Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hooks House Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Robin Hoods Bay > Hooks House Farm Campsite > Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE
Tel: 01947 880283
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 250 Reviews
                9/10 from 250 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  250 in total, now showing 151 to 160                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Sid Boggle 1969 5 reviews from this member

 I stayed at this site whilst doing a bit of solo camping around the north east coast in may. Arrived off the bus right outside the farm(Whitby to Scarborough bus)& was greeted by a friendly lady when I went to pay. It cost just 6 pound for me & my tent. Good value for such an excellent camp with a good shower / toilet block & a small campers kitchen which is ideal if you're ever stuck.
She told me to camp anywhere & I picked a cracking spot on the right side of the field with the tent next to the bushes with a view to die for across Robin Hoods Bay. You're only a downhill ten minute walk into the town which is well worth the walk. I found the site rules adhered too by everyone.
All in all I'll be hoping to return in the not too distance future but with my wife with me next time! With the bus stop being right outside its great for backpackers / solo campers who sometime have to use public transport. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Buchanan 2 reviews from this member

 I ve camped all my life, and when I found this site I couldn't fault it. Spotlessly clean, nice owners. Best view in england equalled only by scourie in sutherland.
Toilets excellent, wash rooms are spacious and very very clean, plentiful hot water and free showers. Washing up room with 2 freezers, kettle and microwave.
Robin hoods bay has a few pubs, with nice food, tried the bay hotel and first night was lovely, second night not so good food wise also rude staff. The grosvener is totally different lovely and friendly 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Piggypuddin 2 reviews from this member

 This was our first visit and we based it on the previous reviews on here. We were not disappointed! We were made very welcome and were offered a pitch with a fantastic view of the bay. Although the site was pretty full it never felt cramped or confined. There was ample space between the pitches.

The facilities are excellent. The showers were spotless and cleaned very frequently and to a very high standard. Plenty of hot water and never more than a few minutes queuing even first thing in the morning. Top marks to the owners!

The site itself is clean and although on a slope towards the bay it never proved a problem. It can get a bit windy as it is fairly exposed so would recommend a few extra guidelines for the tenters amongst you. Just in case the wind gets up.

There is a lovely gentle sloping path through a field into the bay itself which only takes about 10 minute down ( perhaps longer on the way back from the pub back up the hill with a torch!)

All in all this is a peaceful well run campsite with plenty of space for kids to play in the adjoining fields.

The only thing that we can think of that would improve this site is perhaps a provision of basics such as milk, bread and a few newspapers as the shops are quite a walk away but having said that it does not detract from the overall pleasantness of the place. We will definitely be returning and would thoroughly recommend this site. 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Foxer 2 reviews from this member

 This is our first year camping so we are relative novices, but we feel we found a beautiful site at Hooks House Farm. We had an electric hook up pitch with uninterrupted views of the Bay - fabulous when the weather was fine, very blustery when not!

The shower/toilet facilities were spotless and well maintained - I mentioned a problem to the owner and it was resolved straight away. The only thing I would ask for on this site is a play area for the children, just so we could set up in peace!

The walk down into the bay felt a bit scary as you are on the road, but once there we spent a full 6 hours looking in rockpools, building sand castles and sampling the fish and chips and ice cream.

A fabulous location, helpful owners, a peaceful holiday. What more do you need? 


Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: AndyRomain 34 reviews from this member

 I've recently spent a night at this site, and have to say, it's one of the best I've stayed in.

The location is stunning, a hillside location (so sloping pitches), with fantastic views over the bay. Robin Hoods' Bay is 10 minutes walk away, and you could sit for hours on a clear night and watch the moon over the bay.

The site is very well priced, and the facilities are superb, much better than a lot of campsites twice the size. The site is also very child friendly, with space set aside for children to play safely away from the tents.

The site is nicely placed for visits to the moors, Whitby, and Scarborough.

One factor to be aware of is the location in terms of exposure to the wind - this is a hillside location over a bay on the edge of a moor, so it can get wet and gusty! However, this is hardly a complaint against the hosts, it's the price you pay for such a view!

Overall, a great site, and well worth a visit. Would love to return and stay for longer next time. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: September 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Libra64Camper 2 reviews from this member

 Fantastic friendly run Site! - just back from short visit, was impressed with facilities, Kettle, Microwave,fridges and freezer, hot and cold running water, disabled toilet, washrooms, showers, toilets and portaloos, even electric hook up points - all for 7 per adult per night (at time of visit)& 2 for leccy, you can't go wrong here! The site is clean and well maintained with excellent sea views. The staff/Owners are really friendly and helpful, it's been a pleasure to visit. I will be returning to this site for years to come! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Toxic2000 1 review from this member

 Came back to a camp site we have visited several times but not for a few years - so glad to find it had hardly changed other than an upgrade to the toilet facilities and the new washing up block with fridge,freezers,kettle, microwave, plug sockets the lot - we love this site and it looks like we always will - last time we came our eight year old was four weeks old - we promised he would like it - we were wrong - he loved it - don't go if you can't handle walking up steep hills though - that's just robin hoods bay! it was our dogs first camping trip and obviously she had to be on a lead whilst on site but there's a field right below where she could run around and the beach is dog friendly too - only complaint - it rained one day! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Camper_cruz 23 reviews from this member

 A great site with stunning views over Robin Hoods Bay. Site was busy for a Sunday but it was the school holidays. The field was on a slope but the kind owner has big levelling chocks! Facilities are top notch for a farm site and the village can be accessed through the gate at the bottom of the camping field then left on the road at the bottom of the path. Whitby can be easily cycled via railway path from the village. Recommend the pubs at the bottom of 'the slope' into Robin Hoods bay as well as the chippy and ice cream. A proper site for a proper seaside holiday. Plus there is an extra field for long stays. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Xanthe 1 review from this member

 We have just come back from a fabulous weekend of camping at Hooks House Farm.

We were first timers, complete newbys at camping and we loved it!

The site is run by friendly and helpful staff who were on hand to help with anything.

The view from the campsite is just stunning, it looks out over the bay which is just beautiful.

We arrived on a windy day, which we were told by other campers was normal for the area. Putting up the tent was hard work in the wind but two other campers nearby our pitch came to lend a hand. We were incredibly grateful!

The two people camping next to us had been camping at the site for 18 years and still go almost every week during the summer months. I thought that said a lot about the site and how fabulous it is.

The site has large converted porta cabins that have very clean toilets and showers in. The showers were great, hot water at all times. There are only two showers for the men and the same for the women but I didn't see any queues more than 1 or 2 people long.

There is also a new washroom which is in a brick building near the loos. It is lovely! There are also power points in the toilet block if like me you like to take a hairdryer!

There are also washing up facilities, fridges and freezers to use free of charge. We had everything we needed.

The village is only a very short walk away, the area is hilly so walking back to the site is all up hill, but we didn't find this a problem.

Robin hoods bay is just beautiful, lovely local pubs and shops and the best fish and chips I have ever tasted at the bottom of the village near the beach.

I really can't wait to go back!

It was perfect for us first timers! 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Paulnkaz 1 review from this member

 A good friendly welcome from the owners nothing was too much trouble.First time on a caravan site where the owner set up our unit which they did for everyone even this was done with a smile.Showers and toilets were kept spotless and the site very well looked after.Fantastic views over robin hoods bay and surrounding countryside.Thoroughly enjoyed our stay would use again.Good food and drink served locally all within walking distance also a good bus service with stops straight outside the campsite.Prices very reasonable for this time of year including electric hook ups if required. 


Previous     250 Reviews in total, now showing 151 to 160      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hooks House Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Robin Hoods Bay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3939 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement