Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hooks House Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Robin Hoods Bay > Hooks House Farm Campsite > Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE
Tel: 01947 880283
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 250 Reviews
                9/10 from 250 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  250 in total, now showing 61 to 70                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Robnchar 7 reviews from this member

 Well what can I say we love this site. It's one of a handfull of sites we visit nearly every year. The facilities are kept spotless the showers are hot and free a big improvement from the two cobwebby wash rooms in the old barn. Plastic bowl of hot water was as good as it got 30 years ago. That barn is now a very smart wash room.

As most if not all reviews recommend Hookhouse farm it does get busy but they try not to cram tents in and the owner don't stand for rowdy behaviour so it remains resonablely quiet even when it's really busy. 


Date of Visit: May 2014 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Lobraes 26 reviews from this member

 Just returned from a fabulous week here for my birthday. The owners couldn't be more friendly and helpful. It was our first outing in our caravan and we were pleased to have help with levelling which the owner did for every caravan. He made it look easy :)

Facilities are basic but spotless and more than adequate. There's the usual loos and showers with chemical disposal, recycling and fresh water. Dogs are welcome if kept on a lead. Very relaxed atmosphere and the most stunning views !

Great location for walking across fields and trails into robin hoods bay and beyond.

Lots of dog friendly pubs serving great food close by, there's a lovely chip shop in robin hoods bay that although we didn't get chance to use it seemed very popular.

Whitby is a very short drive away to the car park at the abbey.

There's a sainsburys 5 min drive from site.

Can't wait to return to this wonderful site. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Honeybee77 4 reviews from this member

 A gem of a site with the most amazing views over Robin Hoods Bay, we loved it!

The site is sloping but not enough to cause a major issue provided you pitch accordingly and there are flatter pitches for tents at the bottom end of the field if you get there early enough. We arrived mid afternoon on Good Friday and although the site was busy there was plenty of space for us, the tent pitches are arranged in neat rows across the slope with instructions to park behind your tent, in so doing not obstructing the views for anyone else.

Little hedges had recently been planted defining these rows which will provide a little shelter from the wind which I imagine this site must be exposed to at times given the views. It was glorious for our stay however and the sound of the waves below at night was lovely.

We thought the facilities were more than adequate given the size of the site, only minor queueing for showers and spotlessly clean at all times. Plenty of hot water for showers and washing up and the extra facilities such as the microwave and kettle were extremely welcome on a frosty Easter weekend evening and allowed us to save the last of our gas for cooking breakfast! There is also a fridge and freezer for ice blocks.

We didn't have the need for them but we also noticed plenty of bricks for BBQs and chocks for vans on the slope.

My children loved watching the sheep and lambs going in and out of their barn twice a day, and we all enjoyed the pretty walk down into the village across the field. Lovely fish and chips from the chippy in Robin Hoods Bay too!

Friendly helpful staff and a lovely family site with everything we needed. Perfect for anyone who likes a no-frills camping experience. Highly recommended. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Rudivan 5 reviews from this member

 We visited just for a couple of nights, mainly to see Steve Phillips, world renowned guitarist and local resident, play his regular Tuesday night gig at the Grosvenor Hotel. A most enjoyable evening, and the food being consumed all around us also looked very good. After the close, we were very glad that we had a lift back to the site as the half mile walk is steeply uphill all the way.

The campsite is situated on a slope so levelling blocks are necessary, and the site has thoughtfully provided quite a number ready for use. The owners were friendly and helpful, particularly when we got a little bogged down in some soft ground, whereupon a tractor was brought to the rescue to gently pull us back onto the firm roadway.

We had one of the hard standings with electric hookup close to the site entrance and facilities, which were clean and quite acceptable, although we never use site facilities, preferring to use our own in the van. We did feel a bit sorry for the tenters at the bottom of the site who had quite a walk to get their shower.

On our first day we free-wheeled down towards Robin Hoods Bay and picked up the cinder-track cycle-way that uses the old railway track bed between Whitby and Scarborough, and we headed north up the gradual climb which levels out after a few miles and eventually arrives in Whitby.

On day two we planned to head south on the cinder-track, but the weather changed our minds. However, there is a bus stop just 100 yards from the site entrance so travel either north or south is readily available. We chose to visit Whitby again, which is just 7 miles away.

There are shops in Robin Hoods Bay and a good selection of pubs, cafes and eating places, and a recently opened Sainsburys is situated about 4 miles away on the outskirts of Whitby, amongst other well known large retailers. 


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Motorhome
Reviewer: Varga 3 reviews from this member

 If you are looking for a site with helpful, friendly wardens, a site with fantastic views of the North Yorkshire coast and a site with simple but spotless facilities, look no further.

The site is sloping, but the owners supply wooden chocks to help you level, and the pitches are terraced. The showers are free, with plenty of hot water, on a push button system that reduces waste; the toilets are simple but clean and well appointed.

The owners were happy to allow our children to pitch a pup tent, away from us, for free.

They are also very pro dog, and made our scruffy mutt most welcome.

Robin Hood's Bay is a short walk away, the upper part of the town has a shop selling all you need by way of food and drink, plus the town has a good selection of pubs, all doing food of varying quality and prices. Plus there is a 'Chippy'.

What more could you ask for. 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Campervan
Reviewer: Saspar 6 reviews from this member

 We arrived without booking and were able to book one night. We were immediately impressed with the views. On a sunny day, absolutely spectacular!

Facilities are clean and tidy, useful washing up area with fridge, freezer and microwave.

We made the 10 minute walk over the field into Robin Hoods Bay, which we have visited before many years ago. It is still charming. Very steep walk.

The tent field is quite sloping, however caravan/motorhome pitches are quite level and we were kindly offered ramps.

Would definitely return, lovely campsite.  


Date of Visit: April 2014 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Beckylouhancock 1 review from this member

 This campsite was lovely! Very very clean facilities, showers, washrooms, kettle, microwaves, etc. The views were one in a million, very good location, easy to find. Very polite owners, big open space, would definitely recommend! Field overlooks the sea - just beautiful! but windy! 10 min walk to Robin hoods bay, Paid 9 per person per night. 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Worthy1 1 review from this member

 We have returned from Hooks Farm having spent 2 fantastic days. We arrived in the dark, raining and blowing tea time Friday to a lovely welcome from the owners. Not that they knew but it was only our 2nd time out ! We had the caravan parked for us, levelled and facing the surprise of a fabulous view of Robin Hoods Bay.

The facilities were lovely and clean and the views spectacular !

Thank you so much, we will be back and couldn't recommend the site highly enough ! 


Date of Visit: October 2013 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Gabriels gran 7 reviews from this member

 Just returned from this little gem of a site and like another user would like to say thank you to previous campers who put their reviews online. The facilities on site are more than adequate to meet the needs of campers, very clean shower facilities with plenty of hot water, toilet block also very clean, and the pot washing area had a microwave and fridge and freezer for those who may need to use them.

We received a very warm welcome from Gill on our arrival.

We had planned to stay for five nights but due to the really strong winds which were hitting the coast, we had to call it a day after four. We will be returning and for anyone who hasn't used the site before, yes it is on a hill and does gently slope, but the payback when the weather is good as it was at the beginning of the week are views to die for! 


Date of Visit: September 2013 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Helrobo 7 reviews from this member

 Room with a view would definitely describe this charming friendly site. Stunning views over Robin Hoods Bay, which you could walk to down a steep hill.

Good clean toilets and showers which were always in good order. Two areas for washing up one inside one out (stunning view from the latter).

Slopping pitches so blocks maybe needed.

Good local bus service with a bus stop outside the site with buses into Whitby and Scarborough and this seemed very regular.

Plenty to do in the area.

Would definitely recommend this and we plan to return. 


Previous     250 Reviews in total, now showing 61 to 70      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hooks House Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Robin Hoods Bay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3770 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement