Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highburn House Country Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Wooler > Highburn House Country Holiday Park Reviews

Highburn House Country Holiday Park
Highburn House
Burnhouse Road
Wooler
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE71 6EE
Tel: 01668 281344
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: March -end November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 135 Reviews
                8/10 from 135 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 41 to 50                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jolly_camper 34 reviews from this member

 Stayed here again after a break of three years, nice greeting on arrival, shown to pitch. The shower/toilet facilities are clean but don't seem to have any investment since we were last there although the owner's house enjoys various things like solar panel heating.

The showers are a little small but operate nicely but for far too long, you have no way of turning them off! An unusual complaint considering how much hot water costs.

Overall, a nice location, the facilities could do with main doors that close to try and keep some warmth in on a chilly morning!

The old Red Lion pub in the village has been newly taken over and turned into quite a nice 'gastro pub' so there are now more options for meals if you need them, Chinese, Fish & Chips, Italian etc. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Louiseok 1 review from this member

 I visited this site last weekend for 2nights with my partner and 3 children and I can say it was very relaxing lovely family place. On arrival was greeted with a friendly welcome.

The site was very clean there was no rubbish ect on camp ground, the toilet and shower block where nice and clean, seemed well maintained, the washroom for dishes was also kept clean, washer and dryer room had 1 washer and 1 dryer but was a great value to use.

Seeing the ducks wandering around the site was such a joy and seem to make the holiday as not something you would normally see.

The stream was lovely to watch even so its just little. The play park could do with been slightly bigger due to the amount of family's that visit as it is a very small play park.

The local little town was well equipped for every need, didn't visit the pub but it looked very friendly and in the local town.

Our family drove to berwick on the Saturday for a few hours out, overall a lovely and quiet family site, could just add one more time for the owners the park could really do with been made slightly bigger 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Argentum66 8 reviews from this member

 Lovely site which is well looked after by welcoming owners. Pleasantly situated with stream running through site, ducks & sheep.

Play area for smaller children. Plenty of space for pitching. Showers/toilets/wash up areas cleaned regularly & free.

Site was quiet due to poor weather & only criticism is that the facilities would get busy if the site was near full, though this was not experienced.

Wooler only a 10 min walk away for provisions, pubs/cafes, food etc.

This is our 2nd visit & already plan to go back. Lots to do in the area. 


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TracieT 2 reviews from this member

 We arrived on this campsite on a very very wet day. There was no covered reception and I was left to write my check in the heavy rain. We were shown to the pitch by the owner.

When we arrived we were very disappointed with the pitch and considered returning home, but after a 3 and a half hour trip with 3 children we decided to persevere. Unfortunately, the pitch was small, muddy and had poor drainage. We were unsure whether our large tent would fit, but we did manage. The bushes at the side of the pitch do need trimming. We were very concerned about the muddiness of the pitch, however, the owner suggested that we would be okay with a groundsheet. Unfortunately [with hindsight] we would have needed a footprint. We had a problem with the tent leaking from the groundsheet and we were unable to step in one part of the tent as it was so muddy underneath.

We managed to pitch the tent, but due to an abundance of stones, we bent the majority of the pegs that we had [which now need replacing].

After reviewing a number of other pitches, we feel that ours was very poor. There was no enquiry as to the size of our tent, although there were many other larger pitch sizes available with electric hook ups that would have been suitable.

During the five nights that we stayed we found that the path outside the toilets/shower block became flooded and if you did not have wellies you needed to jump over the path. The floor in the toilet/shower block was also very slippery.

There is a laundry room with washer and dryer. However, freezer blocks need to be taken to the house to be frozen - at a cost of 30p per block. Wherever else we have camped they have either been free or by donation to a local charity.

The showers were next to the [constantly] open door. Shower cubicles were small and there was a persistent draft. Very little hanging space for dry clothes.

Play areas for the children were old, and in dire need of updating.

No information is given at the time of arrival. At all other campsites we have been provided with information about local amenities, campsite details etc. However, we were given no details about quiet times, where to freeze ice blocks, gas refills etc. On our first night we had to ask our neighbours to be quiet after 1pm and were told that they were 'just talking'. A well communicated curfew may help to overcome this problem.

Wooler, is a lovely town with lots of pubs and restaurants. You will need to book if you want to got to Milan - the Italian restaurant.

This is one of the cheaper sites that we have stayed in, however, we do feel that value for money was poor. We would have liked an improved pitch and would have paid more per night for this.

In hindsight we should have rejected the pitch we were given. However, as we arrived in pouring rain after a long journey we were vulnerable and just wanted to get get pitched so we could relax. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JadeG 2 reviews from this member

 We have just stayed for 3 nights (2 adults, 5 year old and 3 year old) and really enjoyed our time there. We were in a tent, the owner was pleasant and we didn't need to leave a deposit just fired a quick e-mail and he said see you then! It was also only 16 a night which is cheaper than others we have stayed at and we were able to go off and choose our own pitch.

We were in the sort of overflow field up on the top of a hill on the very edge of the Cheviots. This had the advantages that we had plenty of space and fantastic views, the downside being a bit exposed to the wind and further than usual from the toilet block - having said that it was still only a few minutes walk so having more space suited us.

The toilet block itself was relatively small, only 3 showers for each sex on a very large site. Having said that, I never had to wait for them. It was a push button but lasted quite a while and was free, I would have had it a bit hotter but guess it's good at that controlled temperature for the kids. There were also laundry facilities, a few sinks for washing up and a room with a pay phone and leaflets about attractions in the area which was handy. The fact that it had a pay phone may point out that the facilities are by no means new, however they were clean enough.

The playground consisted of a spiral slide and 2 swings, I did see some other swings also. In the overflow field, as I said there was plenty of space so ball games could be played there.

Another attraction for some was the stream. It was quite wide and shallow and there were a few points where you could get down the bank to have a closer look at the wildlife. I personally would recommend children being supervised with things like that there but it was frightening to me the number of young children running around on their own which meant you had to be very very careful when driving around the site. There were children spring across the road from hidden bends etc.

There were also ducks and ducklings waddling around the site which also causes interest but was disappointed to see some children chasing them around with nets etc.

The village of Wooler which was a 10 minute walk away from where we were on the site was also very nice. There were a few different pubs we would have liked to try for food but the only place we did go was the Indian Restaurant which was very nice with friendly staff.

Overall we had a great time, there is a lot to do in the area which is why we went there. Less than half an hour from Bamburgh Castle and Seahouses. Could have stayed longer. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Cumbria_traveller 6 reviews from this member

 Nice location, short easy walk to town centre. We parked at top of large field with great views as the main field was fully booked.

It can seem a long way from the far sides of this field to the main part of the site where the toilet block is located, especially as the field had no water stand pipes and every time I went to the showers in the morning there was a queue - 3 showers for women for a site this size seems inadequate.

However, we were glad of the distance from the first field when we saw the bouncy castle complete with generator that some inconsiderate campers had brought with them! The facilities were clean and there was plenty of hot water. Showers free. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheFalconers 2 reviews from this member

 A last minute booking but not disappointed. Lovely site with a few secluded pitches which we were lucky enough to have the choice of (if you arrive early) WC/Showers clean, laundry with dryer & iron came in very handy, dish washing/veg prep area clean

Small burn for the kids to explore, play park which was sufficient (could be extended) Visits by ice cream van (don't know how often) The ducks, with chicks in tow, wandered the site were friendly enough to try and get in tent, and chicks let kids pick them up, lots fed to ducks rather than ate by kids! Friendly horses in next field. Facilities in Wooler great (walkable in under 10 minutes with 2 kids in tow) especially Italian, shops, butcher, cafe, pubs which also do good food. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Eggsandbacon 7 reviews from this member

 A really nice caravan / campsite that has a good 'campsite' feel rather than a holiday park persona - I'm sure you know what I mean. Warden really friendly. We parked in a cosy little pitch overlooking the nearby brook (or 'burn' as it's called here) which was a bit tight, but there was plenty of help and advice on which way to turn the steering wheel on our motorhome! W.C. Block OK.

No shop etc but the village of Wooler is only 10 mins walk along the road. Local area of Northumberland is beautiful - nearby Bamburgh castle and beach is stunning, if a little chilly at the end of summer. Loads of pubs in Wooler considering its size. If you like BBQ's there are two local butchers who sell the most brilliant stuff - home made burgers,local beef steaks and fantastic sausage and bacon for that traditional campsite breakfast fry up! 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Schnauzer Camper 10 reviews from this member

 We had been to this campsite earlier this year in May and were frankly very pleased with it - so we decided to return again.

In my opinion the best pitch (ehu) is in the dip near the stream as you enter the site. Enough room for about four decent sized tents there.

The site management is good. They do tend to leave you well alone but are on hand at the entrance should you need. Facilities are very good for out of school holiday time, but might suspect that it gets a tad busy in the toilet/showers when site is full.

The town of Wooler has all the shops needed for most (Co-op) chemists, butchers etc. Mobile broadband is available (signal wise) at dial-up speeds on site.

Only slightly spoilt by some selfish male camper who insisted every night on breaching site rules and 'yorping' until 1am. You know the sort, endless tinnies going and the droning dull but loud annoying voices. Luckily we had our headphones to hand (watching dvd's) to drown out the noise. Perhaps the owners might consider chucking people off site who spoil it for others. Having said that, its the luck of the draw, and these selfish types always turn up when least expected or wanted!

Good site. Recommend it. Plenty to do in the area. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mickncaz 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a 5 day break here. Pitch was lovely, plenty of room and situated right next to the little stream.

Nice little park for children.

Toilet block was nice, clean and warm with free showers. There is also a small laundrette on site which came in handy.

We had a couple of trips out to Seahouses and bamburgh which were only a half hour drive away.

Wooler it self was lovely, quite a few pubs and a lovely little bakery at the bottom of the street where I can recommend the chocolate cake.

Overall this was a really pleasant site and we will return next season. 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 41 to 50      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highburn House Country Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wooler      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1125 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement