Home

   Log in or Register



Insurance Quotes
forums Campsite Search Comp Directory tips virtual brochure Profile
Tent and Awning Reviews Competitions Caravans and Motorhomes For Sale Shopping Diary Contact Us

Advertisement

Reviews of Hooks House Farm Campsite

Campsite Search > UK > North East England > North Yorkshire > Robin Hoods Bay > Hooks House Farm Campsite > Reviews

Hooks House Farm Campsite
Whitby Road
Robin Hoods Bay
North Yorkshire   (Browse area)
YO22 4PE
Tel: 01947 880283
Visit their website    Check Digital TV coverage    See Weather Forecast

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email

Pitches:

Rating: Average Review Score: 9/10 from 250 Reviews
                9/10 from 250 Reviews

 Tent Pitches   Caravan Pitches   Motorhome Pitches   Small Campervans 
 No Glamping Units   Statics for Hire   No Statics on Sale   No Seasonal Pitches 
 Electric Hookups   Hardstanding Pitches   No Fully Serviced Pitches   Show Full Facilities
Who's it for
 Families Welcome   Not Members Only   No Rallies   Not Naturist Site 
 Dogs Welcome   No Dogs Allowed   Groups Welcome 
Facilities
 Toilet Facilities   Hot Showers   Washing Up   No Bathroom 
 No Baby Changing   No Laundry   Drinking Water   Disabled Friendly 
 Chemical Disposal   No Battery Charging   Gas Exchange   No Recycling Facilities 
 No Kitchen Facilities   Freezer / Fridge   No Motorhome Point   Wifi Access 
 Shop <1 mile   Bar <1 mile   Restaurant or Cafe or Takeaway <1 mile 
Activities
 No Playground   No TV Room   No Games Room   No Evening Ents 
 Fishing <1 mile   No Wild Swimming   Indoor Pool <5 miles   No Outdoor Pool 
 Horse Riding <1 mile   Cycle Hire <1 mile   Golf <5 miles   Tennis <1 mile 
 Beach <1 mile   Watersports <5 miles   Boat Launch / Mooring <5 miles 
Other Features
 Sea Views   Working Farm   No Campfires Allowed   Open All Year 
 No Waterside Pitches   Public Transport On Site  No Dog Walk 

Reviews:  250 in total, now showing 171 to 180                 Previous 10          Next 10
Jump to Page   1   2   3   4   5   6   7   8   9   10   11   12   13   14   15   16   17   18   19   20   21   22   23   24   25  

Write your own Review to win a 150 Amazon Voucher!!
Win 150Take five minutes to win 150 of Amazon vouchers. If you've ever visited this campsite please submit a review for your chance to win! Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Holly4 4 reviews from this member

 Yet again we spent a blissful 11 days on this site. What can I say outstanding, breath taking views, spotless and the family who own it are fantastic. Will be going again. Lovely walks and a short drive into whitby and the moors. All facilities on site are spotless whatever time of day 


Date of Visit: June 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jenbown 2 reviews from this member

 Lovely campsite, peaceful and fantastic views from the top over the bay. 6.50 per person per night and as others say it is on quite a slope so you want to pitch near the top if the weather is bad!

It may sound weird but the grass is left slightly longer where the tents pitch which makes for a comfy floor!

Showers, toilets and kitchen facilities are all good with a fridge and kettle available.

Close to the shops and pubs of Robin Hood's Bay. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Joolsp 13 reviews from this member

 This site is almost perfection! A sloping field with amazing views down to Robin Hoods Bay village and the bay itself. Friendly owners (fitted our two-man tent in even though claiming to be full). Mainly tents due to the slope although there are spots for tourers and vans around the top and on flatter spots. Good clean facilities (occasional queues on a very busy sunny weekend at the end of the half term).

Fridge, freezer and electric kettle available in the wash-up area.

We can highly recommend the site and we will be back asap.

Can only book for full weeks though so if the forecast is good and you just want a weekend, get there early!

On the area generally, 10 minutes walk down to the top of the village (15 mins back up!) where there is a general stores and large pub (which unfortunately has white wine only on draught. How difficult is it these days to serve a decent glass of wine?)

Another 5 mins down into the village brings you to more pubs, restaurants and (mainly gift) shops. Not much open in the evening for eating except at the pubs (unimaginative and not that good).

Brilliant cycle path to Whitby, 7 miles away and coastal walks fantastic. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Dolphinman 6 reviews from this member

 Go to this site for the location but stay for the great views. Site is very clean and the facilities

Such as toilets and showers are busy but never had to wait more than a few minutes so more than acceptable for a busy school holiday. Site is lively during the day but lovely and peaceful on a night and the owners regularly patrol the site and are very helpful. Only niggle is the incline most pitches are on but can't blame the owners for landscape. Recommended. 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Jonnydjsoundscouk 1 review from this member

 We have just returned from a good three night stay at Hooks House campsite.

On arrival we were greeted by the owner who was very friendly and helpful. We were allowed to chose our own pitch on the field, which is on a slight incline. From everywhere on the site there is a great view of Robin Hood's Bay and at the bottom there is a footpath which leads down to the town (takes about 10 minutes).

All of the facilities were spotless and evidently well looked after. The water was always hot and there was no extra charge for this or showers. There was also a kettle, fridge/freezer and microwave available for visitors - also free of charge.

Overall a very nice stay and would recommend this site to anyone - will definitely be returning! 

Advertisement

Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Touring Caravan
Reviewer: Team Monkey 19 reviews from this member

 Had a very pleasant stay at Hooks House Farm in May 09. Owners were friendly and very helpful in letting us choose our pitch and then towing caravan to desired spot, raising and levelling it also, in order to save us time and effort which we thought a nice touch. Helped us off the pitch when we left too.

Other plus point, no extra charge for use of showers/hot water and they also provided kettle and fridge for communal use too. Nice touch.

Their pricing we thought competitive and very fair. Priced per person, for the 2 of us (in caravan) cost 15 per night for electric hookup pitch. Awnings where no extra charge. No deadline for getting back on site at night either.

Views from site were magnificent overlooking Bay! In close proximity for an evening stroll to beach.

Only one very small issue I wish to raise was that the middle shower cubicle (female block) had plastic wedges nailed to the window to prevent it from ever being closed! Previously I had used the end shower cubicle which didn't have this and was able to just open window to let steam out after I had finished showering, which is how I would prefer to shower! Didnt like that I had to shower one night with the window open, getting cold! That is the ONLY small point and just hope that the owners read and do something about this so that others don't have to endure drafty showers in the future! 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Mr shankley 1 review from this member

 Very nice location for this superbly run site. Stunning views.

All facilities were spotless even though it was a very busy bank holiday weekend. Nice to have free showers and ice freezing included in the very reasonable price ( 6 per person). Could have done with a little bit more room on the pitch to fit the Bear lake on though. Hats off to the excellent family who run it 


Date of Visit: May 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: G.G. 6 reviews from this member

 Hooks House is a fabulous site and always has been. Wonderful owners, fabulous facilities, beautiful views, very reasonable ~(12 per night for myself and my 2 daughters).

One problem. Only 2 showers each. It just isn't enough. So if you are willing to wait until lunchtime for your shower, or you are visiting in non-bank holiday periods, you cannot beat this site.

There are plenty of hookups available, but I suggest you prebook if you want it. Of the people lucky enough to be in possession of a power source I spoke to, all of them had booked in January. 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Pollymorph 2 reviews from this member

 I found the camp site on here, read the reviews and thought I'd give it a go. I went on my own and the owner was fantastic. She showed me to a spot where she said I would be safe from the cars and near to the amenities.
The shower block was lovely and clean and the other facilities including a kettle and microwave nearby. There is also a good washing up area and full recycling facilities. The whole site had a very friendly atmosphere that made my whole weekend worthwhile. All this for only 6 a night. The site got full very quickly but it retained it's homely feel.

The place itself is a paradise if you like walking, but the hill coming back is a killer. However, it is worth going down to the beach to see the rockpools there. The visitor centre in the lifeboat house is very good and interactive. I went on my own, but I never felt left out, nearly everyone you walked past said 'hello'.

I adored it here, a lovely place and a very friendly site. So much so, I'm planning on going back in a couple of weeks! 


Date of Visit: April 2009 Unit:  Tent
Reviewer: Braggs 1 review from this member

 Nice campsite with very pleasant owners. Our torch batteries ran out, we went and knocked on the door at about 10pm and they lent us a torch with spare batteries!

The weather wasn't too good (basically in a cloud) so didn't see the view. Got a reasonably flat pitch. Not too many screaming children. Nice toilets (didn't use the showers). Also had a kettle - very nice. Very reasonably price (6 per adult camping).

Close to Robin Hood's bay, the path isn't very perilous although again couldn't see it in the weather conditions when we tried to get to the pub at night. Lovely fish and chips. 


Previous     250 Reviews in total, now showing 171 to 180      Next

Share  Tweet This!  Share on Facebook  Email


Write a Review of this Site to Win a 150 Amazon Voucher!

Win 150

Write a review of this campsite and you could win 150 of Amazon vouchers. Each month one lucky person will have their review picked at random and will win! Leave as many as you can for more chances!

Common Questions

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite child friendly?  YES, it accepts children  View all facilities

Where is the nearest shop to Hooks House Farm Campsite?  There is a shop within 1 mile  View all facilities

Is Hooks House Farm Campsite dog friendly?  YES  View all facilities




Other Sites Near Robin Hoods Bay      Other sites within 10 miles   -   All Sites in North Yorkshire

Latest News, Discounts and Competitions  see all...




Upcoming Event!
UKCS Meet TribFest Music Festival 19/08 to 21/08
Tribfest is the biggest and best tribute band music festival in the world. Held in August in Yorkshire - Win Family Weekend Camping Tickets

Follow us on Facebook!
You can now follow UKCampsite.co.uk on Facebook! Keep abreast of the latest news and updates much more easily. Simply click here then click on the Like button!

All reviews and comments are the personal opinion of the review author only , and as such do not represent the view of the UK Camp Site.co.uk.

The facilities shown on this website are a guide only, and you should check with the campsite direct before making any booking. The UKCampsite.co.uk will not be held responsible for any errors or omissions


3769 Visitors online !

Free UKCampsite.co.uk Window Sticker  -  Recommend to Friend

[Message Forums]  [Caravan Sites & Camping]  [Company Listings]  [Features / Advice]  [Virtual Brochure]  [Shop!]
[Reception]  [Competitions]  [Caravans & Motorhomes For Sale]  [Event Diary]  [Contact Us]  [Tent Reviews



Please note we are not responsible for the content of external sites & any reviews represent the author's personal view only. Please report any error here. You may view our privacy and cookie policy and terms and conditions here. All copyrights & other intellectual property rights in the design and content of this web site are reserved to the UKCampsite.co.uk © 1999 - 2022


Advertisement


Advertisement