Home

   Log in or Register


Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Visitor Reviews - Highburn House Country Holiday Park

  Campsite and Caravan Park Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Site Reviews

Highburn House Country Holiday Park
Highburn House
Burnhouse Road
Wooler
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE71 6EE
Tel: 01668 281344
Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast        Visit their website    

Special Offer available to UKCampsite.co.uk visitors - see here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: March -end November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 131 Reviews
                8/10 from 131 Reviews


Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Club Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   Bathroom 
 Baby Changing Facilities   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   Recycling Facilities 
 Kitchen Facilities   Freezer Available   Motorhome Point   Fully Serviced Pitches 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   TV Room   Games Room   Evening Entertainment 
 Fishing <1 mile   Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   Watersports   Boat Launch / Mooring 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  Dog Walk 

Reviews:  131 in total, now showing 1 to 10                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Darkness258 6 reviews from this member

What a great site, turned up was escorted to our pitch by the owner, helped to get our van on and level, couldn't do enough for us what a welcome.

Had a problem with the van electrics, he turned up again with some connectors and crimping pliers.

Had a great week on site, clean toilet and shower block, didn't use the laundry facilities however they looked clean too, ducks wandering weren't a problem, they even bought ducklings around site,

Wonderful quiet site, the owners even visited all areas during the day seeing if there were any problems,

Great site

Great time had

Great owners

Would definitely recommend this site,

Date of Visit: July 2018 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Mrs badcrumble 7 reviews from this member

Pleasant enough site for our needs. Toilets were well used during the day with lots of grass tracked in, but most people were considerate and mopped the shower after use, however a squeegee type mop with no bucket isnít really up to the job, youíre just rearranging the grass. Sinks and loos otherwise were cleaned and stocked regularly. Bit disconcerting though to be stood at the sink in my jammies for my morning wash with mums whose lads I thought were more than old enough to use the gents with their dads. No cubicles for washing so little privacy. We loved the rabbits, ducks and ducklings, but if you feed the latter expect them to waddle over at speed when itís your dinner time. No views from our pitch, but not an issue. We had a thunderstorm and heavy rain but everywhere drained well due to the stoney ground, which reminds me, bring your rock pegs. Reception sell standard pegs and we found a collection of used ones under the hedge that looked like paperclips.

We arrived the weekend of Wooler festival and not everyone observed the quiet rule from 10. 30 that night, lots of loud chat in the early hours but subsequent nights were fine. Wooler is handy for your daily needs, and has two butchers with fab local meats and a deli with local cheeses too. Fry Fry takeaway served massive portions, artery clogging cheesy chips! The area is just beautiful, we did a boat trip to the Farne Islands with Serenity, Bamburgh Castle with its outstanding beach is a must. Cragside is fascinating, if youíre not an NT member itís worth joining as youíll get most of the fee back With the saving on admission. Weíll definitely visit Northumberland again, but would like to be a bit nearer the sea.

Date of Visit: June 2018 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Jackie18 10 reviews from this member

Not impressed with this campsite.

When we arrived our pitch was not vacated by the last occupant (who had gone out). We were told by the manager/owner that the customer was a regular and it was not usually a problem for them stay over! He offered us another pitch which we accepted and started to set up only to be told sorry you canít have this pitch because it was booked with the next-door pitch by friends wishing to pitch up together. After much thought we were offered a couple of other pitches under trees which we refused. So, it was decided that we would go into the village to have lunch and they would ring us when our pitch came free. This problem is down to bad management of the site. We did get an apology but it really didnít feel enough since we lost at least 3 hours of our day and the cost of lunch!

The village is a short walk from the site. We can definitely recommend the Milan Italian restaurant, great food, friendly and value for money. There are several other places to eat from cafes, pubs and take outs.

The site itself was poor, it was not well manicured, the toilet block was not cleaned to a high standard and when I took a shower it flooded the block! For the whole of our stay the ladies toilet block floor was wet and the showers (3 total) were always dirty looking with mud/grass.

Caravans are pitch too close together and although its pleasant to see the variety of ducks that wondered the site, they did leave rather a lot of poo around.

Lastly, although this site is advertised has having great views this is not for everyone. Only the ones on the higher ground see the lovely view.

We will not be returning.

Date of Visit: August 2017 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Paulie01 5 reviews from this member

We attended at the site because our usual site did no longer take tents, and boy what a site this was. It was a very quiet and well run site. The views from our tent pitch were brilliant and as for the local wildlife were very friendly as well. We were well surrounded by ducks at all times (they seemed to know when all meal times were held). Both the showers and toilets were very clean, as well as the washing up area were well used and kept very clean as well. I went along with my Nephew and we will be back.

Date of Visit: May 2017 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Wulster 17 reviews from this member

Stayed here for a couple of nights during middle of May. A decent site, with a new reception building under construction, but in the interim, go to the house as you enter to get checked in. Quite a spacious area for tourers, with some hard standing and the rest on grass. Hard standing all looked pretty flat. Toilet block was a bit dated, but more than adequate. As this site is just at the edge of the town, it is really easy to find and only takes five minutes to walk up to the main street. Plenty of shops and pubs / restaurants / cafes. Wooler is a lovely little town. From the site, you can walk up to the top of Humbleton Hill, then back into town through Wooler Common. A bit of a hike up, but worth it. There will be plenty of other walks in this area, so if staying longer that would be good. The site has a number of ducks that wander about, looking for some extra feeding. They leave a bit of poo about, but it is interesting to see them go around. This is a good base if you intend to tour around the area.

Date of Visit: September 2016 Unit:  Motorhome Rating:
Reviewer: Chestnuts 22 reviews from this member

Good campsite, lovely walk up Humbleton hill beautiful views. Another lovely walk was round Wooler Common. Campsite started getting very busy on the Friday but as we were leaving on the Saturday didn't really bother us. Short walk into Wooler nice little town.

Date of Visit: May 2016 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Kelliemarie 2 reviews from this member

Highburn House is our new favourite place to set up camp, we stayed for two nights here and thoroughly enjoyed our stay.

Where do I start. I met the lady who owns the site on arrival, she was lovely, she sent her husband out to show us the different spots we could set up our tent, we decided to pitch between two rows of bushes, making it really peaceful and private, the water tap and electric point were literally behind our tent so that was ideal. The toilet and shower facilities were immaculate and kept on top of all day, they were less than a minutes walk from where we were as well.

There is a park for the kids and a huge field beyond some trees which was a great place to have a kick about, play cricket, frisbee and let the dog have a good run around too, this field is easy to access through a little gate. And to to top it off the ducks and rabbits that freely roam the site were really sweet, my boys thought they were fab. All in all a fab weekend was had by all, we will definitely be returning in the future, and at £20 per night it's nothing to grumble about. We were made to feel very welcome and are very happy campers.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: The Dalys 6 reviews from this member

A lovely laid-back site with fantastic views of the Northumberland countryside.

The owners were very helpful and approachable, and let us choose our own pitch. We pitched in the far field which was quieter and had the better views though that meant a bit of a walk to the toilet block.

The facilities were clean and had everything we needed.

Wooler is just a few minutes walk and has most things you would need, we can recommend the fish and chips shop. There is a lot to see in the local area, Bamburgh Castle, sandy beaches and Lindisfarne are all just short drive.

All in all a lovely site and a great place to visit even in the wet and windy weather that we experienced.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Traveluvva 3 reviews from this member

Just come back from a week at this site and found the location was one of the best we've ever stayed at. As others have mentioned shops, pubs, cafes etc all within 10 minute walk. Also, next to the site is a walk up the hill to the remains of a stone-age fort for those fit enough! Within easy driving distance are a lot of Northumberland's attractions like Lindisfarne, Alwick etc. Although a bigger site than we normally go to it doesn't feel too big. Could do with a couple more showers/toilets but would definitely recommend this site.

Date of Visit: August 2015 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Bstokegirl 7 reviews from this member

This was our second trip to this site, and I wasn't disappointed. It has stunning views - especially from the tent field. The toilets and showers do the job and were clean. There is a great new play area and a stream on site and loads of space on the field to run about in. Wooler is pretty and well supplied with food shops and places to eat. We had some fab fish and chips and tried the tapas too. The owners were helpful and pleasant.

Previous     131 Reviews in total, now showing 1 to 10      Next

Share  Google Plus  Email Link  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook

Write a Site Review to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!
in £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...
Win a Broadlands 5A Inflatable Tent Bundle worth over £885 Win an OLPRO Shade Campervan Canopy worth £119

Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet The VolksWorld Show 23rd to 24th March, Surrey
A must attend event if you are interested in all types of VW Campers. ...more

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2235 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019