Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hooks House Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Robin Hoods Bay > Hooks House Farm Campsite > Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE
Tel: 01947 880283
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 250 Reviews
                9/10 from 250 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  250 in total, now showing 101 to 110                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: ShedWoman 8 reviews from this member

 We haven't been here for 2 or 3 years, and on visiting last week, all I could think was 'Why not?'

Everything about this site is perfect (except the lack of flat pitches, which is totally outweighed by everything else).

The main things to like about this site are:

* The owners of this site are just simply the best. Jill and her family are there whenever you need them and still manage to be totally unobtrusive. They are kind, friendly and helpful and you always feel that they want you to return.

* When it's full, it's full. The owners have a very healthy respect for their campers' personal space, and you will never feel cramped or invaded.

* The facilities are excellent. Clean, serviceable and I have never yet had to queue for a shower (partly due to the lack of 'pack-em-in' tactics, and partly because there are simply enough there. The toilets are spotless, clean and hygienic and the wash up area is too. There is a freezer for icepacks, a fridge for your commestibles and a microwave for your ready meals!

* The views from the site are spectacular. The view is Robin Hood's Bay, need I say more.

* Peace and quiet! The site asks for quiet after eleven at night, and is rewarded with silence from around ten thirty. I have neverbeen woken up on this site in the middle of the night, but this time some campers did rise at 7, and didn't care that perhaps we didn't want to. However, since we'd been asleep since ten thirty, it didn't really matter.

* The pricing too, has no edge and no hidden agenda. You pay per person. Thats it. They don't ask how big your footprint is, whether you have dogs, a trailer, an extra vehicle, none of that. You pay a flat rate per person and that is that. 8. 50 per adult and 3. 00 per child.

* Although there's no actual playground for kids, they are afforded a huge field to run and play in to their heart's content. They do sleep after that

* If you don't mind a walk down the hill and BACK UP AGAIN (phew) there is a fantastic pint waiting for you at the Bay Hotel, and the fish and chips at the Mariondale are first class!

The bad points. Apart from the sloping pitches, there arent any. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sorenlorensen 7 reviews from this member

 The view from this site is incredible. There is not much better than sitting outside your tent of an evening and gazing at the stunning view!

The owners are really friendly and could not do enough to help (we watched them whenever a new campervan arrived and they helped everyone to get their van level).

The loos and showers were immaculately clean. Even though the site was full, I only had to queue once (and only for a couple of minutes) and I think that was down to poor timing on my part!

When we arrived, there was plenty of space and, even when the owners hung out the 'site full' sign, there was still plenty of space and it was refreshing that they kept it that way rather than packing in more people (even though they could have). We chose a pitch nearer to the top of the field as we thought it had the best view and, although the site is slopey, it isn't a problem (and is why pretty much every pitch has a beautiful view). The site was quiet and really friendly and relaxed.

Robin Hoods Bay is a short walk down the hill and is a cute little town. Bit of a tough push back up the hill with the double-buggy but my other half did that so not a problem for me :)

Can't really rate any of the pubs/restaurants in the area as, with small kids, it is easier to eat in the tent but we did pop down to RHB for fish and chips one night and they were the best we've had in a long time (even if we did have to queue for ages. )

Despite the weather (5 thunderstorms over a couple of days!), we had a fantastic stay here and can't wait to come back. This is a place we'll visit again and again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Pgaskell 1 review from this member

 We have just returned form a five day stay at this campsite. This was our first outing with our caravan and we could not have picked a better location.

On arrival at reception they hooked our caravan onto their 4x4 and took it to the pitch. They also levelled it up for us. The view is outstanding and location superb. We walked down to the village and ate at the Grosvenor Hotel which was good value for money.

The bus stop is outside the gate. We went by bus to Whitby which was a fab day out. The campsite was full but still very quiet. The facilities were immaculate and staff were so helpful.

The only fault was having to queue for the showers but this was only a 10 minute wait and seems really insignificant. I would highly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: MARC1974 6 reviews from this member

 This site has amazing views of Robin Hoods Bay.

The toilet facilities are basic but are always kept clean with hot running water.

The site is on a slope but we requested a flat pitch which the owners reserved for us.

There is a bus stop outside the site where you can get the bus to Whitby. When you get on the bus ask for a day saver or the bus driver will charge you double to get into Whitby.

Avoid the fylindales pub the food is of poor quality.

Robin Hoods bay is a very nice place but is one massive slope. The campsite is 10 mins walk into the bay.

Would stay here again. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Thomasshop 10 reviews from this member

 Just returned from our first visit to this site but certainly wont be our last.

From the second we got there the owners could not have been more helpful - even hooking our caravan up to their own 4x4 in the entrance / reception area and transporting it to out pitch, siting and levelling it within minutes - a massive help on a site which is on rather a steep hill.

The washing, showering and food prep areas were immaculately clean and the owners are always active showing great pride in this great site.

The location and view are suburb and a bus stop is very close to the site to access Whitby and Scarborough with ease if you don't want to take your car.

Robin Hoods Bay is about 750 yards down the main road where pubs, restaurant and general dealers (inc Post Office) can be used although a really nice route can be taken through countryside to get down into the main Bay - this takes approx 10 mins - bringing you out near one of the best fish and chip shops in the country as well as great views and fine ales from the traditional pubs.

All in all this is what caravanning is all about and sites like this just make the whole experience even more enjoyable - first class! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mummyofboys 3 reviews from this member

 We have just returned from our second visit here in as many weeks and are already counting down until we can go again. The site is family-run and the owners are so helpful and welcoming.

As the site does slope a bit they will tow your outfit onto your pitch for you, making sure it is all level and have plenty of levelling blocks too.

As mentioned in previous reviews the toilet and shower blocks are well maintained with plenty of hot water.

The site itself has the most perfect view down to the bay and over to Ravenscar and you really do just find yourself just sat gazing at it for hours. There was plenty of grass area for our boys to play on and we actually welcome the lack of children's playground as it tends to lessen the number of trips to A&E.

Robin Hood's Bay is about as close as you can get to a Cornish village without having to drive eight hours. It is very picturesque, some pretty shops, interesting local museum and lovely hidden away cottages that make you want to move until you realise you wouldn't even be able to afford a shed. The bay is ideal for rock pooling and nearby Ravenscar offers a great scramble down to the beach which is littered with fossils.

We ate out at the Victoria Hotel and can highly recommend it. Children can only go in the Family Room which is lovely and is in keeping with the rest of the hotel. Food is delicious - try the Thai Seafood curry if it's on the special's board.

We had some good weather and headed to Sandsend to body board. Excellent waves and can park on the road that runs along the top of the beach. We went outside of school holidays and there was no lifeguards and there is a strong rip tide so be aware.

There are plenty of campsites in this part of Yorkshire, however, you would be hard-pushed to find one as perfect as Hooks House Farm. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Other
Reviewer: Perelik 1 review from this member

 This is my second visit and would stay again as the views are wonderful. Even thought there are only two showers for men and three toilets, granted they have individual washrooms which are a bonus.

Staff very friendly and helpful. The site was very full but after 10pm all was quite so no rowdy party's.

The Grosvenor hotel does excellent food and on Tuesday nights have good live music and is a has a great atmosphere. Get there early to et a seat, we were late but they found room in the restaurant for use to eat and you had the choice of bar meal or Ala Carte menu. 


Date of Visit: July 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JamesKelly91 3 reviews from this member

 My girlfriend and I stayed at this campsite over the first weekend in July 2011. We rang ahead to confirm that they did not book grass pitches, and was told that as long as we got there fairly early we were pretty much guaranteed a pitch. The lady just asked us not arrive before 9am.

We arrived Friday morning at 9. 30 am and were greeted by friendly staff who were able to answer any questions and informed us of the site rules in a polite manner. Normally, we find the staff to be a bit obnoxious but this site was different - it's as though the staff wanted to be there and genuinely wanted you to have a nice stay.

As we had arrived fairly early we were informed of the rough layout of the site and told to just help ourselves to a pitch. This was no problem as some pitches were already being vacated and there was a large selection already available - as we were informed.

Although the site was on a slope, it did not bother us and the spectacular view over robin hoods bay more than makes up for it.

The usual problem of queuing for the showers happened due to the ratio of people on the site and number of showers. However, there is a separate block of wash rooms which both my girlfriend and I used with no waiting around.

The use of the microwave, kettle, fridge and freezer was a great touch.

The showers, wash rooms and toilets were all very well ventilated and kept very clean. The toilets were exceptionally clean and even had air fresheners in each cubicle which was a great touch too. In the gents toilets there was also a socket for electric shavers.

By tea time on Friday night the campsite was full as people had been arriving all day. The staff were checking for pitches for the later arrivals and showing them to make sure it was okay for them before they were booked in. This once again shows the staff's friendly and kind nature.

Every time we saw a member of staff they wished us 'good morning/evening' and said 'hello' to us.

There isn't much to do at Robin Hoods Bay, however because the weather was so nice it didn't bother us. There are a few pubs with beautiful beer gardens. We spent all afternoon outside The Victoria Hotel, whose beer garden overlooks robin hoods bay giving spectacular views. The food here, however, was a bit pricey and if you go down to the pubs a bit further in land (we love The Grosvenor Hotel) you get meals one or two pound cheaper with more on your plate - much better value.

As stated on the campsites website there are bus stops located either side of the road next to the site which provide regular access to the 93 bus. The 93 bus is a half hourly service which runs from Scarborough to Whitby (and sometimes as far as Middlesbrough) via many villages and Robin Hoods Bay. One village pub definitely worth a trip is the Hare and Hounds in Hawsker.

We travelled into Scarborough, but found it to be getting very run down. We are from Middlesbrough, so have grown up travelling to Scarborough/Whitby for the weekend and much prefer Whitby. Whitby has managed to keep its old-world charm and prettiness whereas Scarborough is much more like Blackpool. We won't be re-visiting Scarborough in a rush!

The site itself is lovely. Because it is essentially one big field, and not blocked off or sectioned, you very easily get talking to other campers which made the holiday for us. It is a 5 - 10 minute walk into Robin Hoods Bay which was lovely and convenient. We were able to walk down to the shop for food and drink and bring them back up to the tent easily.

There is also a separate playing field which meant that children weren't running around bumping into tents, etc.

We paid 8. 00 pppn, which we thought was great value for money. This totalled 32 for the two of us for two nights. Other sites around the Whitby area charge per pitch - not per person - so you can end up paying over 50 for a two night stay, which for us isn't very good value for money.

We will definitely be returning to this site for a 2 to 3 night stay next month. However, we are planning on going midweek so it will hopefully be a bit quieter and more peaceful. This should also mean that we get easy access to the showers. I will write another review when return from our second visit to this site. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: Snafu 10 reviews from this member

 Just got back from a fantastic week at Hooks House Farm. Difficult to add anything which has not already been said. The View? One of the best from any site we have stayed on.

Facilities are always spotless although they are a bit over worked when the site is full and the slope of the field gave us a bit of trouble trying to get our trailer tent level in a way where the sleeping area was horizontal and we could still get the pegs in all around the edge but that's just being picky.

So much to do in the surrounding area, the walk along the old railway to Whitby is a pleasant 6-7 mile trek with no steep climbs. Or a short walk down to Robin Hoods Bay and you can walk the beach (Remember the return to RHB is cut off at High Tide) or just wander around the village and spend your money in one of the many cafes or shops. A few nice pubs in RHB as well.

There is also a Ghost walk once or twice a week around RHB, a nice way to kill an hour or so before grabbing an evening meal. On the subject of food, I can really recommend the Fylingsdale inn in Fylingthorpe, fantastic food and a good selection of ales and if you find yourself in Whitby search out the Magpie, their fish and chips are excellent.

For the less energetic the bus between Whitby and Scarborough stops around 100yds from the site.

The only thing left to comment on are the owners nicer people you could not wish to meet. Always available but never intrusive.

All in all one of the nicest sites we have visited, a definite thumbs up. 


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Julie133 1 review from this member

 Hubby & I have just spent 5 wonderful days at this camp and what a fantastic place. Greeted by very friendly owners who keep the facilities spotless, toilets even have airfreshner, 3 showers for the ladies & 2 for the men, with endless hotwater also separate wash area for families with plugs and baby bath.

Kitchen wash area again spotless, with 2 freezers and a fridge so no problems freezing your icepacks. Plus the use of Microwave and kettle.

Field on a little slope but provide wooden blocks for caravans etc, but with outstanding views of the bay and 10min walk to Robin Hoods Bay/beach which our dog Izzy loved, plenty of cosy pubs which are all dog friendly. Small postoffice 5mins from camp which stocks everything or supermarket 4miles away in Whitby.

Overall this is one of the best sites we have stayed on for cleanliness, breath taking view and only a few miles from the main seaside towns.

Would highly recommend to couples and families.

Will definitely go back for more this year

Just watch to the far left of the field there is an electric fence to keep in the sheep, and our dog got a little surprise the first day but didn't go back for more 


Previous     250 Reviews in total, now showing 101 to 110      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hooks House Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Robin Hoods Bay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3887 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement