Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highburn House Country Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Wooler > Highburn House Country Holiday Park Reviews

Highburn House Country Holiday Park
Highburn House
Burnhouse Road
Wooler
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE71 6EE
Tel: 01668 281344
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: March -end November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 133 Reviews
                8/10 from 133 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 31 to 40                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Europa555 11 reviews from this member

 Thought some of the previous reviews were a bit harsh as we found this site ok. It was very easy to find, well signposted and site fees were very reasonable. At least you weren't charged extra for an awning which always bugs me.

Another plus was it's close proximity to Wooler, just a 5 minute walk and had an adequate bus service to Alnwick or Berwick upon Tweed.

The facilities on site were more than adaquate with ample hot water, and were generally clean despite the site being busy, though it amazed me how many kids hadn't been taught to flush the loo after they were finished, let alone wash their hands. There was plenty of information on places to visit. While we did not make use of the washing machine it was located in a very roomy area with facilities for ironing etc. The chemical toilet disposal was well set up and easy to use.

The only downer for us was that the distance between caravans seemed a bit tight, especially once the awning was erected and while the caravan was on a hardstand the awning area was muddy and uneven, but this was made up for by the lovely view we had of the surrounding countryside. We would certainly be coming back next year. 


Date of Visit: July 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bigbadjan 2 reviews from this member

 I visited this site with my partner and his 2 children on the weekend of 28th July. The Site is quite large and caters for touring caravans/statics and tents. The site was very busy on our visit, presumably due to the location and school holidays but this wasn't really a problem for us. We stayed in the second field which didn't have electricity hook up but this wasn't an issue.

The toilet and shower facilities were clean with plenty of hot water. I showered quite early but the showers were very busy a bit later on with people queuing. The facilities for dishwashing were good and there was a public telephone and plenty of information on the local area on offer.

The site is a short walk from Wooler where there are plenty of shops and bars.

All in all, the site was very good, however probably not as far off the beaten track as we normally like. If you have small children this is an ideal site, with plenty of space and a play area. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sjohnston 5 reviews from this member

 Spent an average few days at Highburn over the Jubilee bank holiday. My grumbles were the inadequate washroom facilities, the site owners had obviously accepted far too many campers onto the site with the result of dirty busy facilities.

We also requested that we place our tent as close as possible to my in-laws caravan which although promised was ignored on arrival.

The owner took down our neighbours wind break while they were out because they believed it was too far over into our pitch. We didn't mind but they took it down anyway, petty!

I'm sure this site is great during quieter periods. We wont be going back again on a bank holiday though. 


Date of Visit: June 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Shaznay999 4 reviews from this member

 Spent four nights up at Highburn House over the Diamond Jubilee Bank Holiday weekend. We love this site, and decided to return for a long-overdue walk up Cheviot.

The site was very busy but still quiet all the same on an evening. My only recommendation to the lovely owners would be to invest some money in a larger, warmer shower block. Three showers in the female end of the block totally insufficient for the number of campers and caravanners staying over the bank holiday weekend, with the male facilities suffering too.

The facilities ended up dirty and over-crowded. We'll be back, but probably not on a bank holiday weekend, unless money is invested in the facilities. Still love the site, and all that Wooler and the surrounding area has to offer. 


Date of Visit: May 2012 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Chris Dan Yells 4 reviews from this member

 This site is a bit more rustic than we're used to but was ok. The people running it were really nice and it's quite a sizeable site. The wash block was a cheery version of a soviet built facility but did the job and the showers were good. There is a little brook running through the site and the kids were able to play in this at certain points.

Wooler itself is a pleasant enough place but we went during a fairly wet week so struggled to get through our stay here.

As a base for exploring it offers good value, but we found it hard to have this as a weeks holiday. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2012 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Johnandlaura85 1 review from this member

 After a last minute decision to go camping on the 28th I rang round a few sites to see who was open. I spoke to a lady at this site who was lovely and said she could accommodate at short notice. After an hours drive we arrived at this beautiful site and were warmly greeted by the lady I spoke to. We had full choice over our pitch which were very large and quickly got to work putting our tent up(I would recommend using heavy duty pegs as the ground is rocky but this gave good drainage).

Once up we had a walk into Wooler which is a lovely village, we had some food then headed back to the site. We both made use of the showers and both males and female were clean and were lovely and hot. We visited Edinburgh zoo the next day which was just over an hours drive away. All in all a lovely few days spent there. No onsite shop but there is a big discount camping shop just outside Berwick. The site also seemed very informal with no lights out time and no departure time that we noted but we liked that about the site and will be back 


Date of Visit: October 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: John Reilly 3 reviews from this member

 Stayed on this site for 3 nights in mid October. Friendly welcome on arrival and a choice of pitches to suit ourselves. Facilities block has all you'd need (toilets, basins, showers, washing up area, laundry and chemical toilet disposal). The same is kept very clean. There's choice of hard standing and grass pitches, all appear generously proportioned. The ducks on the site are quite entertaining.

Wooler is a very short walk from the site and has a range of shops, pubs and food outlets (both eat in and take away). Also a very good tourist information.

The area is very good for walking and most if not all local businesses are both walker and dog friendly.

Lovely area, very good site. We'll visit again. 


Date of Visit: September 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Stewk 1 review from this member

 We were a bit apprehensive about going here as we hadnt heard good reports about it, its not a place to go during the kids holidays. But after just returning from a 2 day stay, quite honestly we didn't want to come home.

Its a lovely quiet site with fantastic views. We went with friends and both had fairly flat pitches but noticed there were a few that we wouldn't have like to have been put on. And would have objected strongly if we'd been put in the overflow field. We were lucky with the weather but could imagine if it got a bit windy we'd have had a bit of trouble setting up/taking down our tent.

There are 3 showers and 4 toilets in both the male and female toilet blocks. They arent the newest but were clean the whole time we were there but to be fair there were only about a dozen other campers /caravanner on the whole site. Don't think I'd be able to say the same if the field was full and I'd hate to be in the overflow field as they have a long walk to the toilet block.

The site has a lovely shallow stream running through that is home to ducks that wander around the site, and sometimes into your tent if you let them. The stream is ideal for children to paddle in or just watch from the quaint little bridge that goes over it on the way to the park. Its called a park but really its 2 swings and a slide. Not enough for when the site is at full capacity.

There isnt a shop on site but the nearest village is only a nice 5 minuet walk away and that has plenty of shops, take aways and pubs.

Remember to take cash as they don't take cards and wont let you pitch up till you've paid. You'll also need a torch for the midnight run to the toilet as there arent many lights, but this is no way a criticism. Overall a lovely site to visit out of school holidays. Will be returning next year. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jolly_camper 34 reviews from this member

 Stayed here again after a break of three years, nice greeting on arrival, shown to pitch. The shower/toilet facilities are clean but don't seem to have any investment since we were last there although the owner's house enjoys various things like solar panel heating.

The showers are a little small but operate nicely but for far too long, you have no way of turning them off! An unusual complaint considering how much hot water costs.

Overall, a nice location, the facilities could do with main doors that close to try and keep some warmth in on a chilly morning!

The old Red Lion pub in the village has been newly taken over and turned into quite a nice 'gastro pub' so there are now more options for meals if you need them, Chinese, Fish & Chips, Italian etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Louiseok 1 review from this member

 I visited this site last weekend for 2nights with my partner and 3 children and I can say it was very relaxing lovely family place. On arrival was greeted with a friendly welcome.

The site was very clean there was no rubbish ect on camp ground, the toilet and shower block where nice and clean, seemed well maintained, the washroom for dishes was also kept clean, washer and dryer room had 1 washer and 1 dryer but was a great value to use.

Seeing the ducks wandering around the site was such a joy and seem to make the holiday as not something you would normally see.

The stream was lovely to watch even so its just little. The play park could do with been slightly bigger due to the amount of family's that visit as it is a very small play park.

The local little town was well equipped for every need, didn't visit the pub but it looked very friendly and in the local town.

Our family drove to berwick on the Saturday for a few hours out, overall a lovely and quiet family site, could just add one more time for the owners the park could really do with been made slightly bigger 


Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 31 to 40      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highburn House Country Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wooler      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3908 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement