Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highburn House Country Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Wooler > Highburn House Country Holiday Park Reviews

Highburn House Country Holiday Park
Highburn House
Burnhouse Road
Wooler
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE71 6EE
Tel: 01668 281344
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: March -end November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 133 Reviews
                8/10 from 133 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 21 to 30                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Julie bri 5 reviews from this member

 Stayed here 5 nights. Found pitches were hardstand with plenty of room. Toilets and showers kept clean. They said there was a small shop selling milk, newspapers but never saw it. Our pitch was beside a couple of swings for the kids bit annoying when kids were cutting through at back of our caravan to get to themm might be a good idea to move them over in the corner away from pitches, wooler town centre just a 10 min walk away with pubs, take aways and gifts. Would go back if touring in that area again 


Date of Visit: August 2013 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: CHargreaves42 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent site. Showers and toilets cleaned regularly and never had to queue to use them. There’s a laundry on site and a good washing up room.

There’s plenty of space for the kids to run and cycle and some swings and a slide for them, but not so much room to set up a cricket or football game. It’s a big site for them to explore – there’s a massive field for tourers and seasonal pitches and then another large area with statics, but all very safe and comfortable. There are lots of ducks to entertain the children and they wander the site without being a nuisance.

The units are fairly packed in - I would have liked a bit more room around us, but it's a very busy site. Unfortunately, we were right next to two very loud families, who disturbed the otherwise peaceful site most of the day. Everyone else was fine and the site mostly was very quiet from around 10. 00pm. Lots of dogs on site, but all well behaved and never once saw any poo!

The lovely village of Wooler is less than 10 minutes walk with a well stocked Co-op, two excellent local butchers, bakers, cafes, pharmacy and post office.

Also a fantastic Italian called Milan behind the Black Bull pub - make sure you book though – we had to wait an hour on a Tuesday evening! Great Fish & Chips at Foulis - 2 portions will feed 2 adults & 2 children! Disposable BBQs can be bought on site for £3.

Good central site for Alnwick, Scotland and coast (although a bit of a winding drive). Be warned - the ground is very stony in places – we went through quite a few tent pegs!

There are no freezers for your picnic freezer blocks, but the owners will freeze 3 for 60p per day. Maybe the way forward would be to put a couple of small freezers in the information room for everyone’s convenience.

Excellent site – will be back again. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Fkdupfairy 7 reviews from this member

 What a beautiful site very open and well spaced out. Lots of elec hookups if needed good parks for children and dog friendly. The Lady who booked us in was very friendly. Amenities were absolutely spotless and cleanliness was amazing showers on site were wonderful. Good washing up areas and chem loo points clean very good value for money Will visit again but with more midgy spray I was eaten alive. Thankyou very much for a wonderful stay andy n helen and k x 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Roger2338 2 reviews from this member

 Spent 4 nights here from 18th. Reception was friendly and effective - 'Go find my husband, he's doing the bins & he'll show you the pitches'. Lovely open site, we chose a site lower down near some trees. A bit too close to the stream and kids play area!

Site was stony, but ok, electric pickup, & close to hygiene block. The best equipped and cleaned block we've seen since pricey French sites. Timed, hot showers, included in price, and lasted too long for me. Cleaned daily, never overwhelmed by users.

Site close to village of Wooler. Handy for a stroll into pub before cooking evening meal or using cafes, pubs, or restaurant in village - Milan.

Close enought to Alnwick, Bamburgh, Scotland - Kelso and Jedburgh. Great stay. 


Date of Visit: July 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SaraG0267 2 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely site with plenty of pitches with and with out hook ups and the grounds are well maintained. Despite it being the summer holidays we did not feel too crammed in. There where plenty of other tourers and campers but in general the site was peaceful, probably as there are no on site facilities like a club house and this suits us just fine. There are a couple of play which the younger children enjoyed. The owners are relaxed and friendly and the cost is very reasonable. However our one criticism would be about the toilet blocks. On arrival they appeared quite clean and whilst not very modern they where better that some I have seen. Sadly though, the showers where disgusting. Firstly I am not a fan of the push button operation as you can not control the temperature. My main gripe however was the filthy floor in each shower cubical which I or any one else was unable to clean out as the only mop was a dirty broken thing that did more harm than good. The result is that you can not put anything on the floor and getting dried is a balancing act to prevent stepping in to a puddle of mucky water. This is such a shame as a proper mop and a bucket of disinfectant water does not cost much. This would not stop me going again but I would think it would put many people off. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Ukblueuk 9 reviews from this member

 Been to this site a few times now. Firstly in tents, but the last time in a caravan. This is what I would say your traditional caravan / camp site. Toilets & showers I would say are average. Pitches are fantastic for tents if you have EHU but can be a bit awkward for tourers as there is a lot of uneven ground. Prices are fair, if the toilet facilities were better I would have said the price was reasonable. Nice views from high pitches. Pleasant 5 - 10 minute stroll into Wooler with its dog friendly pubs. The owners of this site are pleasant and friendly. One thing that really let's the site down is the electrics, they really need upgrading, even with light use the units trip so you need to keep going out to reset them, there are 4 users on each unit so if you have a neighbour who uses loads of electricity your unit will keep tripping 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grapefruitmoon 23 reviews from this member

 Just back from a fabulous weekend (May Holiday) at this site. Our first time here and I think the setting and the views from the site are beautiful. We had great weather although it got windy in the afternoons. It was busy and we were pitched on the farthest field which has no EHU but has at least one water tap. Plenty space to play football and games.

Directly from this field are walks along country lanes and up onto the surrounding hills. There are beautiful houses and cottages with gorgeous gardens. We climbed Humbleton Hill and it was seriously windy on the top but we managed to have a picnic in the shelter of the old fort. We climbed up the steep side but there is a easier path up the south side which we saw once we reached the top!

The toilet block was cleaned while we were there and there was plenty loo roll and soap. There was a spongy mop provided. The toilets tended to get dirty because the site was busy. I may have been lucky but I never had to queue. The showers were good but clingy curtain alert! Good wash-up area and information room with a pay-phone.

Wooler is a nice wee town. The Co-op is only a 5/10minute walk and really handy as the other shops were shut on Sunday, (except the take-away which opened Sunday evening). Great value and choice in the takeaway. We also got hot pies from the butcher.

The best thing about this site is the wonderful setting and easy access into the town and into open countryside. Also great value for the May w/end at £16 for a family of four! Good old fashioned kind of site with no pretences. Friendly owners, too.

Visited Flodden battlefields at Branxton on the way home (500th anniversary this year). Interesting museum at Etal Castle, also. 


Date of Visit: May 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 1st time camper 6 reviews from this member

 Mixed feelings about this site. We arrived Sat lunch time and were warmly greeted by a guy, we were advised to go in second field as first one was full. Only few tents in second field and amazing views. Pitched up and walked into Wooler 15 min walk lovely village, butcher, baker pubs and ccop. However upon returning to site, the field had filled up slightly and neighbours were very close (unsure why as loads of room in field) they sat up drinking around fire until early hours (3am) with a tent further up the field and owners of site evicted the other tent next morning. The following night our neighbours lit a fire at 10pm and as I was worried the previous night was being repeated I mentioned to the owners I would like them to come round later to ensure we weren't kept awake all night again to which the lady owner of the site told me in front of them when she came round they weren't causing a problem, she is sick of tents its always tents and never vans! hmmm not the response I was hoping for especially in front of the other people. 


Date of Visit: March 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: JBLAKE62 2 reviews from this member

 4th visit to highburn house and although we enjoyed our weekend will probably not be back on this site for a while. Firstly the electric has problems and keeps tripping out or going off altogether. The toilet blocks were freezing and were dirty even though the site wasn't as busy as I've seen it before. If a bucket of hot water was available to mop after use they might have been kept cleaner. The owners new vehicle was the thing that really spoilt our weekend so noisy and was back and forward around the site till quite late in the day made it's impossible to relax. Love wooler and the scenery but this has put us off highburn house. 


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Shearers15 2 reviews from this member

 Nice site just out of Wooler and not far from all of the major tourist spots in that area of Northumberland.

It was quite busy the week we were there but it was the last week of school holiday so we didn't expect to have it to ourselves. Some of the groups were quite loud but I have to say that none of them went on too late.

Wash facilities were clean if a little short on numbers but then I get up fairly early so didn't have to wait for a shower. Dish washing facilities were good and although we didn't use it there was a drying room as well.

All in all, we would return if we went back that way again. 


Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 21 to 30      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highburn House Country Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wooler      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1134 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement