Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highburn House Country Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Wooler > Highburn House Country Holiday Park Reviews

Highburn House Country Holiday Park
Highburn House
Burnhouse Road
Wooler
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE71 6EE
Tel: 01668 281344
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: March -end November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 135 Reviews
                8/10 from 135 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  135 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Our toilets are Closed. Our showers are Closed. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Louisechloe 22 reviews from this member

 This is a lovely clean site the owners very nice, they showed us to our pitch on arrival, we had a hard standing pitch with electric, had a bit trouble putting the awning pegs in as the ground underneath was hard core, the only downside was the kids park it consisted of 2 swings in the touring section and a swing and nice slide in the static section, which was not enough for our 3 kids but they still had fun in the 2 nights we stayed as the weather was fantastic and there was a lovely stream running through the park which the kids liked.

The toilet block was clean but could do with a bit decoration as when I had a shower there was mould on the sealing and the inside of the lights were covered with dead flies and moths, but the showers were free and had plenty of hot water which is what you need.

The site is very closed to Wooler about 10 minutes walk, so very handy if you have forgotten anything and has plenty of shops and pubs.

We will return to this site it is one of our favourites. 


Date of Visit: October 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Weardalelad 1 review from this member

 Quite a nice site, staff helpful and friendly. Shower block not bad but very cold, maybe at the time of year a small form of heat would be advantageous, though loads of hot water. One or two uncouthed yobs on the site at the time, though the owner did say he was dealing with it. Well maintained grass areas with lots of (duck droppings) it cant fail to grow lol, they all add to the charm of the site. All in all its a good site and a fair price, Wooler is a quiet village with good pubs and cracking value bar meals. 


Date of Visit: September 2007 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Megolodon 17 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 2 nights. Had a lovely little pitch which was very private. Very quiet site and friendly staff.

Loads of baby ducks which are VERY friendly - beware of feeding them or you will have squatters!

I would recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Susan2097 2 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this site, stayed over Bank Holiday weekend and it was very busy. There seems to be an overflow to the overflow field. Great site and good value at £13 night. Toilets and showers very busy due to Bank Holiday crowds. Stayed here a few weeks ago and there were no queues. Managed to get a flat spot in the overflow field which backs onto another field with sheep and loads of rabbits.  Kids, two boys 9 and 7 love it here and had a great time playing by the river which is near the entrance to the park. Quite a way from the overflow field if your children are younger. 10mins walk into town with a few bars, co-op for your essentials and can recommend the Milan restaurant which gets very busy so sometimes best to book.  All in all a great site if you don't want a club house and can make your own entertainment.  Would recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: August 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Jolly_camper 34 reviews from this member

 This site is ideal for those who want to get back to caravanning (or tenting) as it used to be, good value at £13 a night and great location.

As the previous reviewers have mentioned, Wooler has a few pubs and take-aways and they are a 10 minute walk from the site. Most pitches are slightly sloping with a large field for non-elec tents in a separate area.

The site has a large number of ducks patrolling all over, and it's common to find them under your van or waiting for crumbs at your van door. The downside of this is that they constantly make 'manure' leaving their messages all over the place for you to discover, hopefully not with your bare feet.

For the golfers of you, there is Wooler 9-hole course, which is located in Doddington (not quite near Wooler). Offers a hilltop location with fantastic views.

A few caravan pitches have serviced water/elec but these look mainly for the long-stay regulars. One couple I spoke to had been coming here for 6 years, and still seemed to like it. We'd go back there as well, even if the showers are a little crowded at peak times (the auto shut-off seems to take 5 minutes for some reason when only 1, 2 or 3 mins would be OK), it's still a good location.

Some great locations for excursions to Morpeth, Alnwick (Alnwick Castle £9! each) and coastline like Seahouses. Be prepared to wear England t-shirts and tattoos with plenty of gold jewellery and fags to blend in with the crowds in some locations. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bonkers13524 2 reviews from this member

 First time we've stayed at this campsite, and I wold Happily go back. It's a lovely little no-frills site. The toilets were clean (but you might need to take your own loo roll ladies as this regularly ran out!) and showers were lovely and warm- and also free! There is a hair dryer in the toilet block for those who might need one. I think it was 20p, but I didn't use it.  There was plenty enough space- mind you we did choose to camp when the weather was rotten so it might get busier, I don't know. I would recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2007 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rossi617 2 reviews from this member

 This site cost us £13 per night.  It was an excellent site and great value for money.  I would say its in my top 10 and we've caravanned for years both at home and abroad.
 
The owner of the site even parked my caravan for me as I couldn't manage it.
 
The facilities are clean and very spacious.  There is a room full of leaflets on things to do and a lovely laundry.  If I could give a little constructive feedback - some soap dispensers in the toilets would be great.
 
Wooler itself has everything you'd need for a good holiday. Although the housing estate is of the usual grey dreary scottish variety, there are some very pleasing buildings. 
 
To eat and drink, there are 3/4 pubs as well as cafes and a lovely ice cream shop.  There is a chippy and a chinese.
 
The surrounding countryside is stunningly beautiful.  I'd recommend a walk around Wooller Common.  The people of Wooller are very friendly. Northumberland at its best.
 
One tip - the owner doesn't like to book in groups of friends (why? we're all 40+) so book separately. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SimonDevlin 5 reviews from this member

 What a great site!  Great facilities etc - spotlessly clean.  The site comprises a couple of fields, one of which has hook-up; all of which are slightly sloping, but nothing to worry about.  The hook-ups are sighted with the statics and a 2nd field is just for tents.  Plenty of room for kids/dogs to run around.
 
The site is about 2 minutes from the local village which has a number of pubs, hotels and restaurants all providing food.
 
This is a good base for Alnwick Gardens/Castle; the gardens are fantastic and definitely worth a visit - didn't visit the castle, so can't advise.  Holy Island isn't too far, either (interesting place, but not a lot there, to be honest). 


Date of Visit: August 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: LynneMc 5 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site twice. The first time it was wonderful, it is a beautiful site with excellent facilities. The loos were spotless and pitches good. It was fairly quiet but sociable and the owners were very helpful. The second visit was August Bank holiday and you could end up two or three fields away from the loos! The ground in the far field is not so good- we bent lots of pegs! It is great that they manage to accommodate everyone but personally I hated it. I got up to go to the loo late at night and got lost! It was just too big with too many people. Queues for toilets were huge, there was no loo roll or soap and no chance of a shower. I would happily go to this site at quieter times 


Date of Visit: June 2006 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Greeny 2 reviews from this member

 We visited this site during a week of glorious hot weather. Just on the outskirts of Wooler, it is very picturesque and is surrounded by trees. There are two fields, one being raised and offering fantastic views of the surrounding hills. The toilet/washroom facilities were clean and modern offering a laundry room and small tourist room with brochures of the local area. The ground was rather hard but this could, in part, be attributed to the lack of rain over preceding weeks. A pleasant, well kept site ideal for a short weekend break. 


Previous     135 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highburn House Country Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wooler      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Beat at Tencreek 60s Weekend 09/10 to 11/10
A three day concert dedicated to the sounds of the Swinging Sixties set in Looe in Cornwall. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


2252 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement