Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hooks House Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Robin Hoods Bay > Hooks House Farm Campsite > Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE
Tel: 01947 880283
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 250 Reviews
                9/10 from 250 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  250 in total, now showing 121 to 130                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: October 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sababz 5 reviews from this member

 Went to this site after reading the reviews on here. I am so glad we did, what a fab little site on a working farm. 7.00 pppn on non EHU if you stay more than one night, otherwise 7.50 bargain.

The owner was a lovely lady, showed us where the facilities were, how to get into Robin Hoods Bay and told us to pitch where we wanted.

We chose a flat pitch at the bottom of the site, the rest of the site is slightly sloping. The views over the bay are breathtaking, in fact views from every angle are!

The toilets were very clean and saw them being cleaned every day. There is even a socket in the ladies, ideal if you need to plug in the straighteners.

In the washing up area there is a kettle and a microwave free to use, what a lovely touch.

Only a 10 minute walk into Robin hoods Bay, some excellent pubs and restaurants or 10 minute drive to Whitby.

Overall this site is excellent and we will definitely be returning. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Mjlincs 26 reviews from this member

 A great welcome and practical help and equipment to place and level the caravan made a wonderful start to our holiday. Electric hook up is limited and you probably need to book in advance to ensure you get it. The view over the bay is stunning and the gently sloping site means you everyone can see it.

The facilities were always clean but like another reviewer we thought an extra shower or two would be most welcome. A safe field for kids to play in and good dog walks with easy downhill access to the beach and a service bus back up the hill all added to the pleasure of the stay.

Whitby is less than 5 miles away and provides the only nearby large shops with both a Lidl and a Coop. The Bay Hotel in Robin Hoods Bay and the Hare and Hounds in nearby High Hawkser can both be recommended for good food and service. Like many others who were there we will be returning to Hooks House Farm. 


Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Snapperbob 1 review from this member

 Just spent 4 nights here and what a fantastic campsite. The Views are stunning!

It's a great base to explore the local area - Staithes, Whitby, Goathland, Scarborough and the rest that North yorkshire has to offer.

Showers are clean, and hot only 2 of each mind, but I didn't have to queue once! Mind, did go for shower about 7am! There are individual washrooms as well.

Nice and quiet at night, no all male groups are aloud, mostly families and couples.

Camp fees were reasonable as well, cost us 24 a night for 2 adults and 3 children.

All in all this is a fantastic little gem of a site that I will definitely be using again. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Annac77 6 reviews from this member

 I've visited this site numerous times over the years, this is one site I will keep on going back to. Great views over Robin Hoods Bay, there are excellent facilities, especially the kitchen area.

Very good toilet/shower facilities. A very clean and tidy site. The staff are very friendly and helpful. Cannot think of anything to criticise this site, its one of my favourite places and I hope I get there again this year. Hope you guys enjoy it as much as I do. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Hjs13 1 review from this member

 Just had a fab week at the Campsite. Facilities were excellent, always clean and plenty of them so no queueing for hours to get a shower!

Gill and family were friendly and helpful; which makes it my top campsite so far!

Close to whitby and Scarborough with lots of local walks and a lively little village in the Bay. Beautiful views over the bay and good access to the paths leading to the village.A real gem of a campsite; we will definitely be coming back! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: August 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Bigfatgagie 2 reviews from this member

 Excellent, quiet, clean and friendly, but basic campsite. Showers and toilets are spotlessly clean and seemed to be getting cleaned and restocked on an hourly basis. Loads of hot water even when at the end of the queue for a shower (there were queues developed during peak shower times in morning and evening - 2 for each sex didn't seem enough). Kitchen and washing up facilities excellent - microwave, kettle, fridge and freezer.

Site slopes which was okay in a tent - owners seemed to have a collection of ramps and blocks to level out the camper vans and caravans. Get there early for a flat pitch at the bottom!

Fantastic views over Robin Hoods Bay which was about a 15 minute gentle stroll away, the nearest place for shops, pubs etc.

No facilities for kids other than a field - so bring footballs, cricket sets etc. And make your own entertainment.

Great value for money - well recommended. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Ambermaine 3 reviews from this member

 I can only echo the excellent reviews already given. A stunning location and well equipped site. We had a lovely time, and would highly recommend.

While in the area, the Victoria Hotel at Robin Hood's Bay is an excellent venue for an evening meal. We ate there three times, and each time the food was lovely - with the best fish pie I have EVER tasted. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Middlemouse 9 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for six days and had a marvellous time. The site is on a considerable slope but the owner reserved a flat pitch for us (we have a large tent and it would have been difficult to find a flat area big enough). The site overlooks Robin Hood's Bay and the prevailing wind blows offshore so we were able to pitch facing the view and have the tent open even when it was windy.

There are good facilities with both covered and uncovered washing up sinks, freezers for freezer blocks and a fridge for essentials (eg medication). There is also a microwave and a kettle. Sufficient toilets (always clean) and showers of the dreaded push button variety. There is a socket for hairdyers (I also saw people using it to charge mobile phones). There is only one set of facilities with a good walk uphill from many of the pitches. May be a problem for small children. There are no water points around the site.

Mobile signals are hit and miss in the area but ours (Vodafone)was good at the site. There is also WiFi internet available at a reasonable cost.

The site is very dog friendly with large field to exercise them and good walks from the campsite.

There are no play areas for children but lots of room for ball games.

Robin Hood's Bay is about a 12 minute walk away and a 20 min walk back (up a steep hill). Lots of good pubs and places to eat. We had a very good meal at the Victoria Hotel overlooking the bay and fish and chips from the village chippy. The wider area is super. Whitby is a good day out and we did walks near Goathland and Hutton le Hole. Ryedale Folk Museum was well worth the visit.

We loved the site and the area and at 14 per night for the two of us, it was good value for money. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: KITTY1 2 reviews from this member

 We loved this well run clean site. Beautiful view over the bay. Nice and peaceful. Owners very helpful, pitched and levelled our caravan and lowered us and helped us on departure. The site seemed very chid friendly, although we don't have children (grown up now) we were impressed by the commradery of families on the site, flying kites playing games and enjoying picnics an barbeques.

All the kids seemed happy and well behaived. The site allows dogs we did not see any evidence of dog foul. The toilets and washrooms nice and clean. The three showers seemed to have queues however the site was full all week.

We walked to magical rhb a few times but it is not for the faint hearted if you go right to the bay hotel at the bottom its rather steep. There are some nice pubs to visit all do nice food, but I would be inclined to take a torch as its a bit dark on the way to the site little shop in rhb and post office.

Lots to do in the surrounding area, we go every year and always discover something new. We will def return to this site. 


Date of Visit: July 2010 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Team mx 3 reviews from this member

 We live in West Yorkshire and wanted to go somewhere not too far away from home as it was my first time camping. A friend recommended this site and I am so pleased they did. The views are spectacular and we also had our son and girlfriend camping who were joining us later and when we arrived a pitch was reserved for them (good job it soon got full).

There is an area for washing up which also contains two freezers for ice packs (you need to put your name on the ice packs) and also a small fridge. There is also a microwave and kettle and milk so you can fill your thermos before a days walking which we really liked and is a nice touch.

As a result of this campsite I have the camping bug and on the way home we stopped at a shop to look at larger tents which we purchased there and then and sold our tent to our son and girlfriend who also have the camping bug!

There's plenty of walking in the area and Robin Hood's Bay is a pleasant 10 minute stroll. 


Previous     250 Reviews in total, now showing 121 to 130      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hooks House Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Robin Hoods Bay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3834 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement