Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Rynys Farm Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Conwy > Betws Y Coed > Rynys Farm Camping Site Reviews

Rynys Farm Camping Site
Llanrwst
Betws Y Coed
Conwy   (Browse area)
LL26 0RU
Tel: 01690 710218
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 163 Reviews
                9/10 from 163 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  163 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: FriendOfOwls 6 reviews from this member

Idyllic weekend here in June. Welcomed by Carol, who was always available for help and advice, both about the site and the surrounding area (and wildlife!). Loved the layout of the site, very varied, so lots of different pitching possibilities and aspects. Views of Snowdonia to die for! Lovely walks in a very ancient, untouched landscape.

Toilets very clean and nicely kept. Didn't use showers or washing facilities, so can't comment, but other campers we spoke to were very satisfied.

The site was reasonably busy, lots of happy children and dogs, but there was no untoward, avoidable noise thanks to site policy. Slight noise from the distant A5 when someone (motorbikes were the worst!) sped along it in the middle of the night, but no real problem.

Lovely site for birdwatching and photography. We were so happy with the location that we didn't stray from the site except to check out the cafe across the road from the farm track (about a ten-minute, leisurely walk). That looked very useful for snacks and tea or coffee, especially in bad weather.

Betws-y-Coed is just up the road, a nice little town, but we've been there many times, so didn't go this time.

But the walks and restful atmosphere at Rynys were just too good to waste, and we mostly stayed around the farm. This is a good, happy, family site. No frills, but a fabulous location, welcoming owners and excellent basic facilities. Exceptionally good value for money!

Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan Rating:
Reviewer: Duncka 1 review from this member

Stayed for 2 nights. Site more suitable for tents than tourers however we were accommodated with the owner Carol being very helpful with the emphasis on 'relax'. Toilet block was adequate and very clean. We did find the water pressure very low especially the drinking water tap when filling water barrel. Dryer facilities, microwave, freezer packs available. We were unlucky with a wet weekend but the view from the site more than made up for it.
Only one downside and that was midges descending on us for about one hour each evening. Pub within walking distance (albeit a busy road)which served an excellent meal but we had to wait a long time for it (may have been a one off). We would definitely return to this site.

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Anfield26 1 review from this member

Just got back from a three day stay at this wonderful camp site. We arrived on the tuesday afternoon to be greeted by Carol the owner and was shown to our pitch with a beautiful view in the distance, Carol is so helpful and always on hand if you should require her
Showers as stated are on 10p and 30p gets you a decent shower, toilets always clean, two washing up sinks, waste disposal unit and electric hook ups, ground is rocky in places so beware. This is a little gem of a place.

Date of Visit: March 2008 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Lethal_relic 1 review from this member

Superb! This was my first camping trip and it was so much fun. I went with my boyfriend in the university Easter holidays for 4 nights and we couldn't have asked for a better campsite. Admittedly we did drive past the sign and turning but after the little detour we were greeted with a smile from Carol.
It wasn't busy at all so Carol showed us the best place to pitch our tent. The views were incredible! The weather did its best to challenge us as it snowed the whole journey down and whilst we pitched the tent, but it only added to the scenery.
The facilities were more than adequate with toilets, showers and a pool table as an added bonus! The walks are really good from the campsite with a variety of waterfalls, ruins and panoramic views. Just watch out for disappearing footpaths into fields with no escape! We ended up hurdling quiet a few barb wire fences to get back from one of our walks!

All in all a brilliant place to go camping. Just watch out for the campsite dog! He managed to unzip tent, then eat our sausages :( and lick the butter lol!

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Yates69 5 reviews from this member

So we have just returned home and I've been chompimg at the bit to tell you all what a wonderful site this is.

Firstly we had been delayed so much so that we arrived about 9pm, I did ring Carol first to check this would be ok, which we were told to relax and not rush getting there. Carol showed us a spot to pitch up as it was dark by then, saying that the view would cheer us up in the morning. She was right, Amazing view down the valley.

Carol was so helpful which gave a real homely feel to the site.

The site it's self is clean, spacious with recycling bins along with normal rubbish bins on site.

My son made friends with others there and was off playing, climbing trees and generally having lots of fun, we could keep an eye on him without having to move from the tent.

The facilities as written before are spot on, just feel some hand wash is needed in toilets though, as I did keep having to remember to take mine with me.

I did have a shower which was nice and hot, on a 10p meter system, I only needed 30p for my shower.

I noticed there is a 'Spin' & Dry' room which has clothes drying facilities plus a microwave too.

The Dish washing room has spare drainers and wash bowls to use.

There's the conwy cafe just at the turn off for the site which does a great breakfast or lunch, staff there are very friendly.

The Farm sells it's own eggs which are lovely.

This is is a great base to visit snowdonia, there is a tree tops rope walk and a mountain bike thing near by, plus of course Bewtws Y Coed it's self.

We are rebooking to go again in May.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carol + Dave 7 reviews from this member

Just returned from a fab 4 night Easter break. The site lived up to all of it's reviews - it was clean, the owners were friendly and helpful, the scenery was wonderful and the facilities were spotless. The one minor gripe that we had was that there was no hand soap in the toilets but fortunately we had hand gel with us. There was loads of space and given that it was the Easter weekend, we didn't seem cramped. The children on the site seemed to enjoy exploring and climbing rocks and trees and the lambs in the shed were a massive hit with our 4 year old boy. We wanted to walk to the Silver Fountain but didn't because we were a bit dubious about the fact that there was no pavement on that part of the A5 and we had our little boy with us. You can only get to it off the main road as well so there are no safer routes to it. The Conwy cafe sells really good food. They open at 8.30am and do a nice selection of interesting sandwiches and breakfast food and it is all cooked fresh so don't go there if you are in a rush. It is not licenced at the moment and they do not open evenings but they do have plans to do so. We had a brilliant weekend and will be returning.

Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Tim roberts 3 reviews from this member

Just returned from a very pleasant stay at this working hill farm in the heart of Snowdon. Carol & Gareth made us very welcome. The facilities are very clean and well maintained. There are a lot of rules which aren't a problem unless you feel the need to break them. The local area is ideal for walking, Just down the A5 there is the Silver Fountain pub - the food makes up for the lack of real ale. Just of the road is a nice path that takes you down to Bewts-y-coed through the woods. We will return to the site very soon.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrs scott 5 reviews from this member

Great lovely campsite. Cant praise it enough and carol who runs it. Lovely surroundings not to far to walk to nearest town, and lovely country side walk, in nice weather to a pub back of beyond. Carol was so friendly and helpful with us, and our caravan, road up to it a bit steep but she offered help all the way. And out.
Will come again but maybe with a tent, the games room was ideal for the kids what with the weather being so bad . It had microwave toaster kettle hairdryer for the tents, and toilets basic but very clean.
Quiet site and she put people right if they were noisy ,which was lovely as don't like rowdy noisy sites.

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SL90 1 review from this member

This campsite really is a hidden gem. In a nutshell I would have no hesitation in recommending it and if we are ever in the area again we wouldn't stay anywhere else (having checked out several other sites in the area just out of curiosity to see if they lived up to their websites!) Its peaceful, quiet, has stunning views and good facilities. We arrived at the tail end of weeks of pouring rain and although the site was boggy, the owner knew exactly the best spot for a dry pitch, and reassured us about being able to drive onto the field without getting stuck !

The campsite is up a farm road about 600m from the main road and being higher up has stunning views over the hills. It has two levels, we stayed in the lower field, but the upper field must have even better views ! There is no traffic noise from the main road, though you can hear the distant thundering of the waterfall beyond the road, which is very relaxing.
In the stable block there is a drying room, with two dryers, a spin dryer, toaster and microwave. Next to that there is the wash up room, with 2 sinks and a big upright freezer with 6 drawers for ice packs and any frozen foods you might have. The owners invite you to use their ice packs (loads available) whilst you are freezing your own.So you can keep a supply going on a rota basis. Great !
On the walls are all the menus from local pubs and restaurants, great for planning where to eat. There is a pub, The Silver Fountain, about 10-15 mins walk. It says Free House, but actually only sells John Smiths. But if you like Guinness, cider or lager.Then presumably no worries ! We ate there. The food was average pub grub, fine for when you don't want to cook, but the service was very slow! Perhaps we caught them on a bad night.It was busy. But be forewarned if you are starving !
Also in the wash up room is a rack with all the tourist board leaflets about local activities. There is also a map of Snowdon, with suggested routes for walkers, advising about the best routes to take and where to park etc. We never had to queue to wash dishes, whatever the time. Next to this are the two toilet / shower rooms. They were spotless 24/7 in spite of all the mud and rain (which I am still puzzled about : Not a blade of grass or footprint on the floor. Ever !)
There are two toilets and two showers each in the male / female. In the 4 days we were there I never had to wait for a toilet or shower once, whatever time we got up . Showers take 10p coins. Two will get you a fine shower, 3 a long soak. You don't have to worry about change as the owners keep an 'honesty bank' on the farmhouse windowsill where you swap your change for 10p's. At the end of the stable block is a little recreation room with a pool table (20p's) and a couple of shelves of paperbacks to borrow / exchange.
Our son (8) loved to meet up with his new found mates to play in there when it was wet, but mostly he just loved the freedom of being a kid outdoors in a safe place, free to roam with no restrictions.
There were horses to greet, sheep to watch, owls to listen to, a stream to play in, space to ride his bike or play football without encroaching on anybody's tent or personal space. Its a real family campsite, everybody watches out for everyone else's kids, and you can just relax and let them get on with it, knowing they are having a whale of a time and can come to no harm. There was absolutely NO noise at night.
Plenty people had barbecues and 'mini parties' with families and friends till about 9.30 (so its not a stuffy place), but everyone was in their tents by 10pm, and most lights were out by 11. Loved it, and would certainly go back.

Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mgsmart 2 reviews from this member

We have visited this site three times between May and July 2008, and absolutely love the site and the surrounding areas.

The toilet/shower blocks are spotlessly clean and well maintained, together with the washing-up facilities.

Carol is very friendly and helpful, but will not tolerate noise after 11pm

This is one of only a few sites in the area that accept well-behaved dogs.

There is a lovely walk from the site, into Betws-y-Coed along the river, and once in the village there are pubs, restaurants, one spar shop and lots of outdoor shops.

The site is a good base if you want to walk in the Snowdonia mountains.

We will be back next year.

Previous     163 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Betws Y Coed      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Conwy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


13356 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Christmas Giveaway


Advent Calendar

A new prize every day til Christmas PLUS a grand Christmas Day Star Prize

Click to Play!