Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Highburn House Country Holiday Park

Campsite Search > UK > England > North East > Northumberland > Wooler > Highburn House Country Holiday Park Reviews

Highburn House Country Holiday Park
Highburn House
Burnhouse Road
Wooler
Northumberland   (Browse area)
NE71 6EE
Tel: 01668 281344
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 70
Open: March -end November

Rating: Average Review Score: 8/10 from 133 Reviews
                8/10 from 133 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   No Glamping Units 
 No Statics for Hire   Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   Rallies Welcome   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   Laundry On Site   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 Kids Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <1 mile   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <5 miles   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <10 miles   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport <1 mile  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  133 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

Our site is open and we are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence

For peace of mind of our customers and staff, we have decided to restrict our communal areas. Please contact us for full details of what facilities are available.

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mked 2 reviews from this member

 I use this site regularly as it is not too far from where we live.

I do not use the site facilities so I cannot comment on them. However, the views are beautiful, the staff friendly, the site very handy for the village (pubs and shops) and the ducks on site are delightful as long as you're careful what you tread into the caravan!

If it wasn't so good, I wouldn't keep going back. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Brendanr2004 552 reviews from this member

 Spent a weekend here and its a great site. Owners are relaxed and let you find your own pitch, prices are good and the location is ideal. The facilities were clean and tidy and the showers lovely and hot.

The town of Wooler is a five minute walk away. It has a range of shops, cafes, pubs and restaurants. Long and short distance walking trails pass through the town. We did a bit of the hill-forts trail, which was great, but you can also go to the top of the Cheviot from the site if you fancy a big day out!

A great site; will definitely return. 


Date of Visit: May 2007 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Daisytent 14 reviews from this member

 A nice site with lovely views. Busy with the sort of noise that brings. Very modern facilities, but not cleaned well when we were there. There was dirt on a couple of mirrors and toilets that remained throughout our stay. The choice of tiles for the toilet block floors was unwise-they were about as slippy as you could hope to find!

A few useful local shops close by in Wooler.

Lovely area-Alnwick gardens are a must see :) 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Andylong 4 reviews from this member

 Spent 6 nights on one of the electric pitches and overall it was a great stay. The site is very tidy and picturesque and the owners very friendly and helpful. The ducks on site were the highlight for my 1-year old!
Wooler is a short walk/drive (if you are lazy) and you will find a decent Coop that has most of your basics. The site is perfectly situated for getting around Northumberland with everything 'about 20 miles away'.

The only gripe I had is that there could be more showers, although I never had to wait long and they could be cleaner - definitely a 'wear your crocs in the shower' site.

This was our first visit to Northumberland and we will definitely return next year and stay at Highburn House. The prices are excellent - we paid 17pn for 2 adults, 3 kids with electric.

No hesitation in recommending the site. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: KennyE 3 reviews from this member

 Very Good location wooler town centre 5 mins walk locals are quite friendly. Plenty of pubs red lion is ace for food and drink. Campsite facilities clean and plenty of hot water for showers/washing. I will be back!. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Rose+mick 1 review from this member

 This was our second visit to this campsite the shower rooms and laundry facilities were clean .

We love this site it is a very friendly site with great views,great wildlife and the resident ducks are great.

A very friendly welcome when we arrived by both Robert and his wife.

There is some children's playing parks dotted around the site.

This site is only a five minute walk from local shops and pubs so no need for a car once your there and the coop is open until 10pm every night!.

This site is a family orientated site and is very quiet on an evening.DOGS are welcomed as long as you keep them on a lead and CLEAN UP AFTER THEM.

This is a very clean site and will recommend to ALL. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Grimesyr63 3 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit to Highburn and we arrived on Sat lunchtime the owner was friendly and helpful and showed us a choice of pitches both with EHU. The site is split into 3 sections with static caravans as you come through the gates with a small park for the kids before you travel accross a little wooden brdige to the touring caravan and camping EHU field with a further field behind this for non EHU. The pitches are level and well used please note the reviews mentioning stony ground are correct we took hard ground pegs and you will need some.

This is our 4/5th year to Northumberland so we know Wooler quite well and we chose this site as we have 8 & 2 yr old boys and this is the quieter of the 2 sites in Wooler and better for it in our opinion so there is not much noise on an evening and none after 11 pm.

The facilities we found to be very good free showers with plenty of hot water. They could have been cleaner on occasion but this was more down to other guests not taking the trouble to clean up with the mop provided after showering. This was compounded by the weather not being great, the bbq summer meant the 5 nights we were there it rained every day ! There is a laundrette and washing up room and chemical loo disposal point. Please also note the site although looks sheltered is fairly exposed and the wind was strong and blustery most days Take your storm pegs as well! The midges were a factor we found our citronella candles (when we got back!) The views are spectacular and its perfectly placed for exploring the area 30 mins to Bamburgh/Seahouses etc. My kids loved the freedom and my 8 yr old met some great friends we recommend you take wellies for the older kids as there is a shallow stream that the kids seemed to congregate in! Our youngest loved the ducks who instinctively know what time Breakfast Lunch and Dinner are served and meander round each pitch looking for their next free meal. They are not shy and will happily invite themselves into your awning ! Overall a nice site with lots of open spaces and stunning views and at 16 pounds per nite with EHU reasonable to boot. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Amandajane_x 7 reviews from this member

 We stayed here for two nights earlier this year, it was a tad chilly but the weather stayed dry. The site was rather quiet when we arrived and after we took some time to find the owner we quickly got settled. The campsite was quiet with a few caravans which looked like they were there permanently and we were directed to a pitch next to the EHU points which were dotted around the field. After we arrived some more people with tents and they were dotted around in different places like us. Our pitch was directly next to the block of facilities which included - pot wash room, male and female toilets and showers, a room with laundry facilities and a room with public telephone and tourist information bits and pieces - a really nice touch for strangers to the area. The toilets and showers got a little bit cold on a early morning and the floor in the shower area got absolutely soaking wet which was fun when trying to get dry and put your clothes back on.

The campsite was fairly quiet but our toddler had to bypass the park as there was always much older children playing around and about it - but she particularly loved feeding the resident ducks waddling around and crossing the little bridge over the stream. The village of Wooler was just a short walk away and the shops and pubs can supply you with pretty much anything you should need whilst camping. Further afield in a local housing estate there's a lovely children's play park where we spent a lot of time with our daughter. There are pubs serving food, a sandwich bar and a pizza come chip shop which can serve any need for fast food.

We really enjoyed our stay at High burn house and we will be back. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: 88trucker 7 reviews from this member

 The site has amazing views, plenty of space for non EHU's and good access to walks.

The toilet blocks and showers were cleaned regularly. Had access to power points which was useful for charging devices. There was also good washing facilities eg washing machine, dryer and ironing board. A good information point, Chemical waste disposal and three washing up sinks.

The playground was a bit small and would benefit from upgrading.

There were no facilities on the site hwever shops, pubs and restaurants were very close by - a ten minute walk into Wooler. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Denise406 2 reviews from this member

 First ever camping visit for me, my husband and twin boys. We choose this site as it was close enough to home if things went wrong but didn't need to be concerned at all.

Overall excellent site owner was very polite giving us directions as to where to pitch our tent but left the choice up to us, we managed to get that bit wrong and ended up in the wrong field nobody seemed to mind and we had a good spot, some areas are on a slope but nothing major.

The showers and toilets were clean but no soap to wash your hands and only 3 showers in ladies and when you consider that most mums take there children to shower there was a bit of a wait. A nice area to wash up was provided but again only 3 sinks so you had to time it right if you didn't want to hang around.

The boys loved the little park area and made friends upon arriving.They had plenty of space to play around the site with bats and balls and loved the ducks wandering round.

Shops not far away only 10min walk slight hill to walk up but nice little town.

The views from the site are great. Very cheap only 14 a night would pay that for the view.

MIDGES all over repellent a must.

Would definitely go back and would recommend it is worth a visit. 


Previous     133 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park child friendly?  YES, it accepts children & has a playground  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Highburn House Country Holiday Park?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Highburn House Country Holiday Park dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Wooler      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Northumberland

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Paws in the Park Kent 19/09 to 20/09
Fun and games for you and your dog. Weekend Camping Available ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1415 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement