Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hooks House Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Robin Hoods Bay > Hooks House Farm Campsite > Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE
Tel: 01947 880283
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 250 Reviews
                9/10 from 250 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  250 in total, now showing 51 to 60                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a £150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win £150Take five minutes to win £150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Lordringstock 1 review from this member

 This is a lovely site with spectacular views. No problem to find and the site has good access from the Robin Hoods Bay road. We had a great reception from the owners who helped us level the Camper with blocks that he supplied. We found all the facilities to be very good and were kept clean throughout our stay. It is an easy walk into Robin Hoods Bay via the public footpath that runs from the bottom of the field. Recommended! 


Date of Visit: March 2015 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Bestyman 46 reviews from this member

 Location was good for us, as previous reviewers say, there is a really nice view of the bay. Yes it is a step walk to (and back up from) the sea, but like most other places the sea is downhill (about 15 mins walk).

Some great walks nearby with the dog, in fact the campsite is on a public footpath. If you Google dog walks Robin hoods bay you will get some good ideas. We ended our walk in the Bay hotel which is recommended.

Robin hoods bay is a quiet type of place. There are a few bars and restaurants but if looking for amusement arcades try elsewhere. The nearest pub is about a 10-15 minute walk away. Take a torch if returning after dark.

On our way here we stopped at Sainsburys which is 3. 6 miles away on the main road from Whitby. It was easy to park our motorhome there and a Homebase is nextdoor.

The welcome on arrival at the campsite was warm and friendly. The cost was £18 per night for 2 adults and a small dog in a MH with electric, which we consider to be reasonable. The owners told us all we needed to know then left us alone, we liked that. Only a few site rules.

Toilets were spotless. Pan wash had a few fridges which would be useful for tenters.

I'm on the 3 mobile network and phone signal and 3G was good. 


Date of Visit: September 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: KarenLG 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely lovely site! Met by the owner on arrival who helped us set up. We had a fabulous position but due to the position of the site I would imagine most if not all pitches had great views of the bay. The owner had levelling chocks and even electric hook up cables all ready! It seemed nothing would be too much trouble!

The site offered showers, wash cubicles, kitchen facilities(fridge freezer and microwave from what I recall) only slight downside was outside washing up area but having said that where do you get to wash up with such beautiful views!

The amenities whilst mainly porta cabin style were kept immaculate. I am sure the owners checked on them 3 times a day! Unfortunately during the latter part of our stay it was damp and foggy but still the facilities were clean;no mud or grass anywhere to be seen!

The only slight downside was the shower cubicles were tiny and not suitable to take our toddler into with us. However that would not put us off from returning if ever in the area again!

As far as location, you have to either drive or like hilly walks. A beautiful walk from the camp site takes you into the bay in about 10/15 minutes. It was also suitable for a pushchair even though the first part was through fields. Can be a challenge pushing the pushchair back due to incline but we (or should I say hubby!??) managed it just fine :)

We waited for the bus to Whitby one day (bus stop just out site site) and it just sailed on by! So we waited for the next one (they're every half an hour) and the next one was full too!. A top tip would be to walk down to the village and get the bus from there.

Would definitely recommend if looking for a lovely relaxed site :) 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Millsy1972camilla 2 reviews from this member

 Wow is the only word to describe this site & area. The site facilities are cleaned regular. The views are amazing & the staff are the most helpful I've known. The pitch was sloping so while my husband moved the car the owner had put caravan legs down & levelled it all on blocks. At the end of our stay he took all blocks away & got caravan ready to be put on our car. Short 20 minute walk downhill to the stunning village of robin hoods bay with the best chip shop. 


Date of Visit: August 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Callisr 1 review from this member

 We have just returned after spending 4 nights at this fantastic site and cannot rate it highly enough! It was everything we had hoped for and more. The facilities, consisting of male and female toilet and shower blocks (no additional charge and always plenty of hot water), personal wash cubicles, and inside and outside pot wash stations were spotlessly clean at all times and the owners clearly spend a lot of time dedicated to maintaining them to such a high standard. There is also a microwave and kettle, a fridge for milk, and 2 freezers for ice packs, located in the indoor pot wash station. Again, these were all spotless and made our stay just that little bit easier (microwave was great for warming our little boys milk!)

The site itself is on a gently sloping field and I was slightly concerned how we would go on with our Montana 6 tent. I needn't have worried! When we arrived we were directed to the field and told to choose our pitch. We were also offered help with pitching the tent (declined the offer but how helpful is that??)!

We chose our pitch and it was indeed on a slope but there were no lumps or bumps and the pitch was more than big enough for our tent and front extension, with the car parked across the pitch, behind the tent. All the tents were pitched facing the same way in order to make the most of the spectacular views and there was plenty of space between the tents. The site was very busy but there was no sense of it being crowded. Worthy of note here is that the owners don't take bookings for short stays - pitches are available on a first come, first served basis.

Every pitch (going from my observations during a quick walk around)enjoys fabulous views over Robin Hoods Bay and Fylingthorpe and it is a joy to just sit and look out across the sea!

Night times were a delight - no noise to speak of after about 9. 30pm and even before that it was never noisy - just the sound of the children playing on the field next to the site. The playing field was also on a slight slope but was fine for a kick about with a football, kite flying, Frisbee etc.

Dogs are welcome on the site and everyone kept to the rules regarding keeping them on a lead and cleaning up after them. There is a footpath leading from the bottom of the site that a lot of the dog owners seemed to use but I didn't use it and have no idea where it goes! Robin Hoods Bay is about a half mile away but it is a steep hill and we were with a pushchair so we opted to take the car down to the car park!

Whitby is a short drive away and Scarborough is about 18 miles.

There is a large Sainsbury's just outside Whitby, about 10 mins drive from the site, for stocking up with provisions.

The whole area is truly lovely and the site a credit to its owners! We cant wait to return and if you have never visited this area, it should definitely be a place to add to the list of must-go-too's! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Joanne harding 5 reviews from this member

 Well what can I say. This was a treasure of a site. We arrived on Monday lunch time, and was greeted by the owners, what a lovely couple. We were helped to set up the caravan, as it is on a slight slope. The view was amazing of the bay. There was plenty of room between pitches and not on top of one another like some sites. The toilets and shower blocks were always very clean, and it was quite busy to say it was the 1st week of July.

Walking down to the beach about 10 minuets through the field at the bottom of the site with the sheep. We came back the road way, we just wish there was a path all the way up to the top, as it can be a busy road.

The owners of this site want to be very proud of themselves, you do a great job of the up keep of this site, I do not think we saw you sit down from morning till night. Well done.

Thank you and we will see you soon.

Tom and Joanne ( Driffield ) 


Date of Visit: July 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Tad5539 1 review from this member

 Hi All,

This was our fifth visit to the farm and I must say from the outset that the owners are outstanding they are there from when you arrive to when you leave to help with anything that you may need, being disabled there help was invalulable we spent three day, s with them and had a great time many thanks to the staff and owners.

The facilities are outstanding toilets showers and waste disposal are easy to get to and use even for me the old crip as the wife calls me the views are some of the best in yorkshire and we had a few great runs out to scarborough and whitby there is also internet available through the robinhoods bay net to finish this site is a hidden gem give it a go and you will come back again and again regards to all tad5539 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Frapo 5 reviews from this member

 Great site, 10minutes walking downhill to Robin Hood's Bay. Simple, but efficient and well cleaned facilities. The site is very slopey and campervans are only allowed at the top of the large field. There are only 4 or 5 hsp's where campervans have to stand after rainy days. Consequently the site is quickly fully booked for campervans in June and July, certainly in the weekends. The owner is very kind and helpful. She made a lot of effort to find an acceptable place for us because all suitable pitches for campervans were taken. 


Date of Visit: June 2014 Unit:  Tent
Nights stayed: 5 Travelling as:  Family with young children
Reviewer: Donkers 16 reviews from this member

 We stayed at this site for 5 nights (Sun-Fri) in mid June and overall it’s a great site. Was very quiet whilst we were there; the site was only about third full, if that, but did look to get busy on the Friday when we left.

For views alone this sites gets 10/10. Even without the lovely view over Robin Hood’s Bay few sites can match it for such a fine all round panorama; from its elevated position the views are really amazing and the sea view tops it off.

The field is quite sloping, but some flat pitches are available at the bottom, although these are farthest from the facilities. The grass is well-kept, green and nicely mowed and some new hedge planting breaks up the big open field. The ground is easy to peg into, not at all rocky or hard.

The facilities are basic but very clean and tidy; however a major down side is that the showers are way too hot. We were warned of this at check-in and advised that we would be better using the “family washrooms” for our kids - but to be honest they were uncomfortably hot for adults too. The 3 ladies shower cubicles were quite roomy with plenty of handy hooks, but the actual shower enclosure was small which meant there was no escape from the, at times, scalding water. And not much room if showering with a 2 yr old, especially if protecting them from the hot water. The family washrooms had massive potential… very roomy and had a small baby bath but were actually just 5 or 6 cubicles with a sink, which seemed like a waste of space to me as they could have housed 3 big family shower cubicles. Who has a strip wash in a sink these days? I imagine the 3 showers could also get very busy when the site fills up.

A bonus is the tidy kitchen area with microwave, kettle, fridge, freezers and indoor wash up.

Really friendly and efficient owners.

There is loads to do in the surrounding area. Nice 15 min walk down to Robin Hood’s bay, quite steep but manageable for the kids in our group (2. 5-4yrs). They loved the beach with its rock pools and fossil hunting. Good chippy in the village.

Overall a lovely, simple site in great location. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: JDigby03 3 reviews from this member

 Visited this site with my wife and children.

It's on as slope but has level areas for pitching.

Toilets were immaculate and the owners very friendly.

Robin hoods bay is a beautiful place and we all enjoyed walking onto the beach and playing etc.

There's plenty of eating places and shops.

Whitby is only a short drive away and with its old town and little shops we enjoyed exploring.

We all had a lovely stay and would definitely recommend this site.

Lots to do and see in the area.

Friendly clean and safe site- perfect for families. 


Previous     250 Reviews in total, now showing 51 to 60      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a £150 Amazon Voucher!

Win £150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win £150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hooks House Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Robin Hoods Bay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3924 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement