Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hooks House Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Robin Hoods Bay > Hooks House Farm Campsite > Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE
Tel: 01947 880283
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 250 Reviews
                9/10 from 250 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  250 in total, now showing 111 to 120                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: June 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bexbex 1 review from this member

 Been using Hooks House since the early 90's and still our favourite site. Owners always friendly and helpful. Facilities clean, plenty of hot water, soap, paper towels. Over the years we have seen the site develop. The view is amazing - the BEST!

Robin Hoods Bay is great. Good pubs, cafes, chippy. Really dog friendly - you can take your dog in most of the pubs and all do good food. The good pub in Fylingthorpe is also in walking distance and a well stocked shop.

On a down side camping has got so popular that you may find the site full and you cannot book for short stays. The area is great too - coast and countryside. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Trailer Tent
Reviewer: TBoothy 1 review from this member

 We spent the Spring bank week at this site.

Although we only wanted to book an EHU for five nights we were asked to commit to 7 nights it being a bank holiday. Seems to be becoming the norm nowadays due to the upsurge in the popularity of camping as they weren't the only site to ask so I won't go on.

Views were just breathtaking rain or shine - we had both, and the location so close to Robin Hoods Bay is fantastic. We just loved not having to take the car, and being able to cycle and walk to the shops.

We went to Thorpe Stores in Fylingdale - friendly and well stocked, open 7 days a week - a short walk down the hill. Yes the site slopes but people coped and was the price of the fantastic view. We were given chocs in case we needed help levelling our trailer tent.

The friendly and relaxed welcome all helped to make our stay one of the best I can recall for some time.

We really felt like we were away from it all, even though an A road ran behind the site, it didn't bother us. Sheep in the next field, and the birdsong from 4.45am in the morning all contributed to my ideal camping experience.

Robin Hoods Bay and Runswick Bay reminded me of some of the little Cornish fishing villages we have visited recently - quaint, unspoilt, intriging. Something for everyone, sand, sea, chocolate box imagery ( no slot machines, or kiss me quick hats here thank god.)

Try the Cliffemount Hotel at the top of Runswick bay. Free parking if you use their bar, and the evening menu looked scrummy even though I didn't eat there.

Generally a picturesque site full of family groups, and serious campers, so the site stayed relatively peaceful and laid back.

I agree with previous reviews that the site gets a lot of wind, everyone pitched facing the bay, to take in the breathtaking view, with the wind blowing offshore, so it didn't really bother us.

Washing and toilet facilities were kept fastidiously & spotlessly clean. ( a nice touch was airfreshener in the ladies and gents loos ) with soap dispensed from the wall. Never ran out of loo roll !

Obviously well cared for, although you need to be prepared to queue as there were only two showers per sex. Individual washrooms were very much appreciated - modern and clean. Kitchen with microwave & kettle, and loads of pot washing both indoor and outdoor.

No clothes washing facilities which was a bit dissappointing especially after having to commit to 7 days, but I asked them to consider at least installing a spin dryer.

No children's playground, although for me this is not essential as the big field in which we were pitched at the top offered plenty of run around & ball game space, and is good for kite flying ( remember the prevailing wind.) Go to a shop called Rainbow Gems in Whitby - across the bridge to the right towards the main pier, up an alley way. Sells fantastic kites for 2 and didn't have a clue how good they were !

Slight moan, even though the dogs on this site were well behaved, I'm not a big fan, & was disappointed that dog walkers chose to exercise their dogs, (and hence a doggy poo stop) in the children's play field. Granted they did pick the stuff up, but all the same the two should not mix.

Overall I would give this site 8/10. ( extra shower, clothes washing facility, and dogs rerouted making it near perfect). I would definitely go back next year. 


Date of Visit: May 2011 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: BiffyBoffy 23 reviews from this member

 We drove over to Robin Hoods Bay on Friday afternoon to ensue we got a good pitch as bookings were only taken for electric pitches and longer stays. We arrived mid afternoon and were greeted very warmly by one of the owners in the reception by the entrance.

The site stayed pretty empty with only the outer pitches being used by caravanners at the top and proper campers at the bottom!

We pitched up at the bottom of the field which had a great view of the bay and the surrounding hills but at the price of being furthest away from the toilet block! Most of the pitches were on a slope so it took a while to get levelish but the owners offered us ramps so are aware.

The toilets / showers were always clean and tidy along with an al fresco washing up area.

Robin Hoods Bay is a short walk down the fields of about 15 minutes where there are plenty of pubs, cafes and the fish and chip shop. Be prepared for the hill on the way back up though!

Please note there are no cash machines in robin hoods bay and that if you need any fuel get it before you set off as the prices sky rocket once your past York

We paid 15 for two adults per night 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paulcher1 2 reviews from this member

 We have Just arrived back from a long weekend break at Hooks farm. Me the Wife, 2 kids and Jet the dog.

Well first the negative point, we wish we could have stayed longer! With that out of the way I would like to say what an awesome view awaits anyone who drives onto this site. The views are absolutely stunning looking out over the bay. To match this the owners cant do enough to help.

At reception we were made to feel most welcome, then they hooked our van to their vehicle and after towing it to the pitch, set the whole thing up for us. Ok the pitch was on a incline and I would have struggled but they sorted the whole thing out without issues.

The facilities were spotless throughout the stay. The Showers and the washing cubicles always had hot water and were kept clean. No kiddies park here but plenty of space to entertain yourselves with outdoor games and stuff.

A 10 minute stroll over a little moor and some wonderful scenery (all down hill) then your in Robin Hoods Bay an absolute gem of a place (just explore you will love it).

There is also a small general store here, little pubs and shops and places to eat. Don't forget the walk can be challenging (back up the hill) to the site but turn around again at the top and there is that view again, it will all be worth it.

Hooks farm is a must for those who want a quiet relaxing break and friendly environment. We will be back as soon as we can so leave us a space ! 


Date of Visit: April 2011 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Alitone 29 reviews from this member

 We booked for one night over the phone with the site and on arrival they found us a pitch and some extra chocks as its quite sloping.

The owners were very nice people and we set up and walked down the field to explore Robin Hood Bay. The first pub we came to was the Victoria so we went in for a pint. The first thing to hit us was the smell of fish as someone had been eating a meal. The atmosphere in here was drab/dead as was the pub itself and it needs updating and a good clean.

Then we went further down into Robin Hoods Bay to see what the village was like. Personally we found it disappointing and not worth the effort when you consider how lovely the villages of the Northumberland coast are, we were disappointed in Robin Hood Bay as a whole. I think this place is overrated and a bit shabby.

The Camp Site was fine but it was too near the passing road and we could hear the local boy-racers flashing down the country lane until late.

So, if you book here its worth getting a pitch at the bottom of the field for less noise but not a bad site with lovely owners. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hendrix 6 reviews from this member

 The friendly, warm, welcome here is always fantastic. The site facilities are immaculate and the views of the bay are breath taking. The kettle and microwave on site meant we just had to pre heat what we'd cooked the day before which was great. Good price at 6 per person per night for 2 adults in a tent and this site has recently updated it's facilities, we love the fact that you can lock yourself into a cubicle with sink mirror etc. To spruce up. Our labradors like this place even more than we do! A BIG THUMBS UP Many thanks to all the family who run and take care of this fantastic site. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Msbean13 6 reviews from this member

 Just come back from another lovely holiday at this site. Thought an up to date review was in order. The owner was friendly as ever and the facilities were predictably clean with lots of hot water.

Best things are you don't have to pay for showers.

The price 12 per couple per night in a small tent is brilliant value.

It is a very quiet site perfect for a good rest.

Although there are necessary rules about keeping bbq's off the ground, no groups and no noise, this is not a site which has a rule for everything it is very laid back.

The views are just stunning nothing better than opening the tent and seeing the sea and cliffs.Thick very clean grass and good ground for pegs.

Dog friendly

Good for walks.

The washrooms are new and very clean.

The site seems to be in a good spot for sunshine.

Worst things,

The campsite is on a slope which can be tricky for tents but we think it's worth it.

It is open all year round and so in February can be a bit boggy in places best to ask before you pitch at these times.

It is very quiet, so I think probably best for couples and young families. There isn't a huge amount of entertainment in walking distance, but there is a good bus service and lots to do by car.

Showers need a bit of updating but they have tons of hot water.

This is a family run campsite on a working farm you aren't going to find a games room, pool, kids room etc. 


Date of Visit: March 2011 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Firstclass67 38 reviews from this member

 I don't usually bother to add to reviews when there are so many already on, but having just had a really lovely weekend here I thought I would, if only to sing the praises of the owners, who made us so welcome and went out of their way to be helpful and accommodating! When we arrived on Friday evening we were given help to pitch our van on a sloping pitch at the site - the owner hitched up his 4x4 and drove it onto a huge block - made sure it was secure, and then went round and lowered all the feet so he could check it was level for us.

Today when we left he came down again and helped us off and drove it up the hill to the entrance.

Also when we asked if we could stay longer today so we could have our lunch before we left we were told it was no problem at all. 


Date of Visit: September 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Rockyb 2 reviews from this member

 We spent a lovely week at Hooks House campsite and really didn't want to leave. The views are stunning and although the campsite is on an incline, once you got used to it everything was fine. The site was kept spotlessly clean especially the toilets and showers. A nice touch was the free use of a fridge/freezer, kettle and microwave in the kitchen/wash-up area. The site owners were very friendly and helpful.

Lovely walk down to Robin Hoods Bay which took about 20 minutes or walk along the coastal path or disused railway line to Whitby. Handy bus stop right outside of the site for Whitby or Scarborough. In fact we hardly used our car the whole week we were there.

We will definitely be back. 


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Campalots 16 reviews from this member

 We have just spent the last two weekends at Hooks House Farm and can't say how great this site is, for only 17 per night for 2 of us with a large tent with electric hook up we thought it was good value, by far the best thing about this site was the spectacular views, definitely the best place to stay to get such brilliant views.

The facilities were good, individual mens and ladies toilet and shower block, individual washrooms all very clean and a kitchen area with microwave, kettle, washing up facilities and 2 fridges and a freezer as well as an outside washing up area.What else could you need. The site was fairly busy with tents and caravans and motorhomes but we never saw any queues for any of the facilities. The owners are lovely and friendly and seem to be on hand for anyone who needs any assistance at all. They do require a deposit wen booking but this was great for us as on our second weekend we requested the same pitch. There is a slope but if you pitch right there is no problem at all.

Only a five minute walk into the town of Robin Hood Bay, which was beautiful, lovely craft shops and the wonderful Old Bakery Tearooms do the most amazing breakfast and homemade cakes so definitely worth a visit. The beach was lovely and clean as was the whole village. Also worth the 5 mile drive to Whitby.

Overall we were really impressed by this site and can not wait to return. 


Previous     250 Reviews in total, now showing 111 to 120      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hooks House Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Robin Hoods Bay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3542 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement