Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highburn House Country Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Wooler > Highburn House Country Holiday Park Reviews

Highburn House Country Holiday Park
Highburn House
Burnhouse Road
Wooler
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE71 6EE
Tel: 01668 281344
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: March -end November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 133 Reviews
                8/10 from 133 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mersh 1 review from this member

 Had a choice of two pitches, not hardstanding as said these were all booked despite us having booked and paid deposit many weeks before. Unfortunately the choice was behind the toilet blocks or right next to the wooden bridge which made a racket every time anyone drove over it.

Site was very busy and the 3 showers and ? 5 toilets could not cope. Waits every morning for shower whatever time you went - even busy at 6.30am! Our pitch was also right behind the rubbish bins and bottle banks - why people needed to use the bottle banks at 6.30am is beyond me (hence the 6.30 visit to the shower block).

Nice stroll in to the town which had plenty to offer the way of food and pubs and shops.

All in all the site itself was pleasant but facilities were not enough for size of site. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Claire1980 3 reviews from this member

 Potential to be an excellent site. Friendly, helpful owners and reasonably priced. 13 per night for non electric pitch with 1 child and a dog (dogs are free which seems very rare on sites these days - quite impressed!). Pitched in a lovely quiet spot at rear of site with lovely views. Electric pitches were fully booked but managed fine without all our gadgets and gizmo's. By Saturday afternoon, the site was absolutely full which did lead to a few let-downs. Our main problem was the facilities - or lack of! The toilet block (ladies was almost constantly out of loo roll, which as you ladies know, is far from nice and very annoying. They smelt very bad (my five year old even complained every time we had to 'pay a visit'. They had no soap dispensers whatsoever so had to take our own each visit. 3 showers which were free and although good temperature, there were big ques and were dirty. There was a mop but as there was no bucket to rinse it in and no cleaning fluids etc, you were basicly just pushing round filthy water! :-( I would deffinately say that there needs to be more toilets/showers for a site of this size at full capacity and they need cleaning and re-stocking more frequently. Despite the poor toilet blocks though, we made the most of our visit and enjoyed our stay. A nice site with a nice feel and within walking distance into Wooler which has a decent amount of shops, pubs etc. We would like to return at a quieter time of year and hopefully experience cleaner, more well maintained facilities. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Franman79 1 review from this member

 Campsite at first appears to be hilly but has lots of flat pitches and also some secluded pitches, ideal for only 1 to 2 tents. Toilets and showers are well maintained. Clean and spacious with as much free hot water as you need. Good facilities for washing pots and doing laundry. Nice and quite after 11pm often earlier. No shop onsite but only a 10 mintue walk from wooler which has convenience store open late, pubs and restaurant. Dogs are welcome but nowhere obvious to let them off the lead. Overall enjoyed stay and plenty to do in surrounding area and beyond.

Could do with some separate baby changing facilities. Has one slide and 2 swings not suitable for younger children, more play equipment would be good. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LouBriandkids 1 review from this member

 Well we've just arrived back from our first family camping experience and decided to go with here as the reviews were good. We weren't disappointed! We stayed at the back of the tent field and the views were brilliant! My Son (10) made lots of friends and Daughter (5) enjoyed playing with the friendly ducks that seemed to like our tent! It was fairly busy but the noise calmed down from about 10pm. The toilets and shower facilities were nice and clean and always had toilet paper!, plenty of water taps and recycling bins. We chose to go into the Co-op for BBQ essentials as it was such a warm night and relaxed watching the sun set whilst the kids played on the large field! Lovely night and will defo be returning later in the holidays.  


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Terry.Dawson 2 reviews from this member

 This site is really good value at 15 a night for 2 adults + 3 kids and great location to boot.

Wooler town has a few pubs and take-aways and they are a mere 10 minute walk from the site. Some of the pitches are slightly sloping and some with excellent privacy.

We camped in a large field for non-elec tents which was great and fantastic views also. Approximately 5 mins from the facilities and children's play park.

The site has a number of ducks and ducklings patrolling all over, so it's pretty common to find them looking for a few crumbs at your tent door.

A few caravan pitches have serviced water/elec but these look mainly for the long-stay regulars and their are quite a few statics which have been lovenly looked after with a range of garden ornaments and planted with a good range of flora.

Showers and toilet facilities are good, with the water being steady, not too hot and lasting long enough for you to have a comfortable shower and rinse.

Dish wash area, and clothes wash & dry if needed.

We visited Heatherslaw light railway for a trip out, about 10 mile north. The actual train ride from Heatherslaw to Etal village lasted about 20 mins where there was a small ruined castle to visit, we decided for a nice pint outside the thatched pub (Black Bull)then back another 20 mins to Heatherslaw 24 all in, where we had parked the car. Great for kids and childish adults.

Will definitely be returning before end of summer holidays. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robnixon 21 reviews from this member

 Third time I have visited this site. We were pitched in the large field at the back (tents only). This was less that 2 mins walk to the showers / toilets. Slight slope in field, but had a nice pitch with shelter from trees. Ground ideal for pegs. Plenty of water points around the site.

Toilets fine. Clean, plenty hot water. Site wasn't that busy (compared to other local ones which I couldn't get into).

When you arrive, guy asks if you had been before and lets you go where you want. That suits me, but I understand others want a full tour of site.

Surrounding area great. Plenty of walks etc. 5 mins walk into town centre with pleny pubs and other places to eat. There is a co-op for anything you forgotten and a great chip shop.

Small park at the site, which my son really liked. Wasn't too busy.

Small river runs through site, good for older kids and plenty of ducks just wandering about for the younger ones. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: The sih 1 review from this member

 First visit to Wooler and the surrounding area, decided on this site as the other one in Wooler seemed too big and commercial for my family!

Site is a short walk to the centre of Wooler, in a quiet area, away from the road.

Arrived and checked in (gave myself and my brother (in our 20s) worried looks - I think the owner thought we were going to rave - which indicates they are on the ball with troublemakers), and given directions to the tent field. Rest of the site was packed out, but the tent field was quiet at the time of arrival.

Pitched in the middle of the tent field, which is large, but the walk to the facilities was still substantial. One 4/5 toilets and 3 showers in the single block for the site. Showers hot and free but got muddy (as usual with campsites). My main concern is the toilets ran out of loo roll and on more than one occasion smelled. Questionable. Too few facilities for the site I think, and this wasn't 100% capacity.

Site was quiet, would stay there again if they got the facilities situation sorted. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: TheStewarts 1 review from this member

 Our first family camping expedition! We found the camp site owners very friendly and accommodating, leaving us free to decide to stop an extra night if the weather kept nice. Competitive prices. I found the ladies toilets/shower block to be basic, no soap, but they were clean and there was always loo roll and no need to queue. We thought the 'children's park' wasn't up to much for our children (2 and 4 years), but they enjoyed playing with the other children on site and the sheep that came to say hello, so they were very happy. A handy base for us for visiting Alnwick and the sweetie shop in Wooler! All in all a fab first outing and we will definitely be visiting again. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Cancarra 1 review from this member

 Arriving on the Saturday afternoon about 4pm we were greeted by the owners who were very warm and welcoming. We were told where to go and to choose a site.

Following the directions we found ourselves in a large open field. There was a large hill in the middle of the field but this did spilt it up nicely there was plenty of space although some of it on a slope. There are no set pitches which suited me since my tent is the size of a small country!

There was only one toilet block which had 5 toielts and 3 showers for females which meant a short wait in the morning for the shower. The toilets were clean if in need of a little updating.

The site was pleasant and in nice location.

It was a short walk (5min) to a nice selection of pubs in the village. We only stayed 1 night and didn't use any other facilities in the village. The site was rather busy but not over crowded.

I would recommend the site and would certainly go back myself. The only real problem I had was other campers allowing their dogs to foul and not clean up after them. Lack of dog waste bins may account for this but I do take offense at cleaning up after other peoples dogs. I do it enough with my own!  


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Skeg 1 review from this member

 Just been to this site for the first time. Very nice site spoilt by the fact that there is not enough toilets or showers. Apart from that the site is very clean and there was not much noise. Quite a cheap site. The worst thing though is not the sites fault , its midges they were terrible lovely sunny nights but you had to sit in your tent. Every one seamed to get bitten , so take some sort of repellent 


Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highburn House Country Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wooler      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


969 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement