Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rynys Farm Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Conwy > Betws Y Coed > Rynys Farm Camping Site Reviews

Rynys Farm Camping Site
Llanrwst
Betws Y Coed
Conwy   (Browse area)
LL26 0RU
Tel: 01690 710218
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 04/07/2020 to 15/10/2020
           01/03/2021 to 15/10/2021

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 171 Reviews
                9/10 from 171 Reviews

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Glamping Units 
 Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches   No Caravan Storage 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant <1 mile   No Wifi Access 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Not Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  171 in total, now showing 81 to 90                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Coronavirus Update

We are taking bookings , please be assured you can book with confidence. Our toilets are Open. Our showers are Open. Other communal areas may be restricted - please check with us for more information

To enquire about a booking or for more information please contact us


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Chris/Lynn 13 reviews from this member

 A glorious Easter weekend spent in fantastic Wales - we're not sure whether to let the secret of Rynys Farm out to the public. This is the second time we've been to this site, and will return again - we just love it.

Carol, the site owner is brilliant and makes you feel immediately at home. Last time we were here, she even kept an eye on our tent for us in the gales while we were out! The site has lots of space and is never filled up - preferring to keep the facilities available and generous pitches rather than cramming tents in for profit.

We requested and were reserved a space in the top field with EHU and fantastic views across to the Snowdon range and down into the Gwydyr forest, though remember to pack your rock pegs - we forgot ours - as the ground is hard below the grassy surface.

The facilities are spotless, and there is an additional toilet block in th top field, which although basic is also spotless and very convenient; the only time I saw a queue was when there was a group of about 20 Duke of Edinburgh teenagers in, who were endlessly polite, and no problems at all.

There isn't much for kids on the site - a pool room and lots of space to run about, but then it's in the heart of the Welsh mountains, so if you're like us, you won't be at home much anyway preferring to play in the hills instead!

The nearest pub is the Silver Fountain, just down the road - food is apparently good, but the choice of beer may not appeal as there is no hand pulled real ale available. We preferred to pop into Betws (2 miles down the road) and frequent the Stables Bar which offers good value food in generous portions and a range of real ale to wash it all down.

A first rate site in our opinion offering excellent value for money (66 for 2 adults & 2 children for 3 nights with electric over a Bank Holiday weekend). Carol doesn't ask for payment upfront, just settle up when you leave - she is aware that the Welsh weather can curtail holidays with little warning and doesn't believe in you paying for what you haven't had. Also worthy of mention are the eggs available from the farmhouse - you've tasted nothing better!

We'll be back again and again to Rynys Farm. It's just idyllic. 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Charliebubbles 5 reviews from this member

 We knew nothing about this site apart from what we read on their web site, and booked on the strength of that.

We had trouble finding the site at first because our sat nav led us the wrong way, but once we got back on the A5 it was easy to find.

The site itself is quite large and on the days we stayed (Royal Wedding weekend)it got very busy, and is on a slop, however the pitches are level.

There are electric hookups for tents as well as caravans and motorhomes.

A converted barn is divided into 5 areas:-

Pool Room

Ladies Toilet / Showers (two of each)

Gents Toilet / Showers (two of each)

Washing up area with two large sinks. Two freezers for ice packs and plenty of information for the surrounding area and beyond.

Drying room, with spin dryer, tumble dryer and a microwave.

The showers take 10 pence coins and I found 30p was more than enough.

The owners are very friendly and show you to your pitch. They also sell fresh eggs. The bins are emptied on a regular basis.

The site is well maintained and clean.

You have to travel at least 5 miles to the nearest shops, but the owners have kindly made a list of the nearest amenities.

Conway falls is opposite the site entrance.

Although children are welcome to the site there is no playground for them.

I will certainly go back to this site and would recommend it to others. 


Date of Visit: February 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SolidSi 1 review from this member

 This site was a little bit expensive I thought but still worth going to. The lady was very helpful seeing as we had forgotten our mattress pump, but she had a spare one which we would could use and she also gave us a jump start before we left seeing as my car battery was dead. The showers cost 10p for 2 minutes worth of hot water which was a bit annoying because the meter you put your money in was outside the door in the toilets and you cannot put anything other than a 10 pence piece in it so you better hope no one else is in there with you, cost me about 50 pence all together for a decent shower. Dogs cost 50p per night also which I though was quite a fair price. The views though I thought were absolutely stunning. Overall this site is well worth the visit, we will definitely be going back. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nick+brats 6 reviews from this member

 Arrived mid afternoon and met by a small smiley lady called Carol (the owner) showed us to places where we could pitch, and appeared a minute later with an extension lead which she set up ready to use. This lady was amazing, forever emptying bins and checking her guests were ok.

First the views, fantastic, best I've ever seen, pitches, mostly flat and totally regimented. The toilets and showers were clean and perfectly suitable.I asked what time we should vacate our pitch when leaving, when your ready, came the reply.

If you holiday in North Wales, stay here for a day or two, and be enchanted. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Staceybennett3 1 review from this member

 This is a fantastic site with breath taking views and a convenient location. Carol and Gareth the owners are brilliant, they are friendly and laid back asking that you pay the night before you leave and leaving change for the showers by the front door.

The pot washing room has lots of local restaurant menus pinned up, leaflets for local attractions and helpful tips for hiking around the local landscape. For example, there are maps of the walks up Snowdon and they have typed up their preferred route with information about parking, climb duration and sights.

There is a room with washer and dryer, timed plug sockets for hair dryers, styling irons etc and microwave. Showers are cheap at 10p for two minutes and the showers and toilets are kept spotless and have a quaintness about them.

If you are planning a trip to Betws-y-Coed, climbing Snowdon or nipping to North Wales generally I strongly recommend Carol and Gareth's site, you will not regret it and like me and my partner, you will be planning your next visit before you have completed your first! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tanyad 1 review from this member

 Lovely site with fabulous views. We had a choice of places to pitch and there was plenty of room even though it was the middle of the summer holidays. Bathroom facilities while not luxurious were always clean. I wouldn't recommend trying to take a shower with a toddler, next time I think I will stick her in a washing up bowl!

Loads of places to go in every direction and the use of a freezer for cool blocks and a microwave and toaster came in very handy. Not a noisy site despite the woman in the next tent bawling at her kids all the time (even when they needed the loo at 1am!) Can't choose your neighbours when your camping!

Carol was lovely and came and checked on everyone after we had a torrential thunder storm early one morning. Great trip. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adastra 1 review from this member

 This was our second visit to this campsite this year and we will definitely be going back again, we have also recommended to our friends. The site is so Quiet and views are fantastic, the toilet block/dishwashing area/drying room was always clean and tidy, the fact that it's a converted barn really adds to the charm of the place and Carole the owner is lovely. We liked the fact that she doesn't allow any music at all and no noise after 11pm, although there is'nt a kids play area as such the kids on the site kept them selves amused. Its nice that in such a lovely area we found a campsite that takes dogs and has a walk from the campsite that you can use for them. This site is ideal for energetic walker planning to do Snowdon and also the more relaxed pace keepers who just want to tour around, we found that from the site we really didn't have more than an hour to travel to reach anything. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sid Boggle 1969 5 reviews from this member

 Cracking site and good value at 12.50 for the wife and I and our dog. We only stayed for one night but will return to camp next time if we are in the area. A friendly lady named Carol gave us all the info we needed and left us alone to pitch the tent, but told us not to rush out the next morning because the site was quiet. The facilities are good and very clean and not too far away from the tent area. Betws-Y-Coed is a beautiful area to go for a day or a longer break and the site is only 5 minutes away from the town centre which has numerous shops and also a train station if any backpackers decide to come here by public transport. You are very central for Snowdonia or even the North Wales coastal area. If you want peace, tranquillity and a view to die for come here! We will return again sometime soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Alahol2 22 reviews from this member

 A gorgeous site in a gorgeous position. The views are terrific and, although only a half mile off the A5, you could be in the middle of nowhere. The pitches are very well spaced, (although you can pitch several tents together if you want) large and small, and definitely not 'regimented'. I wondered if we'd need rock pegs, being on a mountain side, but normal pegs are fine. The wind can blow across the site so make sure you have some decent pegs. After extraordinary rainfall there were a few spongy patches but the owner knew all about them and offered pitches that were dry.

The facilities, although 'rustic', are fine and, while we were there, never crowded. Carol, the owner, is all that a site owner should be, cheery and helpful. The whole site is run with a laid back feeling, 10p pieces and free-range eggs left on the reception windowsill etc. Having turned up without notice, we were told we could stay as long as we wished, just pay when you are ready to leave.

The walk into Betws-Y-Coed is enjoyable and, of course, there are dozens of walks in the surrounding area. The cafe at the bottom of the hill has sofas to lounge on and there are computers with free internet access to get the weather forecast. If you need outdoor clothing or equipment, Betws-Y-Coed has the biggest concentration of outdoor shops I've ever seen. The chippy and cafes aren't bad either. If (when) we return to Snowdonia this will be our campsite of choice. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Zero9877 2 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a 10 day stay at Carol's gem of a campsite, we loved it.

Facilities at the site are more than adequate and the surrounding area is ideal with a feeling of being remote yet within reach of towns and villages for supplies.

The owner Carol could not be more friendly and we were surprised to hear not to pay at the beginning of our stay and see how things go with the weather! What a refreshing change, this is the sort of thing that will keep me going back time after time.

My six year old enjoyed himself thoroughly and was able to go off and play with other children around the stream, trees etc without the usual need for constant supervision I feel is required on other sites I have visited.

We ventured off on many local walks, some from the site and the scenery is just stunning.

Our experience of the local pubs/restaurants was good and would highly recommend The Conwy Falls at the weekend for their stone baked pizza and relaxed friendly service, but who needs to go out to eat when you can BBQ in such glorious surroundings.

All in all a wonderful camping experience and we didn't even have the weather, will be going back without doubt. 


Previous     171 Reviews in total, now showing 81 to 90      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Rynys Farm Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rynys Farm Camping Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Rynys Farm Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Betws Y Coed      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Conwy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...





Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


1945 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews

Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2020


Advertisement


Advertisement