didn't mind us staying a while till we were able to pack up wotta guy! will definitely be coming back to this site again I cant recommend it enough! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2015 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: V Richardson 1 review from this member

 We were at this site Bank Holiday Weekend and loved it, couple who run it are very friendly, toilets and showers nice and clean, only 10min walk into village that has 3 pubs all of which we could take the dog in, plenty takeaways, couple of coffee shops and we went for a lovely walk at the common, us and the dog will definitely be returning to this site later on in the year 


Date of Visit: April 2015 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hoggie66 3 reviews from this member

 Once again this site did not disappoint, love love love this site and its location. Loads of room and lovely and quiet at night. 5 min walk into wooler, people are really friendly too. This was my second visit and will not be my last. Toilet and washing up facilities great, we were only the second tent on the pitch amongst tourers and caravans but did not feel hemmed in at all, pitches are well roomy, their ducks roam free so, you have to be careful when driving off/on to the site though. They love to call into everyone's tents/caravan/tourer every morning. Love it here. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Champedo 1 review from this member

 Love the location 5min walk into Wooler where there are plenty of shops and places to eat, also tourist info. Pitch, quietness after 10pm, however we felt a little disappointed there had been no improvements made to the toilets since our last visit. We found the toilets/shower room let the site down. The toilets were not kept clean and strong smell of urine in the ladies. Not what you expect in the ladies. A toilet brush might have helped and a door mat to stop wet/muddy shoes going onto the tiled floor. It was tricky taking little girl to the toilets given the lack of cleaning. I also feel that the door should not be left open to allow all sorts of creatures to settle in there. Apart from toilets the site is in a great location and pitches are varied. Grass was slightly long. Does have washing facilities etc. 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: WalkandCamp 9 reviews from this member

 Well worth a visit. Stayed here for 3 nights amidst fab weather.

Good value at £8pn for a single tent. Facilities very good. Hot shower no extra charge. Clean toilets and good wash up area. The site is sloping but flat spots can be found.

The village of Wooler is only 10 minutes walk away. With 4 pubs, Italian and an Indian plus a good chippy. The Bull is the best pub, friendly staff.

Great location for The Cheviot and College Valley, and great walks from Wooler itself. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lottyj 4 reviews from this member

 WOW ! We found this site to be very friendly and really well maintained with the most Beautiful views from our pitch up top. Well worth a visit. Never had to wait for the loo's or showers and our doggy could sit and watch the bunnies all day long in peace. One thing though, be prepared for a climb for (some) pitches, (ok if you've a 4x4), there are still lots without a climb which I'm sure could've been arranged if asked for. Views magnificent but clutch poorly. Lesson learned, still smiling and we WILL be back soon :-) 


Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 11 to 20      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highburn House Country Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wooler      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1449 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement