Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hooks House Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Robin Hoods Bay > Hooks House Farm Campsite > Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE
Tel: 01947 880283
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 250 Reviews
                9/10 from 250 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  250 in total, now showing 161 to 170                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Phil_s 2 reviews from this member

 My wife and I visited this site last year intending to stay for a few nights, as her first camping experience. The weather was awful and my old tent that hadn't been used for a long time couldn't take it and leaked. However we had liked this site so much we vowed to return. Which we did this summer armed with a better equipment and thankfully the weather was really on our side.

The site promises amazing views and this is what your get, the field slopes downhill towards the bay with pitches for tourers some having electric hookup around the top and edges and tents in the middle down to the front. I cant imagine that any of they pitches have a different view from mine which was a perfect view across the bay and out to sea, rolling hills and dramatic cliffs included.

The facilities at the site are great the toilets and showers are spotless all day, I did see queues for the showers but never had to myself as I tend to be up early or went in the afternoon. There's also a block of individual washrooms to use. There's sockets for hairdryers etc.

There's a block where you can wash pots with three sinks which also has a couple of freezers and a fridge, kettle for a brew and microwave.

On the area, there's a short walk down to the bay which has a number of shops selling bits and bobs of fossils, jet and the usual seaside stuff, a few pubs with good beer and what looked like nice food, there's a chippy which is does great fish and chips. The beach is lovely with lots of rock pools and a good long walk up and down. Great for kids.

Whitby is a short car ride away or a few hours walk down the Cleveland way which is a lovely scenic trip and the north yorks moors are nearby as well. There's also access to one of the national cycle trails which I believe heads toward Scarborough.

All in all I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this site, the views are excellent, the facilities are great and the area is lovely. We will definitely be back I should think. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wooptedoo 3 reviews from this member

 This site has both positives and negatives, on the positive the view is one of the best I have ever seen, and the staff were fantastic, to have your caravan towed into position and levelled up was amazing. There is a field for the kids to play in and a lovely walk for the dog. On the down side, it is next to the road, which although it is not too busy, early morning traffic can be heard whilst trying to sleep, as can the sheep in the next field, which some would say is part of the charm. The facilities, although they were very clean, they were sparse and in need of modernisation, two toilets and two showers for the men and likewise for the women, is just not enough, considering there was around 200 people on site, and as a result, there was queuing and at times toilet paper and hand towels and soap run short,, despite a gallant effort by staff to keep up with things. Overall a lovely spot and with some modernisation would make one of the best. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Archies mum 1 review from this member

 Visited at a busy time of year but never felt crowded out. When we arrived our caravan was quietly and competently taken over by George(?) and his son who positioned, levelled and secured it on a sloping pitch, never has our van felt so steady, no bounces at all!

The views from the site over Robin Hoods Bay are spectacular,even at night we had to stop and gape at the beauty of the moon shining on the water, and there is a good footpath down to the village and beach area.

The family who own Hooks House are lovely, Can't speak highly enough of their friendliness and helpfulness, they keep the facilities in very good order and they are regularly inspected by Gill to ensure supplies (loo paper etc) don't run out. If I have any criticism at all, and it really didn't affect our hols to any great effect, it would be that 1 more shower for each sex would be appreciated.

It was great to watch youngsters of all ages- who had probably only got to know each other on site- playing cricket on the adjoining field in the evenings, however,at no time was there ever any rowdiness or noise after 'lights out'time on site.

My husband and I have had our faith in family activities and unity renewed since staying at Hooks House and can't wait till we have grandchildren old enough to come with us and join in.

Will we go back?.Can't wait. 


Date of Visit: August 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Deferred Pensioner 1 review from this member

 Just returned to camping after 25 years and we could not have chosen a better site.

The site appears to be run entirely by family members and they are all great people with Gill and Paul running front of house in a very friendly professional manner.

Gently sloping site well laid out with great views of Robin Hoods bay from all pitches

Very close to The Cleveland Way so good walks.

Facilities ltd in number but not in quality very very clean.

Robinn Hoods Bay was quaint and beautiful with a very lively music scene.

We will be going again this year. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Myles58127 1 review from this member

 Excellent site I would fully recommend to anyone, owner very helpful and friendly. Only drawback is site is sloping so pitch with care.Toilet block was always spotless as were the showers.A new addition this year is the private washrooms great if long queues for showers.Views are fantastic. Although previous reviews state some noise I didn't find it so, very quiet Will go again. Would give more than 10/10 but that's the limit. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Wimps 5 reviews from this member

 Brilliant site. On arriving we were immediately put in our place - that is with the aid of 2 blokes with chocks levelling us up.

Fantastic view over the bay. It did get very windy some nights but great for our little lad's kite flying !

Walk through fields / cycle track all way into heart of RHB was great for dog & kids. Hardly used the car all week.

Families and couples would enjoy this site - quiet with everyone friendly + well behaved.

Facilities are good, washrooms & toilets spotless. Only downside if there is one is lack of showers but we went late aft/early evening without needing to queue.

RHB is very quaint, no commercial rubbish / amusements but everything you need - pubs, top fish + chips, rock pools + good dog-friendly beach.

Highly recommended, will be returning. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Tranmere99 4 reviews from this member

 Stayed at this lovely site for three nights and would quite happily have stayed longer if we could. The views are stunning and although the site slopes as other reviewers mention there are plenty of flat pitches available.

Facilities are excellent and the owners work tirelessly to keep everywhere spotless. Showers were hot and there are plenty of electric points available for hair drying and for charging mobiles etc. The owner offered to charge our Sat Nav overnight each night for us, which as the cigarette lighter in our car is broken, was a huge help. A fridge and freezer is readily available as is a microwave and a kettle, and there is no charge for freezing ice blocks etc.

Surrounding area is beautiful with many lovely walks. Robin Hoods Bay is a short walk down a footpath and has three pubs (the best of which is Ye Dolphin), some interesting shops and a pebbly beach. Nearest food shops and banks are 4 miles away in Whitby.

Would definitely stay here again and would recommend this site to anyone. 


Date of Visit: July 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Adriancherry 3 reviews from this member

 Views of Robin Hood's Bay from all pitches is what we were told and I cannot disagree. It's so nice to wake up, open the tent and look out over the field to the coast.

Friendly people and good facilities. I didn't take children but many people did and no one had any problems.

Definitely one to re-visit.

A good base if wanting to visit Whitby or the Moors. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: M1TCH 1 review from this member

 Stayed for a long weekend at Hooks house farm in June and had a wonderful time. The toilet and showers were very clean and the use of a electric kettle and fridge came in very handy.

The owners are very friendly and go out there way to help you where they can. But the most impressive thing is the view across Robin hoods bay. I will definitely be returning very soon. 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Redsue 9 reviews from this member

 Just like to say how great this site is. The views are fantastic, but do make sure you get a plot whereby someone cant come along and put up a large/high gazeebo in front of you. They turned up on our second night and ruined our perfect view.

The facilities are much better than the reviews suggest. Even though some of them are old and look like an old porta cabin they certainly don't feel old inside. They are spotless and have everything you need except for hairdryers but there is a socket for you to plug your own equipment in, and its all free. No extra charges for anything and at 6.50 per person per night you cant beat it. Cant wait to go back. Wonderful site and owners who were very friendly and helpful. 


Previous     250 Reviews in total, now showing 161 to 170      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hooks House Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Robin Hoods Bay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3802 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement