Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Reviews of Rynys Farm Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Conwy > Betws Y Coed > Rynys Farm Camping Site Reviews

Rynys Farm Camping Site
Llanrwst
Betws Y Coed
Conwy   (Browse area)
LL26 0RU
Tel: 01690 710218
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: Open All Year

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 163 Reviews
                9/10 from 163 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome   Motorbikers Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  163 in total, now showing 71 to 80                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Amh61 5 reviews from this member

A very attractive site, with beautiful views across Snowdonia. Carol was very friendly and welcoming, pointed out suitable pitches and even arranged an appointment for me at the local GP when we couldn't get mobile phone reception.

The site is lovely, no marked pitches but plenty of level spaces in sloping fields, with picnic tables and EHU sites dotted around the place. No noise except birds and sheep. We were a bit worried about sheep noise early in the morning, but they all get rounded up and taken off somewhere else for the night so no problem! No music allowed and dogs must be kept on leads.

There's a spin drier, tumble drier and hair driers available for a small cost and a freezer for ice blocks. Lots of leaflets and local information, including tips on the best routes for climbing Snowdon.

Only one drinking water tap, up by the loo block, and only two showers in the ladies, which might be a problem when the site is full. I always think it's a bit of a cheek to charge for showers, especially as this isn't the cheapest site.

One shower had a stool, but neither had a shelf for clothes, only a couple of hooks. But my only real gripes are minor. I wish they'd provide a couple of handwash dispensers in the washblock, as it's a pain to have to remember to take soap every time you visit the loo, and providing cheap, thin loo paper is a false economy, as you just end up using twice as much.

One warning. If you're trying to get here using satnav, heed the advice on their website and use the Conwy Falls postcode, not the actual farm one. Otherwise you'll have an interesting detour and may get stuck!

Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan Rating:
Reviewer: Mags51 5 reviews from this member

One of the most attractive sites we've ever used.Lovely surroundings and views and the pitches are not regimented but blend into the landscape.

Very quiet except for birdsong and bleating sheep.Basic but very clean washroom facilities.

Carol and Gareth were friendly and helpful and thoughtfully provide the loan of items such as a BBQ and washing up bowls, also good display of info about local shops and Snowdon routes.

Not surprisingly there were several returning campers who stay there regularly.

Nice walks from campsite to Capel Garmon burial chamber and down to Betws-y Coed.Conwy falls and cafe just down the lane.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Chris/Lynn 13 reviews from this member

A glorious Easter weekend spent in fantastic Wales - we're not sure whether to let the secret of Rynys Farm out to the public. This is the second time we've been to this site, and will return again - we just love it.

Carol, the site owner is brilliant and makes you feel immediately at home. Last time we were here, she even kept an eye on our tent for us in the gales while we were out! The site has lots of space and is never filled up - preferring to keep the facilities available and generous pitches rather than cramming tents in for profit.

We requested and were reserved a space in the top field with EHU and fantastic views across to the Snowdon range and down into the Gwydyr forest, though remember to pack your rock pegs - we forgot ours - as the ground is hard below the grassy surface.

The facilities are spotless, and there is an additional toilet block in th top field, which although basic is also spotless and very convenient; the only time I saw a queue was when there was a group of about 20 Duke of Edinburgh teenagers in, who were endlessly polite, and no problems at all.

There isn't much for kids on the site - a pool room and lots of space to run about, but then it's in the heart of the Welsh mountains, so if you're like us, you won't be at home much anyway preferring to play in the hills instead!

The nearest pub is the Silver Fountain, just down the road - food is apparently good, but the choice of beer may not appeal as there is no hand pulled real ale available. We preferred to pop into Betws (2 miles down the road) and frequent the Stables Bar which offers good value food in generous portions and a range of real ale to wash it all down.

A first rate site in our opinion offering excellent value for money (66 for 2 adults & 2 children for 3 nights with electric over a Bank Holiday weekend). Carol doesn't ask for payment upfront, just settle up when you leave - she is aware that the Welsh weather can curtail holidays with little warning and doesn't believe in you paying for what you haven't had. Also worthy of mention are the eggs available from the farmhouse - you've tasted nothing better!

We'll be back again and again to Rynys Farm. It's just idyllic.

Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Charliebubbles 5 reviews from this member

We knew nothing about this site apart from what we read on their web site, and booked on the strength of that.

We had trouble finding the site at first because our sat nav led us the wrong way, but once we got back on the A5 it was easy to find.

The site itself is quite large and on the days we stayed (Royal Wedding weekend)it got very busy, and is on a slop, however the pitches are level.

There are electric hookups for tents as well as caravans and motorhomes.

A converted barn is divided into 5 areas:-

Pool Room

Ladies Toilet / Showers (two of each)

Gents Toilet / Showers (two of each)

Washing up area with two large sinks. Two freezers for ice packs and plenty of information for the surrounding area and beyond.

Drying room, with spin dryer, tumble dryer and a microwave.

The showers take 10 pence coins and I found 30p was more than enough.

The owners are very friendly and show you to your pitch. They also sell fresh eggs. The bins are emptied on a regular basis.

The site is well maintained and clean.

You have to travel at least 5 miles to the nearest shops, but the owners have kindly made a list of the nearest amenities.

Conway falls is opposite the site entrance.

Although children are welcome to the site there is no playground for them.

I will certainly go back to this site and would recommend it to others.

Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: SolidSi 1 review from this member

This site was a little bit expensive I thought but still worth going to. The lady was very helpful seeing as we had forgotten our mattress pump, but she had a spare one which we would could use and she also gave us a jump start before we left seeing as my car battery was dead. The showers cost 10p for 2 minutes worth of hot water which was a bit annoying because the meter you put your money in was outside the door in the toilets and you cannot put anything other than a 10 pence piece in it so you better hope no one else is in there with you, cost me about 50 pence all together for a decent shower. Dogs cost 50p per night also which I though was quite a fair price. The views though I thought were absolutely stunning. Overall this site is well worth the visit, we will definitely be going back.

Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Nick+brats 6 reviews from this member

Arrived mid afternoon and met by a small smiley lady called Carol (the owner) showed us to places where we could pitch, and appeared a minute later with an extension lead which she set up ready to use. This lady was amazing, forever emptying bins and checking her guests were ok.

First the views, fantastic, best I've ever seen, pitches, mostly flat and totally regimented. The toilets and showers were clean and perfectly suitable.I asked what time we should vacate our pitch when leaving, when your ready, came the reply.

If you holiday in North Wales, stay here for a day or two, and be enchanted.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Staceybennett3 1 review from this member

This is a fantastic site with breath taking views and a convenient location. Carol and Gareth the owners are brilliant, they are friendly and laid back asking that you pay the night before you leave and leaving change for the showers by the front door.

The pot washing room has lots of local restaurant menus pinned up, leaflets for local attractions and helpful tips for hiking around the local landscape. For example, there are maps of the walks up Snowdon and they have typed up their preferred route with information about parking, climb duration and sights.

There is a room with washer and dryer, timed plug sockets for hair dryers, styling irons etc and microwave. Showers are cheap at 10p for two minutes and the showers and toilets are kept spotless and have a quaintness about them.

If you are planning a trip to Betws-y-Coed, climbing Snowdon or nipping to North Wales generally I strongly recommend Carol and Gareth's site, you will not regret it and like me and my partner, you will be planning your next visit before you have completed your first!

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Tanyad 1 review from this member

Lovely site with fabulous views. We had a choice of places to pitch and there was plenty of room even though it was the middle of the summer holidays. Bathroom facilities while not luxurious were always clean. I wouldn't recommend trying to take a shower with a toddler, next time I think I will stick her in a washing up bowl!

Loads of places to go in every direction and the use of a freezer for cool blocks and a microwave and toaster came in very handy. Not a noisy site despite the woman in the next tent bawling at her kids all the time (even when they needed the loo at 1am!) Can't choose your neighbours when your camping!

Carol was lovely and came and checked on everyone after we had a torrential thunder storm early one morning. Great trip.

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Adastra 1 review from this member

This was our second visit to this campsite this year and we will definitely be going back again, we have also recommended to our friends. The site is so Quiet and views are fantastic, the toilet block/dishwashing area/drying room was always clean and tidy, the fact that it's a converted barn really adds to the charm of the place and Carole the owner is lovely. We liked the fact that she doesn't allow any music at all and no noise after 11pm, although there is'nt a kids play area as such the kids on the site kept them selves amused. Its nice that in such a lovely area we found a campsite that takes dogs and has a walk from the campsite that you can use for them. This site is ideal for energetic walker planning to do Snowdon and also the more relaxed pace keepers who just want to tour around, we found that from the site we really didn't have more than an hour to travel to reach anything.

Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent Rating:
Reviewer: Sid Boggle 1969 5 reviews from this member

Cracking site and good value at 12.50 for the wife and I and our dog. We only stayed for one night but will return to camp next time if we are in the area. A friendly lady named Carol gave us all the info we needed and left us alone to pitch the tent, but told us not to rush out the next morning because the site was quiet. The facilities are good and very clean and not too far away from the tent area. Betws-Y-Coed is a beautiful area to go for a day or a longer break and the site is only 5 minutes away from the town centre which has numerous shops and also a train station if any backpackers decide to come here by public transport. You are very central for Snowdonia or even the North Wales coastal area. If you want peace, tranquillity and a view to die for come here! We will return again sometime soon.

Previous     163 Reviews in total, now showing 71 to 80      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Write a Site Review to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!
in 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Other Sites Near Betws Y Coed      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Conwy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions   see all...





Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet Manchester Caravan & Motorhome Show 16/01 to 19/01, Event City
Over 200 exhibitors with all the new 2020 models and biggest ever selection of accessories. Plus win tickets! ...more

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


13069 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2019


UKCampsite.co.uk
Advent Calendar
Christmas Giveaway


Advent Calendar

A new prize every day til Christmas PLUS a grand Christmas Day Star Prize

Click to Play!