Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Rynys Farm Camping Site

Campsite Search > UK > Wales > Conwy > Betws Y Coed > Rynys Farm Camping Site > Reviews

Rynys Farm Camping Site
Llanrwst
Betws Y Coed
Conwy   (Browse area)
LL26 0RU
Tel: 01690 710218
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

This site has an availability calendar. You can check for availability here
 Featured Site

Pitches: 40
Open: 01/03/2022 to 15/10/2022
           

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 198 Reviews
                9/10 from 198 Reviews


Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Photos (6)

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   No Hardstandings   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 No Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   No Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   No Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   No Wifi Access 
 Shop <5 miles   Bar <5 miles   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 No Fishing   No Wild Swimming   No Indoor Pool   No Outdoor Pool 
 No Horse Riding   No Cycle Hire   No Golf   No Tennis 
 No Beach   No Watersports   No Boat Launch 
Other Features
 No Sea Views   Not Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport   No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  198 in total, now showing 141 to 150                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Carol + Dave 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a fab 4 night Easter break. The site lived up to all of it's reviews - it was clean, the owners were friendly and helpful, the scenery was wonderful and the facilities were spotless. The one minor gripe that we had was that there was no hand soap in the toilets but fortunately we had hand gel with us. There was loads of space and given that it was the Easter weekend, we didn't seem cramped. The children on the site seemed to enjoy exploring and climbing rocks and trees and the lambs in the shed were a massive hit with our 4 year old boy. We wanted to walk to the Silver Fountain but didn't because we were a bit dubious about the fact that there was no pavement on that part of the A5 and we had our little boy with us. You can only get to it off the main road as well so there are no safer routes to it. The Conwy cafe sells really good food. They open at 8.30am and do a nice selection of interesting sandwiches and breakfast food and it is all cooked fresh so don't go there if you are in a rush. It is not licenced at the moment and they do not open evenings but they do have plans to do so. We had a brilliant weekend and will be returning. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Tim roberts 3 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a very pleasant stay at this working hill farm in the heart of Snowdon. Carol & Gareth made us very welcome. The facilities are very clean and well maintained. There are a lot of rules which aren't a problem unless you feel the need to break them. The local area is ideal for walking, Just down the A5 there is the Silver Fountain pub - the food makes up for the lack of real ale. Just of the road is a nice path that takes you down to Bewts-y-coed through the woods. We will return to the site very soon. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mrs scott 5 reviews from this member

 Great lovely campsite. Cant praise it enough and carol who runs it. Lovely surroundings not to far to walk to nearest town, and lovely country side walk, in nice weather to a pub back of beyond. Carol was so friendly and helpful with us, and our caravan, road up to it a bit steep but she offered help all the way. And out.
Will come again but maybe with a tent, the games room was ideal for the kids what with the weather being so bad . It had microwave toaster kettle hairdryer for the tents, and toilets basic but very clean.
Quiet site and she put people right if they were noisy ,which was lovely as don't like rowdy noisy sites. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: SL90 1 review from this member

 This campsite really is a hidden gem. In a nutshell I would have no hesitation in recommending it and if we are ever in the area again we wouldn't stay anywhere else (having checked out several other sites in the area just out of curiosity to see if they lived up to their websites!) Its peaceful, quiet, has stunning views and good facilities. We arrived at the tail end of weeks of pouring rain and although the site was boggy, the owner knew exactly the best spot for a dry pitch, and reassured us about being able to drive onto the field without getting stuck !

The campsite is up a farm road about 600m from the main road and being higher up has stunning views over the hills. It has two levels, we stayed in the lower field, but the upper field must have even better views ! There is no traffic noise from the main road, though you can hear the distant thundering of the waterfall beyond the road, which is very relaxing.
In the stable block there is a drying room, with two dryers, a spin dryer, toaster and microwave. Next to that there is the wash up room, with 2 sinks and a big upright freezer with 6 drawers for ice packs and any frozen foods you might have. The owners invite you to use their ice packs (loads available) whilst you are freezing your own.So you can keep a supply going on a rota basis. Great !
On the walls are all the menus from local pubs and restaurants, great for planning where to eat. There is a pub, The Silver Fountain, about 10-15 mins walk. It says Free House, but actually only sells John Smiths. But if you like Guinness, cider or lager.Then presumably no worries ! We ate there. The food was average pub grub, fine for when you don't want to cook, but the service was very slow! Perhaps we caught them on a bad night.It was busy. But be forewarned if you are starving !
Also in the wash up room is a rack with all the tourist board leaflets about local activities. There is also a map of Snowdon, with suggested routes for walkers, advising about the best routes to take and where to park etc. We never had to queue to wash dishes, whatever the time. Next to this are the two toilet / shower rooms. They were spotless 24/7 in spite of all the mud and rain (which I am still puzzled about : Not a blade of grass or footprint on the floor. Ever !)
There are two toilets and two showers each in the male / female. In the 4 days we were there I never had to wait for a toilet or shower once, whatever time we got up . Showers take 10p coins. Two will get you a fine shower, 3 a long soak. You don't have to worry about change as the owners keep an 'honesty bank' on the farmhouse windowsill where you swap your change for 10p's. At the end of the stable block is a little recreation room with a pool table (20p's) and a couple of shelves of paperbacks to borrow / exchange.
Our son (8) loved to meet up with his new found mates to play in there when it was wet, but mostly he just loved the freedom of being a kid outdoors in a safe place, free to roam with no restrictions.
There were horses to greet, sheep to watch, owls to listen to, a stream to play in, space to ride his bike or play football without encroaching on anybody's tent or personal space. Its a real family campsite, everybody watches out for everyone else's kids, and you can just relax and let them get on with it, knowing they are having a whale of a time and can come to no harm. There was absolutely NO noise at night.
Plenty people had barbecues and 'mini parties' with families and friends till about 9.30 (so its not a stuffy place), but everyone was in their tents by 10pm, and most lights were out by 11. Loved it, and would certainly go back. 


Date of Visit: May 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mgsmart 2 reviews from this member

 We have visited this site three times between May and July 2008, and absolutely love the site and the surrounding areas.

The toilet/shower blocks are spotlessly clean and well maintained, together with the washing-up facilities.

Carol is very friendly and helpful, but will not tolerate noise after 11pm

This is one of only a few sites in the area that accept well-behaved dogs.

There is a lovely walk from the site, into Betws-y-Coed along the river, and once in the village there are pubs, restaurants, one spar shop and lots of outdoor shops.

The site is a good base if you want to walk in the Snowdonia mountains.

We will be back next year. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JanetX 2 reviews from this member

 Not a long review as there are lots already which pretty much sum up the site. We had a lovely time, despite very heavy rain. Facilities are basic - some minor niggles queuing to wash up as no-one seemed to want to take a bowl of water back to their tent & solve the problem, but that was the campers not the site!

What I would urge future visitors to do is to use the recycling facilities. We were astonished at how often Carol & Gareth were to be seen emptying bins, no matter how heavy the rain. On chatting to Carol, my hubby established they are trying to increase the level of recycling themselves by doing extra sorting - so please be considerate, and they'll have even more time to give you tips on enjoying your stay!

Very good value - mid August and we only paid 12.50 a night, for four of us in quite a big tent, as they wouldn't take payment for children until they can walk! A real bargain for a site so child-friendly. 


Date of Visit: August 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Mauricpage@btinter 4 reviews from this member

 Well just returned from our second trip to this site and have already booked up for our third trip next year, carol is such a great hostess she informed us of places to go that we never saw last year. The showers 10p for 2 minutes although there's only two I never queued once they are always kept clean and tidy as are the toilets.

It rained everyday but that doesn't spoil the view and it was lovely and quiet I have two children so I'm not against kids but it was lovely not hearing kids screaming and shouting everywhere.

A must is the pony trekking 10 minutes away at penmacho it was fantastic my first time on a horse we'll go back time and time again to this site there's so much to do.

A working farm yes but there's not that much noise and hey if you're in Wales there's going to be sheep and their up before us 


Date of Visit: July 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Nanji 2 reviews from this member

 We received a very friendly welcome from Carol when we arrived who showed us a number of pitches to choose from when we arrived and explained where we could find everything we needed onsite. The site had fantastic views and although we suffered through a storm, it was a great spot for hearing the thunder echo around the mountains.

The facilities were good and whilst there were only two showers per gender, I had no problem with queues during the weekdays I was there. We were able to park next to the tent which was very handy and were able to book an extra night at the last minute without any problem.

There was a small pub down the road which was nice for some dessert and a drink and Carol told us of a few places she thought we might enjoy. A good stock of tourist brochures onsite helped us with our plans whilst in the area.

I would definitely recommend this to others and would love to stay there again sometime in the future. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Valka 1 review from this member

 Very nice site, very clean nice toilets and showers. But one point for us was a bit of lack of privacy, a small camper van came and pitched right facing our door to the tent, and another tent pitched with a family of 4 about 4foot at the side of us. So there was no privacy at all. At weekends tents are too close to each other, but through the week there is lots of space. It rained quite heavily a couple of days we were there but the ground remained fine. Car could be driven on and off the field fine we didnt get get stuck. Pegs went in fine, and stayed in. The owners were lovely, always cleaning and emptying bins and very helpful. We will visit this site again but not at weekends, it does get a bit overcrowded. 


Date of Visit: June 2008 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Jolley0812 1 review from this member

 Read the other reviews - so decided to give this site a try over a weekend with the kids ( and to test out the new trailer tent!). We arrived late due to sat nav taking us on a mystery tour.

The owner of the site met us as we arrived and personally guided us to the best spot. There were a few other tents there, but by no means could you call it busy. She let us borrow an extension for the power supply so that we could pitch on the spot looking over the valley.

The showers / toilets are clean and the showers take 10p's that are readily available from the owner - so no problem there!

The owner even came and said hello in the morning to see if we were ok as the the wind overnight was stormy to say the least!

You must remember though, that this is a working farm, so be prepared to be woken by the sheep and the hens in the morning. The sheepdog decided to come into the tent for a warm out of the rain for an hour, which the kids loved!

A fantastic site - were 'pay before you decide to go' seems to be the item of the day. A very honest and trusting campsite! 


Previous     198 Reviews in total, now showing 141 to 150      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Rynys Farm Camping Site child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Rynys Farm Camping Site?  There is a shop within 5 miles  View all facilities

Is Rynys Farm Camping Site dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Betws Y Coed      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in Conwy

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3814 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement