Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highburn House Country Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Wooler > Highburn House Country Holiday Park Reviews

Highburn House Country Holiday Park
Highburn House
Burnhouse Road
Wooler
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE71 6EE
Tel: 01668 281344
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: March -end November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 135 Reviews
                8/10 from 135 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Reviewer: Campingcaz 28 reviews from this member

 July 2005
This is camping at its best. Spacious fields and fantastic views, (especially from furthest tent field). Owners are friendly and leave you to it - no being shown which blade of grass you can pitch on.
Facilities are fine and local town has some great food shops; the town pubs were a bit difficult for family meals, though.
It's in a great location for Cheviots and coast and you'd be mad to miss it!
 


Reviewer: Janet37 1 review from this member

 July 2005
Stayed here for second time site was really busy - vintage motor car rally on nearby, so we were put in the overflow field. The field was nice and flat with plenty of space only downside was further to walk to the toilets which are very clean and showers are hot and free and even though it was busy didn,t have to wait. Childrens play area on main camp field is 3 swings although there is a slide and swings as you enter campsite could do with a bit more on main site , lots of ducks wandering around for kids to feed. the owners are very friendly and helpful. It is only a 10 minute walk into town where there are numerous shops ,pubs,and cafe,s all in all a lovely campsite where you don't feel crowded would definitly return. 


Reviewer: Paullynn 14 reviews from this member

 July 2005
Turned up without a booking and even though there was a Vintage Motorcycle Club Rally on that weekend we managed to get the last hook up tent pitch. The rally meant the site was very busy and a tad crowded. We felt that there were insufficient facilities (4 toilets and 3 showers in each of the mens and womens shower block) for a site this size though they were clean and the showers were free.
Fantastic views and some good walks surrounding the site and as other reviewers have stated Wooler is only a short walk away for shops and socialising, hic! Would recommend this site to others and we will be returning. 


Reviewer: Seavixen 1 review from this member

 March 2005
We went to Highburn Easter 2005 the year it hailed on easter sunday, The owners were great the site was roomy and friendy we had 2 quite large tents and we pitched no hassle, the ground was firm, even in the wet, The toilet blocks were clean and spacious and the laundry room was a great boon, sleeping bags are nicer warm and dry when its raining and cold. We are planning a trip back as soon as we can,

Great place Great people and a Great lil town beside it all. 


Reviewer: Morag MacDoodle 20 reviews from this member

 April 2005
Take city kids. Let them see what rural life is like. William, 7, loved seeing a quad bike chasing sheep in the field next door while Lewis, 5, wouldn't stop talking about the "army man" (a local gamekeeper with a gun!)he saw go into the local Co-op.
The site? It's not the S-Class of camp sites but it is certainly not the Robin Reliant. Think Vectra or Mondeo... you'll be comfortable!
I take my opinion of a site from the memories. For us it was a cracking BBQ, seeing the kids make new friends and not having to walk too far to get washed and shaved in the morning. Yeah, there was no hot water coming out the taps but the showers were hot... hey, you're camping, right? 

Advertisement

Reviewer: CHEEKYMONKEY 9 reviews from this member

 May 2005
I've stayed at this campsite twice in the past year. Once on a trip to Northumberland, where we stayed for two nights, and once as a stop off on the way up to Scotland. The facilities are great, lots of clean toilets and showers. Clean washing up area. Lots of hot water. Even when busy it isn't crowded. Family friendly. Not noisy in the evenings. Centre of village is only five minutes away, with shop (open til late) cafes and pubs. Lovely views to the nearby Cheviots. We've found it an excellent base for exploring Northumberland from. Get your tent pegged out well though because it blows a lot (but then where in Northumberland isn't it windy?) Owners are very friendly and even gave us a spot when we arrived, un-booked, on a bank holiday weekend! Ta very much! 


Reviewer: Redclanger 1 review from this member

 August 2004
Having visited Highburn House during one of the wettest summers for years I am only too happy to recommend this site to anybody. It is everything. it is quite big for thsoe who like bigger sites but it is also very quiet for those (who like me) like smaller quiet sites. The weather was at times dreadful but the site (unlike my tent) stood up to the worst of it due to the stones (which did make pegging a bit difficult but not impossible if you wiggle them around a bit) which allowed the water to drain away. The toilet facilities were fantastic and kept clean and stocked with paper. The showers were always warm (at a temparature that would suit everyone including children) and the welcome was excellent. Despite the weather, I, and my family, had one the best holidays in years. This is due to the campsite, the people (at the campsite, at Wooler and Northumberland in general) and the coutryside and coast.  


Reviewer: Rozz 1 review from this member

 August 2004
GREAT!!!!!!!!
This site is ideal.Our first camping trip as a family. Me my husband Ian and the three kids Kerry Christopher and Darren.We went August Bank Holiday weekend till the Tuesday.
The site is nice and big.
The shower and toilet block was always clean and the showers always hot.This also goes for the mens block.
The washing up and preperation room was always clean and the water always hot.
The facilities were brilliant.
The people were friendly on the site and in the village which has everything you need.
We hadn't been there two minutes and the kids had made friends.We hardly saw them after that .Thats the good thing the kids can go and play and you dont have to be watching them every five minutes.Which means it makes it more of a break for mams and dads. If your going camping for the first time go to Highburn House and you'll soon be hooked I know we are and we can't wait to go back. 


Reviewer: Hazelnut 1 review from this member

 August 2004
Just had a week here in the most awful weather. The site was well looked after with the toilet block being cleaned regularly. At 10.50 a night we thought it was reasonably priced. There is so much to see and do around Wooler we will be going back in hopefully better weather. 


Reviewer: Nai Stteb 3 reviews from this member

 18/19/20 July 2004
Although pitches aren't totally flat we have been on worse, toilets/showers etc are well looked after and clean. Although no shop on site, Wooler is only 5 mins walk away with all amenities there. There is plenty of room in the field for kids to play in although the park is only four swings and a slide, The scenic views from the site are excellant.
For 10 a night and a quiet site to boot this is really good value, will go again. There are some excellant days out Ford/Etal with miniature train ride only 1/2hr away, and the fabulous Ingram Valley with the shallow river, great for the kids, and thats not counting the obvious ones like Holy Island, Seahouses, Bamburgh Castle etc 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highburn House Country Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wooler      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1348 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement